تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

ما دور بناء السلام البيئي في مواجهة تحديات المياه في الشرق الأوسط؟

صحراء سيناء - بناء السلام البيئي
الصورة 1: النباتات في صحراء سيناء. المصدر: Ruben Vermeer, 2022

بقلم: إيدا مينبرج، جوليان شيلينجر

يعدّ بناء السلام البيئي أحد مجالات البحوث والإجراءات العملية والتي يتم اتخاذها عند تقاطع السلام والنزاعات والبيئة، ويتناول قضايا مثل دور الموارد الطبيعية في تأجيج النزاعات وتمويلها، والإمكانات التي يتمتع بها النشاط البيئي لتعبئة المجتمعات، وفرص بناء الثقة وصنع السلام من خلال إدارة الموارد المشتركة.

وقد جمع المؤتمر الدولي الثاني لبناء السلام البيئي، في الفترة ما بين 1 إلى 4 فبراير 2022، أكثر من 2000 شخص لتقييم العمل الحالي في بناء السلام البيئي ومناقشة مساهمته في مجال التنمية المستدامة الأكبر. وقد استضافت جمعية بناء السلام البيئي والمعهد العالي للدراسات الدولية والإنمائية في جنيف المؤتمر والذي تم عن بُعد، وشارك فيه أكثر من 350 متحدثاً من 66 دولة، موفراً منصةً لتبادل المعارف والتعلّم من الخبرات المختلفة حول العالم.

وخلال المؤتمر، فقد نوقشت قضايا المياه والبيئة في الشرق الأوسط في عدة جلسات؛ لاستكشاف الدور الذي يمكن أن يلعبه بناء السلام البيئي في مواجهة تحديات المياه الإقليمية.

الآلية المشتركة لجمع البيانات والعمل الاستباقي لإدارة المياه العابرة للحدود

على مدار جلستين، قد نوقشت الفرص والتحديات حول التعاون في مجال المياه العابرة للحدود في أحواض أنهار السند وميكونغ والأمازون والأردن، مع التركيز على الدبلوماسية العلمية والبيئية والعمل الاستباقي، حيث قد سلطت الجلستان الضوء على العوائق المختلفة المتعلقة بانعدام الثقة بين دول المشاطئة وأهمية جمع البيانات التشاركية.

فقد أشار كلٌ من كلايف ليبشين وشارون بنهايم، بالاعتماد على عملهما في حوض نهر الأردن مع معهد وادي عربة للدراسات البيئية، إلى أن انعدام الثقة وغياب دبلوماسية المياه الرسمية (من حكومة إلى حكومة) بين إسرائيل وسوريا ولبنان يعيقان التعاون في إدارة المياه. كما أن العمليات والاتفاقيات الرسمية الحالية ليست كافية، فعلى سبيل المثال، فإن عدم وجود اتفاق شامل بشأن مراقبة تدفق المياه بين إسرائيل وفلسطين يحد من إمكانيات إدارة المياه العابرة للحدود والتي تعتمد على البيانات.

أما على المستوى المحلي، فإن الافتقار إلى بيانات المياه وهياكل الإدارة المناسبة يؤدي إلى تفاقم القضايا البيئية القائمة. وبناءً على حالة من الضفة الغربية، حيث تواجه المجتمعات مشاكل تتعلق بجودة المياه مثل المياه الجوفية قليلة الملوحة ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، فقد أكد ليبشين على إمكانات المشاركة الشعبية في البحث العلمي (أو ما يُعرف بعلم المواطنين) والإدارة على صعيد المجتمع المحلي؛ حيث تسمح التقنيات الجديدة بمراقبة جودة المياه على المستوى المحلي وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي على نطاقٍ محدود. ينبغي دمج كلا من هذين الحليّن في هياكل إدارة المياه اللامركزية لتمكين المجتمعات من مواجهة تحديات المياه الخاصة بهم بشكلٍ فعال.

الدبلوماسية المائية وأهمية جودة المياه

وقد ألقت الجلسة التي عقدتها الشراكة بين الجامعات للتعاون في مجال المياه والدبلوماسية الضوء على آخر التطورات في مجال الدبلوماسية المائية، مع التركيز على ضرورة النظر في جودة المياه وتأثيراتها المتعددة على تطوير التعاون وحل النزاعات. و أن تدهور جودة المياه يؤثر على مجتمعات الأحواض في جميع أنحاء العالم، مما يرافقها تداعياتٍ خطيرة على المياه والأمن الغذائي والصحة البيئية. وبناءً على ذلك، فقد تم التأكيد بشكلٍ متزايد على جودة المياه في اتفاقيات المياه العابرة للحدود والتي يمكن أن توفر فرصاً للعمل المشترك للتخفيف من المخاطر. ومع ذلك، ولتحقيق هذه الإمكانات في الشرق الأوسط، فيجب أن تشمل اعتبارات جودة المياه كلاً من موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية، حيث إن المياه الجوفية ما زالت غير ممثلةٍ كما يجب في الاتفاقيات الدولية.

وبالنظر إلى استغلال المياه في السياسة، فقد تمت مناقشة حالة سد الصداقة بين تركيا وسوريا على نهر العاصي في الجلسة نفسها. وقدمت هانا هيلبرت وولف الديناميكيات السياسية التي قد أدت إلى المفهوم الأولي للسد، محددةً التعاون الدولي والقضايا الأمنية بكونها المحركات الرئيسية. وقد أدت هذه المحركات إلى فرصةٍ قصيرة الأجل للتعاون في الفترة ما بين عام 1998 و2011، عندما كان التعاون بين تركيا وسوريا في أوجه والتوترات المتعلقة بالمياه منخفضة نسبياً. ويُظهر المشروع البحثي في جامعة جنيف أهمية تقييم القضايا المتعلقة بالمياه جنباً إلى جنب مع المصالح الأمنية المحلية والدولية لبلدان المشاطئة لتحديد فرص التعاون.

وادي رم في الأردن - بناء السلام البيئي
الصورة 2: : ألواح الطاقة الشمسية في وادي رم في الأردن. المصدر: Ruben Vermeer, 2018

“الصفقة الخضراء الزرقاء” لتقاسم المنافع عبر الحدود والحوار

كجزءٍ من حملتها التوعوية التي حملت عنوان “الصفقة الخضراء الزرقاء للشرق الأوسط،” فقد استضافت مؤسسة إيكوبيس إحدى جلسات المؤتمر حول إمكانية تقاسم المنافع عبر الحدود فيما يتجاوز قضية المياه في حوض نهر الأردن. ففي ظل تأثيرات تغير المناخ الإقليمي والخسارة الوشيكة لسُبل العيش، فإن هذه المبادرة تدعو إلى اتخاذ إجراءات في أربعة مجالات رئيسية: (1) تبادل المياه المحلاة لإنتاج الطاقة الشمسية بين إسرائيل وفلسطين والأردن، بناءً على الأصول الطبيعية والجغرافية لكل بلد (2) إعادة تأهيل نهر الأردن وتنوعه البيولوجي الغني سابقاً باعتباره الناقل الرئيسي للمياه (3) تغيير نموذج إدارة المياه وإحراز تقدم في إعادة توزيع المياه بين إسرائيل وفلسطين (4) برنامج للتوعية العامة والتثقيف حول دبلوماسية المرونة في مجالي المياه والمناخ كوسيلة لبناء السلام وحل النزاعات. وقد جادل المقدمان ندى مجدلاني ويانا أبو طالب بأن “الصفقة الخضراء الزرقاء” المتوخاة يمكن أن تخلق تحالفاتٍ استراتيجية بين الدول؛ للحد من فقدان سُبل العيش ومعالجة التحديات البيئية، ولتكون بمثابة أداةٍ للحوار العابر للحدود.

تمكين النشاط البيئي الإقليمي

في ظل غياب المبادرات البيئية الفعالة بقيادة الحكومة، فأن منظمات المجتمع المدني تلعب دوراً رئيسياً في تمكين بناء السلام البيئي، وبناء الثقة بين المجتمعات، ومعالجة القضايا البيئية المحلية. ومع ذلك، فلا يخلو النشاط البيئي من التحديات والمخاوف الأمنية، كما صرح بذلك العديد من النشطاء من جميع أنحاء العالم في جلسةٍ حول موقف المدافعين عن البيئة.

وبناءً على تجارب جمعية حُماة نهر دجلة في العراق، فقد تحدث سلمان خير الله عن التحديات التي يواجهها النشاط البيئي في سياق توريق الموارد الطبيعية؛ على سبيل المثال عند معالجة التلوث الناجم عن صناعة النفط العراقية. وفي الوقت نفسه، فقد أشار إلى أنه عندما يتعلق الأمر بالنشاط في البيئات غير المستقرة سياسياً فإن القوة والأمان تكمنان في كثرة العدد، كما قد سلط الضوء على مساهمات حملة “أنقذوا دجلة للنشاط العابر للحدود في حوض الفرات ودجلة. ومع ذلك، فإن الدعوة إلى التعاون الإقليمي ليس بالأمر السهل دوماً. وتماماً كما يحصل دوماً مع مؤسسة إيكوبيس أثناء عملها في حوض نهر الأردن، فقد تم انتقاد مبادراتها لبناء السلام عبر الحدود باعتبارها تطبيعاً للوضع الراهن والاحتلال الإسرائيلي للأراضي الفلسطينية. وعليه، فإن تحقيق التوازن بين بناء السلام البيئي المحلي والإقليمي ومخاطر الاضطهاد أو النبذ الاجتماعي لا يزال يمثل تحدياً للمجتمع المدني في أجزاء من الشرق الأوسط.

التعاون في المناطق المتضررة من النزاعات

مع وجود العديد من النزاعات المسلحة المستمرة في المنطقة، فإن الحفاظ على إدارة المياه وتوفير الخدمات الأساسية أثناء النزاع يعدّ أمراً بالغ الأهمية لدعم سُبل العيش والصحة العامة وتقليل الأضرار البيئية. وعليه، فقد عقدت جامعة توينتي جلسةً جمعت بين الباحثين والممارسين العاملين في الشرق الأوسط بهدف تقييم الوضع الحالي للمعارف حول إدارة المياه في الأماكن المتضررة من النزاعات إلى جانب مناقشة الحاجة إلى تحسين التعاون وبناء المعرفة المشتركة.

وبالنظر إلى الطبيعة المطولة للنزاعات في المنطقة، فقد أكد غيوم بيريهمبرت من اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر أن التدخلات الإنسانية قصيرة المدى لم تعد كافيةً لتلبية الاحتياجات المحلية المتعلقة بالمياه. ونظراً لأن الحدود بين مساعدات الطوارئ ومساعدات التنمية غير واضحة المعالم، فيتعين على الجهات الفاعلة المحلية والدولية ذات الصلة تعزيز تعاونهما لضمان الوصول إلى خدمات المياه على المدى الطويل؛ إذ يشمل هذا دعم قدرة مقدمي الخدمات المحليين على الصمود، بما في ذلك منظمات المجتمع المدني المحلية ذات المعرفة الوثيقة بالقضايا البيئية والمائية المُلحة.

كما قد تم تسليط الضوء على تحسين التعاون بين الباحثين والممارسين، فضلاً عن مشاركة البيانات من قبل جميع الجهات الفاعلة المشاركة باعتبارها خطواتٍ مهمة نحو إنشاء قاعدة معرفية مشتركة حول إدارة المياه في الأماكن المتأثرة بالنزاع.

التحديات والفرص لبناء السلام البيئي

قد عززت الجلسات المختلفة للمؤتمر الدولي الثاني لبناء السلام البيئي فكرة أن المياه يمكن أن تكون أداة قوية للجمع بين الشعوب، وأن موارد المياه العابرة للحدود تؤدي إلى التعاون بين الدول بشكلٍ متكرر على نحوٍ أكبر من النزاع حولها. وعلى جميع المستويات، فيمكن للدول والمجتمعات المجاورة على حد سواء إيجاد أرضية مشتركة لمواجهة التحديات المشتركة مثل التأثيرات المناخية الإقليمية والتدهور البيئي. وعلاوةً على ذلك، فيمكن أن يوفر بناء السلام البيئي إطاراً لمواجهة هذه التحديات في سياق العمليات البيئية والجيوسياسية الأوسع، وربطها بالقضايا المجتمعية الرئيسية الأخرى مثل تمكين المجتمع والعدالة البيئية والمساواة بين الأنواع الاجتماعية وتمثيل الشباب.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تتطلب عمليات بناء السلام البيئي عملاً دؤوباً وإعادة تقييمٍ مستمرة للممارسات الحالية. وخلال المؤتمر، قد أكد المتحدثون على أهمية المشاركة المجتمعية الواسعة والعمل القائم على الأدلة، وكذلك الحاجة إلى التعلم من النجاحات والإخفاقات السابقة. كما يعد بناء قاعدة معرفية حول بناء السلام البيئي في المنطقة خطوةً مهمة لإحراز هذا التقدم. وعليه، فيعتبر دليل الورقة البيضاء المعنون “النظام البيئي من أجل السلام” حول بناء السلام البيئي، والذي قد تم إطلاقه خلال المؤتمر، مثالاً على مثل هذا التبادل للدروس المستفادة، بما في ذلك العديد من المدخلات من الشرق الأوسط.

ويلعب المجتمع المدني دوراً رئيسياً في عمليات بناء السلام البيئي، سواء اتخذ ذلك شكل حملات المناصرة من قبل المنظمات غير الحكومية على مستوياتٍ مختلفة، أو تحركاتٍ على أرض الواقع بقيادة المجتمع المحلي. وهذا هو واقع الحال في حالات الخلافات السياسية أو النزاعات بين البلدان؛ حيث يمكن للمجتمع المدني بناء الجسور بين الشعوب على الرغم من جمود العمليات السياسية. فقد باتت مثل هذه الخبرات المتمحورة حول مثل هذه البيئات التي اكتسبها النشطاء البيئيون في حوض نهر الأردن بالتحديد مرغوبةً من قبل زملائهم من بناة السلام البيئي من جميع أنحاء العالم، مما يشير إلى اهتمامهم بتعلم الدروس من الشرق الأوسط.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

What role for environmental peacebuilding in addressing the water challenges of the Middle East?

Sinai desert
Photo 1: Vegetation in Sinai desert, Egypt (Source: Ruben Vermeer, 2022).

Authors: Ida Meyenberg, Juliane Schillinger

Environmental peacebuilding is a field of research and practical action at the intersection of peace, conflict and the environment. It addresses issues such as the role of natural resources in fueling and funding conflicts, the potential of environmental activism to mobilize communities, and the opportunities for trust- and peace-building through joint resources management. From February 1 to 4, 2022 the Second International Conference on Environmental Peacebuilding brought together more than 2000 people to take stock of current work in environmental peacebuilding and to discuss its contribution to the larger field of sustainable development. Hosted by the Environmental Peacebuilding Association and the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, the online conference featured more than 350 speakers from 66 countries, providing a platform for exchange and learning from different experiences around the world.

Throughout the conference, water and environmental issues in the Middle East were discussed in several sessions, exploring the role that environmental peacebuilding can play in addressing regional water challenges.

Joint data collection and anticipatory governance for transboundary water management

Spread over two sessions, the opportunities and challenges in transboundary water cooperation in the Indus, Mekong, Amazon and Jordan river basins were discussed, focusing on science and environmental diplomacy and on anticipatory governance. Both sessions highlighted the various obstacles regarding the distrust between riparians and the importance of participatory data collection.

Drawing from their work on the Jordan River basin with the Arava Institute for Environmental Studies, Clive Lipchin and Sharon Benheim noted that distrust and the absence of official ‘track I’ water diplomacy (government-to-government) between Israel, Syria and Lebanon hampers collaboration in water management. Existing formal processes and agreements are not sufficient either. For instance, the lack of an overarching agreement on flow monitoring between Israel and Palestine limits the possibilities for data-driven transboundary water management.

On the local level, the lack of water data and of appropriate governance structures exacerbate existing environmental issues. Based on a case from the West Bank, where communities face water quality problems related to brackish groundwater and wastewater treatment, Lipchin emphasized the potential of citizen science and community-led management, as new technologies allow for localized water quality monitoring and small-scale reuse of wastewater. Both solutions need to be embedded in decentralized water governance structures that empower communities to effectively address their own water challenges.

Reflecting on hydro-diplomacy and the importance of water quality

A session convened by the Universities Partnership for Water Cooperation and Diplomacy reflected on the latest developments in the field of hydro-diplomacy, highlighting the need to consider water quality and its multi-scalar impacts on the development of cooperation and conflict resolution. The deterioration of water quality affects basin communities worldwide, with severe ramification for water and food security and for environmental health. Accordingly, water quality has increasingly been emphasized in transboundary water agreements and can provide opportunities for joint action to alleviate risks. However, to realize this potential for the Middle East, water quality considerations need to include both surface water and groundwater resources, with the latter still underrepresented in international agreements.

Looking at the instrumentalization of water in hydro-politics, the case of the Turkey-Syria Friendship Dam on the Asi (Orontes) River was discussed in the same session. Hannah Hilbert-Wolf presented the political dynamics leading to the initial conception of the dam, identifying international cooperation and questions of security as main drivers. Together they led to a short window of opportunity between 1998 and 2011, when cooperation between the Turkey and Syria was high and water-related tensions relatively low. The research project at the University of Geneva shows the importance of assessing water-related issues in conjunction with domestic and international security interests of the riparians to identify opportunities for collaboration.

Wadi Rum, Jordan
Photo 2: Solar panels in Wadi Rum, Jordan (Source: Ruben Vermeer, 2018).

A ‘Green Blue Deal’ for transboundary benefit-sharing and dialogue

As part of their advocacy campaign for a ‘Green Blue Deal for the Middle East,’ EcoPeace hosted a conference session on the potential for cross-border benefit sharing beyond water in the Jordan River basin. In the context of regional climate change impacts and the impending loss of livelihoods, the initiative advocates for action in four key areas: (1) an exchange of desalinated water for solar energy between Israel, Palestine and Jordan, based on the geographical natural assets of each country; (2) the rehabilitation of the Jordan River as main water carrier and of its former rich biodiversity; (3) a change of the water paradigm and advancing in the water reallocation between Israel and Palestine; and (4) a public awareness and education program on resilience diplomacy in water and climate as a means of peacebuilding and conflict resolution. Presenters Nada Majdalani and Yana Abu Taleb argued that the envisioned ‘Green Blue Deal’ could create strategic alliances between the countries to reduce the loss of livelihoods and address environmental challenges, and serve as an instrument of transboundary dialogue.

Empowering regional environmental activism

In the absence of effective government-led environmental initiatives, civil society organizations play a key role in enabling environmental peacebuilding, building trust between communities, and addressing local environmental issues. However, environmental activism is not without challenges and security concerns, as was shared by various activists from around the world in a session on the position of environmental defenders.

Building on the experiences of Humat Dijlah in Iraq, Salman Khairalla reflected on the challenges of environmental activism in a context of natural resource securitization, for example when addressing pollution caused by the Iraqi oil industry. At the same time, he remarked that when it comes to activism in politically instable settings, there is strength and safety in numbers, and highlighted the contributions of the ‘Save the Tigris’ campaign for transboundary activism in the Euphrates-Tigris basin. However, calling for regional collaboration is not always easy. As EcoPeace regularly experiences in their work in the Jordan River basin, their cross-border peacebuilding initiatives have been criticized as normalizing the status quo and the Israeli occupation of Palestinian territories. Balancing local and regional environmental peacebuilding with the risks of persecution or social ostracism thus remains a challenge for civil society in parts of the Middle East.

A case for collaboration in conflict-affected regions

With several ongoing armed conflicts in the region, maintaining water management and basic service provision during conflict is crucial to uphold livelihoods and public health, and to minimize environmental damage. Bringing together researchers and practitioners working in the Middle East, a session convened by the University of Twente took stock of the current state of knowledge on water management in conflict-affected settings, and discussed the need for improved collaboration and joint knowledge building.

Given the protracted nature of conflicts in the region, Guillaume Pierrehumbert from the International Committee for the Red Cross emphasized that short-term humanitarian interventions are no longer sufficient to address local water-related needs. As the boundaries between emergency and development aid are blurring, relevant local and international actors need to strengthen their collaboration to ensure long-term access to water services. This includes supporting the resilience of local service providers and including local civil society organizations with intimate knowledge of pressing environmental and water issues.

Improved collaboration between scientific researchers and practitioners, as well as data sharing by all involved actors were additionally highlighted as important steps towards a joint knowledge base on water management in conflict-affected settings.

Challenges and opportunities for environmental peacebuilding

The different sessions of the Second International Conference on Environmental Peacebuilding reinforced the notion that water can be a powerful instrument to bring people together, and that transboundary water resources lead to cooperation between states much more frequently than to conflict. Across scales, neighbouring states and communities alike can find common ground in jointly faced challenges like regional climate impacts and environmental degradation. Environmental peacebuilding can provide a framework to address these challenges in the context of broader environmental and geopolitical processes, and connect them to other key societal issues such as community empowerment, environmental justice, gender equality, and youth representation.

At the same time, environmental peacebuilding processes require diligent work and a constant re-evaluation of current practices. Throughout the conference, speakers emphasized the importance of broad community participation and evidence-based action, as well as the need to learn from past successes and failures. Building a knowledge base on environmental peacebuilding in the region is an important step in this progress. The ‘Ecosystem for Peace’ compendium on environmental peacebuilding, launched during the conference, is an example of such an exchange of lessons learned, including several entries from the Middle East.

Civil society has a key role to play in environmental peacebuilding processes, both in the form of advocacy campaigns by non-governmental organizations on different levels, and in the form of local community-led action. This is particularly the case in settings of political dispute or conflict between countries, where civil society can build bridges between peoples despite the stalemate of political processes. The experiences in navigating such settings gained by environmental activists in the Jordan River basin were particularly sought after by fellow environmental peacebuilders from around the world, indicating an interest to learn lessons from the Middle East.