الصفحة الرئيسية / سلطنة عُمان / جودة المياه في عُمان

جودة المياه في عُمان

Water-Oman-Muscat city-fanack-flickr1024px

الصورة 1: أطفال يلعبون على أحد الشواطىء، مسقط، عُمان (المصدر: Olivier Flambeau , Flickr).

جودة المياه السطحية

وفقاً لتقرير برنامج المشترك (JMP) فإن 97% من المياه في عُمان خالية من التلوث ويحصل جميع السكان على المياه[1]. وعلاوة على ذلك، يحصل 91% من السكان على إمكانية الوصول الفوري إلى المياه المنقولة بالأنابيب، مما يعني أن 9% فقط عليهم انتظار وصول المياه بالصهاريج. ويقول خبراء الحفاظ على المياه والصحة[2] إن هذا أداء ممتاز من جانب الحكومة، وسيتحسن هذا الرقم في المستقبل. وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن المياه في سد وادي ضيقة ذات جودة عالية بما يكفي لتلبية متطلبات الري وكذلك إمدادات المياه المنزلية بعد المعالجة.

جودة المياه الجوفية

تختلف جودة مياه الآبار الجوفية من مكانٍ لآخر. ففي المناطق القريبة من البحر، قد تصل الموصلية الكهربائية (EC) إلى 10 ديسي سيمنز/ متر، بسبب ضخ المياه الجوفية بمعدلات أعلى من حجم الضخ/النتح الآمن، مما يؤدي إلى تسرب مياه البحر المالحة إلى الأراضي الزراعية. وفي معظم المناطق الساحلية، زادت الملوحة تدريجياً منذ عام 1988 عندما بلغ التوسع الزراعي ذروته. ومن المحتمل أن الملوحة المتزايدة هي مشكلة الموارد المائية الأكثر تدميراً من الناحية الاقتصادية والتي تواجه السلطنة حالياً.

إن استخدام الكيماويات الزراعية، سواء الأسمدة أو المبيدات الحشرية، يعد تهديداً محتملاً خطيراً وواسع النطاق لجودة المياه الجوفية. وكما هو الحال في معظم مناطق السلطنة، فإن المياه الجوفية غير محصورة، كما أن معظم أنواع التربة هي رملية طينية ذات محتوى عضوي منخفض (أي قدرة قليلة على الاحتفاظ بالماء وتسرّب عميق مرتفع).

شبكة الصرف الصحي ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

في عام 2010، أفادت التقارير أن 20% فقط من سكان مسقط كانوا متصلين بشبكة الصرف الصحي. وكان من المتوقع أن يربط تنفيذ شركة حيا للمياه لمشروع شبكة الصرف الصحي في أواخر عام 2015 ما يصل إلى 86% من سكان مسقط بشبكة الصرف الصحي.[3] وهناك أكثر من 402 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي تم تسجيلها في قاعدة بيانات وزارة البيئة والشؤون المناخية (MECA)، ونصفها في مسقط، وتعود ملكية بعضها للقطاع العام والبعض الآخر للقطاع الخاص مثل الفنادق والمناطق الصناعية.وقد أنتجت محطات معالجة المياه حوالي 37,446 متر مكعب من المخلفات السائلة المعالجة عام 2000، حيث تتراوح سعة المحطة الواحدة ما بين 8 متر مكعب/ اليوم إلى 15,000 متر مكعب/ اليوم. وفي عام 2010، ارتفع هذا الرقم إلى حوالي 97,8 مليون متر مكعب.[4] واليوم، توفر مشاريع خصخصة مياه الصرف الصحي (حيا للمياه وشركة عُمان لخدمات الصرف الصحي في صلالة) أنظمة صرف صحي مركزية ومعالجة لجميع مناطق محافظتي مسقط وصلالة. وصلت الطاقة الإنتاجية لمحطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في صلالة إلى 27,000 متر مكعب/ اليوم عام 2014.

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

تم بناء محطات صغيرة تعمل بالتناضح العكسي في المناطق الريفية (على سبيل المثال في منطقة الباطنة)، حيث لا يوجد خيار آخر لمصادر المياه. فقد بات عددٌ متزايد من المزارعين العمانيين يستخدمون مصدر المياه الجوفية قليلة الملوحة والتي تمت تحليتها بالتناضح العسكي للري بدلاً من مصدر المياه السطحية الملوثة. ومع ذلك، هناك عيبٌ رئيسي لعملية التناضح العكسي: وهو إنتاج كمية ضخمة من المحلول الملحي. عادةً ما يتم تفريغ هذا المحلول المحلي في مكانٍ لا يبعد كثيراً عن المزارع التي تستخدم أنظمة التناضح العكسي، مما يلوث مصادر المياه الجوفية ويزيد ملوحتها.

وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، تتمحور المخاوف بشكلٍ رئيسي حول تركيز وتصريف المواد الكيميائية في البحر. وفي بعض الحالات، تتم معالجة المحلول الملحي جزئياً أو يتم خلطه بمياه البحر قبل التخلص منه لتلبية اللوائح البيئية المحلية، والتي تتعلق بشكلٍ رئيسي بالملوحة ودرجة الحرارة والمواد الكيميائية. وإذا ما تم بناء برك التبخير بشكلٍ ملائم، فإنها تعتبر خياراً أكثر مواءمة للبيئة من تصريفها في البحر. ومن العوامل البيئية المهمة الأخرى انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة وملوثات الهواء، ذلك أن عملية تحلية المياه هي عملية كثيفة الاستخدام للطاقة باستخدام الوقود الأحفوري. ويواجه نهج تحلية المياه خطر تحويل المشكلة من ندرة المياه إلى الاعتماد على الطاقة ومن مشكلة النظم الإيكولوجية للمياه العذبة المُجهدة إلى البيئة البحرية. ولذلك، ينبغي النظر في نهج علاقة المياه- الطاقة. ومن أجل حماية الاستخدام المستدام لتكنولوجيا التحلية ينبغي تقييم الآثار البيئية المحتملة لمشاريع تحلية المياه، والتخفيف بشكلٍ فعال من الآثار السلبية قدر المستطاع، وموازنة المخاوف المتبقية مع تأثيرات الخيارات البديلة لإمدادات المياه وإدارة المياه. ومن المتوقع أن تزداد القيود البيئية مع مرور الوقت للتخفيف من تأثير محطات التحلية على البيئة.

يتمثل تهديد آخر بدأ في الظهور في قطاع تحلية المياه وذلك بتكاثر الطحالب الضارة (والذي يُعرف عادةً بالمد الأحمر). ويمكن أن تُقيّد الكتلة الحيوية المرتفعة للطحالب الضارة التدفق في محطات التحلية عن طريق سد المصافي، إلا أن التأثيرات الأخرى تتضمن تلوث الأسطح بسبب المواد العضوية الذائبة والتي يمكن أن تؤثر أيضاً على سلامة أغشية التناضح العكسي. وتنتج هذه الطحالب الضارة مواد سامة يمكن أن تضر بصحة الإنسان وتؤذي الأسماك. ويتعاون العديد من اللاعبين في عُمان للتوصل إلى حلولٍ للوقاية من هذه المخاطر وإدارتها، منهم على سبيل المثال مجلس البحث العلمي، ومركز الشرق الأوسط لأبحاث التحلية (MEDRC)، وجامعة السلطان قابوس، ووزارة الزراعة والثروة السمكية.وقد قام مركز الشرق الأوسط لأبحاث التحلية بتنسيق مشروعٍ دولي لمراقبة تكاثر الطحالب الضارة.

[1] Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) report, 2017, ‘Progress on Drinking Water, Sanitation and Hygiene: 2017 Update and Sustainable Development Goal Baselines’, United Nations Children’s Fund and the World Health Organization.
[2] Available at:  http://www.timesofoman.com/article/120055 . Accessed on 11/4/2018.
[3] Zekri, S. et al., 2014. ‘Managed aquifer recharge using quaternary treated wastewater in Muscat: An economic perspective.’ International Journal of Water Resources Development, vol. 30, no. 2, pp. 246-261.
[4] al-Lawati, S. et al., 2017. ‘Wastewater and Sludge Management and Research in Oman: An Overview.’ Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association, vol. 67, no. 3, pp 267-278.

Home / Oman / Water Quality in Oman

Water Quality in Oman

Water-Oman-Muscat city-fanack-flickr1024px

Photo 1: Kids playing along the beach, Muscat, Oman (Source: Olivier Flambeau , Flickr).

Surface Water Quality

According to the Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) report [1] entitled Progress on Drinking Water, Sanitation and Hygiene: 2017 Update and Sustainable Development Goal Baselines, released by the United Nations Children’s Fund and the World Health Organization, 97% of water in Oman is free from contamination and all residents have access to water. Moreover, 91% of residents have instant access to piped water, meaning only 9% have to wait for water to arrive in tankers. Water conservation and health experts [2] say that this is an excellent showing on the part of the government, and this number will improve further in the future. At the same time, the water in the Wadi Dayqah dam is of a high enough quality to satisfy irrigation requirements as well as domestic water supply after treatment.

Groundwater Quality

The quality of well water differs from place to place. In places near the sea, the electric conductivity (EC) may reach 10 dS/m, owing to the pumping of groundwater at rates higher than the secured discharges, leading to saline seawater intrusion into agricultural lands. In most of the coastal area, salinity has increased gradually since 1988, when the expansion of agriculture reached its peak. The increasing salinity is probably the single most economically devastating water resource problem currently facing Oman.

The use of agrochemicals, both fertilizers and pesticides, is a widespread and potentially serious hazard to groundwater quality where, as is the case in most of the sultanate, groundwater is unconfined and most soils are sandy loam with low organic content (low water-holding capacity and high deep-percolation).

Sanitation and Wastewater Treatment Network

In 2010, it was reported that only 20% of Muscat’s residents were connected to the sewage network. The implementation of a sewage network project in late 2015 by Haya Water was expected to connect up to 86% of Muscat’s population to the sewer system.[3] More than 402 sewage treatment plants (STPs) are recorded in the database of the Ministry of Environment and Climate Affairs (MECA), half of which are in Muscat, some belonging to the public sector and others to private owners such as hotels and industrial estates. STPs produced about 37,446 m3 of treated effluent (TE) in 2000, with individual plant capacity ranging from 8 m3/d to 15,000 m3/d. In 2010, that number had increased to about 97.8 MCM.[4] Wastewater privatization projects (Haya Water in Muscat and Oman Wastewater Services Company in Salalah) now provide centralized sewer systems and treatment to all of the areas of the Muscat and Salalah governorates. The production capacity of the sewage treatment plant in Salalah was recorded at 27,000 m3/d in 2014.

Environmental and Health Risks

Small reverse osmosis (RO) plants have been built in rural areas (e.g. the Batinah region) where there is no other water supply option. An increasing number of Omani farmers are switching from a contaminated surface water source of irrigation water to an RO-desalinated brackish groundwater source. However, there is a major disadvantage to the RO process: the huge amount of brine produced. This brine is usually discharged not far from the farms using RO systems, contaminating groundwater sources and increasing salinity.

At a larger scale, the concerns mainly revolve around the concentrate and chemical discharges into the sea. Most desalination plants discharge their brine directly into the sea. In some cases, the brine is partially treated or mixed with seawater before disposal in order to meet local environmental regulations, mainly on salinity, temperature and chemicals. If evaporation ponds are constructed properly, these are a much more environmentally friendly option than dumping into the sea. Other important environmental factors are the emissions of greenhouse gases and air pollutants, as desalination is an energy-intensive process using fossil fuels. The desalination approach is in danger of shifting the problem from water scarcity to energy dependency, and from the stressed freshwater ecosystems to the marine environment. Therefore, the water-energy nexus approach should be considered. In order to safeguard the sustainable use of desalination technology, the potential environmental impacts of desalination projects need to be evaluated, adverse effects mitigated as far as possible, and the remaining concerns balanced against the impacts of alternative water supply and water management options. Environmental restrictions are expected to increase with time in order to mitigate the impact of desalination plants on the environment.

An additional and emerging threat to the desalination industry is from harmful algal blooms (HABs, commonly called red tides). High-biomass HABs can restrict flow in desalination plants by clogging filters, but other impacts include fouling of surfaces due to dissolved organic materials that can also compromise the integrity of RO membranes. Such HABs produce toxins that could be harmful for human health and fish. Many players in Oman are joining forces to come up with solutions to prevent and manage this risk, for example the Research Council of Oman, Middle East Desalination Research Center (MEDRC), Sultan Qaboos University and the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries. MEDRC has coordinated an international project to monitor such HABs.

[1] Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) report, 2017, ‘Progress on Drinking Water, Sanitation and Hygiene: 2017 Update and Sustainable Development Goal Baselines’, United Nations Children’s Fund and the World Health Organization.
[2] Available at:  http://www.timesofoman.com/article/120055 . Accessed on 11/4/2018.
[3] Zekri, S. et al., 2014. ‘Managed aquifer recharge using quaternary treated wastewater in Muscat: An economic perspective.’ International Journal of Water Resources Development, vol. 30, no. 2, pp. 246-261.
[4] al-Lawati, S. et al., 2017. ‘Wastewater and Sludge Management and Research in Oman: An Overview.’ Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association, vol. 67, no. 3, pp 267-278.