الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / استهلاك المياه في البحرين

استهلاك المياه في البحرين

Farms in bahrain
الصورة 1: مزرعة مروية في البحرين (المصدر: Michele Solmi, Flickr)

استهلاك المياه الحالي حسب القطاع

كحال معظم دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، شهدت البحرين نمواً متسارعاً في التنمية منذ أوائل السبعينيات كنتيجةٍ مباشرة للزيادة المفاجئة في إيراداتها النفطية، حيث أدى ذلك إلى زيادة سريعة في قاعدتها الاقتصادية وتحسين مستوى المعيشة، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع سريع في عدد السكان. وقد أدى النمو السكاني وما يرتبط به من عمليات التنمية، والمتمثلة في التوسع الحضري السريع وتوسع الزراعة المروية [1] والتصنيع، في العقود الأربعة الماضية إلى زيادة كبيرة في الطلب على المياه. وقد ارتفع إجمالي الطلب على المياه بشكل كبير من حوالي 160 مليون متر مكعب في عام 1970 إلى أكثر من 432 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2017 (الشكل 1). وعلى الرغم من هذه الزيادة ومحدودية مواردها للمياه الجوفية العذبة نسبياً، فقد نجحت البحرين في توفير المياه لقطاع البلديات الآخذ في التوسع من خلال الاستثمار في تكنولوجيا تحلية المياه منذ منتصف السبعينيات. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي البلدية المعالجة، وخاصةً للزراعة وتصميم الحدائق، كانت جزءاً متزايد الأهمية من إمدادات المياه منذ أواخر التسعينيات.

  • محلي
  • زراعي
  • صناعي

الشكل 1: اتجاهات إجمالي الطلب على المياه، 1950-2017.

استهلاك المياه المتوقع

قد أجرى زباري وآخرون دراسة في عام 2018 لتقييم آثار تغير المناخ على نظام إدارة المياه البلدية (أي قابلية التأثر)، ولتحديد استجابات الإدارة المناسبة والتي من شأنها أن تقلل من قابلية النظام للتأثر بهذه العواقب (أي التكيف).[2] وقد شملت الدراسة نماذج محاكاة ديناميكية لنظام إدارة المياه واختبرت سيناريوهات كفاءة المياه المختلفة للفترة 2013-2030. في السيناريو المرجعي، أي العمل على نحو معتاد مع تأثيرات تغير المناخ التي تتجلى في ارتفاع درجات الحرارة وبالتالي زيادة الطلب على المياه البلدية، فإنه من المتوقع أن يرتفع إجمالي استهلاك المياه البلدية المقدّر من حوالي 310 مليون متر مكعب إلى حوالي 355 مليون متر مكعب بحلول عام 2030.

استخدام المياه الزراعية وتطوير الري

يوضح الشكل (2) استهلاك المياه الزراعية للفترة 1979-2010. يعزى الانخفاض الحاد في استهلاك المياه الزراعية (ابتداءً من عام 1998) إلى تملح المياه الجوفية على نطاق واسع والتخلي عن الأراضي الزراعية وكذلك نقل الأراضي الزراعية إلى المناطق الحضرية. تجدر الإشارة إلى أن مساحة الأراضي الزراعية، تاريخياً، (1965) انخفضت من حوالي 6,460 هكتار، [3] إلى حوالي 3,400 هكتار في عام 2017.

وحتى عام 1985، فقد كان القطاع الزراعي يعتمد بشكل حصري على المياه الجوفية لتلبية احتياجاته المائية. ومع ذلك، بعد بدء المشروع لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، فقد بدأ الاعتماد بشكل متزايد على هذه المياه، التي تغطي الآن حوالي 40% من احتياجات القطاع من المياه.

  • المياه الجوفية
  • مياه الصرف المعالجة

الشكل 2: استهلاك القطاع الزراعي للمياه الجوفية ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة للفترة 1979-2015، بالمتر المكعب. مصدر البيانات: وزارة الأشغال وشئون البلديات والتخطيط العمراني، 2017.

تقوم البحرين في الوقت الحالي بتوسيع نطاق إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في الري، وذلك بهدفٍ رئيسي يتمثل في حماية المياه الجوفية من مزيدٍ من التدهور في الكمية والنوعية والوفاء بمتطلبات القطاع الزراعي وكذلك متطلبات البلدية من المياه المستخدمة في ري المناظر الطبيعية والتجميل. يتم تنفيذ هذه السياسة من خلال تشجيع المزارعين على استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة بدلاً من المياه الجوفية. يعد النقل المجاني لمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى أراضي المزارعين مكوناً رئيسياً لهذه الاستراتيجية، إذ قد كان يتم نقل مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى 547 مزرعة بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 3100 هكتار من بداية المشروع في 1987-1988 وحتى نهاية المشروع في عام 2017. وفي المرحلة الثانية، فمن المتوقع أن يتم تزويد ما مجموعه 720 مزرعة تبلغ مساحتها الإجمالية 4000 هكتار بمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة ثلاثياً.

أساليب الري

بشكلٍ عام، تعتبر معدلات استهلاك المياه في القطاع الزراعي مفرطة لأسباب عديدة، أهمها الاستخدام السائد لطرق الري التقليدية. وفي عام 2016، قد تم استخدام الري بالغمر في 65% من الأراضي الزراعية، في حين استخدمت أساليب الري الحديثة، خاصة الري بالتنقيط والري بالرش، في 32% و3% من المناطق الزراعية على التوالي (الشكل 3).

تؤدي الطرق التقليدية إلى فقدان كميات كبير من المياه، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض كفاءة الري إلى ما بين 25% و40%.

أنواع المحاصيل

أنواع المحاصيل الرئيسية المزروعة في البحرين هي الأعلاف والخضروات والفواكه (بما في ذلك التمور).

  • الري بالغمر
  • الري بالتنقيط
  • الري بالرش

الشكل 3: أساليب الري المستخدمة في البحرين، 2016.

قد ارتفع إجمالي المساحة المزروعة لهذه المحاصيل الثلاثة من حوالي 2,900 هكتار في عام 1985 إلى حوالي 3,530 هكتار في عام 2015. كانت هناك زيادة عامة في إجمالي الإنتاج الزراعي من حوالي 47,900 طن في عام 2000 إلى حوالي 59,100 طن في عام 2015. علاوة على ذلك، كان إنتاج محاصيل الأعلاف مستقر نسبياً، وزاد إنتاج الخضروات وانخفض إنتاج الثمار والتمور.

في العقدين الماضيين، كان هناك تحرك متزايد نحو زراعة البرسيم كعلف للماشية. يعدّ البرسيم من المحاصيل التي تتحمل الملوحة العالية فضلاً عن الطلب الكبير عليه محلياً وإمكانية زراعته على مدار السنة. وقد أشارت دراسة أجريت عام 2003 على محاصيل الأعلاف في البحرين إلى أنه على الرغم من أن البرسيم يمثل حوالي 25% من إجمالي المساحة المزروعة، إلا أن استهلاك المياه في هذه المنطقة يمثل حوالي 70% من إجمالي استهلاك المياه في القطاع الزراعي، مع ارتفاع معدلات استخدام المياه بما يصل إلى 75,000 متر مكعب/هكتار/ السنة. [4] إن ارتفاع احتياجات مياه الري له تأثير سلبي على الطلب على المياه الزراعية وعلى موارد المياه الجوفية.

إن متوسط إنتاجية الأعلاف والخضروات والفواكه والتمور في عام 2007 قد بلغ 36,7 و28,5 و6,3 طن/ هكتار على التوالي، والتي تعتبر منخفضة مقارنة بالنظم الزراعية في البلدان الأخرى. ويرجع ذلك إلى العديد من القيود التي تواجه الإنتاج الزراعي في البحرين والأراضي الصالحة للزراعة المحدودة في الغالب وانخفاض الخصوبة؛ وانخفاض قدرة التربة على الاحتفاظ بالماء؛ والظروف المناخية القاسية؛ وعدم كفاءة الصرف بسبب الأراضي المنخفضة إلى حدٍ كبير؛ وارتفاع ملوحة مياه الري (> 2500 ملغم / لتر).

وفي محاولة لتحقيق غلة عالية لكل وحدة مساحة ولكل وحدة من المياه المستخدمة، خاصة في الخضروات، فقد اعتمد العديد من المزارعين على الزراعة المحمية (البيوت البلاستيكية) مع أنظمة زراعة مختلفة مثل الزراعة المائية والرأسية، والتي توفر المياه وتزيد من الإنتاج في مساحة محدودة، واللذان يعدان من القيود الرئيسية التي تواجه الإنتاج الزراعي. يوضح الجدول (1) الاتجاهات الملحوظة في تقنيات الري والنظم الزراعية لإنتاج الخضروات للفترة 2005-2015، مما يدل على زيادة استخدام الزراعة المحمية والنظم المائية وتناقص استخدام الري بالغمر. وإذا استمر الحال كذلك، فإن هذه الاتجاهات ستوفر بلا شك كميات كبيرة من المياه.

الجدول 1: الاتجاهات في تقنيات الري والنظم الزراعية لإنتاج الخضروات للفترة 2005-2015، بالهكتار.

نظام الزراعة/الري200520102015
الري التقليدي (الري بالغمر)456303227
الري بالتنقيط177209237
الزراعة المحمية485275
الزراعة المائية0215

[1] Expansion of agriculture reached its peak in the mid-1990s but has since declined due to both deterioration of the quality of groundwater and agricultural land transfer to urban areas.
[2] Al-Zubari W et al., 2018. Impacts of climate change on the municipal water management system in the Kingdom of Bahrain: Vulnerability assessment and adaptation options. Climate Risk Management 20: 95-110.
[3] Al-Zubari W, 1999. Impacts of groundwater overexploitation on desertification of soils in Bahrain – A case study. In: Proceedings of the International Conference on Regional Aquifer Systems in Arid Zones: Managing Non-renewable Resources, Tripoli, Libya, 20-24 November 1999.
[4] Al-Durazi K, 2003. Green fodder production in Bahrain: water cost and alternative approaches. MSc thesis, Desert and Arid Zones Sciences Programme, College of Graduate Studies, Arabian Gulf University, 100 p (in Arabic).

Home / Bahrain / Water Uses in Bahrain

Water Uses in Bahrain

farms in Bahrain
Photo1: Irrigated Farm in Bahrain (Source: Michele Solmi, Flickr)

Current sectoral water use

Like most of the Gulf Cooperation Council countries, Bahrain has experienced accelerated development growth since the early 1970s as a direct result of the sudden increase in its oil revenues. This has led to a fast increase in its economic base and an improvement in the standard of living, resulting in a rapid rise in the population. The population growth and associated development processes, represented by rapid urbanization, expansion of irrigated agriculture [1] and industrialization in the last four decades, have also brought about substantial increases in water demand. Total water demand has increased dramatically from about 160 MCM in 1970 to more than 432 MCM in 2017 (Figure 1). Despite this increase and the limits of its relatively fresh groundwater resources, Bahrain has done well in providing water for its expanding municipal sector by investing in desalination technology since the mid-1970s. Furthermore, reuse of treated municipal wastewater, particularly for agriculture and landscaping, has been an increasingly important part of the water supply since the late 1990s.

  • Municipal
  • Agricultural
  • Industrial

Figure 1: Trends in total water demand, 1950-2017.

Projected water use

Al-Zubari et al. conducted a study in 2018 to assess the impacts of climate change on the municipal water management system (i.e. vulnerability), and to identify appropriate management responses that would lower the system’s vulnerability to these impacts (i.e. adaptation).[2] The study involved dynamic simulation modelling of the water management system and tested various water efficiency scenarios for the period 2013-2030. In its reference scenario, i.e. business as usual with climate change impacts manifested in increasing temperatures and thus increasing municipal water demand, the total estimated municipal water consumption is anticipated to rise from about 310 MCM to about 355 MCM by 2030.

Agricultural water use and irrigation development

Figure 2 illustrates agricultural water consumption for the period 1979-2010. The sharp drop in agricultural water consumption (starting from 1998) is attributed to the widespread salinization of groundwater and the abandonment of agricultural lands as well as the transfer of agricultural lands to urban areas. It is worth mentioning that the area of historical agricultural lands (1965) decreased from about 6,460 hectares (ha)[3] to about 3,400 ha in 2017.

Until 1985, the agricultural sector relied exclusively on groundwater to meet its water needs. However, after the commencement of the project to reuse treated wastewater, it started to rely increasingly on this water, which now covers about 40% of the sector’s water requirements.

  • Groundwater
  • Treated Wastewater

Figure 2: Consumption by the agricultural sector of groundwater and treated wastewater for the period 1979-2015, in MCM. Data Source: Ministry of Works, Municipalities Affairs and Urban Planning, 2017.

At present, Bahrain is expanding the reuse of treated wastewater in irrigation, with the primary objective of protecting groundwater from further deterioration in quantity and quality and fulfilling the demands of the agricultural sector as well as the municipality’s water demands for landscaping and beautification. This policy is being implemented by encouraging farmers to use treated wastewater instead of groundwater. The free delivery of treated wastewater to farmers’ lands represents a major component of this strategy, whereby treated wastewater is being was delivered to 547 farms with a total area of about 3,100 ha from the start of the project in 1987-88 until the end of the project in 2017. In the second phase, it is expected that a total of 720 farms with a total area of 4,000 ha will be served by tertiary treated wastewater.

Irrigation methods

In general, water consumption rates in the agricultural sector are considered excessive for many reasons, the most important of these being the predominant use of traditional irrigation methods. In 2016, flood irrigation was used on 65% of the agricultural lands, whereas modern irrigation methods, notably drip irrigation and sprinkler irrigation, were used on 32% and 3% of the agricultural areas respectively (Figure 3). Traditional methods lead to high water losses, resulting in low irrigation efficiency, ranging between 25% and 40%.

  • Flood
  • Drip
  • Sprinkler

Figure 3: Irrigation methods used in Bahrain, 2016.

Crop types

The main crop types cultivated in Bahrain are fodder, vegetables and fruits (including dates). The total cultivated area of these three crops increased from about 2,900 ha in 1985 to about 3,530 ha in 2015. There has been a general increase in the total agricultural production output from about 47,900 tons in 2000 to about 59,100 tons in 2015. Furthermore, the production of fodder crops has been relatively stable, vegetable production has increased and fruit and date production has decreased.

In the last two decades, there has been an increasing move towards the cultivation of alfalfa for fodder. Alfalfa tolerates high salinity, has strong local demand and can be grown all year round. A 2003 study of fodder crops in Bahrain indicated that although alfalfa represented about 25% of the total cultivated area, water consumption by this area represented about 70% of the total water consumption of the agricultural sector, with high water application rates reaching up to 75,000 m3/ha/yr.[4] This high irrigation requirement has a negative impact on agricultural water demand and on groundwater resources.

Average productivity for fodder, vegetables and fruits and dates in 2007 was 36.7, 28.5 and 6.3 ton/ha respectively, which is considered low compared to agricultural systems in other countries. This is due to several constraints facing agricultural production in Bahrain, predominantly limited arable land and low fertility; low water-holding capacity of the soil; harsh climatic conditions; inefficient drainage due to the largely low-lying land; and high salinity of the irrigation water (>2,500 mg/L).

In an attempt to achieve high yields per unit area and per unit applied water, especially in vegetables, many farmers have adopted protected agriculture (greenhouses) with different growing systems like hydroponics and vertical systems, which save water and maximize production in limited space, the two main constraints facing agricultural production. Table 1 illustrates the observed trends in irrigation techniques and agricultural systems for vegetable production for the period 2005-2015, which shows increasing use of protected agriculture and hydroponic systems and decreasing use of flood irrigation. If continued, such trends will undoubtedly save large amounts of water.

Table 1: Trends in irrigation techniques and agricultural systems for vegetable production for the period 2005-2015, in ha.

Agricultural/irrigation system200520102015
Traditional irrigation (flood irrigation)456303227
Drip irrigation177209237
Protected agriculture485275
Hydroponic system0215

[1] Expansion of agriculture reached its peak in the mid-1990s but has since declined due to both deterioration of the quality of groundwater and agricultural land transfer to urban areas.
[2] Al-Zubari W et al., 2018. Impacts of climate change on the municipal water management system in the Kingdom of Bahrain: Vulnerability assessment and adaptation options. Climate Risk Management 20: 95-110.
[3] Al-Zubari W, 1999. Impacts of groundwater overexploitation on desertification of soils in Bahrain – A case study. In: Proceedings of the International Conference on Regional Aquifer Systems in Arid Zones: Managing Non-renewable Resources, Tripoli, Libya, 20-24 November 1999.
[4] Al-Durazi K, 2003. Green fodder production in Bahrain: water cost and alternative approaches. MSc thesis, Desert and Arid Zones Sciences Programme, College of Graduate Studies, Arabian Gulf University, 100 p (in Arabic).