تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

موارد المياه الجوفية في الجزائر: ضحية استثمار موارد الطاقة غير التقليدية

الغاز الصخري الجزائر - المياه الجوفية في الجزائر
الصورة 1: جزائريون يمشون أمام جدار كتب عليه كتابات باللغة العربية "لا للغاز الصخري" في 5 مارس 2015 خلال مظاهرة في ميدان الصمود بقرية عين صالح الصحراوية جنوب الجزائر ضد التنقيب عن الغاز الصخري. تصاعدت المظاهرات المناهضة للغاز الصخري في مدن الصحراء الجزائرية منذ أواخر ديسمبر، عندما أعلنت شركة النفط الجزائرية سوناطراك أنها أتمت بنجاح أول حفر تجريبي لها في منطقة عين صالح. أعلنت سوناطراك في أوائل فبراير أن عمليات الحفر الاستكشافية للغاز الصخري باستخدام التكسير الهيدروليكي ستستمر على الرغم من العداء المتزايد بين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في الجوار. المصدر: FAROUK BATICHE / AFP
  • المؤلف:

وليد مولاهم : متخصص في الموارد المائية ومهندس هيدروليكي يعمل على تطبيق الاستشعار عن بعد لرصد مخاطر الموارد المائية في البلدان النامية. يشارك في قطاع المياه الجزائري من خلال بناء القدرات ونقل التكنولوجيا وتقديم الدورات التدريبية للمؤسسات الحكومية والخاصة.

  • المراجع:

د. عبد المالك برمد ، عميد قسم الهندسة المائية والهيدروليكية في المعهد الوطني للفنون التطبيقية في الجزائر.

المُقدمة

قد دفعت أزمة الطاقة العالمية، والتي تفاقمت بسبب الأزمة الأوكرانية وتداعياتها المحتملة على إمدادات الطاقة إلى أوروبا، الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى الحاجة الماسة لتنويع إمدادات الطاقة، وخاصة الغاز الطبيعي، بعيداً عن روسيا. وفي ظل بحثها عن موردي الطاقة غير روسيا، فقد وجهت المفوضية الأوروبية أنظارها نحو العديد من البلدان، بما في ذلك الجزائر، كمورد خارجي مهم للغاز الطبيعي للدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي، ولا سيما إيطاليا وإسبانيا وألمانيا وفرنسا (الخريطة 1) [1]. وقد أدرج هذا النقاش المتعلق بآفاق تطوير موارد الطاقة غير التقليدية الجزائرية، على المدى المتوسط والبعيد، على جدول الأعمال الجزائري.

خطوط أنابيب الغاز في الجزائر - موارد المياه الجوفية في الجزائر
الخريطة (1): خطوط أنابيب الغاز التي تربط الجزائر بأوروبا. المصدر: S&P Global Platts Analytics / Fanack Water

إن الجزائر تعتمد اعتماداً كبيراً على النفط والغاز لتمويل إيرادات الدولة وتوليد العملات الأجنبية، حيث أن ما نسبته 97% من العائدات المباشرة لصادراتها هي من النفط والغاز. ومع ذلك، يضع ركود إنتاج الغاز منذ العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين، إلى جانب الاستهلاك المحلي المتزايد، الجزائر تحت ضغط لتشغيل حقول جديدة لتلبية الطلب المحلي والالتزامات التعاقدية الخارجية للبلاد. وقد عززت الحاجة لتوسيع الإنتاج الاهتمام المحلي لاستغلال موارد الغاز غير التقليدية، ذلك أن الجزائر تحتل المرتبة الثالثة عالمياً من حيث الموارد القابلة للاستخراج من الغاز الصخري، وفقاً لدراسة أجرتها إدارة معلومات الطاقة الأمريكية. ومنذ عام 2014، وفي أعقاب طفرة الغاز الصخري في أمريكا الشمالية، فإنه يُنظر إلى تطوير احتياطيات الغاز الصخري بكونها خطوة ضرورية لضمان أمن الطاقة في الجزائر ضمن استراتيجية الطاقة الشاملة، حيث يأتي هذا على الرغم من المعلومات المحدودة حول ما إذا كان يمكن استنساخ نموذج الولايات المتحدة بنجاح [2].

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن الخصائص الجيولوجية المواتية وصناعة الغاز الواسعة القائمة حالياً تمنح الجزائر إمكاناتٍ هائلة لتطوير الغاز الصخري. فمن الناحية التقنية، تعدّ احتياطيات الغاز الصخري القابلة للاسترداد ضخمة، إذ يمكن أن توفر كمية تقريبية تصل إلى 20,000 مليار متر مكعب من احتياجات الطاقة في البلاد لسنواتٍ قادمة. وعلى الرغم من هذه الموارد الهائلة، إلا أن هناك العديد من التحديات الرئيسية، فعلى سبيل المثال، لن يتطلب تطبيق تقنية التصديع المائي (أو التكسير الهيدروليكي) الجديدة لاستخراج الغاز الصخري موارد مالية هائلة فحسب، بل سيؤدي أيضاً إلى إلحاق ضرر بيئي كبير بموارد المياه (الجوفية). وقد حرّك هذا الاحتمال أعداداً غير مسبوقة من المواطنين الرافضين للانتقال إلى إنتاج الغاز الصخري [3].

المياه الجوفية والغاز الصخري والتصديع المائي

وفقاً لأطلس مخاطر قنوات المياه التابع لمعهد الموارد العالمية، فإن مستوى الإجهاد المائي الأساسي في الجزائر مرتفع للغاية، حيث تقدر المياه العذبة الداخلية المتجددة بحوالي 19 مليار متر مكعب سنوياً، أي ما يعادل 295 متراً مكعباً للفرد. ويضع هذا النقص في توافر المياه الجزائر في قائمة أكثر البلدان التي تعاني من الإجهاد المائي في العالم [4].

تقع الجزائر فوق نظام طبقات المياه الجوفية في الصحراء الشمالية الغربية (NWSAS)، وهو احتياطي ضخم من المياه الجوفية الأحفورية العابرة للحدود مع قابلية تجديد منخفضة للغاية. إن الموارد المائية في هذا النظام محصورة ضمن خزانين متداخلين رئيسيين، وهما حوض المتداخل القاري وحوض المركب النهائي، وكلاهما يحتوي على حوالي 60,000 مليار متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية، حيث تستهلك الجزائر 70% منها. وتغطي هذه المياه الجوفية 96% من الطلب على المياه في جنوب البلاد وتوفر المياه لري المزارع وبساتين النخيل والتي تمثل مصدر الدخل الأساسي لمعظم السكان في المنطقة. تتمتع طبقات المياه الجوفية هذه أيضاً بأهمية متوارثة بالنسبة للمجتمعات المحلية، وبشكل أساسي من خلال نظام قنوات الري المعروفة باسم الفقارة (الصورة 2)، والتي أضيفت في عام 2018 إلى قائمة اليونسكو للتراث الثقافي غير المادي الذي يحتاج إلى صون عاجل [5]. وعليه، فيعتبر تلوث هذا المورد عاملاً من عوامل الخطر الجسيمة، وسيكون تأثيره كارثياً على المجتمعات المحلية.

الفقارة في الجزائر
الصورة 2: نظام قنوات الري المعروفة باسم الفقارة. المصدر: BOURSEILLER Philippe / Hemis.fr / hemis.fr / Hemis via AFP

إن أكثر من 95% من الغاز الصخري في الجزائر يقع فوق أكبر احتياطي للمياه الأحفورية في البلاد (الخريطة 2). وقد أثار الخبراء مخاوف بشأن انخفاض كمية وجودة المياه في طبقة المياه الجوفية كنتيجةٍ مباشرة لاستخدام التصديع المائي [7]. وتتضمن هذه التقنية حقن كمياتٍ كبيرة من السائل المضغوط لإحداث شقوق وتصدعات في التشكيلات الصخرية واستخراج الغاز الحبيس بداخلها، إذ تتراوح كمية المياه المستخدمة من 10 إلى 20 مليون لتر من المياه لكل بئر استكشاف [8]. وعلى نطاق آلاف الآبار، فسيؤدي ذلك إلى استهلاك كبير للمياه العذبة، مما سيساهم بشكل أكبر في انخفاض مخزون المياه الجوفية [8]، في حين أن استخدام مصادر المياه البديلة مثل المياه الجوفية قليلة الملوحة أو إعادة استخدام المياه من شأنه أن يقلل من كميات المياه العذبة المستخرجة من طبقات المياه الجوفية غير المتجددة.

موارد الغاز الصخري في الجزائر - موارد المياه الجوفية في الجزائر
الخريطة (2): موارد الغاز الصخري في الجزائر وخزانات المياه الجوفية. المصدر: IGRAC و Resource Watch / Fanack Water

بل إن خطر التلوث المرتبط بالتصديع المائي سيفاقم الوضع سوءاً، فإلى جانب استخدام كميات كبيرة من المياه، فإن هذه التقنية تنتج كميات كبيرة من مياه الصرف المحتوية على ملوثات تتطلب المعالجة قبل التخلص منها أو إعادة استخدامها [9]. وفي حال سوء إدارة هذه المياه، فقد يتم انتشار السائل المستخدم في التصديع عن طريق طرحه أو تسرّبه أو غيرها من السُبل وتلويث المناطق المحيطة، بما في ذلك مصادر مياه الشرب  [8] [9]. وهنا تبرز الحاجة إلى الاستثمار الرأسمالي الضخم لإنشاء مرافق معالجة مياه عالية الجودة ومعقدة وتقليل مخاطر تلوث المياه الجوفية.

كما سيكون تنفيذ أفضل الممارسات أمراً بالغ الأهمية للتخفيف من مخاطر المياه المرتبطة باستغلال الغاز الصخري ولكي يكون التصديع المائي أكثر جدوى من الناحية الاجتماعية والبيئية في الجزائر.

مظاهرات الجزائر للغاز الصخري - المياه الجوفية في الجزائر
الصورة 3: متظاهرون جزائريون يعتصمون في 5 مارس 2015 بميدان الصمود بقرية عين صالح الصحراوية جنوب الجزائر احتجاجًا على التنقيب عن الغاز الصخري. تصاعدت المظاهرات المناهضة للغاز الصخري في مدن الصحراء الجزائرية منذ أواخر ديسمبر، عندما أعلنت شركة النفط الجزائرية سوناطراك أنها أتمت بنجاح أول حفر تجريبي لها في منطقة عين صالح. أعلنت سوناطراك في أوائل فبراير أن عمليات الحفر الاستكشافية للغاز الصخري باستخدام التكسير الهيدروليكي ستستمر على الرغم من العداء المتزايد بين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في الجوار. المصدر: FAROUK BATICHE / AFP

الاضطرابات الشعبية

قد تمت الموافقة على استغلال الغاز الصخري بموجب قانون أقره البرلمان الجزائري في عام 2013. وقد حظيت أولى آبار التنقيب عن الغاز الصخري باهتمامٍ إعلامي كبير، ليس لنتائجها الواعدة، بل بسبب الاحتجاجات المحلية التي أثارتها [11].

فقد تشكلت حركة احتجاجية، واكتسبت زخماً، في عين صالح، وهي مدينة يبلغ عدد سكانها 50 آلاف نسمة وتقع على بعد 1,200 كيلومتر جنوب العاصمة الجزائر، حيث ظهرت مجموعة مناهضة لاستخراج الغاز الصخري في عام 2014 بعد بدء حفر آبار تجريبية (الصورة 3)، وتمحورت مخاوف المتظاهرين حول الشقين البيئي والصحي. ركز المتظاهرون على تأثير التنقيب عن الغاز الصخري على نضوب طبقات المياه الجوفية التي تغذي الواحات التقليدية وتدعم الزراعة في المنطقة وكذلك على الحماية من التلوث المحتمل لموارد المياه [10]. قاد الحركة مدراء تنفيذيون وعلماء نفط وغاز جزائريون طالبوا بإجراء حوار وطني شفاف حول استكشاف الموارد غير التقليدية [11]. حُشد المزيد من الدعم من البلدات والمدن الصحراوية المجاورة في جميع أنحاء البلاد، وفي النهاية، وقَّعت أكثر من 80 منظمة من إفريقيا وأوروبا والولايات المتحدة على بيانٍ جماعي للدعم والتضامن مع أهالي عين صالح [12]. وتعدّ هذه المرة الأولى التي تشهد فيها الجزائر تآزر العديد من المواطنين، نساءً ورجالاً، من مختلف الخلفيات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وراء قضية بيئية بحتة [13]. بدايةً، انتشرت الاحتجاجات بشكل سلمي لكنها أدت في النهاية إلى مواجهات قمعية أصيب خلالها العديد من المتظاهرين ورجال قوات الأمن [10].

النفط والغاز في الجزائر
الصورة 4: معمل للنفط والغاز في الجزائر. المصدر: J-F ROLLINGER / ONLY WORLD / ONLY FRANCE VIA AFP

وقد نجحت التعبئة الشعبية لسكان عين صالح، بشكلٍ طفيف، بزرع بذور الشك في أذهان السياسيين الجزائريين والهيئات التنفيذية العاملة في القطاع وإبطاء استغلال الغاز الصخري الذي كان يهدف إلى الوصول إلى 10 مليارات متر مكعب بحلول عام 2022 [14].وفي البداية، قد أرجأت شركة النفط والغاز الوطنية “سوناطراك” مؤقتاً حفر المزيد من الآبار التجريبية، في حين أبدت الحكومة إصراراً قوياً على استغلال الغاز الصخري وعكس تأثير الانخفاض الكبير في عائدات النفط والغاز في الجزائر [10]. ومنذ مارس 2022، فقد طلب الرئيس الجزائري عبد المجيد تبون رسمياً من الإدارة العامة لسوناطراك ووزارة الطاقة البدء في اتخاذ جميع الخطوات اللازمة لتدشين التنقيب عن الغاز الصخري واستغلاله تمهيداً لإضفاء الصبغة التجارية عليه في أقصر وقتٍ ممكن. ومع ذلك، فلا تعترف الحكومة الجزائرية بهذا القرار، صراحةً وعلانية، بسبب الموقف السياسي الضعيف والمقلق للبلاد فيما يتعلق بالصراع الحالي بين روسيا والغرب، ولكن أيضاً من منطلق القلق من رد فعل الرأي العام، لا سيما من سكان البلاد جنوب البلاد [15].

إن من المفترض أن يُفسح المضي قُدماً في هذا الطريق، إلى جانب العوائد الاقتصادية بالنسبة للجزائر، المجال أمام استثمارات رأسمالية كبيرة لإنشاء مرافق معقدة و عالية الجودة لمعالجة مياه وتقليل المخاطر على موارد المياه الجوفية. كما ينبغي أن يسبق ذلك كله عمل مكثف لتوعية مواطني الجنوب لطمأنتهم بأن الأثر البيئي على الجنوب تحت السيطرة، ذلك أنها منطقةٌ تعتبر فيها موارد المياه أكثر قيمة لمجتمعاتها من أي سلعة أخرى.

[1] Erbach, G, 2014. Shale gas and EU energy security. EPRS | European Parliamentary Research Service.
[2] Boersma, T, Vandendriessche, M and Leber, A, 2015. Shale Gas in Algeria: No Quick Fix. Policy Brief 15-01. Brookings Energy Security And Climate Initiative.
[3] Chibane, B, Bentchakal, M and Nedjari, N, 2014. ‘Gaz de schiste en Algérie: Aspect économique et environnemental.’ 2ème conférence Internationale des énergies renouvelables CIER-2014. International Journal of Scientific Research & Engineering Technology 3: 77-82.
[4] Rapport d’Information déposé en application de l’article 145 du Règlement par la Commission des Affaires Étrangères de France en conclusion des travaux d’une mission d’information constituée le 5 octobre 2010 sur La géopolitique de l’eau, 2011
[5] De Strasser, L, Touzi, S, 2020. Reconciling resource uses: Assessment of the water-food-energy-ecosystems nexus in the North Western Sahara Aquifer System Part 1 – “Nexus Challenges and Solutions”. UNITED NATIONS ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR EUROPE.
[6] Mesureurs d’eau des foggaras du touat – tidikelt “kiyalin el-ma” 2018. Centre National de Recherches Préhistoriques, Anthropologiques et Historiques (C.N.R.P.A.H).
[7] Rahmouni, S, 2015. Étude des impacts environnementaux de gaz de schiste. Mémoire de fin d’étude. Université El-Hadj Lakhdar-Batna.
[8] Tahchi B, 2020. ‘Soucis environnementaux relatifs l’exploitation du gaz de schiste. L’Algérie peut-elle rivaliser les USA?’ University of Setif 1(1): 231-244.
[9] Osborn, S, Vengosh, A, Warner, N and Jackson, R, 2011. ‘Methane contamination of drinking water accompanying gas-well drilling and hydraulic fracturing.’ Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 108(20): 8172-8176.
[10] Observatoire des Multinationales, 2015. Total et le Gaz de Schiste Algérien.
[11] Jeune Afrique, 2014. ‘L’Algérie veut exploiter son gaz de schiste plus tôt que prévu.’ Published 9 December 2014.
[12] Algeria Solidary Campaign, 2015. ‘Solidarité transfrontalière gaz de schiste Algerie.’ Published 25 January 2015.
[13] Malti, H, 2016. ‘La lutte contre le gaz de schiste en Algérie.’ Relations 782: 37-38.
[14] Agence EcoFin, 2014. « L’Algérie démarrera la production du gaz schiste en 2022 et vise 10 milliards m3 en 2025 »
[15] Semmar, A, 2022, « Révélations. Comment l’Algérie est en train de lancer discrètement l’exploitation du Gaz de schiste » Journaliste Indépendant.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

Algeria’s Groundwater Resources: A Victim To The Exploitation Of Unconvential Energy Resources

Algerian protests against shale
Photo 1: Algerians walk past a wall on which a graffiti reads in Arabic "no to hydraulic fracturing " on March 5, 2015 during a protest at Somoud Square in the Sahara desert village of In-Salah, south Algeria, against the exploration of shale gas. Anti-shale gas demonstrations have increased in the cities of the Algerian Sahara since late December, when Algerian oil company Sonatrach announced it had successfully completed its first pilot drilling in the In-Salah region. Sonatrach announced in early February that its exploratory drilling for shale gas using hydraulic fracturing would continue despite mounting hostility among people living nearby. Source: FAROUK BATICHE / AFP

Contributors

  • Author:

Walid Moulahoum : Water resource specialist and hydraulic engineer working on the application of remote sensing to monitor water resource risk in developing countries. He is involved in the sector of water in Algeria through capacity building and technology transfer and training courses for public and private institutions.

  • Peer reviewer:

Abdelmalek Bermad: Dean of the hydraulic/Water Engineering department at the National Polytechnic Institute in Algeria.

Introduction

The global energy crisis, exacerbated by the Ukranian crisis and its possible repercussions on the energy supply to Europe, have left the European Union (EU) desperate to diversify its energy supply, particularly of natural gas, away from Russia. In its search for energy suppliers other than Russia, the European Commission has eyed many countries, including Algeria, as a significant external natural gas supplier to EU member states, notably Italy, Spain, Germany and France (Map 1) [1]. This has put on the Algerian agenda, the debate related to the prospects of the development of Algerian unconventional energy resources in the medium and long term.

Algeria gas pipelines. Algeria’s Groundwater Resources
Map 1. Gas pipelines linking Algeria to Europe. Source: S&P Global Platts Analytics / Fanack Water

Algeria is heavily reliant on hydrocarbons for state revenue and to generate foreign currency, with 97% of its export earnings coming directly from oil and gas. However, stagnating gas production since the 2000s coupled with mounting domestic consumption is putting Algeria under pressure to bring new fields online in order to meet domestic demand and the country’s foreign contractual obligations. This need to expand production has fuelled domestic interest in exploiting unconventional gas resources as Algeria may be sitting on the world’s third-largest recoverable resources of shale gas, according to a study commissioned by the US Energy Information Administration. Since 2014, and following the North American shale gas energy boom, the development of shale gas reserves has been seen as necessary to ensure Algeria’s energy security within the overall energy strategy. This is despite limited information on whether the US’s model can be replicated successfully [2].

At the same time, favourable geology and the extensive existing gas industry give Algeria enormous potential for developing shale gas. The technically recoverable shale gas reserves are massive; an estimated quantity close to 20,000 billion cubic metres (BCM) could secure the country’s energy needs for years to come. Despite the vast resources, several key challenges exist. For instance, implementing new hydraulic fracking technology to extract shale gas would not only require colossal financial resources, but it would also entail significant environmental damage to the (ground)water resources. This prospect has seen unprecedented numbers of citizens mobilize to resist the transition to shale gas production [3].

Groundwater, shale gas and fracking

According to the World Resources Institute’s Aqueduct Water Risk Atlas, Algeria’s baseline water stress level is very high. Renewable internal freshwater is estimated at approximately 19 BCM per year, which is equivalent to 295 cubic metres (m3) per capita. Such low water availability places Algeria among the most water-stressed countries in the world [4].

Algeria sits atop the Northwest Sahara Aquifer System (NWSAS), a huge transboundary fossil groundwater reserve with very low renewability. The water resources in this system are contained within two major overlapping aquifers, the Complex Terminal and the Continental Interlayer, which both hold around 60,000 BCM of groundwater, a 70% share of which is consumed by Algeria. This groundwater covers 96% of the water demand in the south of the country and provides irrigation for the plantations and palm groves which represent the primary income source for most of the population in the region. These aquifers also have traditional significance for the local communities, primarily through the foggara irrigation system (Photos 2), which in 2018 was added to UNESCO’s List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding [5]. Contamination of this resource is a critical risk, and pollution would be disastrous to the local communities.

Algerian Foggara - Algeria’s Groundwater Resources
Photo 2: the foggara irrigation system. Source: BOURSEILLER Philippe / Hemis.fr / hemis.fr / Hemis via AFP

More than 95% of Algeria’s shale gas lies above the country’s largest fossil water reserve (Map 2). Experts have raised concerns regarding decreases in the quantity and quality of the aquifer as a direct consequence of the use of hydraulic fracking [7]. This technique involves injecting large quantities of pressurized liquid, into rocks to force open existing fissures and extract gas that is entrapped within. This amounts to 10 to 20 million litres of water per exploration well [8]. Scaling this up to thousands of wells would lead to substantial freshwater consumption, further contributing to the decline of groundwater water stocks [8]. Using alternative water sources such as brackish groundwater or water reuse would reduce the quantities of fresh water extracted from these non-regenerative aquifers.

Algeria’s shale gas resources - Algeria’s Groundwater Resources
Map 2. Algeria’s shale gas resources and groundwater aquifers. Source: IGRAC and Resource Watch / Fanack Water

The pollution risk associated with hydraulic fracking makes the situation even worse. Besides using significant quantities of water, the technique produces large amounts of wastewater containing contaminants that require treatment before disposal or reuse [9]. If mismanaged, the fracking liquid can be released by spills, leaks, or other exposure pathways and contaminate surrounding areas, including drinking water sources  [8] [9]. Considerable capital investment is necessary to set up high-quality and complex water treatment facilities and minimize the risk of groundwater contamination.

Implementing best practices will be vital to mitigate the water risk associated with shale gas exploitation and make hydraulic fracking more socially and environmentally feasible in Algeria.

Demos against shale gas - Algeria’s Groundwater Resources
Photo 3: Algerian demonstrators stage a sit-in on March 5, 2015 at Somoud Square in the Sahara desert village of In-Salah, south Algeria, against the exploration of shale gas. Anti-shale gas demonstrations have increased in the cities of the Algerian Sahara since late December, when Algerian oil company Sonatrach announced it had successfully completed its first pilot drilling in the In-Salah region. Sonatrach announced in early February that its exploratory drilling for shale gas using hydraulic fracturing would continue despite mounting hostility among people living nearby. Source: FAROUK BATICHE / AFP

Social unrest

The exploitation of shale gas was authorized by a law passed by the Algerian Parliament in 2013. Algeria’s first exploration wells for shale gas garnered significant media attention, not for their promising results but for the local protests they triggered [11].

A protest movement took shape and gained momentum in In Salah, a town of 50,000 people 1,200 km south of the capital Algiers, where an anti-shale gas collective emerged in 2014 following the initiation of pilot wells (Photos 3). The protesters’ concerns were environmental and health-related. They focused on the impact of shale gas exploration on the depletion of aquifers that sustain the traditional oasis and agriculture in the area as well as on protection from possible contamination of water resources [10]. The movement was led by Algerian oil and gas executives and scientists who requested a transparent national dialogue on exploring unconventional resources [11]. Further support came from neighbouring desert towns and cities across the country. Eventually, more than 80 organizations from Africa, Europe, and the United States signed a collective statement of support and solidarity with the people of In Salah [12]. It is the first time in Algeria that a citizen’s movement has brought together so many women and men of varying socioeconomic status behind a purely environmental cause [13]. The protests initially spread peacefully but ultimately led to repressive encounters, during which several protestors and security forces were injured [10].

Oil and gas plant in Algeria
Photo 4: Oil and gas plant. Source: J-F ROLLINGER / ONLY WORLD / ONLY FRANCE VIA AFP

The social mobilization of In Salah’s residents has slightly succeeded in sowing some doubt in the minds of Algerian politicians and Executives in the sector and slowing down the exploitation of shale gas which was aimed to reach 10 billion cubic meters by 2022 [14]. While on the forefront, Sontarach, the national oil and gas company, has renounced momentarily to drill further pilot wells, the government, on the other hand, has shown strong determination to exploit shale gas and reverse the impact of the dramatic decline in Algeria’s oil & gas revenues [10]. Since March 2022, the Algerian president Abdelmajid Tebboune, has officially asked the general management of Sonatrach and the Ministry of Energy to start all the necessary steps for the launch of exploration and exploitation of shale gas in order to prepare for its commercialization in the briefest of times. The Algerian government does not recognize this decision openly and publicly because of the country’s fragile and worrying political position with regard to the current conflict between Russia and the West, but also out of worry of the reaction of public opinion, particularly that of the inhabitants of the south of the country [15].

This way forward, while economically beneficial for Algeria, should unlock major capital investment to set up high-quality and complex water treatment facilities and minimize the risk to groundwater resources. It should also be preceded by extensive work of sensitization of the citizens of the South region to reassure them about the control of the environmental impact. As it is an area where water resources are more valuable to its communities than any other commodity.

[1] Erbach, G, 2014. Shale gas and EU energy security. EPRS | European Parliamentary Research Service.
[2] Boersma, T, Vandendriessche, M and Leber, A, 2015. Shale Gas in Algeria: No Quick Fix. Policy Brief 15-01. Brookings Energy Security And Climate Initiative.
[3] Chibane, B, Bentchakal, M and Nedjari, N, 2014. ‘Gaz de schiste en Algérie: Aspect économique et environnemental.’ 2ème conférence Internationale des énergies renouvelables CIER-2014. International Journal of Scientific Research & Engineering Technology 3: 77-82.
[4] Rapport d’Information déposé en application de l’article 145 du Règlement par la Commission des Affaires Étrangères de France en conclusion des travaux d’une mission d’information constituée le 5 octobre 2010 sur La géopolitique de l’eau, 2011
[5] De Strasser, L, Touzi, S, 2020. Reconciling resource uses: Assessment of the water-food-energy-ecosystems nexus in the North Western Sahara Aquifer System Part 1 – “Nexus Challenges and Solutions”. UNITED NATIONS ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR EUROPE.
[6] Mesureurs d’eau des foggaras du touat – tidikelt “kiyalin el-ma” 2018. Centre National de Recherches Préhistoriques, Anthropologiques et Historiques (C.N.R.P.A.H).
[7] Rahmouni, S, 2015. Étude des impacts environnementaux de gaz de schiste. Mémoire de fin d’étude. Université El-Hadj Lakhdar-Batna.
[8] Tahchi B, 2020. ‘Soucis environnementaux relatifs l’exploitation du gaz de schiste. L’Algérie peut-elle rivaliser les USA?’ University of Setif 1(1): 231-244.
[9] Osborn, S, Vengosh, A, Warner, N and Jackson, R, 2011. ‘Methane contamination of drinking water accompanying gas-well drilling and hydraulic fracturing.’ Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 108(20): 8172-8176.
[10] Observatoire des Multinationales, 2015. Total et le Gaz de Schiste Algérien.
[11] Jeune Afrique, 2014. ‘L’Algérie veut exploiter son gaz de schiste plus tôt que prévu.’ Published 9 December 2014.
[12] Algeria Solidary Campaign, 2015. ‘Solidarité transfrontalière gaz de schiste Algerie.’ Published 25 January 2015.
[13] Malti, H, 2016. ‘La lutte contre le gaz de schiste en Algérie.’ Relations 782: 37-38.
[14] Agence EcoFin, 2014. « L’Algérie démarrera la production du gaz schiste en 2022 et vise 10 milliards m3 en 2025 »
[15] Semmar, A, 2022, « Révélations. Comment l’Algérie est en train de lancer discrètement l’exploitation du Gaz de schiste » Journaliste Indépendant.