الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا

سوريا

الصورة 1: دمشق، سوريا. 2008 (المصدر: Carlos del Nido, Flickr)
الصورة 1: دمشق، سوريا. 2008 (المصدر: Carlos del Nido, Flickr)

المؤلف: السيدة هلا الحامد باحثة في برنامج الدكتوراه التخصصية في جامعة دلفت للتكنولوجيا (TU Delft) . وتقوم بتنفيذ مشروعها الهندسي في مجال الأصول المائية الحضرية المتكاملة في شبكة المياه في أمستردام. هالة الحامد هي عضو في مجلس إدارة القسم الدولي في الجمعية الملكية الهولندية للمهندسين (KIVI) وعضو في رابطة فريق الخبراء المعني بالمياه والطاقة والأمن الغذائي – ضمن إطار عمل برنامج الأجندة الوطنية الثاني لمستقبل سوريا (NAFS)، والذي قد تم تطويره وتنفيذه من قبل لجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا (الإسكوا).

المُقدمة

تواجه الموارد المائية في سوريا تحدياتٍ متعددة ناجمة عن سوء الإدارة والندرة المادية. ويؤدي ارتفاع معدل النمو السكاني والتوسع الحضري السريع وتغير المناخ والتنمية الاقتصادية إلى تفاقم هذه التحديات، مما يؤدي إلى تدهورٍ مستمرٍ لموارد المياه التي تهدد استدامتها على المدى الطويل.

الخريطة 1: خريطة سوريا. اضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com
الخريطة 1: خريطة سوريا. اضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تقع الجمهورية العربية السورية في غرب آسيا ضمن منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وتحدها تركيا من الشمال والعراق من الشرق والأردن من الجنوب والبحر الأبيض المتوسط ولبنان من الغرب وإسرائيل من الجنوب الغربي. تشمل تضاريس سوريا المرتفعات والسهول والجبال. وإن هذا التنوع الطبوغرافي ومساحة البلاد الكبيرة يعني أنها تتمتع بظروفٍ مناخية مختلفة. ويتميز مناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط في المناطق الساحلية بصيفٍ حار وجاف وشتاءٍ معتدل ماطر. وفي المناطق الداخلية،  يكون المناخ حاراً وجافاً بشكل عام في الصيف، وبارداً في الشتاء مع تساقط الثلوج على المرتفعات العالية.

تبلغ مساحة الأراضي السورية 185,150 كيلومتراً مربعاً، ويتألف 44,8% منها من  المراعي والسهوب (البادية)، بينما 32,3% منها مناسبة للزراعة (أراضٍ صالحة للزراعة)، و3,2% منها مغطاة بالغابات، في حين تتكون الـ19,9% المتبقية منها من المناطق الحضرية والصخرية والرملية أو الأنهار والبحيرات.[1]

الخريطة 2: هطول الأمطار في سوريا. اضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com
الخريطة 2: هطول الأمطار في سوريا. اضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

السكان

في عام 2012، بلغ عدد سكان سوريا 22,53 مليون نسمة. وبحلول سبتمبر 2013، قد انخفض هذا العدد إلى ما يقدر بنحو 22,46 مليون نسمة، في حين شهد عام 2019 انخفاضات أخرى أدت إلى تراجع عدد السكان إلى ما يقدر بنحو 18,5 مليون نسمة. ووفقاً للأمم المتحدة، فإن هذا العدد في حالة تغير مستمر، إذ يرجع ذلك إلى الحرب الأهلية المستمرة، والتي اندلعت في عام 2011، حيث يفر ما متوسطه 5000 شخص من البلاد يومياً. وبحلول عام 2050، فإن من المتوقع أن يصل عدد السكان إلى 34,9 مليون نسمة.[2]

الاقتصاد

قد تم تصنيف سوريا كدولة ذات دخل متوسط منخفض، حيث بلغ إجمالي الناتج المحلي 60 مليار دولار في عام 2011.وقد تدهور الاقتصاد بشكلٍ كبير منذ بداية الحرب، حيث انخفض بما تتجاوز نسبته 70%، كما هو مبين في الشكل 2.

إن الأنشطة الاقتصادية الرئيسية هي الزراعة والصناعة. وفي الزراعة، فإن المحاصيل الرئيسية هي القمح والشعير والقطن والعدس والحمص والزيتون وشمندر السكر. وقد انخفضت حصة الزراعة من إجمالي الناتج المحلي من 25% في عام 2000 إلى 16% في عام 2011. ومع ذلك، فلا تزال الزراعة ركيزة مهمة للاقتصاد من حيث العمالة. ويعمل حوالي 17% من القوى العاملة، أو أكثر من مليون سوري، في الزراعة. وإن الصناعات الرئيسية هي النفط والمنسوجات وتجهيز الأغذية والمشروبات والتبغ وتعدين صخور الفوسفات والاسمنت واستخراج الزيت من البذور، وتجميع السيارات. وقد زادت مساهمة هذه الصناعات في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من 18% في عام 1963 إلى 30% في عام 2000، ولتنخفض مرة أخرى إلى 24% في عام 2011.

  • الزراعة
  • التعدين والتصنيع
  • الاعمار
  • تجارة الجملة والتجزئة
  • النقل والاتصالات
  • التمويل والتأمين
  • الخدمات

الشكل 1: مساهمة القطاعات المختلفة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في عام 2010. [3]

الشكل 2: الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لسوريا بين عامي 1960 و2019.

[1] Abstracted from the Central Bureau of Statistics. 2017. Retrieved from www.cbssyr.sy/yearbook/2017/chapter1-EN.htm. Accessed on [19-03-2019].
[2] World population review (2019). Retrieved from http://worldpopulationreview.com/countries/syria-population/. Accessed on [19-03-2019].
[3] Abstracted from central bureau of statistics (CBS, 2017) http://www.cbssyr.sy/yearbook/2017/chapter1-EN.htm

Home / Syria

Syria

Photo 1: Damascus, Syria. 2008 (Source: Carlos del Nido, Flickr)
Photo 1: Damascus, Syria. 2008 (Source: Carlos del Nido, Flickr)

Contributors

Author:Ms. Hala Alhamed: is a professional doctorate at the Delft University of Technology (TU Delft). She does her design project in the field of Integrated Urban Water Asset in Waternet in Amsterdam. Hala Alhamed is a board member of the international department in Het Koninklijk Instituut Van Ingenieurs (KIVI) and a member of the Expert Group on Water, Energy and Food Security Nexus – within the framework of the National Agenda for the Future of Syria II (NAFS) Programme developed and implemented by the United Nations’ Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, UN ESCWA.

Reviewer: Fanack Water Editorial team.

Introduction

Syria’s water resources face multiple challenges resulting from poor management and physical scarcity. The high rate of population growth, rapid urbanization, climate change and economic development is exacerbating these challenges, leading to a continuous deterioration of the water resources that is threatening their long-term sustainability.

Map of Syria
Map 1: Map of Syria. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Geography and Climate

The Syrian Arab Republic is located in western Asia, within the Middle East. It is bordered by Turkey to the north, Iraq to the east, Jordan to the south, the Mediterranean Sea and Lebanon to the west, and Israel to the south-west. Syria’s topography encompasses highlands, plains and mountains. This topographic diversity and the country’s large size means it enjoys various climatic conditions.

The Mediterranean climate in the coastal regions is characterized by hot, dry summers and mild, rainy winters. Inland, the climate is generally hot and dry in the summer and moderately cold in the winter, with snowfall at higher elevations.

Syria’s territory is 185,150km2 and consists of 44.8% pastures and steppes (badia), 32.3% is suitable for agriculture (arable land), 3.2% is covered with forests and the remaining 19.9% consists of urban, rocky and sandy areas or rivers and lakes.[1]

Map 2: Syria precipitation. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com
Map 2: Syria precipitation. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Population

In 2012, Syria’s population stood at an estimated 22.53 million. By September 2013, this number had dropped to an estimated 22.46 million. In 2019, further declines have seen the population decline to an estimated 18.5 million. According to the United Nations (UN), this number is in constant flux. Because of the ongoing civil war, which started in 2011, an average of 5,000 people flee the country every day. By 2050, the population is projected to be 34.9 million.[2]

Economy

Syria is classified as a lower-middle income country, with a gross domestic product (GDP) of $60 billion in 2011. The economy has deteriorated dramatically since the beginning of the war, declining by more than 70%, as shown in Figure 1.

The main economic activities are agriculture and industry. In agriculture, the main crops are wheat, barley, cotton, lentils, chickpeas, olives and sugar beets. Agriculture’s share of total GDP decreased from 25% in 2000 to 16% in 2011. However, it remains an important pillar of the economy in terms of labour. Some 17% of the labour force, or more than 1 million Syrians, works in agriculture. The main industries are petroleum, textiles, food processing, beverages, tobacco, phosphate rock mining, cement, oil seed crushing and automobile assembly. The contribution of these industries to GDP increased from 18% in 1963 to 30% in 2000, declining again to 24% in 2011.

  • Agriculture
  • Mining & manufacturing
  • Building & construction
  • Wholesale & retail trade
  • Transport & communication
  • Finance & insurance
  • Services

Figure 1: Contribution of different activities to the GDP in 2010.[3]

Figure 2: Syria’s GDP between 1960-2019.

[1] Abstracted from the Central Bureau of Statistics. 2017. Retrieved from www.cbssyr.sy/yearbook/2017/chapter1-EN.htm. Accessed on [19-03-2019].
[2] World population review (2019). Retrieved from http://worldpopulationreview.com/countries/syria-population/. Accessed on [19-03-2019].
[3] Abstracted from central bureau of statistics (CBS, 2017) http://www.cbssyr.sy/yearbook/2017/chapter1-EN.htm