الصفحة الرئيسية / سلطنة عُمان / الموارد المائية في عُمان

الموارد المائية في عُمان

Musan Dam in Oman

الصورة 1: مسندم، عُمان (المصدر: Makalu, Pixabay).

المياه السطحية

تساهم المياه السطحية، التي يقدر حجمها الإجمالي بـ102 مليون متر مكعب، بنسبة 6% من إجمالي المياه التقليدية وتقتصر على تخزين السدود للمياه السطحية. أظهر بناء سد وادي ضيقة أن بناء السدود على طول الأودية دائمة الجريان وشبه الدائمة قد يوفر مصدراً إضافياً للمياه. تصل السعة التخزينية لسد وادي ضيقة إلى 100 مليون متر مكعب.

Wadi Dayqah dam

الصورة 2: سد وادي ضيقة. (المصدر: Black & Veatch, Flickr)

نظام الأفلاج

الأفلاج (مفردها فلج)، هي أنظمة قنوات مائية تصل إلى المياه الجوفية عن طريق تدفق الجاذبية من ممرات تحت الأرض أو الينابيع السطحية الموجودة على المنحدرات الجبلية المجاورة. يوجد أكثر من 3 آلاف فلج في عُمان، بمتوسط إمداد مائي يبلغ 552 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً وفقدان للمياه يبلغ 128 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً بسبب تسرّب المياه في القنوات الرئيسية. يوجد ثلاثة أنواع من أنظمة الأفلاج في عُمان: الأفلاج العينية، والأفلاج الداوودية، والأفلاج الغيلية، حيث تستخدم الأفلاج العينية والداوودية المياه الجوفية. [1] تحصر الأفلاج الغيلية المياه السطحية من تدفقات الأودية وتوجهها نحو المناطق المرغوبة. تعتمد هذه الأفلاج على المياه السطحية وتنشط فقط في الفترات الرطبة. تحصر الأفلاج العينية تدفقات الينابيع الطبيعية، وهي تنشأ أساساً من سطح الترسب الطبقي، وتصدع وتفتت صخور الكربونات أو الأوفيوليت. وتحصر الأفلاج الداودية تدفقات المياه الجوفية الرئيسية عن طريق قنوات يتم حفرها أفقياً على طول منحدر القمم الطبوغرافية للوصول إلى منسوب المياه الجوفية.

Aflaj in Wadi Qurai

الصورة 3: أحد الأفلاج الذي يحمل المياه في وادي قري في عُمان. (المصدر: PParmee, Flickr)

Aflaj in wadi Tanuf

الصورة 4: نظام أفلاج تقليدي في وادي تنوف، عُمان. (المصدر: Anatoly Chernyshev, Flickr)

المياه الجوفية

تتحكم الجيولوجيا (أو طبيعة طبقات الأرض) إلى حدٍ كبير بظهور المياه الجوفية في عُمان. تعتبر المياه الجوفية مصدر المياه الرئيسي المستخدم للأغراض المنزلية والصناعية والزراعية. تُسهم الآبار وحقول الآبار الجوفية بنحو 20% من الإمدادات لهذه الاستخدامات وتديرها الهيئة العامة للمياه والكهرباء [2]PAEW. تأتي معظم إمدادات المياه هذه من حقول الآبار الرئيسية المتصلة بالأنظمة الرئيسية.

الشكل 1: القيم التقديرية لموارد المياه.[3] المصدر: AQUASTAT, FAO، 2014
الكلي= المياه السطحية+ المياه الجوفية- التداخل

ومع ذلك، عادةً ما يتم الحصول على إمدادات المياه الجوفية الأخرى من خلال الآبار المنفردة أو حقول الآبار الصغيرة التي تخدم الأنظمة المعزولة، ولا سيما في المناطق الريفية.و يوجد 744 بئراً توفر المياه لأنظمة التوزيع، أكثرها عدداً في محافظة الظاهرة ومحافظة الداخلية. يتحكم تفاوت التخزين وجودة المياه وفقاً للجيولوجيا بالمياه الجوفية في غالبية مناطق البلاد في الداخل.وقد تم الانتهاء من ثلاثة مشاريع رئيسية لتطوير المياه الجوفية، وتعرف هذه باسم حوض رمال الشرقية وحوض المسرات وحوض النجد.

يغطي حوض رمال الشرقية مساحة قدرها 21,546 كيلومتر مربع، وتُقدر وزارة البلديات الإقليمية وموارد المياه (MRMWR) إعادة تغذيته بما مجموعه 70 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة. [4] ويُقدر إجمالي الطلب السنوي في المنطقة بـ80 مليون متر مكعب، مما يعني عجزاً سنوياً مقداره 10 مليون متر مكعب.

يقع حوض المسرات في محافظة الظاهرة بالقرب من الحدود مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. يغطي الحوض مساحة قدرها 12,560 كيلومتر مربع، ويبلغ أقصى عمق له 400 متر وأعرض نقطة 130 كيلومتر. فقد تم تدشين حقليّ آبار رئيسيين في المجرى السفلي للواديين الرئيسيين: وادي العين وبوكربة. يُقدر حجم التدفق الداخلي الإقليمي المحسوب للمياه الجوفية بـ17,2 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، في حين يُقدر حجم المخزون الجوفي بـ19,5 مليون متر مكعب.

يقع حوض النجد في ظفار وتم تقسيمه من ناحية هيدروجيولوجية إلى أربع وحدات لطبقات المياه الجوفية. ومع ذلك، لا زال هناك نقص بالدراسات التفصيلية المتعلقة بإعادة تغذية الحوض، وقد يُهدد استخراج المياه من حوض النجد الموارد في المنطقة.

يمكن تمييز ثلاثة أنواع رئيسية من إعادة التغذية الطبيعية لطبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة في عُمان:[6]

اسم الحوضالموقعسعة التخزين (مليون متر مكعب)
النجدظفار5,000
المسراتالظاهرة19,500
الرمال الشرقيةالشرقية12,000
وادي المعاولجنوب الباطنة100
غرب الوسطىظفار1,000
وادي رونبالوسطى100

الجدول 1: الأحواض الجوفية الرئيسية في عُمان.[5]

● التدفق الداخلي من ترسب المياه التي تدخل نظام المياه الجوفية في الجبال، والتي تتدفق أسفل المنحدر ضمن المنطقة المشبعة إلى خزانات المياه الجوفية في السهل الساحلي؛
● إعادة التغذية المباشرة من هطول الأمطار على السهول؛
● إعادة التغذية غير المباشرة من جداول الأودية.

موارد المياه غير التقليدية

المياه المحلاة

برزت تحلية المياه كمصدرٍ رئيسي للمياه المنزلية، ووفقاً لاستراتيجية المياه الحالية سيتم تلبية معظم الطلب للأغراض المنزلية. وبحلول نهاية عام 2011، كان هناك 94 محطة لتحلية المياه في عُمان، منها 47 لتحلية مياه البحر و47 محطة لتحلية المياه قليلة الملوحة، حيث يبلغ إجمالي إنتاجها 196 مليون متر مكعب. وبدأ تشغيل أول محطة لتحلية المياه في عُمان عام 1976. وقد اتخذت الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه (OPWP) المملوكة للدولة، والتي تعتبر المشتري الحصري للطاقة والمياه المحلاة من المنتجين المستقلين، خطواتٍ رائدة لزيادة طاقة تحلية المياه من مشاريع المياه المستقلة بواقع 107,300 متر مكعب من المياه يومياً في السنوات الست المقبلة. وتحصّل الشركة العمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه تسعيرة تزويد بالجملة للهيئة العامة للمياه والكهرباء، بمكونات سعة (ثابتة) ومخرجات (متغيّرة). بلغ متوسط التعرفة عام 2017 حوالي 500 بيسة لكل متر مكعب.

عمليات تحلية المياه هي جزءٌ لا يتجزأ من البنية التحتية للمرافق في عُمان، وتوفر لملايين العمانيين المياه الصالحة للشرب. ومن المتوقع أن ينمو الطلب على المياه في الشبكة الرئيسية بما نسبته 5% إلى 7% سنوياً خلال السنوات السبع القادمة، ليرتفع من 281 مليون متر مكعب عام 2015 إلى ما يتراوح بين 390 مليون متر مكعب و440 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2022.[7]

الشكل 2: قدرة (متر مكعب/ اليوم) لمحطات تحلية المياه في عُمان (2014-2016).

تواجه تحلية المياه العديد من التحديات. وتتضمن هذه ارتفاع التكلفة واحتياجات الطاقة، وعدم توافر مرافق ضخمة للتخزين لتلبية متطلبات الطوارىء، وخسائر الشبكة (المياه غير المدرة للدخل)، والتي تُقدر بحوالي 30%، وإغلاق محطة التحلية الساحلية بسبب ازدياد نمو الطحالب الدورية الضارة.

  • الإنتاج (مليون متر مكعب) في 2014
  • الإنتاج (مليون متر مكعب) في 2015
  • الإنتاج (مليون متر مكعب) في 2016

الشكل 3: إنتاج المياه المحلاة (متر مكعب/ اليوم) من محطات تحلية المياه الكبرى في عُمان (2014-2016).

Muscat’s Ghubrah desalination plant

الصورة 5: محطة الغُبرة لتحلية المياه بمسقط (191,000 متر مكعب/ اليوم). المصدر: (http://mcdcoman.com/media/#iLightbox[gallery_image_1]/5)

مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة

يُقدر الإنتاج اليومي الحالي لمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في مسقط بـ100 مليون متر مكعب. ويبلغ إجمالي عدد محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة 150 محطة، مع حجم سنوي إجمالي يبلغ 42 مليون متر مكعب. وﺑﺎﻟﺘﺎﻟﻲ، ﻓﺈن اﻟﺤﺠﻢ اﻹﺟﻤﺎﻟﻲ ﻟﻠﻤﻴﺎﻩ اﻟﻤﺴﺘﻌﻤﻠﺔ اﻟﻤﻌﺎﻟﺠﺔ ﻳﻤﺜﻞ 21,4% ﻓﻘﻂ ﻣﻦ إﺟﻤﺎﻟﻲ اﻟﻤﻴﺎﻩ اﻟﻤﺤﻼة اﻟﻤﺴﺘﺨﺪﻣﺔ للأﻏﺮاض اﻟﺤﻀﺮية. وهناك 44 محطة لمعالجة المياه والتي تعمل تحت توجيه وزارة البلديات الإقليمية وموارد المياه. تنتج هذه المحطات 11,5 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، حيث تتم إدارة ما تبقى من محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي من قبل القطاع الخاص. وﻣن ﺑﯾن أﮐﺑر محطات معالجة ﻣﯾﺎه الصرف الصحي “حيا للمياه” ﻓﻲ ﻣﺳﻘط، واﻟتي عالجت 24,8 ﻣﻟﯾون ﻣﺗر ﻣﮐﻌب في عام 2012. تقوم حيا للمياه حالياً بتنفيذ مشاريع استثمارية ضخمة لتغطية منطقة مسقط بأكملها، ومن المتوقع أن يصل حجم مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى 100 مليون متر مكعب بحلول عام 2030. وحالياً، يتم إعادة تدوير معظم مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة لتنسيق الحدائق وري الحدائق العامة في المدن الكبرى. كما يتم تصريف جزء من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة الفائضة في البحر. وفي منطقة ظفار، يتم حقن حوالي 20 ألف متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في الخزان الجوفي الساحلي لمكافحة تسرب مياه البحر. ويتم إنتاج كمية كبيرة من مياه الصرف من قبل شركات النفط. وعموماً، تستخدم عُمان ما بين 8 إلى 9 براميل من المياه لكل برميل من النفط الثقيل المستخرج، حيث يتعين معالجة مياه الصرف المنتجة.

إجمالي توافر المياه ونصيب الفرد منها

يوفر هطول الأمطار 15,841 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة لعُمان، مع فقدان 12,553 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة منها بسبب التبخر والامتصاص الأولي. وتوفر إعادة التغذية المباشرة من هطول الأمطار (2,397 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة) 88% من التدفق، بمساهماتٍ من إعادة تغذية الوديان (240 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة)، وإعادة التغذية في المناطق الحضرية (77 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة)، وإعادة تغذية الخزان (10 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة). وتصل نسبة إجمالي كمية إعادة التغذية المباشرة لعُمان من هطول الأمطار 15,1% بالمتوسط؛ حيث يتم فقدان ما تبقى بسبب التبخر والإمتصاص الأولي والجريان السطحي. ووفقاً لمنظمة الأغذية والزراعة [8](FAO)، يُقدر إجمالي الموارد المائية الداخلية المتجددة بنحو 1,400 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، وتبلغ الموارد المائية المتجددة الفعلية عام 2005 لكل فرد استناداً إلى عدد السكان 545 متر مكعب/ السنة.

[1] Available at: http://www.unep.or.jp/ietc/publications/techpublications/techpub-8f/C/Oman1.asp. Accessed on: 4/11/2018.
[2] PAEW, 2014. Annual Report.
[3] http://www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/data/wrs/readPdf.html?f=OMN-WRS_eng.pdf
[4] McDonnell, R., 2016. Groundwater governance in the Arab world – Taking stock and addressing the challenges. IWMI Project Report No. 14. USAID AID-263-IO-13-00005.
[5] Al-Khamisi, S., 2011. Optimal Water Resources Management Model for Ash Sharqiyah Region Domestic Water Supply, Oman. PhD dissertation, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK.
[6] McDonnell, R., 2016. Groundwater governance in the Arab world – Taking stock and addressing the challenges. IWMI Project Report No. 14. USAID AID-263-IO-13-00005.
[7] OPWP, 2016. OPWP’s 7-Year Statement (2016-2022). Available at www.omanpwp.com/PDF/7YS%202016-2022%20Final%20.pdf.
[8] Available at: http://www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/OMN/index.stm. Accessed on 11/4/2018.

Home / Oman / Water Resources in Oman

Water Resources in Oman

Musan Dam in Oman

Photo 1: Musan Dam, Oman (Source: Makalu, Pixabay).

Surface Water

Surface water, the total volume of which is estimated at 102 million cubic meter (MCM), contributes 6% of the total conventional water and is limited to surface water dam storage. The construction of the Wadi Dayqah dam has shown that dam construction along perennial and quasi-perennial wadis may provide an additional source of water. The dam has the capacity to store up to 100 MCM.

Wadi Dayqah dam

Photo 2 : Wadi Dayqah dam (Source: Black &Veatch, Flickr).

Aflaj Systems
Aflaj (singular: falaj) are channel systems that access groundwater by gravity flow from underground galleries or surface springs on neighbouring mountain slopes. There are more than 3,000 aflaj in Oman, with an average water supply of 552 MCM/yr and losses of 128 MCM/yr due to leakage at the main canals. There are three types of aflaj systems in Oman: ainy, daudi and ghaily, of which ainy and daudi utilize groundwater.[1] Ghaily aflaj intercept the surface water from wadi flow and direct it towards the desired areas. These aflaj are dependent on surface water and they are active only in wet periods. Ainy aflaj intercept the discharge of natural springs and mainly originate from bedding planes, faults and fractures of the carbonate rocks or ophiolites. Daudi aflaj intercept the main groundwater flow by means of channels drilled horizontally along the slope of topographic highs to reach the water table.

Aflaj in Wadi Qurai

Photo 3: A Falaj carrying water through Wadi Qurai in Oman (Source: PParmee, Flickr).

Aflaj in wadi Tanuf

Photo 4: A Flaj traditional system, wadi Tanuf, Oman (Source: Anatoly Chernyshev, Flickr).

Groundwater

Groundwater occurrence in Oman is largely controlled by the geology and stratigraphy. Groundwater is the main water resource used for domestic, industrial and agricultural purposes. Wells and well fields contribute around 20% of the supplies for these uses and are managed by the Public Authority for Electricity and Water (PAEW).[2]

Figure 1: Estimated water resources.[3]
*Total= Surface water+Groundwater- Overlap

Most of this is from major well fields connected to the main systems. However, other groundwater supplies are typically through single wells or small well fields serving isolated systems, mainly in rural areas. There are 744 wells supplying water to the distribution system, with the greatest numbers in the Dhahirah and Dakhiliyah regions.1 Groundwater is encountered in most areas of the country, with variable storage and quality depending on the geology. In the interior, three main projects for groundwater development have been completed. These are known as Sharqiya Basin, Massarat Basin and Najd Basin.

Sharqiya Basin covers an area of 21,546 km2 and its recharge is estimated at a total of 65 MCM/yr.[4]The total annual demand in the area is estimated at 80 MCM, which means an annual deficit of 10 MCM.

Massarat Basin is located in the Dhahirah region, close to the UAE boarder. The basin covers an area of 12,560 km2, with a maximum depth of 400 m and a widest point of 130 km. Two main well fields have been installed in the lower reaches of the two main wadis: Ain and Abu Karbah. Calculated regional groundwater throughflow is estimated at 17.2 MCM/yr, whereas estimated groundwater storage is 19.5 MCM.

Najd Basin is located in Dhofar and has been hydro-geologically divided into four aquifer units.

However, detailed recharge studies in the basin are still lacking, and the abstraction from Najd may endanger the resources in the region.

Aquifer NameLocationStorage (Million m³)
NajdDhofar5,000
MasarratDhahirah19,500
Sharqiyah SandsSharqiyah12,000
Wadi MaawilSouth Batinah100
West WustaDhofar1,000
Wadi RawnabWusta100

Table 1: Major aquifer systems in Oman.[5]
.

Three main types of natural recharge to the shallow aquifers in Oman can be distinguished:[6]

• Throughflow from precipitation entering the groundwater system in the mountains, which flows down-gradient within the saturated zone to coastal plain aquifers;
• Direct recharge from rainfall over the plains;
• Indirect recharge from wadi stream beds.

Non-conventional Sources

Desalinated Water

Desalination has emerged as a major source of domestic water, and according to the current water strategy, it will meet most of the domestic demand. By the end of 2011, there were 94 desalination plants in Oman, 47 for seawater desalination and 47 for brackish water desalination, producing a total volume of 196 MCM which increased to 214 MCM in 2014 and 268 MCM in 2016.

Oman’s first desalination plant began operation in 1976. The state-owned Oman Power and Water Procurement Company (OPWP), which is the exclusive buyer of power and desalinated water from independent producers, has taken major steps to increase the desalination capacity of independent water projects (IWPs) by 107,300 m3 of water per day (m3/day) in the next six years.

OPWP charges a bulk supply tariff to PAEW, with capacity (fixed) and output (variable) components.The average tariff in 2017 was around 500 baiza, 1.25 USD per cubic metre.

Figure 2: Capacity (m3/day) of desalination plants in Oman.

Desalination operations are integral pieces of Oman’s utility infrastructure, and they provide millions of Omanis with potable water. Water demand in the Main Interconnected System (MIS) is expected to grow between 5% and 7% annually for the next seven years, surging from 281 MCM in 2015 to between 390 MCM and 440 MCM in 2022.[7]

Desalination faces several challenges. These are high cost and energy requirements, non-availability of large storage facilities for meeting emergency requirements, network losses (non-revenue water), which is estimated to be around 30%, and coastal desalination plant closure due to harmful periodic algal blooms.

  • Production (MCM) in 2014
  • Production (MCM) in 2015
  • Production (MCM) in 2016

Figure 3: Desalinated water production (m3/day) from large desalination plants in Oman (2014-2016).

Treated Wastewater

The current daily production of treated wastewater in Muscat is estimated at 100 MCM. The total number of treated wastewater plants is 150, with a total annual volume of 42 MCM. Thus, the total volume of treated wastewater represents only 21.4% of the total desalinated water used for urban purposes. There are 44 wastewater treatment plants under the control of the MRMWR. These plants produce 11.5 MCM/yr. The remaining wastewater treatment plants are managed by the private sector. Among the largest is the Haya Water wastewater plant in Muscat, which in 2012 treated 24.8 MCM. Haya Water is currently undertaking large investment projects to cover the whole Muscat region, and it is expected that the treated wastewater volume will reach 100 MCM by 2030. Currently, most of the treated wastewater is recycled for landscaping and irrigating public gardens in the major cities. Part of the excess treated wastewater is discharged into the sea. In the Dhofar region, around 20,000 m3 of treated wastewater are being injected into the coastal aquifer to combat seawater intrusion. A huge amount of wastewater is produced by oil companies. Overall, Oman uses eight to nine barrels of water for every barrel of heavy oil extracted, and the water produced needs to be treated.

Total Water Availability and per capita Availability

Rainfall provides 15,841 MCM/yr to Oman, with 12,553 MCM/yr lost due to evaporation and initial absorption. Direct recharge from rainfall (2,397 MCM/yr) provides 88% of the inflow, with contributions from wadi recharge (240 MCM/yr), urban recharge (77 MCM/yr) and reservoir recharge (10 MCM/yr). The total amount of direct recharge to Oman is calculated as being 15.1% of rainfall on average; the remainder is lost to evaporation, initial absorption and runoff. According to the FAO,[8] the total internal renewable water resources are estimated at 1,400 MCM/yr, and actual renewable water resources per inhabitant based on the 2005 population is 545 m3/yr.

[1] Available at: http://www.unep.or.jp/ietc/publications/techpublications/techpub-8f/C/Oman1.asp. Accessed on: 4/11/2018.
[2] PAEW, 2014. Annual Report.
[3] http://www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/data/wrs/readPdf.html?f=OMN-WRS_eng.pdf
[4] McDonnell, R., 2016. Groundwater governance in the Arab world – Taking stock and addressing the challenges. IWMI Project Report No. 14. USAID AID-263-IO-13-00005.
[5] Al-Khamisi, S., 2011. Optimal Water Resources Management Model for Ash Sharqiyah Region Domestic Water Supply, Oman. PhD dissertation, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK.
[6] McDonnell, R., 2016. Groundwater governance in the Arab world – Taking stock and addressing the challenges. IWMI Project Report No. 14. USAID AID-263-IO-13-00005.
[7] OPWP, 2016. OPWP’s 7-Year Statement (2016-2022). Available at www.omanpwp.com/PDF/7YS%202016-2022%20Final%20.pdf.
[8] Available at: http://www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/OMN/index.stm. Accessed on 11/4/2018.