الصفحة الرئيسية / سلطنة عُمان

سلطنة عُمان

Muscat

الصورة 1: مسقط، عاصمة سلطنة عُمان (المصدر: bhart9070, Pixabay).

المساهمون

المؤلف: د.مشتاق أحمد، حاصل على درجة الدكتوراة من جامعة ولاية آيوا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 1988. وهو حالياً أستاذ مشارك في قسم التربة والمياه والهندسة الزراعية بجامعة السلطان قابوس، في سلطنة عُمان. كما أنه عضو عامل في معهد المهندسين في أستراليا، وعضو الجمعية الدولية لتحلية المياه (IDA).

المراجع: د. جواد الخراز، هو رئيس الأبحاث في مركز أبحاث تحلية المياه في الشرق الأوسط (MEDRC) ، عُمان. وهو عضو في جمعية المياه العُمانية والأمين العام لرابطة العالم العربي للعلماء الشباب (ArabWAYS). ويعمل في موضوعات متعلقة بالبحث العلمي وإدارة المياه وتقنيات تحلية المياه والطاقة المتجددة والصلة بين الطاقة والغذاء والطاقة وغيرها.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

عُمان (رسمياً سلطنة عُمان) هي دولة عربية تقع على الساحل الجنوبي الشرقي لشبه الجزيرة العربية في غرب آسيا. تشترك عُمان، التي تمتاز بموقعها الاستراتيجي الهام عند مدخل الخليج العربي، بحدودٍ برية مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى الشمال الغربي، والمملكة العربية السعودية إلى الغرب، واليمن إلى الجنوب الغربي، كما تشترك بحدودٍ بحرية مع إيران وباكستان. ساحل السلطنة مُطل على بحر العرب إلى الجنوب الشرقي وخليج عُمان في الشمال الشرقي. تحيط الإمارات العربية المتحدة بمعتزل (exclave) مدحاء ومسندم على حدودهما البرية، حيث يشكل مضيق هرمز (الذي تشترك فيه مع إيران) وخليج عُمان حدود مسندم الساحلية.[1] يبلغ إجمالي مساحة الأراضي في عُمان 309,814 كيلومتر مربع.

يمتاز الطقس في عُمان بالأمطار المحدودة وغير المنتظمة بمعدل 100 ملم في السنة. معدل التبخر المحتمل مرتفع ومتغير إلا أنه يتجاوز معدل هطول الأمطار 20 مرة. يُعزى ارتفاع معدل التبخر هذا إلى ارتفاع درجات الحرارة المرتبطة بزيادة الرطوبة في فصل الصيف. تُظهر الاتجاهات المناخية الأخيرة ارتفاعاً ثابتاً في درجات الحرارة القصوى والدنيا اليومية.

الشكل 1: متوسط هطول الامطار (ملم) في عُمان.[2]

الشكل 2: متوسط درجات الحرارة (درجة مئوية) في عُمان.[3]

أظهرت البيانات المناخية المسجلة من سلسلة من محطات قياس هطول الأمطار في سلطنة عُمان تبايناً مرتبطاً بالارتفاع. يتراوح المتوسط السنوي لهطول الأمطار في هذه المحطات بين الحد الأقصى في جبل شمس (387 ملم)، وهو أعلى قمة في البلاد (3028 ميل فوق متوسط مستوى سطح البحر)، والحد الأدنى (30 ملم) في السهل الصحراوي المنخفض عند منطقة فهود (170 ميل فوق متوسط مستوى سطح البحر). يُشير تحليل هطول الأمطار إلى فترتين (نوفمبر- أبريل / ومايو- أكتوبر). يُظهر الاتجاه العام للمناخ في عُمان في العقود القليلة الماضية انخفاض هطول الأمطار، فضلاً عن الأعاصير المدمرة المتقطعة، مثل إعصار غونو عام 2007، وإعصار فيت الذي ضرب سواحل عُمان عام 2010.

عًمان

الخريطة 1: خريطة عُمان.[4]

السكان

نستعرض فيما يلي بعض الحقائق الأساسية عن السكان في عُمان، وفقاً لقاعدة بيانات البنك الدولي.[5].

  • عدد السكان: 4,43 مليون نسمة (2016) (والذي يشمل كلاً من المواطنين العُمانيين والوافدين).
  • معدل النمو السكاني: 5,2% من التغير السنوي (2016).
  • متوسط العمر المتوقع: 77,32 عاماً (2015)
  • معدل الخصوبة: 2,71 ولادة لكل امرأة (2015).

تختلف هذه الأرقام قليلاً عن المصادر الحكومية العُمانية،[6] التي تذكر أن عدد السكان يبلغ 4,4 مليون نسمة ويزداد بمعدل 3% سنوياً. تضم مسقط أعلى كثافة سكانية (و سكانها يشكلون 30% من مجموع سكان عُمان). تشير دراسة أجراها المركز الوطني للإحصاء ووالمعلومات (NCSI)[7] إلى أن عدد السكان سيزيد بمقدار 2,4 مليون بحلول عام 2040.

الشكل 3: عدد السكان وفقاً للمركز الوطني للإحصاء والمعلومات.[8]

الشكل 4: التوقعات السكانية وفقاً للمركز الوطني للإحصاء والمعلومات.[9]

الاقتصاد

يعتبر إنتاج الغاز والنفط مصدر الدخل الرئيسي لعُمان، والذي يُمثل 45% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي. توفر قاعدة بيانات البنك الدولي[10]المعلومات التالية عن اقتصاد عُمان:

● الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد الواحد: 14982,36 دولار (2016)
● الناتج المحلي الإجمالي: 66,29 مليار دولار (2016).
● معدل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي: تغيير سنوي بنسبة 5,7% (2015).
● نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الدخل القومي (GNI) وفقا لتعادل القوة الشرائية (PPP) هو 41,320 دولار (2015).
● الدخل القومي الإجمالي: 173,5 مليار دولار وفقاً لتعادل القوة الشرائية (2015).

Home / Oman

Oman

Muscat

Photo 1: Muscat, the capital of Oman (Source: bhart9070, Pixabay).

Contributors

Author: Dr. Mushtaque Ahmed is Associate Professor at the Department of Soils, Water and Agricultural Engineering of Sultan Qaboos University, Oman. He is a corporate member of the Institution of Engineers, Australia, and a member of the International Desalination Association (IDA).

Reviewer: Dr. Jauad El Kharraz is Head of Research at the Middle East Desalination Research Center (MEDRC), Oman. He is member of Oman Water Society and Secretary General of Arab World Association of Young Scientists (ArabWAYS). He works on topics related to water management, desalination technologies, renewable energies and water-energy-food nexus among others.

Geography and Climate

Oman, officially the Sultanate of Oman (Arabic: سلطنة عُمان‎ Salṭanat Uman), is an Arab country on the south-eastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula in Western Asia. Holding a strategically important position at the mouth of the Persian Gulf, the country shares land borders with the United Arab Emirates (UAE) to the north-west, Saudi Arabia to the west and Yemen to the south-west, and shares marine borders with Iran and Pakistan. The coast is formed by the Arabian Sea to the south-east and the Gulf of Oman on the north-east. The Madha and Musandam exclaves are surrounded by the UAE on their land borders, with the Strait of Hormuz (which it shares with Iran) and Gulf of Oman forming Musandam’s coastal boundaries.[1] Oman’s total land area is 309,814 km2.

Oman’s weather is characterized by limited and irregular rains, with an average of 100 mm per year. The potential evapotranspiration rate is high and variable but exceeds the precipitation rate by 20 times. This high evaporation rate is attributed to the high temperature associated with increasing humidity during the summer. Recent climate trends reveal a consistent increase in daily maximum and minimum temperature.

Figure 1. Average rainfall (mm) in Oman.[2]

Figure 2. Average temperature (°C) in Oman.[3]

The recorded climatological data from a series of rainfall stations across Oman has shown variation related to altitude. The mean annual rainfall in these stations varies between the maximum in Jabal Shams (387 mm), which is the highest elevation (3,028 miles above mean sea level or AMSL), to the minimum (30 mm) in the low-lying desert plain at Fahud (170 m AMSL). Analysis of rainfall indicates two periods (Nov-Apr and May-Oct). The general climatic trend in Oman in the past few decades indicates decreasing rainfall with intermittent devastating cyclonic events, namely Gonu in 2007 and Phet in 2010.

Map of Oman water Fanack

Map 1: Map of Oman.[4]

Population

Some of the basic facts about Oman’s population, from the World Bank database[5], are given below.

  • Population: 4.43 million (2016) (includes both Omanis and expatriates).
  • Population growth rate: 5.2% annual change (2016).
  • Life expectancy: 77.32 years (2015).
  • Fertility rate: 2.71 births per woman (2015).

These figures differ slightly from Omani governmental sources,[6] which state that the population is 4.4 million and growing at a rate of 3% per annum. Muscat has the largest concentration of people (30%). A study conducted by the National Centre for Statistics and Information (NCSI)[7] indicates that the population will increase by 2.4 million by the year 2040.

Figure 3. Total population in Oman by the NCSI. [8]

Figure 4. Population projections to 2040 by the NCSI. [9]

Economy

Oman’s main source of income is oil and gas production, which represents 45% of the total gross domestic product (GDP). The World Bank database[10] provides the following information on Oman’s economy:

• GDP per capita: $14,982.36 (2016).
• GDP: $66.29 billion (2016).
• GDP growth rate: 5.7% annual change (2015).
• Gross national income (GNI) per capita: $41,320 purchasing power parity (PPP) (2015).
• GNI: $173.5 billion PPP (2015)