تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

ملف الأردن للمياه

البتراء، الأردن - المياه في الأردن
الصورة 1: الدير (البتراء)، الأردن. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

المساهمون:

المؤلف: فريق تحرير فَنَك للمياه

المراجعة:الدكتورة مجد النبر متخصصة في الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية (الزراعة المروية) والسياسات المائية للأراضي القاحلة. حاليًا ، هي قائدة الفريق وباحثة أولى في ركيزة التنمية المستدامة في معهد WANA. اتبعت نهجًا متعدد التخصصات في إدارة المشاريع وتطوير الدراسات المتعلقة بالبيئة المستدامة والحوكمة والأمن وتغير المناخ.

المُقدمة

على مر التاريخ، كانت المياه محوريةً للحياة في الأردن (الخريطة 1)، إذ قد لعب توافر الماء أو عدمه دوراً مهماً في تشكيل جغرافية المستوطنات البشرية في أرجاء المنطقة. وتاريخياً، فقد استُغِلت المهارات الهندسية بحكمة لتوفير المياه لسكان البلاد، كما يتضح من المواقع الأثرية في البتراء وجرش [1]. فلا تقتصر أهمية المياه على الشرب فحسب، بل أيضاً تبرز أهميتها للزراعة والتنمية الاقتصادية والبُنى الاجتماعية.

وباعتبارها ثاني دول العالم الأكثر جفافاً، وفقاً لأحدث بيانات الأمم المتحدة، [2] فإن المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية تواجه أزمة مياه عميقة، وعليه، فيعتبر سكان الأردن من بين الأكثر حرماناً من المياه على مستوى العالم. وعلى حد تعبير اليونيسف، فإن “موارد المياه المتجددة في الأردن تبلغ أقل من 100 متر مكعب للفرد، وهي أقل بكثير من حصة الفرد عالمياً والتي تبلغ 500 متر مكعب وتدل على نقص شديد في المياه.[3] وعلى الصعيد الدولي، يُعرّف توافر المياه التي تقل عن 1000 متر مكعب للفرد سنوياً على أنه ندرة في المياه، بينما يعتبر أقل من 500 متر مكعب ندرة مطلقة. [4] ويؤثر نقص الموارد المائية في الأردن على النمو الاقتصادي للبلاد، مما يرافقه تداعياتٌ محتملةٌ على الصحة العامة فضلاً عن الاستقرار السياسي والأمن القومي. [5]

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإنه يتواصل تزايد الطلب على المياه مما يشكل ضغطاً كبيراً على موارد المياه في البلاد. وبشكلٍ رئيسي، ترجع الفجوة المتزايدة بين العرض والطلب إلى الزيادة السكانية السريعة، وارتفاع مستوى المعيشة والتوسع الزراعي، كما سنناقش بالتفصيل في الفصول التالية.

الأردن
الخريطة (1): الأردن والدول المجاورة. @Fanack water

الجغرافيا والمناخ

يغطي الأردن مساحة إجمالية قدرها 89,342 كيلومتر مربع، ويقع في قلب الشرق الأوسط، ويحده كلٌ من العراق وإسرائيل وفلسطين والسعودية وسوريا. يمتاز مناخ البلاد بمزيجٍ من مناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​والمناخ شبه الجاف، كما يتراوح هطول الأمطار السنوي بين أقل من 50 ملم في المناطق الصحراوية الشرقية والجنوبية إلى 600 ملم في المرتفعات الشمالية. [6]

وبشكلٍ عام، يمتاز الأردن بصيفٍ دافئ وجاف، وشتاء رطب ومعتدل، حيث يتراوح متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة السنوية من 12 درجة مئوية إلى 25 درجة مئوية وتصل درجات الحرارة المرتفعة في الصيف إلى 35 درجة مئوية في الصحراء، [7] ويتم هطول الأمطار في الغالب في فصل الشتاء. ومن حينٍ لآخر، تسبب العواصف المطرية الغزيرة في تشكل فيضاناتٍ سريعة قصيرة المدة في المجاري المائية السطحية (الوديان) (الخريطة 2 و3).  ويُعيد جزءٌ من الهطول المطري تغذية أنظمة المياه الجوفية.

تتمتع البلاد بمجموعة متنوعة من الميزات الجغرافية:

  1. وادي نهر الأردن، والذي يمتد من الشمال إلى الجنوب ويمتد من الحدود الغربية إلى الهضبة الصحراوية في الشرق.
  2. المرتفعات والتي تتكون من سلسلة من التلال الصغيرة الممتدة على طول البلاد من الشمال إلى الجنوب.
  3. البحر الميت، وهو أخفض نقطة على وجه الأرض على مستوى يقارب الـ430 متراً تحت مستوى سطح البحر.
  4. صحراء شبه قاحلة، وتغطي 92% من مساحة البلاد، ولا سيما في الشرق.
المياه في الأردن
الخريطة (2): التبخر السنوي من المياه السطحية. @Fanack water
الأمطار في الأردن
الخريطة (3): متوسط هطول الأمطار والهطول المطري السنوي. @Fanack water

السكان

قد ارتفع عدد سكان الأردن بشكلٍ كبير، من حوالي 400,000 نسمة في عام 1946 بعد استقلال المملكة، إلى أكثر من 10 ملايين نسمة في عام 2020. [8] ويُعدّ معدل النمو السكاني من بين أعلى المعدلات في العالم ويتصاعد بفعل الموجات المتكررة لهجرة اللاجئين الناتجة بشكلٍ رئيسي عن النزاعات الإقليمية. [9] ونتيجةً لذلك، فقد أصبح إيجاد حلول لزيادة الطلب على المياه بشكلٍ عام والطلب المنزلي على وجه الخصوص أكثر صعوبة.

يتجاوز عدد سكان العاصمة عمّان، وأكبر مدن المملكة، أكثر من 4 ملايين نسمة. [10] وفي ظل الهجرة من الريف إلى المدينة بالإضافة إلى موجات الهجرة الجماعية، فقد نما عدد سكان عمّان بسرعةٍ أكبر من أي مكان مدينةٍ أخرى في البلاد ورافقه ازدياد الطلب على المياه (الخريطة 4).

السكان في الأردن
الخريطة (4): الكثافة السكانية في الأردن. @Fanack water

الإطار السياسي

قد لعبت السياسة دوراً أساسياً في تشكيل الوضع المائي في الأردن، وفي ظل تاريخٍ طويل من الاضطرابات والنزاعات الإقليمية، فقد استقبل الأردن ملايين اللاجئين من فلسطين في أعقاب النكبة عام 1948 وحرب الأيام الستة عام 1967، ومن العراق في أعقاب حرب عام 2003 ومن سوريا في العقد الماضي (الخريطة 5). وبالتالي، فقد كان تدفق اللاجئين، وما يزال، مساهماً رئيسياً في النمو السكاني، مما قد زاد من اتساع الفجوة بين العرض والطلب على المياه. [11]

كما قد أثرت الجغرافيا السياسية أيضاً على إمدادات المياه في الأردن، إذ تنشأ معظم موارد المياه في الأردن (السطحية والجوفية) خارج حدود البلاد ويتم تقاسمها مع دول الجوار: إسرائيل وفلسطين والمملكة العربية السعودية وسوريا. ويُضيف هذا عنصراً من عدم اليقين حول توافر المياه في الوقت الراهن ومستقبلاً، ويجعل الأردن عُرضةً للديناميكيات السياسية الخارجية. فعلى سبيل المثال، فقد شكّل موقع الأردن على طول مجرى نهريّ الأردن واليرموك انقساماً متواصلاً بين دول المشاطئة (البلدان التي تشترك بنفس الموارد المائية السطحية)، وبشكلٍ أساسي كل من اسرائيل وسوريا، حيث أثر ذلك على وصول الأردن إلى الموارد المائية والسيطرة عليها طوال تاريخه. [12] وستتم مناقشة هذه الجزئية بتفصيلٍ أكبر في قسم الموارد المائية المشتركة.

اللاجئين في الأردن

الخريطة (5): نظرة عامة على موجات تدفق اللاجئين المتعاقبة إلى الأردن. Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, 2012.

الاقتصاد

يعدّ الاقتصاد الأردني من بين أصغر الاقتصادات في الشرق الأوسط بسبب الموارد الطبيعية المحدودة، وانخفاض توافر المياه، والإدارة دون المستوى الأمثل، غالباً، لهذه الموارد. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تعتمد الحكومة الأردنية اعتماداً كبيراً على المساعدات الخارجية لسد عجز الميزانية ودعم التنمية، إذ يمثل ارتفاع معدلات الفقر والبطالة والديون الحكومية تحدياتٍ اقتصادية مستمرة. [13]

وعلى الرغم من الصراعات الإقليمية والتوترات المحلية، فقد أدخلت الحكومة الأردنية بعض الإصلاحات المالية والتي من المتوقع أن تعزز الإيرادات وتقلل من عجز الميزانية، بما في ذلك إعداد رؤية الأردن 2025، وهي استراتيجية وطنية لتنمية الاقتصاد، حيث قد أطلقت الاستراتيجية بالرغم من الضغوطات الهائلة على النفقات التي تسبب بها تدفق اللاجئين السوريين.[14]

[1] AbdelKhaleq, RA and Alhaj Ahmed, I, 2007. ‘Rainwater harvesting in ancient civilizations in Jordan.’ Water Science and Technology: Water Supply 7(1): 85-93; Lichtenberger, A and Raja, R, 2020. ‘Management of water resources over time in semiarid regions: The case of Gerasa/Jerash in Jordan.’ Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Water, 7(1), e1403.
[2] UNICEF, n.d. Water, sanitation and hygiene – Access to safe water and sanitation for every child.
[3] Ibid.
[4] United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, 2004. Changing Unsustainable Patterns of Consumption and Production. Experiences in Human Settlements and Water. Background Paper No. 11.
[5] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[6] Nortcliff, S et al., 2008. ‘Jordan’s water resources: Challenges for the future.’ Geographical Paper No. 185, 1-24; Al-Kharabsheh, A, 2020. ‘Challenges to sustainable water management in Jordan.’ JJEES 11(1): 38.
[7] Freiwan, M and Kadioglu, M, 2007. ‘Spatial and temporal analysis of climatological data in Jordan.’ International Journal of Climatology 28(4): 521-535.
[8] The World Bank Data, n.d. Population, total – Jordan.
[9] Zeitoun, M, 2009. ‘The Political Economy of Water Demand Management in Yemen and Jordan: A Synthesis of Findings’. WADImena Water Demand Management Research Series: 29-30.
[10] Department of Statistics, 2022. ‘Population estimates for the end of 2021.’
[11] Yorke, V, 2013. ‘Politics matter: Jordan’s path to water security lies through political reforms and regional cooperation’. NCCR Trade Regulation, Working Paper No. 2013/19.
[12] Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115; Zeitoun, M et al., 2019. ‘The Yarmouk tributary to the Jordan River I: Agreements impeding equitable transboundary water arrangements.’ Water Alternatives 12(3): 1064-1094; Zeitoun, M, 2008. Power and Water in the Middle East. IB Tauris & Co Ltd.
[13] CIA, 2015. The World Factbook: Jordan.
[14] Government of Jordan, 2014. Jordan 2025 – A National Vision and Strategy.

إقرأ المزيد

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

Jordan Water Report

Petra, Jordan - Water in Jordan
Photo 1: Ad Deir (Monastery) in Petra, Jordan. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

Contributors:

Author: Fanack’s Water editorial team

Peer review: Dr. Majd Al Naber is a specialist in integrated water resources management (irrigated agriculture) and water policies for arid lands. Currently, she is the team leader and senior researcher for the sustainable development pillar at the WANA Institute. She took an interdisciplinary approach in managing projects and developing studies related to a sustainable environment, governance, security, and climate change.

Introduction

Throughout history, water has been central to life in Jordan (Map 1), and the presence or absence of water has played an important role in shaping the geography of human settlements across the territory. Historically, engineering skills have been wisely used to provide water to the country’s inhabitants, as evidenced by the archaeological sites of Petra and Jerash.[1] Water is important today not only for drinking but also for agriculture, economic development and social structures.

As the second driest country in the world according to the latest United Nations (UN) data,[2] the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan faces a deepening water crisis. The Jordanian population is among the most water-deprived globally. As UNICEF put it, ‘Jordan’s annual renewable water resources are less than 100 m3 per person, significantly below the threshold of 500 m3 per person which defines severe water scarcity’.[3] Internationally, water availability below 1,000 m3 per person per year is defined as water scarcity, while below 500 mis considered absolute scarcity.[4] Jordan’s lack of water resources impacts the country’s economic growth, with potential implications for public health as well as political stability and national security.[5]

At the same time, demand for water continues to rise, putting huge pressure on the country’s water resources. The growing gap between supply and demand is mainly due to rapid population increase, the rising standard of living and agricultural expansion, as discussed in detail in the next chapters.

Map of Jordan - Water in Jordan
Map 1: Jordan and its neighbours. @Fanack water

Geography and climate

Covering a total area of 89,342 km², Jordan lies in the heart of the Middle East. It borders Iraq, Israel, Palestine, Saudi Arabia and Syria. The country has a combination of semi-arid and Mediterranean climates. Annual precipitation varies from less than 50 millimetres (mm) in the eastern and southern desert regions to 600 mm in the northern highlands.[6]

In general, Jordan has warm, dry summers and mild wet winters, with annual average temperatures ranging from 12°C to 25°C and summertime highs reaching 35°C in the desert.[7] Precipitation falls predominantly in the winter. Occasionally, heavy rainstorms cause flash floods of short duration in surface watercourses (wadis) (and 3). Part of the precipitation recharges the groundwater systems.

The country has a diverse range of geographical features:

  1. The Jordan River Valley, which runs from north to south and stretches from the western border to the desert plateau in the east.
  2. The highlands, made up of a range of small hills running the length of the country from north to south.
  3. The Dead Sea, which is the lowest point on earth at about 430 metres below sea level.
  4. Semi-arid desert, which covers 92% of the country, mainly in the east.
water evaporation in Jordan - water in Jordan
Map 2: Annual open water evaporation. @Fanack water
rainfall in Jordan - water in Jordan
Map 3: Annual average rainfall and precipitation. @Fanack water

Population

Jordan’s population has risen substantially, from around 400,000 in 1946, when the country became an independent nation, to over 10 million in 2020.[8] The population growth rate is amongst the highest in the world and is heightened by periodic surges of mainly refugee immigration caused by regional conflicts.[9] Finding solutions to increasing water demand in general and domestic demand in particular is becoming more difficult as a result.

Amman is the capital of Jordan and the largest city, with a population of over 4 million people.[10] Due to rural-urban migration as well as massive immigration waves, Amman’s population has grown more rapidly than elsewhere in country and with it, its water demand (Map 4).

Population in Jordan - water in Jordan
Map 4: Population density in Jordan. @Fanack water

Political context

Politics have played a major role in shaping the water situation in Jordan. Owing to a history of regional instability and conflicts, Jordan received millions of refugees from Palestine following the nakba in 1948 and the Six Day War in 1967, from Iraq following the 2003 war and from Syria in the past decade (Map 5). The influx of refugees has been and continues to be a major contributor to population growth, further widening the gap between water supply and demand.[11]

Geopolitics have also affected Jordan’s water supply. Most of Jordan’s water resources (surface and groundwater) originate outside the country’s borders and are shared with neighbouring countries: Israel, Palestine, Saudi Arabia and Syria. This adds an element of uncertainty to current and future water availability and makes Jordan vulnerable to external political dynamics. For example, Jordan’s downstream position along the Jordan River and the Yarmouk River has created a divisive power dynamic among riparians (countries that share the same surface water resources), mainly Israel and Syria. This has impacted Jordan’s access to and control of water resources throughout its history.[12] This will be discussed further in Shared Water Resources.

refugees in Jordan - water in Jordan

Map 5: Overview of successive refugee waves into Jordan. Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, 2012.

Economy

Because of limited natural resourceslow water availability and often suboptimal management of these resources, Jordan’s economy is among the smallest in the Middle East. The government is heavily dependent on foreign assistance to bridge the budget deficit and support development. High rates of poverty, unemployment and government debt are persistent economic challenges.[13]

Despite regional conflicts and domestic tensions, the Jordanian government has introduced some fiscal reforms that are expected to boost revenues and reduce the budget deficit, including the launch of Jordan 2025, a national strategy to grow the economy. The strategy was introduced even as the influx of Syrian refugees put additional pressure on expenditures.[14]

[1] AbdelKhaleq, RA and Alhaj Ahmed, I, 2007. ‘Rainwater harvesting in ancient civilizations in Jordan.’ Water Science and Technology: Water Supply 7(1): 85-93; Lichtenberger, A and Raja, R, 2020. ‘Management of water resources over time in semiarid regions: The case of Gerasa/Jerash in Jordan.’ Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Water, 7(1), e1403.
[2] UNICEF, n.d. Water, sanitation and hygiene – Access to safe water and sanitation for every child.
[3] Ibid.
[4] United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, 2004. Changing Unsustainable Patterns of Consumption and Production. Experiences in Human Settlements and Water. Background Paper No. 11.
[5] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[6] Nortcliff, S et al., 2008. ‘Jordan’s water resources: Challenges for the future.’ Geographical Paper No. 185, 1-24; Al-Kharabsheh, A, 2020. ‘Challenges to sustainable water management in Jordan.’ JJEES 11(1): 38.
[7] Freiwan, M and Kadioglu, M, 2007. ‘Spatial and temporal analysis of climatological data in Jordan.’ International Journal of Climatology 28(4): 521-535.
[8] The World Bank Data, n.d. Population, total – Jordan.
[9] Zeitoun, M, 2009. ‘The Political Economy of Water Demand Management in Yemen and Jordan: A Synthesis of Findings’. WADImena Water Demand Management Research Series: 29-30.
[10] Department of Statistics, 2022. ‘Population estimates for the end of 2021.’
[11] Yorke, V, 2013. ‘Politics matter: Jordan’s path to water security lies through political reforms and regional cooperation’. NCCR Trade Regulation, Working Paper No. 2013/19.
[12] Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115; Zeitoun, M et al., 2019. ‘The Yarmouk tributary to the Jordan River I: Agreements impeding equitable transboundary water arrangements.’ Water Alternatives 12(3): 1064-1094; Zeitoun, M, 2008. Power and Water in the Middle East. IB Tauris & Co Ltd.
[13] CIA, 2015. The World Factbook: Jordan.
[14] Government of Jordan, 2014. Jordan 2025 – A National Vision and Strategy.