الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين

البحرين

Manama
الصورة 1: المنامة ، عاصمة البحرين ، في الليل (المصدر: Andrey Sulitskiy, Flickr)

المساهمون:

المؤلف: الأستاذ الدكتور وليد زباري، أستاذ إدارة الموارد المائية في قسم الموارد الطبيعية والبيئة في كلية الدراسات العليا بجامعة الخليج العربي- البحرين. يشغل منصب منسق برنامج إدارة الموارد المائية في كلية الدراسات العليا ومنسق مركز الأمم المتحدة التعليمي للمياه للمنطقة العربية بجامعة الخليج العربي.

الزميل المراجع: الدكتور محمد داود، الأستاذ في المركز القومي لبحوث المياه- مصر، وحالياً مستشار الموارد المائية بهيئة البيئة بأبوظبي- الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

المياه في البحرين
الخريطة 1: خارطة البحرين.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تقع مملكة البحرين في الجزء الأوسط الغربي من الخليج العربي، في منتصف المسافة تقريباً بين المملكة العربية السعودية من الغرب وقطر من الشرق (خريطة 1). مملكة البحرين هي أرخبيل يضم أكثر من 36 جزيرة ومياه ضحلة وجزر صغيرة تختلف اختلافاً كبيراً في الحجم والبُنية.  بسبب محدودية مساحة الأراضي في البحرين، شجعت سياسة الحكومة استصلاح الأراضي لاستيعاب التنمية، وبين عامي 1964 و2015، زادت مساحة الأرض بحوالي 117 كيلومتر مربع، من 663 كيلومتر مربع إلى 780 كيلومتر مربع، أو ما نسبته حوالي 18%. [1]  معظم هذه الأراضي المستصلحة تقع على الأجزاء الشمالية المبنية من الجزيرة الرئيسية، جزيرة البحرين.

المناخ في البحرين قاحل للغاية، إذ يمتاز بفصول الصيف الحارة والشتاء المعتدل نسبياً. يتأرجح متوسط درجة حرارة الهواء بين 14 درجة مئوية و41 درجة مئوية. هناك فصلان: يمتد الشتاء من شهر نوفمبر إلى أبريل ويستمر الصيف لبقية العام، حيث يعدّ شهر يناير أكثر الشهور برودة، في حين تبلغ درجة الحرارة ذروتها في شهر أغسطس. الأمطار في البحرين شحيحة وغير منتظمة وتظهر تقلبات مكانية وزمانية عالية (الشكل 1)، كما يبلغ متوسط الهطول المطري حوالي 80 ملليمتر في السنة (ملم/ سنة)، بينما يتجاوز التبخر هطول الأمطار بأكثر من عشرة أضعاف خلال العام. متوسط الرطوبة النسبية الشهرية حوالي 67%، مع متوسط الحد الأقصى اليومي يتراوح ما بين 78% إلى 88%.

الشكل (1): تساقط الأمطار السنوي في مطار البحرين الدولي في جزيرة المحرق، 1948-2017. مصدر البيانات: مديرية الأرصاد الجوية ، البحرين.

المياه في البحرين
الخريطة 2: توزيع الأمطار في البحرين.

السكان

في العقود الأربعة الماضية، شهدت البحرين نمواً كبيراً في عدد سكانها من حوالي 0,35 مليون في عام 1980 إلى حوالي 1,5 مليون في عام 2018 (الشكل 2). التوقع الرسمي للسكان في عام 2035 هو حوالي 2,4 مليون نسمة. يتأثر النمو السكاني بعاملين رئيسيين: أولاً، شجع تحسّن الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية نمو سكان البحرين الأصليين.

ثانياً، أدى تنوع الاقتصاد في البحرين إلى زيادة الطلب على العمالة الماهرة، لا سيما في قطاعي الصناعة والخدمات، مما جذب العمال الأجانب. حالياً، يتجاوز عدد الوافدين عدد المواطنين بقليل (51%).

الشكل (2): النمو السكاني في البحرين، تاريخياً (1940-2010) والمتوقع (2020-2030). المصدر: هيئة المعلومات والحكومة الإلكترونية.

الاقتصاد

على مدار السنوات العشر الماضية، كان النمو الاقتصادي قوي نسبياً. ومن عام 2008 إلى عام 2018، نما إجمالي الناتج المحلي بالأسعار الجارية بحوالي 150%، بمتوسط معدل نمو سنوي نسبته 6% في السنة (الشكل 3). ويعزى ذلك في المقام الأول إلى التوسع في القطاعات المالية والصناعة التحويلية والبناء، والتي تتماشى مع الرؤية الاقتصادية لمملكة البحرين 2030 التي تهدف إلى تعزيز اقتصاد يحركه القطاع الخاص ومستقل إلى حدٍ كبير عن النفط. ولتنمية اقتصادها، شجعت البحرين الاستثمار في قطاعات جديدة مثل السياحة وخدمات الأعمال والتصنيع واللوجستيات والصناعات الموجهة للتصدير مثل الألومنيوم. يوضح الشكل (5) القطاعات الرئيسية ومساهمتها في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. في عام 2018، بلغ الناتج المحلي الإجمالي حوالي 38,3 مليار دولار.

يتوقع صندوق النقد الدولي أن يصل إجمالي الناتج المحلي إلى حوالي 48,4 مليار دولار بحلول عام 2024. وبالمثل، ارتفع نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الناتج المحلي بشكل مطرد، من حوالي 40,860 دولار في عام 2008 إلى حوالي 50,060 دولار في عام 2018 (بمتوسط نمو سنوي نسبته 2,1%)، ومن المتوقع أن يصل إلى حوالي 57,870 دولار بحلول عام 2024.

الشكل (3): الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في البحرين والناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد، 1980-2018. المصدر: مخطط بيانات صندوق النقد الدولي.

الشكل (4): الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد في البحرين ، 1980-2018. المصدر: مخطط بيانات صندوق النقد الدولي.

  • التعدين والمحاجر
  • الصناعة التحويلية
  • المؤسسات المالية والتأمين
  • الإعمار
  • الخدمات الحكومية
  • أخرى

الشكل (5): النسبة المئوية للمساهمة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي حسب نوع النشاط الاقتصادي بالأسعار الجارية حسب الصناعة، 2017. المصدر: التقرير السنوي للحسابات القومية لعام 2017.

[1] Bahrain in Figures 2016. Information and eGovernment Authority.

Home / Bahrain

Bahrain

Water in Bahrain
Photo 1: Manama, Capital of Bahrain, at night (Source: Andrey Sulitskiy, Flicker)

Contributors:

Author: Prof. Waleed Al- Zubari is Professor of Water Resources Management at the Department of Natural Resources and Environment, College of Graduate Studies, Arabian Gulf University (AGU), Bahrain. He serves as the Coordinator of the Water Resources Management Program, College of Graduate Studies, and of UN Water Learning Center for the Arab Region at the AGU.

Peer reviewer: Dr. Mohamed Dawoud is Professor at National Water Research Center, Egypt and at Present he is Water Resources Advisor at Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Bahrain water water in Bahrain
Map 1: Map of Bahrain.

Geography and climate

The Kingdom of Bahrain is located in the west central part of the Arabian Gulf, roughly midway between Saudi Arabia to the west and Qatar to the east (map 1). It is an archipelago of more than 36 islands, shoals and small islets that vary considerably in size and structure. Due to Bahrain’s limited land area, government policy has encouraged land reclamation to accommodate development. Between 1964 and 2015, land area increased by almost 117 square kilometres (km2), from 663 km2 to 780 km2, or about 18%.[1] Most of this reclaimed land is on the northern built-up portions of the main island, Bahrain Island.

Bahrain has an arid to extremely arid climate. It is characterized by very hot summers and relatively mild winters. Mean air temperature fluctuates between 14oC and 41oC. There are two seasons: winter extends from November to April and summer lasts for the rest of the year. January is the coldest month while the temperature peaks in August. Bahrain has erratic, scanty rainfall that exhibits high spatial and temporal variability (Figure 1) and averages about 80 millimetres per year (mm/yr), while evaporation exceeds precipitation by more than tenfold most of the year. Mean monthly relative humidity is about 67%, with the mean daily maximum ranging from 78% to 88%.

Figure 1: Recorded annual rainfall (mm) at Bahrain International Airport on Muharraq Island, 1948-2017.  Data Source: Meteorological Directorate, Bahrain.

water in Bahrain
Map 2: Rainfall in Bahrain.

Population

In the last four decades, Bahrain has seen its population grow dramatically from about 0.35 million in 1980 to about 1.5 million in 2018 (Figure 2). The official projection for the population in 2035 is about 2.4 million. Population growth is influenced by two key factors. First, improving socio-economic conditions have encouraged the growth of the native Bahraini population.

Second, Bahrain’s increasingly diversified economy has produced demand for skilled labour, particularly within the industrial and service sectors, which has attracted foreign workers. Currently, expatriates slightly exceed the number of citizens (51%).

Figure 2: Bahrain’s population growth, historical (1940-2010) and projected (2020-2030). Source: Information and eGovernment Authority.

Economy

Over the past ten years, economic growth has been relatively strong. From 2008 to 2018, gross domestic product (GDP) in current prices grew a total of about 150%, with an average annual growth rate of 6% per year (Figure 3 and 4). This is primarily due to the expansion in the financial, manufacturing and construction sectors, which is in line with Bahrain’s Economic Vision 2030 aimed at fostering a private sector-driven economy largely independent of oil. To grow its economy, Bahrain has been encouraging investment in new sectors such as tourism, business services, manufacturing, logistics and export-oriented industries such as aluminium. Figure 5 shows the main sectors and their contribution to GDP. In 2018, GDP was about $38.3 billion.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) forecasts that GDP will reach about $48.4 billion by 2024. Similarly, per capita GDP share has been increasing steadily, from about $40,860 in 2008 to about $50,060 in 2018 (2.1% average annual growth), and is expected to reach about $57,870 by 2024.

Figure 3: Bahrain’s GDP, 1980-2018. Source: IMF Data Mapper.

Figure 4: Bahrain’s GDP per capita, 1980-2018. Source: IMF Data Mapper.

  • Mining and quarrying
  • Manufacturing
  • Financial institutions and insurance
  • Construction
  • Government services
  • Others

Figure 5: Percentage contribution to GDP by type of economic activity at current prices by industry, 2017. Source: National Accounts Annual Report 2017.

[1] Bahrain in Figures 2016. Information and eGovernment Authority.