الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين

المقدمة الى المياه في فلسطين

القدس فلسطين
ان مشكلة المياه فى الأراضى الفلسطينية مشكلة عصيبة . حيث تتميز بقلة المصادر وشحها إضافة الى تدني جودتها، وهي تؤثر على المستوى المعيشي والصحي والوضع الاقتصادي

المساهمون

  • المؤلف: فريق تحرير فاناك المياه
  • الزميل المراجع: د. شدٌاد العتيلي: رئيس سلطة المياه الفلسطينية من 2008 وحتى 2014. ويشغل حاليا منصب وزير الفلسطيني في دائرة شؤون المفاوضات والمفاوضين المسؤول عن قضايا المياه والبيئة.

ان مشكلة المياه فى الأراضى الفلسطينية (الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة) مشكلة عصيبة . حيث تتميز بقلة المصادر وشحها إضافة الى تدني جودتها، وهي بذلك تؤثر على المستوى المعيشي والصحي والوضع الاقتصادي لكل فلسطيني .

ولا تتوقف أزمة المياه في فلسطين على مجرد جفاف المنطقة وأساليب الزراعة المتبعة حالياً  فلقد زادت سياسات الاحتلال الاسرائيلي وأساليبه الوضع سوءاً بحيث منعت الفلسطينيين من التحكم بمصادر المياه الخاصة بهم.

وبسبب القيود الاسرائيلية التي تحول دون وصول الفلسطينيين او تحكمهم في البنية التحتية لمصادر المياه في الضفة الغربية، وعدم تمكن الفلسطينيين من المحافظة على توافر مصادر المياه وتطوير مصادر جديد؛ فقد إزداد الطلب على المياه وبشكل مستمر فى الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة في العقود الأخيرة.

من الناحية الجغرافية، تشترك فلسطين مع اسرائيل في مصدرين من مصادر المياه الجوفية وهما: (حوض المياه الجوفية الساحلي ونظام المياه الجوفية للضفة الغربية والمعروف بحوض المياه الجوفية الجبلي)، وحوض نهر الاردن وهذا الأخير يشترك أيضاً مع الاردن، ولبنان،  وسوريا .وبعد الاحتلال الاسرائيلي عام 1967، وُضعت مصادر المياه الفلسطينية تحت السيطرة الاسرائيلية الحصرية وذلك من خلال سلسلة أوامر عسكرية. وهكذا تم تجريد الفلسطينيين من حقهم في الحصول على قسمة عادلة من المياه المتوفرة، وتم تقييد امكانيتهم بشدة في تطوير مصادر المياه الخاصة بهم .

موقع فلسطين الجغرافي. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015
خريطة 1. موقع فلسطين الجغرافي. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015

وبالإستناد الى المعايير الإقليمية والدولية، يمتلك الفلسطينيون الحد الأدنى من امكانية الوصول الى مصادر المياه العذبة . كما تحتل الضفة الغربية المرتبة الأدنى بين دول حوض نهر الأردن نسبةً الى إمكانية وصولها الى مصادر المياه. فعلى سبيل المثال فإن معدل استهلاك الفرد الواحد من الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية يُقدر بـ 70 لتر يوميا[1]. أما في المناطق الريفية فإن معدل استهلاك الفرد الواحد ينخفض الى  20لتر يوميا وهو معدل أقل بكثير من الـ  100لترالمفترض استهلاكها يوميا للفرد الواحد بناءعلى توصيات منظمة الصحة العالمية .

[1] PWA (Palestinian Water Authority), 2012a. Status Report of Water Resources in the Occupied State of Israel 2012. Available at http://www.pwa.ps/userfiles/file/تقارير/تصنيف%201/WR%20STATUS%20Report-final%20draft%202014-04-01.pdf, accessed 8 May 2015.

Home / Palestine

Palestine

Jerusalem Palestine
Photo 1: Jerusalem, Palestine, (Source: 696188, Pixabay)

Contributors

  • Authors: Fanack Water Editorial Team
  • Peer Reviewer: Dr. Shaddad al-Attili – the head of the Palestinian Water Authority from 2008 until 2014. He is currently the Palestinian minister at the Negotiations Affairs Department and the lead negotiator in charge of water and environmental issues

The water situation in Palestine (the West Bank and Gaza Strip) is dire. Characterized by a shortage of supply, restricted access and poor quality, it affects the quality of life, health and economic situation of every Palestinian.

The water crisis in Palestine is caused not only by the area’s aridity and current agricultural practices. A difficult situation has been made worse by Israeli occupation policies and practices, which prevent Palestinians from controlling their own water resources.

Palestinian water demand in the West Bank and Gaza Strip has been increasing steadily over recent decades. However, Palestinians have been unable to maintain existing water resources or develop new ones, due to Israeli restrictions on Palestinian access and control of water infrastructure in the West Bank.

Geographically, Palestine and Israel share two groundwater sources (the Coastal Aquifer Basin and West Bank Aquifer system, known as the Mountain Aquifer Basin) and the Jordan River Basin, the latter also, shared with Jordan, Lebanon and Syria. After the Israeli occupation of 1967, Palestinian water resources were brought exclusively under Israeli control, through a series of Military Orders. Palestinians have thus been denied access to their rightful share of the available water, and been severely restricted in their ability to develop their own water resources (Map 1).

Palestine. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015.
Map 1. Palestine. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015.

By international and regional standards, Palestinians have the least access to freshwater resources. The West Bank ranks lowest among Jordan Basin states in terms of access to water. For example, the average West Bank Palestinian uses around 70 litres per day (L/d).[1] In some rural areas, this amount drops to 20 L/d, which is far below the 100 L/d recommended by the World Health Organization (WHO).

[1] PWA (Palestinian Water Authority), 2012a. Status Report of Water Resources in the Occupied State of Israel 2012. Available at http://www.pwa.ps/userfiles/file/تقارير/تصنيف%201/WR%20STATUS%20Report-final%20draft%202014-04-01.pdf, accessed 8 May 2015.