الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر

مصر

الصورة 1: القاهرة عاصمة مصر، تقع على نهر النيل. (المصدر: Flickr, i- Globe)
الصورة 1: القاهرة عاصمة مصر، تقع على نهر النيل. (المصدر: Flickr, i- Globe)

المساهمون

  • أية أمان: صحفية متخصصة في المياه والعلاقات الإفريقية.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تغطي مصر، والتي تقع في شمال شرق أفريقيا وتمتد إلى شبه جزيرة سيناء في آسيا، مساحةً إجمالية تبلغ مليون كيلومتر مربع. يحدها البحر الأبيض المتوسط من الشمال، وقطاع غزة وإسرائيل والبحر الأحمر من الشرق، والسودان من الجنوب، وليبيا من الغرب.

تتكون جغرافيا البلاد من هضبة صحراوية شاسعة يخترقها وادي ودلتا النيل. تقع إلى غرب النيل الصحراء الغربية، والتي تغطي حوالي 68% من مصر، وهي في الغالب أرض منبسطة تغطيها الرمال والحصى. تمتد الصحراء الغربية من وادي النيل إلى ليبيا، ومن البحر الأبيض المتوسط إلى السودان. وإلى الشرق من النيل توجد الصحراء الشرقية، والتي تضم هضبة كبيرة تمتد من النيل إلى البحر الأحمر وتلالاً وسلسلة جبلية على جانب البحر الأحمر. يعيش معظم الناس في هذه المنطقة على طول البحر الأحمر. أما الصحراء الأخرى،وهي شبه جزيرة سيناء، فهي منطقة شبه مثلثة تغطي مساحة تقارب الـ60,000 كيلومتر مربع بين البحر المتوسط إلى الشمال والبحر الأحمر إلى الجنوب.[1]

Map of Egypt

الخريطة (1): خارطة مصر.[2]

يتدفق نهر النيل باتجاه الشمال على طول حوالي 1600 كيلومتر من الحدود المصرية- السودانية إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ويغطي وادي ودلتا النيل مساحةً تُقارب الـ33,000 كيلومتر مربع. يمتد النهر من شمال الوادي إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط وينقسم إلى صعيد مصر (من أسوان إلى جنوب القاهرة) ومصر السفلى (من شمال القاهرة إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط). وفي الشمال، ينقسم نهر النيل إلى فرعين، دمياط ورشيد، واللذان يحتضنان الأراضي الزراعية الخصبة جداً في دلتا النيل. يمثل وادي ودلتا النيل أقل من 4% من المساحة الإجمالية للبلاد، ومع ذلك فهما يشكلان موطناً لـ 96% من سكانها.[3]

تنقسم مصر إلى 27 محافظة تضم محافظتا مدينتي الإسكندرية والقاهرة.  توجد تسع محافظات في مصر السفلى، وعشر  في صعيد مصر وخمس  محافظات حدودية تغطي سيناء والصحراء التي تقع غرب وشرق نهر النيل. [4]

تتمتع مصر برمتها بمناخ صحراوي جاف، مع صيف حار جاف من مايو/أيار إلى أكتوبر/تشرين الأول .[5] هطول الأمطار منخفض وغير منتظم وغير متوقع. ودرجات الحرارة في الصيف مرتفعة، حيث تتراوح ما بين 38 درجة مئوية و43 درجة مئوية، ومع درجات قصوى تبلغ 49 درجة مئوية في الصحارى الجنوبية والغربية. تعتبر المناطق على ساحل البحر المتوسط أكثر برودة، مع درجات حرارة قصوى تبلغ 32 درجة مئوية.[6]

السكان

ازداد عدد سكان مصر بشكلٍ سريع خلال العقود القليلة الماضية. فقد قدر إجمالي عدد السكان بنحو 96 مليون نسمة في عام 2017، مقارنةً بـ21 مليون نسمة في عام 1950.[7] وتشير التقديرات إلى أن هذا التعداد السكاني سيبلغ 151 مليون بحلول عام 2050. ويتركز السكان في وادي ودلتا النيل: حيث يعيش 96% من السكان على مساحة تبلغ نسبتها 4%.

الاقتصاد

يشهد الاقتصاد تحسناً تدريجياً، حيث بلغ نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي 4,3% في 2015/2016، مرتفعاً من متوسط 2% بين عامي 2010 و2014. ويبلغ إجمالي الناتج المحلي حوالي 336 مليار دولار، حيث تمثل الزراعة ما نسبته 15% والصناعة 33% والخدمات 55%. وعلى الرغم من التنمية الحضرية المتزايدة، فلا تزال الزراعة تُشكل قطاعاً مهماً يعمل فيه حوالي ثلث السكان. إن أقل من 4% من الأراضي في البلاد قابلة للزراعة، منها 99,9% زراعة مروية، مما يدل على أهمية إدارة الموارد المائية ومعالجة المياه العادمة وإعادة استخدامها. [8]

يعتبر النفط والغاز المصدران الرئيسيان للدخل في مصر، كما تعتبر التحويلات المالية وقناة السويس  مصدران آخران غاية في الأهمية للدخل. وعلى الرغم من اعتماد مصر على الواردات لتوفير الغذاء الكافي لأعداد السكان المتزايدة، تظل الزراعة نشاطاً اقتصادياً رئيسياً. وعلى الرغم من أن قطاع الزراعة في البلاد محدود بسبب الصحارى، إلا أنه يجري اختبار أساليب زراعية جديدة للتغلب على المشكلة عن طريق زيادة الإنتاجية الزراعية.وقد شرعت مصر في برنامج رئيسي للإصلاح الاقتصادي في مارس/آذار 2016، بما في ذلك تحرير نظام سعر الصرف وتدابير ضبط الأوضاع المالية والإصلاحات في بيئة الأعمال.

[1] www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Sinai_Peninsula.
[2] www.ancientegyptfoundation.org/zoomify/CIA.egypt.map.1.html.
[3] www.petroleum.gov.eg/en/AboutEgypt/Pages/Geography.aspx.

[4] Information and Decision Support Centre, 2014. Available at www.eip.gov.eg/upload/media/news/448/AdministrativeDivisions2012.pdf, accessed [date].

[5] Climate and Weather in Egypt, no date. Available at https://weather-and-climate.com/average-monthly-Rainfall-Temperature-Sunshine-in-Egypt, accessed [date].

[6] AQUASTAT, 2016. ‘Country Fact Sheet: Iran. FAO’s global information system on water and agriculture.’ Available at www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/EGY/, accessed [date].

[7] UN, 2015. ‘World Population Prospects, The 2015 Revision.’ Available
at https://esa.un.org/unpd/wpp/publications/files/key_findings_wpp_2015.pdf, accessed [date].

[8] World Bank, no date. ‘Country Profile, Egypt.’ Available at http://databank.worldbank.org/data/Views/Reports/ReportWidgetCustom.aspx?Report_Name=CountryProfile&Id=b450fd57&tbar=y&dd=y&inf=n&zm=n&country=EGY, accessed [date].

Home / Egypt

Egypt

Egypt - cairo
Photo 1: Cairo the capital of Egypt, laying on the Nile River. (Source: i- Globe, Flickr)

Contributors

  • Ayah Aman, Journalist specializing in Water and African Affairs.

Geography and Climate

Egypt, which lies in north-eastern Africa and extends into the Sinai Peninsula in Asia, covers a total area of 1 million square kilometres (km²). It is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Gaza Strip, Israel and the Red Sea to the east, Sudan to the south and Libya to the west.

The country’s geography consists of a vast desert plateau interrupted by the Nile Valley and Delta. To the west of the Nile is the Western Desert. Covering 68% of Egypt, it is mostly flat and covered with sand and gravel. It extends from the Nile Valley to Libya and from the Mediterranean Sea to Sudan. To the east of the Nile is the Eastern Desert, which comprises a large plateau extending from the Nile to the Red Sea, with hills and a ridge of mountains on the Red Sea side. Most of the people in this region live along the Red Sea. The other desert, the Sinai Peninsula, is a triangular area that covers about 60,000 km2 between the Mediterranean Sea to the north and the Red Sea to the south.[1]

River Nile water in Egypt

Map 1. Map of Egypt.[2]

The Nile River flows about 1,600 km northward from the Egyptian-Sudanese border to the Mediterranean Sea. The Nile Valley and Delta cover about 33,000 km². The river extends from north of the valley to the Mediterranean Sea and is divided into Upper Egypt (from Aswan to the south of Cairo) and Lower Egypt (from the north of Cairo to the Mediterranean Sea). In the north, the Nile River is divided into two branches, Damietta and Rosetta, which embrace the highly fertile agricultural lands of the Nile Delta. The Nile Valley and Delta account for less than 4% of the total area of the country but are home to 96% of its population.[3]

Egypt is divided into 27 governorates, which include the two city governorates of Alexandria and Cairo. There are nine governorates in Lower Egypt, ten in Upper Egypt and five frontier governorates covering Sinai and the deserts that lie west and east of the Nile River.[4]

The whole of Egypt has an arid desert climate, with hot dry summers from May to October and mild winters from November to April.[5] Rainfall is low, irregular and unpredictable. Summer temperatures are high, reaching 38°C to 43°C, with extremes of 49°C in the Southern and Western deserts. The areas on the Mediterranean coast are cooler, with maximum temperatures of 32°C.[6]

Population

The population of Egypt has expanded rapidly over the last few decades. The total population was estimated at roughly 96 million in 2017, compared to 21 million in 1950.[7] Projections suggest that this number will reach 151 million by 2050. The population is concentrated in the Nile Valley and Delta: 96% of the population lives on 4% of the land.

Economy

The economy is gradually improving, with annual GDP growth reaching 4.3% in 2015/2016, up from an average of 2% between 2010-2014. The total GDP is around $336 billion, of which agriculture represents 15%, industry 33% and services 55%. Despite increasing urban development, agriculture remains an important sector, employing around a third of the population. Less than 4% of the country is arable, of which 99.9% is irrigated, showing the importance of water resources management and wastewater treatment and reuse.[8]

Oil and gas are Egypt’s main sources of income. Two further important sources of income are remittances and the Suez Canal. Although Egypt has been dependent on imports to provide sufficient food for its increasing population, agriculture remains a major economic activity. Though the country’s agriculture sector is limited by its deserts, new farming methods are being tested to overcome the problem by increasing agricultural productivity. Egypt embarked on a major economic reform program in March 2016, including the liberalization of the exchange rate regime, fiscal consolidation measures and reforms to the business environment.

[1] www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Sinai_Peninsula.

[2] www.ancientegyptfoundation.org/zoomify/CIA.egypt.map.1.html.

[3] www.petroleum.gov.eg/en/AboutEgypt/Pages/Geography.aspx.

[4] Information and Decision Support Centre, 2014. Available at www.eip.gov.eg/upload/media/news/448/AdministrativeDivisions2012.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[5] Climate and Weather in Egypt, no date. Available at https://weather-and-climate.com/average-monthly-Rainfall-Temperature-Sunshine-in-Egypt, accessed [10-11-2018].

[6] AQUASTAT, 2016. ‘Country Fact Sheet: Iran. FAO’s global information system on water and agriculture.’ Available at www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/EGY/, accessed [10-11-2018].

[7] UN, 2015. ‘World Population Prospects, The 2015 Revision.’ Available at https://esa.un.org/unpd/wpp/publications/files/key_findings_wpp_2015.pdf, accessed [12-11-2018].

[8] World Bank, no date. ‘Country Profile, Egypt.’ Available at http://databank.worldbank.org/data/Views/Reports/ReportWidgetCustom.aspx?Report_Name=CountryProfile&Id=b450fd57&tbar=y&dd=y&inf=n&zm=n&country=EGY, accessed [12-11-2018].