الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب / تحديات المياه في المغرب

تحديات المياه في المغرب

Amazigh
الصورة 1: أمازيغية تجمع المياه من بئر في الصحراء الكبرى بالمغرب. (المصدر: Brian, Flicker)

الاستخدام غير الفعّال وفقدان المياه

هناك خسائر كبيرة في المياه، معظمها بسبب التسرب، في مياه الشرب وشبكات نقل وتوزيع الري. فقد بلغت الخسائر في شبكة الري 4 مليارات متر مكعب في عام 2010، وفقاً لوزارة التجهيز والنقل واللوجستيك والماء. بينما بلغت خسائر مياه الشرب حوالي 400 مليون متر مكعب (35%)، مع معدل أداء أقل من 70%. ويتم تصريف حوالي 415 مليون متر مكعب من المياه العادمة في البيئة الطبيعية.

حملات التوعية العامة والتثقيف

قد اتخذ المغرب خطواتٍ لتحسين إدارة المياه، وشدد على الحاجة إلى إشراك الجميع بدورٍ أو مصلحة في إدارة المياه في عملية التخطيط وصنع القرار. وهذه تشمل إنشاء جمعيات مستخدمي المياه، وإدخال مبادرات التثقيف والتدريب وحملات التوعية التي تستهدف الجمهور العام.[1] [2] ومع ذلك، فإن هذه الجهود ليست كافية. ويجب القيام بالمزيد لزيادة الوعي بين مستخدمي المياه ومسببي التلوث والمجتمع المدني بشأن الحفاظ على المياه. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك الافتقار إلى الوعي في القطاع الزراعي، والأثر المحدود لسياسات التسعير، وضعف المؤسسات التي تحول دون الإدارة الفعالة للمياه الجوفية. وهناك حاجة ملحة لتعزيز الوعي العام لتقليل أضرار الجفاف إلى الحد الأدنى، والحد من الخسائر، وزيادة كفاءة استخدام المياه في أنظمة الري وتحسين إدارة مياه الصرف.[3]

التخفيف من التغير المناخي والتكيف معه

بين عامي 2005 و2010، قد خصص المغرب حوالي 64% من نفقات تمويل المناخ الوطني للتكيّف مع التغير المناخي، أي ما يعادل 9% من إجمالي النفقات الرأسمالية. وتلتزم البلاد بتطوير خطتها الوطنية للتكيّف مع تغير المناخ، والتي تهدف إلى تحسين تنسيق أعمال الخطة وزيادة فوائدها. ولتحقيق أهداف الاستدامة ومكاسب القدرات في قطاع المياه، يوصى باتخاذ التدابير التالية:

1. تحسين التخطيط وتعزيز الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية عن طريق تعزيز التآزر بين الاستراتيجيات والخطط الوطنية المختلفة المتعلقة بالمياه وإضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على مجالس أحواض الأنهار والانتقال إلى طور التشغيل لمستجمعات المياه الواسعة النطاق.

2. تعزيز الحفاظ على الموارد المائية وذلك بشكلٍ رئيسي من خلال التنفيذ السريع وواسع النطاق لما يسمى بـ”عقود طبقة المياه الجوفية” ومكافحة السحب غير القانوني للموارد المائية. وهناك وسيلة أخرى للحفاظ على المياه وهي تشجيع استخدام الموارد المائية غير التقليدية في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

3. زيادة الحماية من تلوث موارد المياه من خلال التدابير التالية:

I. الإسراع بتنفيذ البرنامج الوطني للصرف الصحي؛
II. وضع وتنفيذ خطة وطنية للصرف الصحي في الريف؛
III. الإسراع في تنفيذ معايير النفايات الصناعية؛
IV. الإسراع في تنفيذ مبدأ الملوث يدفع؛
V. تأسيس المناطق الخاضعة للحماية من التلوث حول مستجمعات المياه؛
VI. تحسين التنسيق بين شرطة المياه وغيرها من هيئات الحماية في كل حوض نهر.

4. تعزيز التثقيف والبحث والتوعية حول المياه وتغير المناخ من خلال إنشاء مركز وطني للبحوث والابتكار والخبرة، من أجل تحسين الموارد البشرية والمادية المتاحة وبناء .الوعي العام بين مجموعات المستخدمين المختلفة حول ندرة المياه وندرة الموارد وتوفير المياه.[4]

Home / Morocco / Water Challenges in Morocco

Water Challenges in Morocco

water challenges in Morocco
Photo 1: Imazighen women collecting water from a well in the Sahara, Morocco. (Source: Brian, Flicker)

Inefficient water use and water losses

There are substantial water losses, mostly leakages, in the drinking water and irrigation transport and distribution networks. In the irrigation network, losses amounted to 4 BCM in 2010, according to the Ministry of Equipment, Transport, Logistics and Water. Drinking water losses were about 400 MCM (35%), with a performance rate of less than 70%. Some 415 MCM of wastewater is discharged into the natural environment.

Public awareness and education campaigns

Morocco has taken steps to improve water management, stressing the need to involve everyone with a role or interest in water management in the planning and decision‐making process. These include the establishment of water user associations, the introduction of education and training initiatives and awareness-raising campaigns aimed at the general public.[1],[2] However, the efforts are not sufficient. More needs to be done to raise awareness among water users, polluters and civil society about water conservation. Examples include the lack of awareness in the agricultural sector, the limited impact of pricing policies and institutional weaknesses that inhibit effective groundwater management. There is an urgent need to promote public awareness to minimize drought damage, reduce losses, increase water use efficiency in irrigation schemes and improve wastewater management.[3]

Climate change mitigation and adaptation

Between 2005-2010, Morocco devoted some 64% of its national climate finance expenditure to adaptation, equivalent to 9% of total capital expenditure. The country is committed to the development of its National Adaptation Plan to Climate Change, aimed at better coordinating the plan’s actions and maximizing their benefits. To fulfil the sustainability goals and capacity gains in the water sector, the following measures are recommended:

  1. Improve planning and foster integrated management of water resources by strengthening the synergy between the different national strategies and plans related to water and the institutionalization and operationalization of river basin councils for large-scale watersheds.
  2. Strengthen the conservation of water resources mainly through widespread and quick implementation of so-called ‘aquifer contracts’ and combat illegal withdrawal of water resources. Another means to conserve water is encouraging the use of non-conventional water resources throughout the country.
  3. Increase protection against the pollution of water resources through the following measures:(i) accelerate the implementation of the National Sanitation Programme;(ii) develop and implement a National Plan for Rural Sanitation;iii) accelerate the implementation of standards for industrial waste;(iv) accelerate the application of the polluter-pays principle;

    (v) establish the pollution protection perimeters around catchments;

    (vi) improve coordination between the water police and other protection bodies at each river basin.

  4. Strengthen education, research and awareness around water and climate change through the establishment of a National Centre for Research, Innovation and Expertise, in order to optimize available human and material resources and to build public awareness among different user groups about the rarity and scarcity of water resources and water saving.[4]