الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب / جودة واستهلاك المياه في المغرب

جودة واستهلاك المياه في المغرب

Fez, Morocco. جودة المياه في المغرب و استهلاك المياه في المغرب
الصورة 1: مدبغة جلدية قديمة ، فاس ، المغرب. (المصدر: 16:9clue, Flicker)

جودة المياه السطحية

يمثل تدهور جودة المياه  المشكلات الرئيسية التي تواجه قطاع المياه في المغرب. وفي الواقع، لوحظت مستويات حرجة من التلوث في العديد من أقسام المجاري المائية، كما أن العديد من مجاري المياه تحتوي على تركيزات عالية من الفسفور والأمونيا والمواد العضوية وعدد كبير من القولونيات. إن حوض سبو، الذي يشكل 30% من موارد المياه، ملوث بشدة بسبب التصريف الصناعي والمنزلي غير المعالج ومياه الصرف الزراعي، حيث توجد النترات والفوسفور وكذلك مخلفات المبيدات الحشرية. ويعاني النهران الرئيسيين، سبو وأم الربيع، من أوضاع حرجة عدة مرات في السنة.[1] ويمكن تلخيص المصادر الرئيسية لتلوث المياه على النحو التالي:

  • التلوث المنزلي: في المتوسط، يتم تصريف 600 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي المنزلية، تحتوي على ما يقرب من 360,000 طن من المواد العضوية، في البيئة دون معالجة. ووفقاً للتوقعات، فسيصل تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي من المناطق الحضرية إلى 900 مليون متر مكعب بحلول عام 2020 وما يصل إلى 1,050 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2030. وإن تركيز المواد العضوية مرتفع في مياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية، وينخفض التركيز مع الزيادة السكانية بسبب إضعاف فعاليتها.
  • التلوث الصناعي: تنقل المياه العادمة الصناعية حوالي 140,000 طن من المواد القابلة للأكسدة سنوياً، حيث يتم إطلاق حوالي 40% منها في البيئة. وتقع معظم الأنشطة الصناعية (الأغذية -الزراعية، والجلود، ومصانع الورق، والمنسوجات وغيرها) على ساحل المحيط الأطلسي في القنيطرة- آسفي وفي مدن فاس وطنجة وأكادير ومراكش ومكناس.
  • التلوث الزراعي: ينتج هذا التلوث بشكلٍ أساسي عن استخدام الأسمدة. وفي المتوسط، يتم استخدام 720,000 طن من الأسمدة و8,500 طن من المبيدات الحشرية سنوياً في المناطق المزروعة.
  • التلوث العرضي: قد حدث أكثر من 30 تسرباً منذ عام 1985. وتؤدي الزيادة في حركة المرور على الطرق ونقل المواد الخطرة (الهيدروكربونات والمواد الكيميائية وما إلى ذلك) إلى تعريض مرافق مياه الشرب وخزانات السدود بالقرب من الطرق السريعة لخطر التلوث.[2]

جودة المياه الجوفية

تعاني موارد المياه الجوفية، وخاصة تلك القريبة من المحيط الأطلسي، أيضاً من مستوى عالٍ من التلوث، وخصوصا:

  • ارتفاع مستوى النيتروجين في بعض الخزانات، ولا سيما في بني موسى ومناصرة حيث يتجاوز المستوى الحد الأقصى المسموح به وهو 50 ملغم/ لتر؛ وحيث يكون الضغط من الزراعة والري شديدا.
  • الملوحة أيضاً الحد المسموح به في الخزانات الساحلية بسبب الاستغلال المفرط.[3]

استهلاك المياه في المغرب

Essaouira, Morocco
الصورة 2: الصويرة ، المغرب. (المصدر: Therese beck, Flicker)

الاستهلاك الحالي للمياه حسب القطاع

يبلغ إجمالي كمية المياه العذبة المتجددة 2,2 مليار متر مكعب في السنة، كما يتجاوز الطلب على المياه توافر المياه. تساهم الزراعة بنسبة 13% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للبلاد وهي أكبر مستهلك للمياه (86% من إجمالي المياه المسحوبة)[4] إلا أن معدل كفاءتها يبلغ 48% فقط، مما يشير إلى خسائر كبيرة في المياه. ويمثل الاستهلاك المنزلي ما نسبته 8% والاستهلاك الصناعي 6%. ويعاني نظام مياه الشرب أيضاً من خسائر، بمعدل أداء أقل من 70%، مما يعني خسائر تقارب الثلث.و تساهم المياه الجوفية بنسبة 32% من مياه الشرب وحوالي 31% في الاحتياجات الزراعية.

استهلاك المياه في الزراعة وتطور الري

من إجمالي مساحة الأرض البالغة حوالي 71,085 مليون هكتار، هناك أقل من 40 مليون هكتار من الأراضي الزراعية والأراضي الرعوية والغابات. وتمثل الأراضي الزراعية المزروعة 12% فقط من إجمالي مساحة الأراضي في البلاد، منها 13% فقط مروية. توظف الزراعة حوالي 80% من سكان الريف.[5] وقد تم اعتماد الري بالتنقيط في الاستراتيجية الوطنية للمياه لعام 2009 بهدف توفير 2 مليار متر مكعب في السنة من المياه بحلول عام 2030.[6]

[1] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[5] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[6] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.

Home / Morocco / Water Quality and Use in Morocco

Water Quality and Use in Morocco

Water quality in Morocco and water use in in Morocco Fez
Photo 1: An old leather tannery, Fez, Morocco. ( Source: 16:9clue, Flicker)

Surface water quality

Deteriorating water quality is one of the major problems facing Morocco’s water sector. Indeed, critical levels of pollution have been observed in several sections of watercourses, and several water streams have high concentrations of phosphorus, ammonia, organic matter and high coliform counts. The Sebou basin, which constitutes 30% of water resources, is heavily polluted by untreated industrial and municipal discharge and agricultural run-off. Nitrates and phosphorus are present as are pesticide residues. The two main rivers, Sebou and Oum er-Rbia, experience critical situations several times a year.[1] The main sources of water pollution can be summarized as follows:

Domestic pollution: On average, 600 MCM of domestic wastewater, containing nearly 360,000 tons of organic materials, discharges into the environment untreated. According to forecasts, wastewater discharges from urban areas will reach 900 MCM by 2020 and up to 1,050 MCM in 2030. Organic matter is high in urban wastewater, and the concentration decreases with the population increase due to dilution effects.

Industrial pollution: Industrial wastewater conveys approximately 140,000 tons of oxidizable materials annually, almost 40% of which is released into the environment. Most industrial activities (agro-food, leather, paper mills, textiles and others) are located on the Atlantic coast in Kenitra-Safi and in the cities of Fez, Tangier, Agadir, Marrakech and Meknes.

Agricultural pollution: This pollution results mainly from the use of fertilizers. On average, 720,000 tons of fertilizer and 8,500 tons of pesticides are applied annually to cultivated areas.

Accidental pollution: More than 30 spills have occurred since 1985. The increase in road traffic and transport of dangerous substances (hydrocarbons, chemicals etc.) expose drinking water intakes and dam reservoirs near highways to the risk of pollution.[2]

Groundwater quality

Groundwater resources, especially those close to the Atlantic, also experience a high level of pollution, namely:

  • A high level of nitrogen in certain reservoirs, in particular in Beni Moussa and Mnasra where the level exceeds the maximum tolerated threshold of 50 mg/l; and where the pressure from agriculture and irrigation is intense.
  • Salinity also exceeds the threshold allowed in the coastal reservoirs because of overexploitation.[3]

Water Use in Morocco

water use in Morocco
Photo 2: Essaouira, Morocco. (Source: Therese beck, Flicker)

Current water use per sector

The total amount of renewable freshwater is 2.5 BCM/yr. Water demand exceeds water availability. Agriculture contributes 13% to the country’s GDP and is the largest water user (86% of total water withdrawals)[4] but has an efficiency rate of only 48%, indicating significant water losses. Domestic use accounts for 8% and industrial use for 6%. The drinking water system also experiences losses, with a performance rate of less than 70%, meaning losses close to a third. Groundwater contributes 32% of drinking water and about 31% to agricultural needs.

Agricultural water use and irrigation development

Of the total land area of about 71,085 million ha, less than 40 million ha are agricultural land, pastoral land for livestock and forest cover. Cultivated agricultural land represents only 12% of the country’s total land area, of which only 13% is irrigated. Agriculture employs about 80% of the rural population.[5] Drip irrigation has been adopted in the 2009 National Water Strategy with the aim of saving 2 BCM/yr of water by 2030.[6]

[1] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[5] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[6] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.