الصفحة الرئيسية / سلطنة عُمان / تحديات المياه في عُمان

تحديات المياه في عُمان

Oman- Wadi Bani Khalid

الصورة 1: وادي بني خالد، عُمان. (المصدر: Travel with the wind, Flickr)

التحديات التي تواجه قطاع المياه في عُمان متعددة.[1] ومن بعض أهمها: شح المياه؛ وتحلية المياه كثيفة الاستخدام للطاقة؛ وارتفاع استهلاك المياه في القطاع المنزلي؛ واستهلاك المياه الجوفية غير المستدام في القطاع الزراعي؛ والتوجيه الخاطىء للمعونات الحكومية؛ وعدم تقدير مبادئ الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية (IWRM) من قِبل صانعي القرار.

شح المياه

تتعرض المياه الجوفية في عُمان للاستهلاك الجائر، حيث يؤدي استهلاك المياه المتواصل إلى خفض منسوب المياه وفي بعض الأحيان إلى تدهور جودة المياه بسبب تسرّب مياه البحر. فعلى سبيل المثال،قد ارتفع طلب القطاع الزراعي على المياه من 1,152 مليون متر مكعب عام 1990 إلى 1,546 مليون متر مكعب عام 2011، وبالتالي،فقد ارتفعت التغذية من خزانات المياه الجوفية من 899 مليون متر مكعب عام 1990 إلى 1,269 مليون متر مكعب عام 2011.

وبناءً على البيانات الواردة من لجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا (UN-ESCWA)، فإن البيانات التالية متعلقة بالطلب على المياه في عُمان في 1990 و 2000 و 2025.

  • الزراعي
  • الصناعي
  • المنزلي
  • المجموع

الشكل 1: الطلب السابق والمتوقع على المياه، مليون متر مكعب، للسنوات 1990، و2000، و2025. [2]

  • المنزلي
  • الزراعي
  • الصناعي

الشكل 2: نسبة الطلب على المياه (مليون متر مكعب) حسب القطاعات للعام 1990 .

  • المنزلي
  • الزراعي
  • الصناعي

الشكل 3: نسبة الطلب على المياه (مليون متر مكعب) حسب القطاعات للعام 2025.

  • المنزلي
  • الزراعي
  • الصناعي

الشكل 4: نسبة الطلب على المياه (مليون متر مكعب) حسب القطاعات للعام 2000.

وتستعرض الأشكال التالية بيانات الحكومة العُمانية للطلب على المياه والتزود بالمياه.

  • 1990
  • 2000
  • 2011

الشكل 5: إجمالي الطلب على المياه (مليوم متر مكعب بالسنة) في عُمان للاعوام 1990-2000-2011.

  • 1990
  • 2000
  • 2011

الشكل 6: إجمالي التزود بالمياه (مليون متر مكعب بالسنة) في عُمان للاعوام 1990-2000-2011.

ارتفاع استهلاك المياه في القطاع المنزلي

تُصنف دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بامتلاكها أكبر نصيب من استهلاك الفرد من المياه في العالم، على الرغم من أن عُمان لديها أقل معدل استهلاك ضمن المجموعة. وعلى سبيل المثال، فقد قدر متوسط الاستهلاك السنوي للمياه لكل أسرة بنحو 519 متر مكعب/ السنة في منطقة القرم بمسقط، و440 متر مكعب/السنة لمنطقة السيب.

وبلغ متوسط نصيب الفرد من الاستهلاك 289 لتر/ للفرد/ اليوم و173 لتر/ للفرد/ اليوم في منطقتي القرم والسيب على التوالي، وهو أعلى بكثير من المتوسط العالمي[3] البالغ 90 لتر/ للفرد/ اليوم. ويمكن أن تعزى الزيادة في الطلب المنزلي على المياه إلى الافتقار إلى تدابير ترشيد استهلاك المياه، وانخفاض أسعار المياه، والتوجيه الخاطىء للمعونات الحكومية، ونقص الوعي.

استهلاك المياه الجوفية غير المستدام في القطاع الزراعي

أدى استخراج المياه الجوفية بما يتجاوز مستويات الإنتاج المأمونة إلى تلوث خزانات المياه الجوفية الحالية نظراً لتسرب مياه البحر المالحة إلى هذه الخزانات وقدوم إمدادات مياه مائلة للملوحة ومالحة من الخزانات الأكثر انخفاضاً.

الشكل 7: إجمالي عجز المياه (مليون متر مكعب بالسنة) في عُمان للاعوام 1990-2000-2011.

كما أدى استخدام المياه الجوفية لأغراض الري للمحاصيل الزراعية ذات القيمة المنخفضة إلى هدر الموارد غير المتجددة والمتجددة على حد سواء، والتي من الأفضل الحفاظ عليها للاستخدامات الحالية أو المستقبلية مرتفعة القيمة. ومن بين التطورات الإيجابية في قطاع الزراعة في عُمان استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في الزراعة،[4] والتوسع السريع في عدد البيوت البلاستيكية، واستخدام المحاصيل التي تتحمل الملوحة، وارتفاع الإنتاج وتبني الزراعة الجافة.

تحلية المياه كثيفة استخدام الطاقة

بلغ إجمالي طاقة إنتاج التحلية في عُمان عام 2010 ما يقارب الـ600,000 متر مكعب/ اليوم. واليوم، يتجاوز هذا الرقم الـ1,3 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم. وعلى الرغم من النجاح التكنولوجي في الحد من متطلبات الطاقة، وخاصة في العمليات القائمة على الأغشية والتي تهيمن حالياً على السوق العمانية، فلا تزال تحلية المياه عملية كثيفة الاعتماد على الطاقة، وبالتالي تساهم في تغير المناخ. ويتم بشكلٍ متزايد اعتماد الأساليب الموفرة للطاقة في تحلية المياه، وذلك لأن العدد المتزايد من المشاريع قد يكون له، قريباً، أثرٌ متزايد على متطلبات الطاقة في البلاد.

التوجيه الخاطىء للمعونات الحكومية

تتوفر العديد من الإعانات في قطاع المياه والتي تهدف إلى إفادة كلٍ من القطاع المنزلي والصناعي والتجاري. وقد أدى ذلك في بعض الأحيان إلى نتائج غير مقصودة ذات آثار سلبية على البيئة. فعلى سبيل المثال، أدت الإعانات إلى زيادة استهلاك الفرد من المياه المنزلية. ويعتبر الدعم الاجتماعي المستهدف أكثر فعالية من التعريفات المنخفضة (أو غياب التعريفات) للجمع بين الاستثمار في أنظمة إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي والقدرة على تحمل التكاليف للأسر الفقيرة.

عدم تقدير مبادئ الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية

تفتقر إدارة المياه في المنطقة إلى الكفاءة الاقتصادية والإنصاف والاستدامة البيئية، والتي تشكل الأساس المتين للإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية (IWRM)، إلى جانب الإفتقار إلى نهجٍ تشاركي. وإن هناك العديد من الأسباب لهذا، بما في ذلك نقص القوى العاملة المدربة، والاعتماد على الاستشاريين والمهنيين من المغتربين، والاعتماد على الحلول الهندسية حيث أن التمويل وفير نسبياً، والافتقار لمشاركة أصحاب المصلحة في عملية صنع القرار.

حملات التوعية العامة والتثقيف

تعتبر الحكومة، والمنظمات غير الحكومية، والمنظمات الدولية في عُمان، فضلاً عن المجموعات الطلابية، في طليعة العاملين في مجال حملات التوعية العامة والتثقيف. وتشتمل هذه على الاتصالات المباشرة، والندوات والمحاضرات، والمعارض، والاختبارات التعليمية، والمؤتمرات الدولية، والبرامج الإذاعية والتلفزيونية، والمقالات المطبوعة والمنشورة عبر الإنترنت.

التخفيف من تغير المناخ والتكيف معه

وإنّي أوصي بالسياسات التالية الموضحة أدناه والتي ستؤدي إلى قطاع مياه “أكثر مراعاة للبيئة،” ولتساعد على التكيف مع التأثيرات المحتملة لتغير المناخ على قطاع المياه في عمان .8 وتنقسم التوصيات إلى ثلاث فئات: جانب الطلب وجانب العرض وغيرها.

جانب الطلب:
i. يجب أن يعكس سعر الماء التكلفة الحقيقية للإنتاج.

ii. يجب أن تستهدف الإعانات المقدمة المحتاجين وتمنح الحوافز للمستهلكين ممن يتبعون أساليب ترشيد الاستهلاك.

iii. يجب أن يكون تركيب أجهزة ترشيد استهلاك المياه إلزامياً لجميع المباني السكنية والتجارية والصناعية الجديدة.

iv. يجب منح إدارة الطلب على المياه في المناطق الحضرية الأولوية القصوى حيث يستخدم هذا القطاع المياه التي يتم إنتاجها وتسليمها بتكلفة عالية. وينبغي أن برامج التسعير تقوم بتشجيع ترشيد استهلاك المياه، كما ينبغي أن تكون الإعانات الخاصة بتركيب أجهزة توفير المياه الحديثة والإلزامية في المباني الجديدة وحملات الكشف عن التسريب وحملات التثقيف جزءاً لا يتجزأ من خطة عملٍ شاملةٍ لإدارة الطلب على المياه.

v. يجب تنظيم استخراج المياه الجوفية بما في ذلك للمزارعين. ويجب على الجميع دفع ثمن هذه المياه وفقاً لاستخداماتها.

جانب العرض:
i. ينبغي تشجيع إعادة تغذية الخزانات الجوفية المستخدمة، مع تحكم صارم بجودة المياه التي يتم حقنها.

ii. ينبغي منح أولوية كبيرة لجمع واستخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة. وأن لا يتم حصر هذا الإستخدام للري فحسب، بل أيضاً لإعادة تغذية خزانات المياه الجوفية المستخدمة، والاستخدام في القطاع الصناعي، والتحكم في تسرب المياه المالحة، وتنظيف المراحيض.

غير ذلك:
i. ينبغي تشجيع استخدام الطاقة المتجددة في تحلية المياه. وإن لم يكن من الممكن استخدام مصادر بديلة للطاقة مباشرة في تحلية المياه، فيجب تعويض الطاقة المستخدمة في إنتاج المياه عن طريق إنتاج نفس كمية الطاقة من خلال مصادر بديلة وتوفيرها للشبكة.

ii. إن القطاع الزراعي هو القطاع الذي سينتج الحد الأقصى الشامل من التوفير في قطاع المياه. ولذا ينبغي تجنب استخدام المياه الجوفية ذات النوعية الجيدة للإنتاج الزراعي غير الاقتصادي ذو الاستهلاك المرتفع للمياه، كما يجب تشجيع الزراعة الملحية، وتشجيع استخدام التكنولوجيا الذكية (مثل الزراعة المائية، والري بالتنقيط، والتلقيم، والزراعة البيئية الخاضعة للرقابة) وينبغي السماح باستخدام المياه المحلاة في الزراعة فقط للمحاصيل ذات القيمة العالية والتي تكون ذات مغزى اقتصادي.

iii. ينبغي أن يكون اعتماد خطط إدارة المياه التي تعكس مبادئ الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية إلزامياً. وينبغي وضع جميع الموارد المائية البديلة ذات التكلفة الفعالة والسليمة بيئياً تحت خطط الإدارة المتكاملة.

iv. ينبغي إدخال نظام وطني للمعلومات المتعلقة بالمياه، بما في ذلك نظام لدعم اتخاذ القرارات،وذلك لتحسين مساعدة صانعي القرارات في مجال المياه ورصد مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية للقطاع.

[1] Ahmed, M. et al., 2015. ‘Green challenges and some technological solutions in the water sector of the GCC countries.’ In The Green Economy in the Gulf, Raouf, M. and Luomi, M. (eds.), Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, pp. 123-144.
[2] Available at: http://www.un.org/esa/earthsummit/ecwa-cp.htm. Accessed on 11/4/2019.
[3] Available at: http://www.muscatdaily.com/Archive/Oman/Study-demonstrates-possibility-to-reduce-residential-water-demand-by-increasing-price-4up5. Accessed on 11/4/2018
[4] al-Khamisi, S. and Ahmed, M., 2014. ‘Opportunities and Challenges of Using Treated Wastewater in Agriculture.’ In Environmental Cost and Face of Agriculture in the Gulf Cooperation Council Countries, Shahid, S. and Ahmed, M. (eds.), Springer.

Home / Oman / Water Challenges in Oman

Water Challenges in Oman

Oman- Wadi Bani Khalid

Photo 1: Wadi Bani Khalid, Oman (Source: Travel with the wind, Flickr).

Challenges in Oman’s water sector are numerous.[1] Some of the major ones are: water shortages; energy-intensive desalination; high water consumption in the domestic sector; unsustainable groundwater use in the agricultural sector; misdirected subsidies; and the lack of appreciation of integrated water resources management (IWRM) principles by decision makers.

Water Shortages

Groundwater in Oman is overused. Continuous abstraction lowers the water table depth and in some cases deteriorates water quality due to seawater intrusion. For example, the agricultural demand for water increased from 1,152 MCM in 1990 to 1,546 MCM 2011 and, consequently, supply from groundwater aquifers increased from 899 MCM in 1990 to 1,269 MCM in 2011.

  • Agricultural
  • Industrial
  • Domestic
  • Total

Figure 1: Past and projected water demand in million cubic metres (MCM) for the years 1990, 2000 and 2025. [2]

Based on data from the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UN-ESCWA), the following are relevant regarding water demand in Oman over the years 1990, 2000 and 2025.

  • Domestic
  • Agricultural
  • Industrial

Figure 2: Water demand in million cubic metres (MCM) for the year 1990.

  • Domestic
  • Agricultural
  • Industrial

Figure 3: Water demand in million cubic metres (MCM) for the year 2000.

  • Domestic
  • Agricultural
  • Industrial

Figure 4: Water demand in million cubic metres (MCM) for the year 2025.

Omani government data on water demand and supply  is given in the following Figures.

  • 1990
  • 2000
  • 2011

Figure 5: Water Demand (MCM/yr) in Oman for the period 1990-2000-2011.

  • 1990
  • 2000
  • 2011

Figure 6: Water Supply (MCM/yr) in Oman for the period 1990-2000-2011.

High Water Consumption in the Domestic Sector

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries have the highest per capita water consumption in the world, although Oman has the lowest consumption within the group. The average annual water consumption per household was estimated at 519 m3/yr for the Qurm district in Muscat, for instance, and 440 m3/yr for the Seeb district.

The average per capita consumption was 289 L/cap/day and 173 L/cap/day for Qurm and Seeb respectively, which is far above the international average[3] of 90 L/cap/day. The increase in domestic water demand can be attributed to a lack of conservation measures, the low price of water, misdirected subsidies and a lack of awareness.

Unsustainable Groundwater Use in the Agricultural Sector

The extraction of groundwater beyond safe yield levels has resulted in the pollution of the existing groundwater aquifers due to the intrusion of seawater and the upconing of brackish and saline water supplies from lower aquifers.

Figure 7: Water Deficit (MCM/yr) in Oman for the period 1990-2000-2011.

The use of groundwater for irrigation of low-value agricultural crops has resulted in the wastage of both non-renewable and renewable resources, which would be better reserved for present or future high-value uses. Use of treated wastewater in agriculture,[4] a rapid expansion in the number of greenhouses, use of salt-tolerant crops, higher yields and adoption of dry farming are some of the positive developments in Oman’s agricultural sector.

Energy-Intensive Desalination

The total desalination capacity in Oman in 2010 was nearly 600,000 m3/d. Today (2018), that figure is more than 1.3 MCM/d. Despite the technological advances and successes in reducing energy requirements, mainly in membrane-based processes (which currently dominate the Omani market), desalination remains an energy-intensive process, hence contributing to climate change. Energy-efficient methods for water desalination are increasingly being adopted as the growing number of projects may soon have an impact on energy requirements in the country, according to authorities.

Misdirected Subsidies

Several subsidies are available in the water sector that are intended to benefit locals, industries and businesses. This has sometimes resulted in unintended consequences that are environmentally negative. For instance, subsidies have increased per capita consumption of domestic water. Targeted social support is more effective than low tariffs (or the absence of tariffs) to combine investment in water supply and sanitation systems and affordability for poor households.

Lack of Appreciation of IWRM Principles

Economic efficiency, equity and environmental sustainability, which are the bedrock of integrated water resource management (IWRM), are lacking in the water management of the region, as is the participatory approach. There are various reasons for this, including a lack of trained manpower, reliance on expatriate consultants and professionals, reliance on engineering solutions as funding is relatively abundant and a lack of stakeholder participation in decision making.

Public Awareness and Education Campaigns

The government, NGOs, international organizations located in Oman as well as student groups are at the forefront of public awareness and education campaigns. These include direct communications; symposia and lectures; exhibitions; educational tests; international conferences; school curricula; radio and TV shows; and articles in print and online media.

Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation

The following policies below have been recommended that will result in a ‘greener’ water sector and help adapt to the likely impacts of climate change on Oman’s water sector.8 The recommendations are divided into three categories: demand side, supply side and others.

Demand side:

i. The water price should reflect the true cost of production.

ii. Subsidies provided to consumers must be targeted to the needy and incentives given for water savings by consumers.

iii. Installation of water-saving devices must be made compulsory for all new residential, commercial and industrial buildings.

iv. Urban water demand management should be given the highest priority as this sector uses the water that is produced and delivered at high cost. Tariff structures should encourage conservation; subsidies for retro-fitting, compulsory installation of water-saving devices in new buildings, leakage detection and education campaigns should be part of a comprehensive water demand management action plan.

v. Groundwater abstraction should be regulated including for farmers. All should pay for such water depending on its use.

Supply side:

i. Managed aquifer recharge should be encouraged, with strict control over the quality of injected water.

ii. Collection and use of treated wastewater should be given high priority. Such use may include not only irrigation but also managed aquifer recharge, industrial use, saline water intrusion control and toilet flushing.

Others:

i. The use of renewable energy in the desalination industry should be encouraged. If it is not possible to use alternative sources of energy directly in the desalination industry, then energy use for water production must be compensated by producing the same amount of energy through alternative sources and supplied to the grid.

ii. Maximum overall savings in the water sector will result from improved water use in the agricultural sector. Use of good-quality groundwater for non-economic, high-water-consuming agricultural production is to be avoided. Biosaline agriculture should be encouraged. Use of smart technology (hydroponics, drip irrigation, metering, controlled environment agriculture) should be encouraged and desalinated water for agriculture should be permitted only for high-value crops that make economic sense.

iii. The adoption of water management plans reflecting the IWRM principles should be compulsory. All alternative water resources that are cost effective and environmentally sound should be brought under the integrated management plans.

iv. A national water information system, including a decision support system, should be introduced to better aid water decision makers and monitor the sector’s key performance indicators.

[1] Ahmed, M. et al., 2015. ‘Green challenges and some technological solutions in the water sector of the GCC countries.’ In The Green Economy in the Gulf, Raouf, M. and Luomi, M. (eds.), Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, pp. 123-144.

[2] Available at: http://www.un.org/esa/earthsummit/ecwa-cp.htm. Accessed on 11/4/2019.

[3] Available at: http://www.muscatdaily.com/Archive/Oman/Study-demonstrates-possibility-to-reduce-residential-water-demand-by-increasing-price-4up5. Accessed on 11/4/2018

[4] al-Khamisi, S. and Ahmed, M., 2014. ‘Opportunities and Challenges of Using Treated Wastewater in Agriculture.’ In Environmental Cost and Face of Agriculture in the Gulf Cooperation Council Countries, Shahid, S. and Ahmed, M. (eds.), Springer.