الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب / موارد المياه في المغرب

موارد المياه في المغرب

Lighthouse of Cap Spartel
الصورة 1: منارة كاب سبارتل ، بالقرب من طنجة ، شمال المغرب. (المصدر: Khayri Woulfe, Flicker)

يبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار 140 مليار متر مكعب في السنة، ويتراوح ما بين 50 مليار متر مكعب في السنة و400 مليار متر مكعب في السنة. ومعدلات التبخر مرتفعة، حيث تصل إلى 118 مليار متر مكعب في السنة بالمتوسط. تقدر إمكانات موارد المياه الطبيعية بنحو 22 مليار متر مكعب في السنة، أي ما يعادل 700 متر مكعب/ للفرد/ السنة، بما في ذلك 18 مليار متر مكعب من المياه السطحية و4 مليار متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية. وتبلغ كمية المياه القابلة للاستغلال تقنياً واقتصادياً 80% من الموارد المتاحة حالياً. ويعكس هذا القيود المفروضة على موارد المياه والتحديات المنتظرة فيما يتعلق بضرورة اتباع نهج الإدارة المتكاملة.[1]

يتميز النظام الهيدرولوجي لجميع الأحواض بتقلبات عالية فيما بين السنوات تتميز بتعاقبات رطبة وجافة، وتتخللها سنوات من التدفق الهيدروليكي القوي أو الجفاف الشديد.

إن حوض واد ورغة، على سبيل المثال، هو أحد أكثر الأحواض الإنتاجية في البلاد، حيث يبلغ متوسط تدفقه السنوي 2,5 مليار متر مكعب. ويؤدي أيضاً التباين الإقليمي الكبير لهطول الأمطار إلى تباينٍ كبير في تدفق المياه السطحية، إذ تتراوح الأخيرة بين بضعة ملايين من الأمتار المكعبة بالنسبة لمعظم الأحواض القاحلة، مثل أحواض الصحراء الكبرى، إلى 1 مليار متر مكعب في السنة بالنسبة إلى الأحواض الأكثر ثراءً بالمياه. فعلى سبيل المثال، يضم حوض سبو 30% من موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يمثل سوى 6% من إجمالي مساحة المغرب، إلا أن 18% من سكان البلاد يعيشون فيه.[2] يتم تطبيق عمليات إعادة تخصيص المياه الداخلية للحد من النقص في كل حوض نهري. حيث يتم نقل حوالي 0,3 مليون متر مكعب من حوض أم الربيع إلى المناطق الجافة في تانسيفت، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي للحفاظ على الري. وبالمثل، يتم نقل 0,16 مليون متر مكعب من أحواض سبو وأم الربيع لدعم احتياجات مياه أبو رقراق المنزلية.[3] تُظهر الخريطة (3) التوزيع الجغرافي للأحواض الهيدرولوجية. ويوضح الجدول (2) أحواض الأنهار المغربية التسعة مع مساحتها وتدفقاتها.

الجدول 1: الأحواض الهيدرولوجية المغربية ومساحتها ومتوسط التدفق والإمكانات القابلة للاستغلال. المصدر: الاستراتيجية الوطنية للمياه.

اسم الحوضالمساحة (كيلومتر مربع)التدفق (مليون متر مكعب)إمكانات الاستغلال (مليون متر مكعب في السنة)
اللوكوس، طنجة، السواحل المتوسطية12,8053,600190
ملوية، فجيج- واد كرت- واد إسلي- وادي كيس76,6641,610512
سبو40,0005,5601300
أبو رقراق والشاوية20,470850120
أم الربيع والجديدة آسفي48,0703,315405
تانسيفت وواد القصب- جزولة24,800800520
سوس- ماسة- درعة126,4801,444691
كير- زيز- غريس58,841626313
الساقية الحمراء ووادي الذهب302,72539016
الاجمالي710,85518,1954,067
water basins in Morocco water resources in Morocco
الخريطة 1: التوزيع الجغرافي للأحواض الهيدرولوجية في المغرب. المصدر: Waterbiotech.

يوجد في البلاد 120 بحيرة طبيعية كبرى، تقع معظمها بين سلسلتي جبال الأطلس المتوسط والأطلس الكبير. ويوجد على الساحل بحيرات ومستنقعات. وفي عام 1980،  ، واليوم، يبلغ عدد المواقع المصنفة 24 موقعاً بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 272,010 هكتار.[4]

موارد المياه الجوفية

تمثل المياه الجوفية حوالي 20% من موارد المياه. وتغطي أهم طبقات المياه الجوفية مساحة إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 80,000 كيلومتر مربع، أي حوالي 10% من مساحة البلاد (خريطة 2).[5] يقدر إجمالي عمليات سحب المياه الجوفية بـ3,170 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. ومع ذلك، فقد تم استغلال المياه الجوفية بشكلٍ مفرط، بحوالي 4,2 مليار متر مكعب في السنة، بزيادة نسبتها 10% عن متوسط التغذية السنوية.  وقد أدى هذا الاستهلاك العالي إلى انخفاضٍ سريع في منسوب المياه بمتوسط معدل يبلغ 2 متر في السنة. إن مستوى المياه الحالي في طبقة المياه الجوفية سايس أقل بـ64 متراً مما كان عليه في الثمانينيات. ويمكن ملاحظة انخفاضات مماثلة في طبقات المياه الجوفية بسوسة وتمارة والحوز وجنوب الأطلس. ومن المتوقع أن تحدث هذه المشكلة في المناطق التي يقل فيها معدل هطول الأمطار عن 400 مم/ السنة وتستخدم المياه الجوفية فيها للري الزراعي من قبل المزارعين المحليين.[6] وتوفر المياه الجوفية ما نسبته 40% من المياه المستخدمة في الري. ويوضح الجدول 2 توزيع الإمكانيات القابلة للاستغلال للمياه الجوفية وفقاً للأحواض الهيدروجيولوجية.[7]

Aquifers in Morocco.
الخريطة 2: أحواض المياه الجوفية في المغرب.

موارد المياه غير التقليدية

تحلية المياه

تعتبر تحلية مياه البحر إجراءً واعداً لمصدر المياه غير التقليدية والتكيف مع التغير المناخي. وفي عام 2009، أطلق المغرب خطة وطنية للمياه للفترة 2020-2030، والتي تحدد عدة تدابير لمعالجة الفجوة بين العرض والطلب على المياه، بما في ذلك تحلية المياه. ويقترح مشروع الخطة الوطنية للمياه إنشاء محطات لتحلية مياه البحر لإنتاج حوالي 515 مليون متر مكعب من المياه في السنة في عام 2030.[8]

وبحلول عام 2016، كان لدى المغرب 15 منشأة لتحلية المياه، بطاقة تحلية إجمالية تبلغ 132 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. تعمل جميع محطات تحلية المياه (96%)، تقريباً، بنظام التناضح العكسي. وتنقسم السعة الحالية، نسبياً، بالتساوي بين المحطات المتوسطة- الكبيرة. وبما أن المغرب يستورد 95% من طاقته، فمن المرجح أن يظل التناضح العكسي التكنولوجيا المفضلة، نظراً لأنها الأقل استهلاكاً للطاقة في تقنيات تحلية المياه على النطاق الواسع والضخم. ومع ذلك، يمكن دمج مشاريع تحلية المياه في المستقبل مع توليد الطاقة المتجددة لمعالجة مشكلة ارتفاع تكاليف الطاقة. إن محطة أغادير لتحلية المياه قيد الإنشاء حالياً بتكلفة تبلغ حوالي 112 مليون دولار، باستخدام تكنولوجيا التناضح العكسي لإنتاج 36 مليون متر مكعب من المياه المحلاة في السنة، لتلبية احتياجات مياه الشرب والري لـ800,000 نسمة (123 لتر/ للفرد/ لليوم). كما يجري العمل حالياً على إنشاء محطتين لتحلية مياه البحر في الجرف الأصفر – الجديدة وآسفي، بطاقة تبلغ 75 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة و25 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة على التوالي، ومن المقرر أنهما ستنتجا 100 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الشرب والمياه الصناعية بحلول عام 2025.[9]

إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي

قد حقق قطاع مياه الصرف الصحي تطورات كبيرة في السنوات العشر الماضية. وإن واحدة من القضايا الرئيسية هي معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. ويهدف البرنامج الوطني للصرف الصحي إلى ربط 80% من سكان المناطق الحضرية بشبكات الصرف الصحي والحد من التلوث بنسبة 60% في عام 2020. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ونظراً لمحدودية موارد المياه السطحية والطلب المتزايد، فقد تم استغلال معظم موارد المياه الجوفية بشكل مفرط. ولا يزال أداء شبكات الإمداد واستخدام المياه منخفضاً؛ إذ يمكن للتعريفات الجديدة تحسين ذلك. وقد تم بناء أكثر من 120 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، مما زاد من قدرة المعالجة إلى 900 مليون متر مكعب في العام في عام 2016. وعلى سبيل المثال، فيتم ربط 75% من إجمالي السكان بشبكة الصرف الصحي، 62% منها متصلة بمحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.[10] وتهدف الخطة الوطنية للمياه إلى إعادة استخدام 325 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي بحلول عام 2030.[11]

وعلى الرغم من الإمكانات العالية، إلا أن مستوى إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي منخفض. ومن المتوقع أنه بحلول عام 2030، سيرتفع توليد مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى 900 مليون متر مكعب. ومن إجمالي تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي، يتم تصريف 60% منها مباشرة في البحر الأبيض المتوسط والمحيط الأطلسي، بينما يتم تصريف 40% في البيئة الطبيعية (الشكل 1).[12]

ويوضح الجدول (2) تعطل مشاريع إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي حسب الحوض. وقد كان تنفيذ البرنامج الوطني للصرف الصحي والخطة الوطنية للمياه بمثابة محركٍ حقيقي لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المراقبة. وهناك ثمانية عشر مشروعاً لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي بإجمالي إنتاج يبلغ 38 مليون متر مكعب، والتي تعمل وتزود مياه ذات نوعية جيدة للاستخدامات التالية:

  • تصريفها في البحر (غير معالجة)
  • تصريفها في الأنهار والغابات (غير معالجة)
  • مصرفة (معالجة)
  • إعادة استخدامها في ملعب الجولف / الحدائق
  • الزراعة
  • الصناعات
  • تغذية المياه الجوفية

الشكل 1: إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي في المغرب في عام 2016 (مليون متر مكعب في السنة). المصدر: Netherlands Enterprise Agency

  • ري المساحات الخضراء والحدائق وملاعب الغولف (69,3%)؛
  • الزراعة، والتي تمثل حالياً ما نسبته 13%؛
  • الصناعة، وتحديداً تعدين الفوسفات (16,6%)؛
  • إعادة تغذية المياه الجوفية (1,1%).[13]

الجدول 2: إمكانية إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي لكل حوض بحلول عام 2030. المصدر: Netherlands Enterprise Agency.

حوض النهرالريالصناعاتالمناظر الطبيعية / ملاعب الغولفتغذية المياه الجوفيةالاجمالي
اللوكوس20-7-27
ملوية12-9-21
سبو34-151059
أبو رقراق19-1-20
أم الربيع15164-35
تانسيفت1156-58
سوس- ماسة38-401088
حوض جنوب الأطلس3-1-4
الاجمالي1421713310312

إجمالي توافر المياه وتوافرها للفرد

تتعرض الموارد المائية في المغرب لضغوط متزايدة في ظل النمو السكاني والصناعي والزراعة المروية والتحضر والسياحة وتغير المناخ والإفراط في استغلال طبقات المياه الجوفية وتدني تكلفة المياه المنقولة بالأنابيب وتدهور جودة المياه بسبب قصور خدمات الصرف الصحي.[14] ومن المتوقع أن ينخفض توفر المياه إلى 500 متر مكعب/ للفرد/ السنة بحلول عام 2030. وفي المقابل، فمن المتوقع أن يستمر الطلب على المياه في الإرتفاع، من 14,3 مليار متر مكعب في عام 2010 إلى 23,6 مليار متر مكعب في عام 2030.[15]

[1] United Nations, 2014. Morocco: Environmental Performance Reviews, series no. 38.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] FAO AQUASTAT, 2015. Morocco.
[5] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[6] United Nations, 2014. Morocco: Environmental Performance Reviews, series no. 38.
[7] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[8] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[9] World Bank, 2017. Managing Urban Water Scarcity in Morocco.
[10] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[11] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[12] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[13] Ibid.
[14] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[15] Ibid.

Home / Morocco / Water Resources in Morocco

Water Resources in Morocco

Water resources in Morocco
Photo 1: Lighthouse of Cap Spartel, near Tangier, northern Morocco. (Source: Khayri Woulfe, Flicker)

The average rainfall is 140 billion cubic metres per year (BCM/yr), Evapotranspiration is high, amounting to 118 BCM/yr on average. The potential of natural water resources is estimated at 22 BCM/yr, the equivalent of 700 m3/capita/yr, comprising 18 BCM of surface water and 4 BCM of groundwater. The amount of water that is technically and economically exploitable is 80% of current available resources. This reveals the constraints on water resources and the challenges that lie ahead regarding the urgency of an integrated management approach.[1]

Surface water resources

The hydrological regime of all basins is characterized by high inter-annual variability marked by wet and dry sequences, interspersed with years of strong hydraulic flow or severe drought.

The Ouergha basin, for example, is one of the most productive basins in the country, with an average annual inflow of 2.5 BCM. The large regional disparity of rainfall also induces a large variability of surface water flows. The latter varies from a few million cubic metres (MCM) for the most arid basins, such as the Saharan basins, to 1 BCM/yr for the most water-rich basins. For instance, the Sebou basin holds 30% of surface water and groundwater resources. Although it represents only 6% of the total area of Morocco, 18% of the country’s population lives within it.[2] Internal water reallocations are applied to reduce the shortages in each river basin. About 0.3 MCM is transferred from the Oum er-Rbia basin to dry areas in Tensift, essentially to sustain irrigation. Similarly, another 0.16 MCM is transferred from the Sebou and Oum er-Rbia basins to support Bouregreg’s domestic water needs.[3] Map 1 shows the geographical distribution of the hydrological basins. Table 1 shows the nine Moroccan river basins with their area and flow figures.

Table 1: Morocco’s hydrological basins, their area, average flow and exploitable potential. Source: National Water Strategy.

Name of basin Area (km2)Flow (MCM)Exploitable potential (MCM/year)
Loukkos, Tangier and Mediterranean coastal12,8053,600190
Moulouya, Figuig-Kert-Isley-Kiss76,6641,610512
Sebou40,0005,5601300
Bouregreg and Chaouia20,470850120
Oum er-Rbia and el-Jadida Safi48,0703,315405
Tensift and Ksob-Igouzoulen24,800800520
Souss-Massa-Draa126,4801,444691
Guir-Ziz-Rhéris58,841626313
Sakia el-Hamra and Oued Eddahab302,72539016
Total710,85518,1954,067
water basins in Morocco water resources in Morocco
Map 1 : Geographical distribution of hydro-logical basins in Morocco.

The country has 120 major natural lakes, the majority of which are located between the two mountain ranges of the Middle Atlas and High Atlas. On the coast are lagoons and marshes. In 1980, the Ramsar Convention classified four wetlands. Today, the 24 classified sites total 272,010 hectares (ha).[4]

Groundwater resources

Groundwater accounts for about 20% of water resources. The most important aquifers cover a total area of almost 80,000 km², about 10% of the country (Map 2).[5] Total groundwater withdrawals are estimated at 3,170 MCM/yr. However, groundwater has been overexploited, by around 4.2 BCM/yr, 10% higher than the average yearly recharge. This high extraction has led to a rapid drop in the water table, at an average rate of 2 metres per year. The current water level in the Saiss aquifer is 64 metres lower than in the 1980s. Similar drops can be seen in the Souss, Témara, Haouz and South Atlas aquifers. This problem is prone to occur in areas where precipitation is less than 400 mm/yr and groundwater is used for agricultural irrigation by local farmers.[6] Groundwater supplies 40% of the water used for irrigation. The distribution of the exploitable potential of groundwater according to the hydrogeological basins is shown in Table 2.[7]

Aquifers in Morocco.
Map 2: Aquifers in Morocco.

Non-conventional water resources

Desalination

Seawater desalination is considered a promising non-conventional water source and climate change adaptation measure. In 2009, Morocco launched a National Water Plan (PNE) for 2020-2030, which outlines several measures to address the gap between water supply and demand, including desalination. The PNE proposes the construction of seawater desalination plants to produce nearly 515 MCM/yr in 2030.[8]

By 2016, Morocco had 15 desalination installations, with a total desalination capacity of 132 MCM/yr. Almost all desalination plants (96%) operate with reverse osmosis (RO) systems. The current capacity is relatively evenly split between medium-, large- and extra-large-scale plants. As Morocco imports 95% of its energy, RO will likely remain the preferred technology, given that it is the least energy-intensive of the desalination technologies at large and extra-large scale. However, future desalination projects may be combined with renewable energy generation to address the problem of high-energy costs. The Agadir Desalination Plant is under construction at a cost of about $112 million, using RO technology to produce 36 MCM/yr, to fulfil the drinking water and irrigation needs of 800,000 people (123 litre/capita/day). Two desalination plants at Jorf Lasfar – el-Jadida and Safi, with a capacity of 75 MCM/yr and 25 MCM/yr respectively, are under construction and set to produce 100 MCM/yr of drinking and industrial water by 2025.[9]

Wastewater reuse

The wastewater sector has made significant advances in the last ten years. One of the main issues is wastewater treatment. The National Sanitation Programme aims to connect 80% of the urban population to sanitation networks and to reduce pollution by 60% in 2020. In addition, due to the limited surface water resources and growing demand, most of the groundwater resources have been overexploited. The performance of supply networks and water uses is still low; new tariffs could improve this. More than 120 wastewater treatment plants have been built, increasing the treatment capacity to 900 MCM/yr in 2016. Indicatively, 75% of the total population is connected to the sewer network, with 62% connected to wastewater treatment plants.[10] The PNE targets reuse of 325 MCM/yr of wastewater by 2030.[11]

Despite the high potential, the level of wastewater reuse is low. It is expected that by 2030, wastewater generation will increase to 900 MCM. Of the total wastewater discharge, 60% is discharged directly into the Mediterranean and Atlantic, while 40% is discharged into the natural environment (Figure 1).[12]

Table 2 shows the breakdown of the wastewater reuse projects by basin. The implementation of the National Sanitation Programme and PNE was a real trigger for controlled reuse of wastewater. Eighteen wastewater reuse projects with a total production of 38 MCM are in operation and supplying good-quality water for the following uses:

  • Dischraged into the sea (untreated)
  • Dischraged in rivers and forests (untreated)
  • Dischraged (Treated)
  • reused in golf course / parks
  • Agriculture
  • Industries
  • Groundwater recharge

Figure 1: Wastewater reuse in Morocco in 2016 (MCM/year). Source: Netherlands Enterprise Agency.

  • Irrigation of green spaces, parks and golf courses (69.3%);
    · Agriculture, which currently accounts for 13%;
    · Industry, specifically phosphate mining (16.6%);
    · Groundwater recharge (1.1%).[13]

Table 2: Wastewater reuse potential per basin by 2030. Source: Netherlands Enterprise Agency.

River BasinIrrigationIndustriesLandscaping / golf coursesGroundwater rechargeTotal
Loukkos20-7-27
Moulouya12-9-21
Sebou34-151059
Bouregreg19-1-20
Oum ErRabia15164-35
Tensift1156-58
Souss Massa38-401088
Sud Atlas3-1-4
Total1421713310312

Total water availability and per capita availability

Morocco’s water resources are under increasing pressure from population and industrial growth, irrigated agriculture, urbanization, tourism, climate change, the overexploitation of aquifers, the low cost of piped water and deteriorating water quality caused by sanitation shortcomings.[14] Water availability is predicted to drop to 500 m³/capita/year by 2030. In contrast, the demand for water is projected to continue growing, from 14.3 BCM in 2010 to 23.6 BCM in 2030.[15]

[1] United Nations, 2014. Morocco: Environmental Performance Reviews, series no. 38.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] FAO AQUASTAT, 2015. Morocco.
[5] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[6] United Nations, 2014. Morocco: Environmental Performance Reviews, series no. 38.
[7] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[8] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[9] World Bank, 2017. Managing Urban Water Scarcity in Morocco.
[10] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[11] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[12] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[13] Ibid.
[14] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[15] Ibid.