الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب

المغرب

Casablanca, Morocco
الصورة 1: الدار البيضاء، المغرب. (المصدر: Javier Cebrian, Flicker)

المساهمون

المؤلف: فريق فنك للمياه

المراجع: د. جواد الخراز، هو رئيس الأبحاث في مركز أبحاث تحلية المياه في الشرق الأوسط (MEDRC) ، عُمان. وهو عضو في جمعية المياه العُمانية والأمين العام لرابطة العالم العربي للعلماء الشباب (ArabWAYS). ويعمل في موضوعات متعلقة بالبحث العلمي وإدارة المياه وتقنيات تحلية المياه والطاقة المتجددة والصلة بين الطاقة والغذاء والطاقة وغيرها.

مُقدمة عن المياه في المغرب

تتعرض موارد المياه في المغرب لضغوطٍ متزايدة في ظل النمو السكاني والصناعي والزراعة المروية والتحضر والسياحة وتغير المناخ والإفراط في استغلال طبقات المياه الجوفية وتدهور جودة المياه[1]. فقد تم تصنيف البلاد عند درجة 4,2 من 5 وفق مؤشر مخاطر أمن المياه، مما يعرضها “لخطر شديد” من حيث توافر المياه.[2]

map water in Morocco
الخريطة 1: خريطة المغرب.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

يقع المغرب في شمال غرب إفريقيا ويحده الجزائر من الشرق، وموريتانيا من الجنوب، ومنطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط من الشمال الشرقي والمحيط الأطلسي من الغرب (خريطة 1)[3]. يمتد المغرب على مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 710,850 كيلومتر مربع. وقد أدت التربة الغنية والمناخ المعتدل إلى ازدهار قطاعات الزراعة المحلية.

ومع ذلك، يختلف المناخ بشكلٍ كبير من الشمال إلى الجنوب، ويتأثر كل من الهطول المطري ودرجات الحرارة بشدة بالمحيط الأطلسي والبحر الأبيض المتوسط والصحراء الكبرى. يحصل معظم الهطول المطري بين شهري أكتوبر ومايو[4]. وتوضح الخريطة (2)[5] تقلب هطول الأمطار في شمال ووسط المغرب. تحدث معدلات هطول الأمطار السنوية الأعلى في المناطق الجبلية في الشمال الغربي، في حوض نهر اللوكوس، وطنجة وساحل البحر المتوسط، بأكثر من 1000 ملليمتر في السنة (مم/ السنة). وعلى العكس، فإن هطول الأمطار أقل من 300 مم/ السنة في أحواض ملوية وتانسيفت وسوس -ماسة وجنوب الأطلس. أما في منطقة جنوب الصحراء الكبرى، يكون الهطول المطري أقل من ذلك، حيث يقل عن 100 مم/ السنة.[6]

Rainfall- Morocco water in Morocco
الخريطة 2: متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي في شمال ووسط المغرب. المصدر: International Journal of Climatology

السكان

في عام 2017، بلغ عدد سكان المغرب حوالي 35,7 مليون نسمة، بمعدل نمو سنوي بلغ 1,3%. يتكون السكان من العرب والبربر والصحراويون. ويوضح الشكل (1) النمو السكاني بين عامي 1960 و2017.[7] وفي عام 2015، كان ما نسبته 60% من السكان يعيشون في المناطق الحضرية، وهي النسبة التي يتوقع أن تصل إلى 74% بحلول عام 2050.[8]

الشكل 1: النمو السكاني في المغرب بين عامي 1960 و2017 المصدر: البنك الدولي.

الاقتصاد

ارتفع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من 30,2 مليار دولار إلى 109,1 مليار دولار بين عامي 1990 و2017، بمعدل نمو بلغ 4,1% في عام 2017.[9] ويقدر  نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الناتج المحلي بـ2,944 دولار.[10] القطاع الصناعي مسؤول عن 26% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، في حين أن الزراعة تمثل 13%، كما هو مبين في الجدول (1).

الجدول (1): لمحة عن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمغرب بين عامي 1990 و2017. المصدر: FAO AQUASTAT.

العام 1990200020102017
الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (بالأسعار الجارية بالدولار) (بالمليارات)30.238.993.2109.1
نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (% سنوياً)3.41.93.84.1
الزراعة والحراجة وصيد الأسماك (% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي)15121313
الصناعة (بما في ذلك البناء) (% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي)28272626
صادرات السلع والخدمات (% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي)25273237
واردات السلع والخدمات (% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي)30324347

Home / Morocco

Morocco

Water in Morocco
Photo 1: Casablanca, Morocco. (Source : Javier Cebrian, Flicker)

Contributors

Author: The Editorial team of Fanack water
Reviewer: Dr. Jauad El Kharraz is Head of Research at the Middle East Desalination Research Center (MEDRC), Oman. He is member of Oman Water Society and Secretary General of Arab World Association of Young Scientists (ArabWAYS). He works on topics related to water management, desalination technologies, renewable energies and water-energy-food nexus among others.

Introduction to water in Morocco

Morocco’s water resources are under increasing pressure from population and industrial growth, irrigated agriculture, urbanization, tourism, climate change, overexploitation of aquifers and deteriorating water quality.[1] The country is indexed at 4.2 on a scale of 5, putting it ‘at extreme risk’ in terms of water availability.[2]

map water in Morocco
Map 1: Map of Morocco.

Geography and climate

Morocco is located in north-western Africa and bordered by Algeria to the east, Mauritania to the south, the Mediterranean to the north-east and the Atlantic to the west (Map 1).[3] Covering a total area of 710,850 km2, Morocco is geographically diverse. Its rich soil and mild climate have resulted in thriving local agriculture sectors.

That being said, the climate varies considerably from north to south, and both the rainfall and temperature are strongly influenced by the Atlantic, the Mediterranean and the Sahara Desert. The most rainfall occurs between October and May.[4] The rainfall variability in northern and central Morocco is illustrated in Map 2.[5] Higher annual precipitation occurs in the mountainous areas of the north-west, in the Loukkos river basin, Tangier and the Mediterranean coast, at more than 1,000 millimetres per year (mm/yr). Conversely, precipitation is less than 300 mm/yr in the Moulouya, Tensift, Souss-Massa and South Atlas basins. In the sub-Saharan region, it is even lower, at less than 100 mm/yr.[6]

Rainfall- Morocco water in Morocco
Map 2: . Mean annual precipitation in northern and central Morocco. Source: International Journal of Climatology.

Population

In 2017, the population of Morocco was around 35.7 million, with an annual growth rate of 1.3%. The population is composed of Arabs, Berbers and Sahrawi. Figure 1 shows the population growth between 1960 and 2017.[7] In 2015, 60% of the population lived in urban areas, a figure projected to reach 74% by 2050.[8]

Figure 1. Population growth (Millions) in Morocco between 1960 and 2017. Source: World Bank.

Economy

The gross domestic product (GDP) increased from $30.2 billion to $109.1 billion between 1990 and 2017, with a growth rate of 4.1% in 2017.[9] GDP per capita is estimated at $2,944.[10] The industrial sector is responsible for 26% of GDP, whereas agriculture represents 13%, as shown in Table 1.

Table 1. Morocco’s GDP profile between 1990 and 2017. Source: FAO AQUASTAT.

Year 1990200020102017
GDP (current $) (billions)30.238.993.2109.1
GDP growth (annual %)3.41.93.84.1
Agriculture, forestry and fishing (% of GDP)15121313
Industry (including construction) (% of GDP)28272626
Exports of goods and services (% of GDP)25273237
Imports of goods and services (% of GDP)30324347