الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / إدارة المياه في البحرين

إدارة المياه في البحرين

Bahrain
الصورة 1: منظر جوي لقوارب الصيد ، البحرين (المصدر: George Mathew, Flickr)

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

حققت البحرين تقدماً كبيراً في إدارة قطاع المياه. في عام 2009، صدر المرسوم الملكي رقم 36/2009 بشأن تعديلات بعض بنود المرسوم 7/1982 بشأن إنشاء مجلس الموارد المائية. إن مسؤوليات مجلس الموارد المائية المعلنة هي:

i. صياغة السياسات والاستراتيجيات العامة للموارد المائية للبلاد، بما في ذلك وضع الأطر المؤسسية والتشريعية المناسبة؛

ii. تنسيق سياسات المياه الحكومية وضمان تكامل هذه السياسات؛ و

iii. متابعة تنفيذ سياسات وخطط المياه وتحديد الأولويات لتنفيذ الاستراتيجيات والبرامج المطورة.

يرأس مجلس الموارد المائية نائب رئيس الوزراء، إلى جانب عضوية كل من وزير الكهرباء والماء؛ ووزير الأشغال والبلديات والتخطيط العمراني؛ ووزير الإسكان؛ ووزير الصناعة والتجارة والسياحة؛ ووزير النقل والاتصالات؛ ووزير المالية؛ ووزير شؤون مجلس الوزراء. يتم دعم مجلس الموارد المائية من قبل لجنة استشارية فنية دائمة (TAC) مع عضوية من جميع الوزارات والوكالات ذات الصلة بالمياه بالإضافة إلى الأوساط الأكاديمية. وقد أدى تأسيس مجلس الموارد المائية إلى توحيد وكالات إدارة الموارد المائية. في عام 2017، بدأ مجلس الموارد المائية صياغة سياسة واستراتيجية شاملة ومتكاملة للمياه على أساس مبادئ الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية. من المتوقع الانتهاء من صياغة الإستراتيجية في الربع الأخير من عام 2019.

على المستوى التنفيذي، هناك العديد من الوزارات والهيئات والمؤسسات التي لها اهتمام حول إدارة موارد المياه واستخدامها في البحرين. وفيما يلي الجهات الرئيسية المسؤولة عن إدارة قطاعات المياه المختلفة:

هيئة الكهرباء والماء (EWA) وهي مؤسسة إمداد مياه البلدية المملوكة للحكومة. تعتبر هيئة الكهرباء والماء مسؤولة عن تخطيط وإنتاج وتوزيع المياه البلدية، وتشغيل وصيانة محطات تحلية المياه ومحطات ضخ المياه الجوفية، ومرافق التخزين وشبكة توزيع المياه. كما تنظم حملات توعية للحفاظ على المياه البلدية. تعمل هيئة الكهرباء والماء تحت المظلة السياسية والإدارية لوزارة الكهرباء والماء.

وزارة الأشغال وشؤون البلديات والتخطيط العمراني وهي مسؤولة عن المياه العادمة والمياه الجوفية والقطاع الزراعي. إن الشؤون الزراعية داخل الوزارة مسؤولة عن تطوير وإدارة ومراقبة وحماية والسيطرة على وترشيد استخدام موارد المياه الجوفية. كما أنها تخصص مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة لأغراض الري وتنسق مع السلطات المختصة لوضع معايير لإعادة الاستخدام والتي تنظم استخدام تلك المياه العادمة. وإن شؤون الصرف الصحي هي المسؤولة عن إنتاج وتوزيع ومراقبة جودة مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، وإدارة مرافق معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، والتنسيق مع القطاعات الأخرى داخل الوزارة (مثل الزراعة والمياه الجوفية وتنسيق الحدائق البلدية) وغيرها من السلطات ذات الصلة، مثل وزارة الصحة لتخصيص مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة ووضع معايير لإعادة الاستخدام تحمي الصحة العامة والبيئة.

بالإضافة إلى هذه الوكالات الأربع، فهناك عدد من وكالات الدعم والخدمات مثل المجلس الأعلى للبيئة (حماية البيئة، بما في ذلك موارد المياه)، ووزارة الصحة (جودة المياه) وخدمات الأرصاد الجوية البحرينية (بيانات الأرصاد الجوية).

القوانين واللوائح

تمتلك البحرين عدداً كبيراً نسبياً من المراسيم والقوانين واللوائح التي تم سنُّها لتنظيم ومراقبة استخدام المياه في مختلف القطاعات المستهلكة وكذلك للحفاظ على موارد المياه الجوفية من الملوحة والنضوب. ومع ذلك، فلا يتم توحيد هذه القوانين بموجب قانون شامل للمياه. ويعرض الجدول (1) أهم هذه التشريعات.

الجدول 1: تشريعات المياه في البحرين.

الإعلان رقم 48/1351 هـ/ 1933يتكون من المبادئ العامة لتصاريح استخدام المياه في القطاع الزراعي، والحاجة إلى ترخيص لحفر الآبار ذات المواصفات العامة لحفر الآبار الأرتوازية. يعتبر قانون المياه الأول في البحرين.
المرسوم الأميري رقم 2/1971 بشأن رصد المياه وأنظمة المراقبةمنح مجلس المياه السلطة الإدارية والتشريعية والتنفيذية الكاملة لجميع المسائل المتعلقة بالمياه، بما في ذلك ترخيص حفر الآبار والمواصفات.
المرسوم الأميري رقم 12/1980 بشأن استخدام المياه الجوفية (المعدل في 1997، 1999)يهدف إلى تنظيم استخدام المياه الجوفية للمساعدة في الحفاظ عليها؛ ويشمل حفر الآبار، وفرض رسوم على استهلاك المياه الجوفية ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، ويتطلب تركيب عدادات المياه على آبار المياه الجوفية.
القرار الوزاري رقم 23/1980 بشأن حظر استخراج المياه من طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفيةصدر القرار للحد من استخراج المياه الجوفية من طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية (منطقتي الخبر والعلات) والسماح باستردادهما.
المرسوم التشريعي رقم 7/1982 بشأن تشكيل المجلس الأعلى للموارد المائية (المعدل في 2007)تم تحديد المهام الأساسية للمجلس على النحو التالي: رسم سياسات المياه في البلاد في ضوء نتائج دراسات ومسوحات الموارد المائية؛ وحماية وتطوير الموارد المائية لضمان توافرها وفعاليتها لفترة طويلة؛ واتخاذ التدابير اللازمة لحل أي مشاكل قد تنشأ أثناء تنفيذ سياسات المياه.
القرار الوزاري رقم 10/1982إلزام أصحاب الآبار بتثبيت عدادات المياه على آبارهم كخطوة أولى لدراسة استهلاك المياه الجوفية في القطاعات المختلفة.
القرار الوزاري رقم 4/1983 بشأن تمديد القرار الوزاري رقم 23/1980 بشأن حظر استخراج المياه من طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفيةتمديد حظر استخراج المياه من طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية لمدة عامين آخرين
القرار الوزاري رقم 3/1985 بشأن إنشاء المياه البلدية المحلاةإنشاء تعريفة للمياه البلدية
المرسوم الأميري رقم 11/1991 (المعدل بموجب القانون رقم 33/2006)يرتبط هذا القانون بالصرف الصحي وشبكة تصريف المياه. يحظر إلقاء النفايات والملوثات في شبكات مياه الصرف الصحي وشبكات الجريان السطحي. ينظم القانون رقم 33/2006 خدمات الصرف الصحي ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وإعادة استخدام المياه العادمة المعالجة والحمأة.
المرسوم الملكي رقم 36/2009 بشأن تعديل بعض بنود المرسوم رقم 7/1982 بشأن إنشاء مجلس موارد المياهيهدف إلى إعادة تنشيط المجلس الأعلى للموارد المائية الذي تم تشكيله في عام 1982، والذي تم اعتباره الإطار التنظيمي الأنسب لضمان مستويات إدارة الموارد المائية بكفاءة. المسؤوليات المعلنة للمجلس هي: صياغة سياسات واستراتيجيات الموارد المائية الشاملة للبلاد، بما في ذلك وضع الأطر المؤسسية والتشريعية المناسبة؛ وتنسيق سياسات المياه الحكومية وضمان تكامل هذه السياسات؛ ومتابعة تنفيذ سياسات وخطط المياه وتحديد الأولويات لتنفيذ الاستراتيجيات والبرامج المطورة.

وعلاوة على ذلك، ينص دستور البحرين (2002؛ البند 11) على أن “الثروات الطبيعية جميعها ومواردها كافة ملك للدولة، تقوم على حفظها وحسن استثمارها، بمراعاة مقتضيات أمن الدولة واقتصادها الوطني.” بمعنى آخر، تعتبر المياه الجوفية، باعتبارها مورد طبيعي، ملكية عامة والدولة مكلفة بإدارتها كسلعة مشتركة.

تمويل قطاع المياه

بشكلٍ عام، يتم تمويل قطاع المياه من المخصصات الحكومية. تطبق رسوم المياه فقط في القطاع البلدي (مياه الشرب) وعلى استخدام المياه الجوفية من طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية للأغراض الصناعية (الجدول 2). لا يؤثر هذا سلباً على معدلات الاستهلاك وأنماطه فحسب وذلك من خلال حرمان القطاع من آلية تحديد الأسعار، ولكنه يحد أيضاً من استرداد التكاليف، مما يؤثر في النهاية على الأداء المالي لقطاع إدارة المياه ويجعله يعتمد بدرجة كبيرة على المخصصات الحكومية. علاوة على ذلك، يتم توفير خدمات الصرف الصحي مجاناً، مما يجعل القطاع أسير مخصصات الحكومة.

الجدول 3: التعريفات في القطاعات المستهلكة للمياه.

البلديةالصناعيةالزراعية
تعريفة الأسعار التصاعدية للمستخدمين المنزليين وغير المنزليين (القطاع الصناعي والتجاري والسياحي والحكومي… الخ.تعريفة الأسعار التصاعدية لمستخدمي طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية؛ في حين أن استخدام طبقة الرس- أم الرضمة للمياه الجوفية مجاني.المياه الجوفية وتدفقات مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة المستخدمة في القطاع الزراعي مجانية.

في قطاع إمدادات مياه الشرب، تتم معالجة الاستدامة المالية من خلال سياستين: تخفيض التكلفة عن طريق خصخصة محطات تحلية المياه ومراجعة التعريفات لتعزيز استرداد التكاليف. كما هو موضح في القسم 5، تخطط هيئة الكهرباء والماء بأن يتم إنشاء وإدارة جميع محطات تحلية المياه المستقبلية من قبل القطاع الخاص.

بدأت البحرين بتطبيق نظام تعريفة الفئات في قطاع المياه البلدية في عام 1986، إذ تمتلك المملكة نظاماً كاملاً لعدادات المياه. في الفترة من 2016-2019، قد تم إجراء مراجعة سنوية تدريجية لتعريفات المياه (والكهرباء). كانت أهداف المراجعة ذات شقين: الأول هو تحسين دعم المياه والثاني تحسين استرداد تكاليف هيئة الكهرباء والماء.

وقد تم إجراء المراجعة للحسابات غير السكنية، والحسابات السكنية للوافدين، بالإضافة إلى المواطنين البحرينيين الذين لديهم أكثر من حساب سكني واحد. يوضح الجدول (3) التعريفات الحالية للمياه البلدية للقطاع المنزلي/ السكني للمواطن لحساب واحد فقط. وبالنسبة لجميع الحسابات الأخرى، يبلغ سعر المتر المكعب من المياه الموردة 2 دولار بغض النظر عن وحدة الاستهلاك. ووفقاً لهيئة الكهرباء والماء، يعتمد هذا السعر على التكلفة الإجمالية لإنتاج ونقل متر مكعب واحد من المياه في القطاع البلدي. إن المعلومات عن إعانات المياه قبل وبعد إصلاح التعريفة غير متوفرة.

الجدول 3: هيكل تعريفة إمدادات المياه البلدية.

الوحدةالاستهلاك/ الشهر (م3)السعر (دينار بحريني/ م3)السعر (دولار/ م3)
1<600.025 0.066
261-1000.0800.212
3>1000.2000.530

حالياً، لا توجد تعريفات قائمة لجمع ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي أو إعادة استخدامها، والتي يتم توفيرها مجاناً. وبالتالي، يعتمد قطاع مياه الصرف الصحي بالكامل على ميزانية الحكومة. لمواجهة هذا التحدي المالي، تبنى قطاع مياه الصرف الصحي سياستين: اللامركزية والخصخصة. يتجلى ذلك في محطة المحرق لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. ومن المتوقع أن يتم تنفيذ وإدارة أعمال الصرف الصحي المستقبلية ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المدينتين الجديدتين من قبل القطاع الخاص. من حيث التكلفة، فإن أحدث الأرقام التقديرية المتاحة (2013) لتكلفة جمع مياه الصرف الصحي ومعالجتها وإعادة استخدامها هي 0,4 دولار/ م3، و0,53 دولار/ م3، و0,13- 0,27 دولار/ م3 على التوالي، أي ما مجموعه حوالي 1,1 دولار/ م3. [1] تبلغ تكلفة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المحرق من قبل القطاع الخاص 0,45 دولار/ م3. إن تفاصيل العقد المتعلقة برسوم الطاقة ورسوم المرافق والتكاليف ذات الصلة التي تتحملها الحكومة غير معروفة. ومع ذلك، فإن التحليل العام والتقريبي يشير إلى أن الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص قد أدت إلى خفض التكاليف.

[1] Al-Zubari W, 2014. The costs of municipal water supply in Bahrain. Produced as part of the Valuing Vital Resources in the Gulf series. Chatham House, UK.

Home / Bahrain / Water Management in Bahrain

Water Management in Bahrain

bahrain
Photo1: Arial View of Fishing boats, Bahrain (Source: George Mathew, Flickr )

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

Bahrain has made major progress in the governance of its water sector. In 2009, Royal Decree No. 36/2009 Concerning the Amendments of Some Items of Decree 7/1982 on the Establishment of the Water Resources Council (WRC) was issued. The stated WRC responsibilities are:

i. Formulating the overall water resources policies and strategies for the country, including setting up appropriate institutional and legislative frameworks;
ii. Coordinating government water policies and ensuring integration of these policies; and
iii. Following up the implementation of water policies and plans and setting priorities for the implementation of the developed strategies and programmes.

The WRC is headed by the deputy prime minister with membership by the minister of electricity and water; minister of works, municipalities affairs and urban planning; minister of housing; minister of industry, commerce and tourism; minister of transportation and telecommunication; minister of finance; and the minister of cabinet affairs. The WRC is supported by a permanent Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) with membership by all the water-related ministries and agencies in addition to academia. The establishment of the WRC has consolidated the water resources management agencies. In 2017, the WRC started formulating a comprehensive, integrated, national water policy and strategy based on integrated water resources management principles. The strategy formulation is expected to be completed in the last quarter of 2019.

At the executive level, there are many ministries, agencies and institutions that have a stake in water resources management and use in Bahrain. The following are the main agencies responsible for the management of the various water sectors.

The Electricity and Water Authority (EWA) is a government-owned municipal water supply utility. The EWA is responsible for planning, producing and distributing municipal water, and operating and maintaining desalination plants and groundwater pumping stations, storage facilities and the water distribution network. It also organizes awareness campaigns for conservation of municipal water. The EWA works under the political and administrative umbrella of the Ministry of Electricity and Water Affairs.

The Ministry of Works, Municipalities Affairs and Urban Planning is responsible for wastewater, groundwater and the agriculture sector. Agricultural Affairs within the ministry is responsible for developing, managing, monitoring, protecting, controlling and rationalizing the use of groundwater resources. It also allocates treated wastewater for irrigation purposes and coordinates with relevant authorities to develop the standards for reuse which regulate the use of that wastewater. Sanitation Affairs is responsible for producing, distributing and monitoring the quality of the treated wastewater, managing wastewater treatment facilities, coordinating with the other sectors within the ministry (e.g. agricultural, groundwater, municipal landscaping) and other relevant authorities, such as the Ministry of Health, to allocate treated wastewater and develop the standards for reuse that protect public health and the environment.

In addition to these four agencies, there are a number of supporting and services agencies such as the Supreme Council for Environment (environmental protection, including water resources), Ministry of Health (water quality) and Bahrain Meteorological Services (meteorological data).

Laws and regulations

Bahrain has a relatively large number of decrees, ordinances and regulations that have been enacted to regulate and control water use in the various consuming sectors as well as to conserve the groundwater resource from salinization and depletion. However, these laws are not consolidated under a comprehensive water law. Table 1 displays the most important of this legislation.

Table 1: Water legislation in Bahrain.

Proclamation No. 48/1351H/1933Consisted of the general principles for permits for water use in the agricultural sector, and the need for a license to drill wells with the general specifications for the drilling of artesian wells. Considered the first water law in Bahrain
Amiri Decree No. 2/1971 Concerning Water Monitoring and Control RegulationsGave the water council full administrative, legislative and executive authority for all water-related matters, including well drilling licensing and specifications
Amiri Decree No. 12/1980 Concerning the Use of Groundwater (modified in 1997, 1999)Aimed to regulate the use of groundwater to help in its conservation; it included well drilling, the imposition of tariffs on the consumption of groundwater and wastewater treatment, and it required the installation of water metres on groundwater wells
Ministerial Order No. 23/1980 Concerning the Prohibition of Water Abstraction from the Dammam AquiferThe order was issued to reduce groundwater abstraction from the Dammam aquifer (Khobar and Alat zones) and allow their recovery
Legislative Decree No. 7/1982 Concerning the Formation of the High Council of Water Resources (modified in 2007)The primary duties of the council were stated as: to draw up the country’s water policies in view of the results of water resources studies and surveys; to protect and develop the water resources so as to ensure their prolonged availability and efficiency; and to take necessary measures to solve any problems that might arise during the implementation of the water policies
Ministerial Order No. 10/1982Obliged well owners to install water metres on their wells as a first step for the study of groundwater consumption in different sectors
Ministerial Order No. 4/1983 Concerning the Extension of Ministerial Order No. 23/1980 Concerning the Prohibition of Water Abstraction from the Dammam AquiferExtended the prohibition of water abstraction from the Dammam aquifer for another two years
Ministerial Order No. 3/1985 Concerning the Establishment of Municipal Desalinated WaterEstablished a municipal water tariff
Amiri Decree No. 11/1991 (modified by Law No. 33/2006)This law is related to sanitation and drainage. It prohibits the dumping of waste and pollutants in the wastewater networks and the surface runoff networks. Law 33/2006 regulates sanitation services, wastewater treatment and reuse of treated wastewater and sludge
Royal Decree No. 36/2009 Concerning the Amendments of Some Items of Decree No. 7/1982 on the Establishment of the Water Resources CouncilAimed to reactivate the High Council of Water Resources formed in 1982, which was seen as the most suitable organizational framework to ensure efficient levels of water resources management. The council’s stated responsibilities are: to formulate the overall water resources policies and strategies for the country, including setting up appropriate institutional and legislative frameworks; coordinate government water policies and ensure integration of these policies; and follow up the implementation of water policies and plans and set priorities for the implementation of the developed strategies and programmes

Moreover, Bahrain’s constitution (2002; item 11) states that ‘all natural wealth and resources are state property. The state shall safeguard them and exploit them properly, while observing the requirement of the security of the state and of the national economy’. In other words, as a natural resource, groundwater is public property and the state is entrusted with its management as a common good.

Financing of the water sector

In general, the water sector is financed by government allocations. Water tariffs are applied only in the municipal sector (drinking water) and to the use of groundwater from the Dammam aquifer for industrial purposes (Table 2). This not only negatively affects consumption rates and patterns by depriving the sector of a price-signalling mechanism, but it also limits cost recovery, which eventually impacts the financial performance of the water management sector and makes it highly dependable on government allocations. Moreover, sanitation services are provided free of charge, which makes the sector captive to government allocations.

Table 2: Tariffs in the water-consuming sectors.

AgriculturalIndustrialMunicipal
Escalating block rate for domestic and non-domestic users (industrial, commercial, tourism, government etc.)Escalating block rate for use of the Dammam aquifer; use of the Rus-UER aquifer is free of charge Groundwater and treated sewage effluent used in the agricultural sector are free of charge

In the drinking water supply sector, financial sustainability is addressed through two policies: reducing the cost by privatizing desalination plants and reviewing tariffs to enhance cost recovery. As indicated in section 5, the EWA is planning to have all future desalination plants constructed and managed by the private sector.

Bahrain started implementing a block rate tariff in the municipal water sector in 1986, and the kingdom has a complete water metring system. In the period from 2016-2019, a gradual annual review was made for the water (and electricity) tariffs. The objectives of the review were twofold: the first was to better target the water subsidies and the second to enhance the EWA’s cost recovery. The review was made for non-residential accounts, expat residential accounts, in addition to Bahraini nationals having more than one residential account.

The current tariffs for municipal water for the domestic/residential sector for the first national account is shown in Table 3. For all other accounts, the price of one cubic metre of supplied water is $2 regardless of consumption blocks. According to the EWA, this price is based on the total cost of producing and conveying one cubic metre of water in the municipal sector. Information on water subsidies prior and post the tariff reform are not available.

Table 3: Municipal water supply tariff structure.

BlockConsumption/month (m3)Price (BD/m3)Price ($/m3)
1<600.025 0.066
261-1000.0800.212
3>1000.2000.530

Currently, there are no existing tariffs for wastewater collection and treatment or for reuse, which is provided free of charge. Hence, the wastewater sector depends entirely on government budget. To address this financial challenge, the wastewater sector has adopted two policies: decentralization and privatization. This is manifested in the Muharraq sewage treatment plant. It is expected that future wastewater works and wastewater treatment plants in the two new cities will be implemented and managed by the private sector. In terms of cost, the latest available estimated figures (2013) for the cost of wastewater collection, treatment and reuse are $0.4/m3, $0.53/m3 and $0.13-0.27/m3 respectively, i.e. a total of about $1.1/m3.[1] The cost of wastewater treatment in Muharraq by the private sector is $0.45/m3. Contract details related to the energy charges, facility charges and related costs to be borne by the government are not known. However, a general and rough analysis would indicate that public-private partnerships have led to cost reduction.

[1] Al-Zubari W, 2014. The costs of municipal water supply in Bahrain. Produced as part of the Valuing Vital Resources in the Gulf series. Chatham House, UK.