الصفحة الرئيسية / سلطنة عُمان / الموارد المائية المشتركة في عُمان

الموارد المائية المشتركة في عُمان

Gulf of Oman

الصورة 1: خليج عُمان، مقابل سواحل إيران (المصدر: LD106, Flickr).

الموارد السطحية والجوفية المشتركة

لا يوجد أي اتفاقيات مائية قائمة[1] حول الجزء الجنوبي من الخزان الجوفي لطبقة أم الرضومة- الدمام المشترك بين عُمان والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة واليمن. وبحسب التقارير، تسحب مدينة ثمريت بمنطقة النجد حوالي 1,3 مليون متر مكعب/السنة من مياه الخزان الجوفي للأغراض المنزلية. كما تنتج شركة تنمية نفط عُمان (PDO) أكثر من 6 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه الجوفية في منطقة مرمول، على بعد 130 كم شمال شرق ثمريت، حيث يتم ضخ حوالي مليون متر مكعب/ السنة منها في الطبقات المنتجة للنفط. وفي عام 1985، أنشأت شركة تنمية نفط عُمان أول مزرعة تجريبية مساحتها 40 هكتاراً في مرمول، والتي تم توسيعها بمساحة 60 هكتاراً إضافية في عام 1987. كما تم إعداد عدد من دراسات الجدوى للتنمية الزراعية في المنطقة العامة من ثمريت وشمالاً في وادي دوكة. وتعمل الحكومة حالياً على إنشاء ثلاثة مشاريع زراعية تجريبية في حنفيت، ووادي دوكة ووادي بني خويطر، والتي تتطلب إجمالي استخراج متوقع للمياه يبلغ 75 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، بالإضافة إلى ما يُقدر بـ38 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة والتي يتم استخراجها بالفعل.

موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية المتنازع عليها

يجري حالياً تنفيذ مشروعٍ بحثي لتحديد حركة المياه الجوفية عبر حدود عُمان/ الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويجري تنفيذ المشروع، والذي يحمل اسم “مشروع بناء توازن المياه على طول حدود سلطنة عُمان مع الإمارات العربية المتحدة من خلال تعقب المياه الجوفية،” من قِبل مركز أبحاث المياه التابع لجامعة السلطان قابوس.

المعاهدات والاتفاقيات

إن عُمان هي إحدى الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ (UNFCCC) وقد قدمت خطتها الجديدة بشأن المناخ إلى اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ في عام 2015. وتتناول خطة العمل هذه على وجه التحديد إدارة المياه وذلك لأن الحكومة مدركة لضرورة إجراء تعديلاتٍ لمعالجة آثار تغير المناخ.

Home / Oman / Shared Water Resources in Oman

Shared Water Resources in Oman

Gulf of Oman

Photo 1: Gulf of Oman, opposite of Iran (Source: LD106, Flickr).

Shared Surface and Groundwater Resources

There are no water agreements in place[1] for the southern part of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam aquifer system, which is shared between Oman, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Yemen. The town of Thumrait in Najd reportedly withdraws about 1.3 MCM/yr from the aquifer system for domestic purposes. Petroleum Development of Oman (PDO) also produces more than 6 MCM/yr of groundwater in the Marmul area, 130 km north-east of Thumrait, of which about 1 MCM/yr is injected into the oil-producing horizon. In 1985, PDO established the first 40-hectare pilot farm at Marmul, which was expanded by a further 60 hectares in 1987. A number of feasibility studies were also prepared for agricultural development in the general area of Thumrait and northward to Daukah. The government is currently establishing three pilot agriculture projects at Hanfeet, Daukah and Bin Khawtar, requiring an expected total abstraction of 75 MCM/yr in addition to the estimated 38 MCM/yr that is already being abstracted.

Disputed Surface and Groundwater Resources

A research project is currently underway to quantify the movement of groundwater across the Oman/UAE border. Titled ‘Constructing Water Balance along the Oman/UAE Border by Tracing and Dating Groundwater’, the project is being undertaken by the Water Research Center of Sultan Qaboos University.

Treaties and Agreements

Oman is a signatory to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and submitted its new climate action plan to the UNFCCC in 2015. This action plan specifically addresses water management because the government recognizes that adaptations will be necessary to tackle the impacts of climate change.