الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر

الجزائر

الجزائر المياه في الجزائر
الصورة 1: خليج الجزائر العاصمة. (المصدر: نور الدين معمري،Adobe Stock )
  • المؤلفون:

وليد مولاهم (الفصول من 1 إلى 5): متخصص في الموارد المائية ومهندس هيدروليكي يعمل على تطبيق الاستشعار عن بعد لرصد مخاطر الموارد المائية في البلدان النامية. يشارك في قطاع المياه الجزائري من خلال بناء القدرات ونقل التكنولوجيا وتقديم الدورات التدريبية للمؤسسات الحكومية والخاصة.

محمد سفيان شاوي (الفصول من 6 إلى 9): باحث اقتصادي متخصص في تقييم سياسات المياه. يعمل على القضايا المعرفية والسياسة العامة وسلوك العملاء وديناميكيات أسواق المياه.

  • المراجع:د. عبد المالك برمد ، عميد قسم الهندسة المائية والهيدروليكية في المعهد الوطني للفنون التطبيقية في الجزائر.

المُقدمة

تواجه الجزائر، كحال العديد من البلدان الأخرى في العالم، تحدياتٍ طبيعية وبيئية ومناخية كبيرة، إذ يُعرّض سكانها، الذين تضخمت أعدادهم إلى جانب زيادة الطلب على المياه، هذا المورد الحيوي – وبالتالي التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية – للخطر.

ولتلبية الحد الأدنى من معايير كمية ونوعية المياه التي وضعها البنك الدولي، فقد طوّرت الجزائر استراتيجية طموحة لزيادة إمدادات المياه من خلال استثماراتٍ ضخمة لتحسين البنية التحتية الهيدروليكية، فضلاً عن إعادة الهيكلة التنظيمية والمؤسسية التي تركز على تقييم المورد. تم تقديم رؤية جديدة في نهاية التسعينيات، والتي تهدف إلى سد الفجوة بين الطلب والعرض بأكثر الطرق استدامة.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تبلغ مساحة الجزائر 2,381,741 كيلومتر مربع، مما يجعلها أكبر دولة في القارة الإفريقية. تضم الجزائر ثلاث مناطق مناخية متميزة، حيث يُشكل الساحل وجبال الأطلس التلي في الشمال ما نسبته 4% من المساحة الكلية للبلاد وتتمتع هذه المنطقة بمناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط والذي يمتاز بفصل الشتاء البارد والماطر والصيف الحار والجاف. في حين توجد في وسط البلاد المرتفعات شبه القاحلة، حيث تتركز حوالي ثلثي الأراضي المزروعة. تحتل الصحراء ما نسبته 87% من مساحة البلاد وتمتاز بالظروف الجوية القاسية المقترنة بمدى درجات حرارة شديدة. [1]

يتميز هطول الأمطار بتقلباتٍ زمانية ومكانية بليغة، إذ يصل الهطول المطري في القطاع المطل على البحر المتوسط إلى 1200 ملم سنوياً، على الرغم من تفاوت هذا من عامٍ لآخر وتناقصه باتجاه الغرب. المناطق الوسطى انتقالية ويبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي الذي تستقبله من 100-400 ملم، في حين أن الهطول المطري في الصحراء هو أقل من 100 ملم سنوياً. تتراوح الخسائر الطبيعية من خلال التبخر المحتمل من 1000 ملم في الشمال الشرقي إلى ما يقرب من 3000 ملم في الجنوب الشرقي (الخريطة 1و 2). [2]

هطول الأمطار الجزائر
الخريطة (1): متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي
التبخر السنوي الجزائر
الخريطة (2): التبخر السنوي المحتمل

السكان (النمو منذ عام 1950؛ والتوقعات حتى عام 2050)

شهدت الجزائر انفجاراً سكانياً منذ الاستقلال في عام 1962، حيث ارتفع عدد السكان من 12 مليون نسمة إلى 43 مليون في عام 2019. [3] ومن المتوقع أن يصل عدد السكان إلى 56 مليون نسمة بحلول عام 2050. [4]

يعيش حوالي 87% من الجزائريين على ما يزيد قليلاً عن 10% من مساحة البلاد، متمركزين في الغالب على طول ساحل البحر المتوسط. يبلغ متوسط الكثافة السكانية 14 نسمة/ كم2. ومع ذلك، عادةً ما تتجاوز الكثافة 100 نسمة/ كم2 في المناطق الرئيسية المأهولة بالسكان في الشمال. يعد الجنوب، على الرغم من مساحته الشاسعة، موطناً لـ13% فقط من إجمالي السكان.[5]

إن معدل نمو السكان هو أعلى في المناطق الحضرية، كما انخفض عدد سكان الريف تدريجياً منذ عام 1997 بسبب الهجرة إلى الحضر (الشكل 1 و 2). وهذا التكتل المرتفع للسكان يفرض ضغوطاً متزايدة على موارد المياه، إذ تبرز الحاجة إلى استثماراتٍ كبيرة لتلبية الطلب على مياه الشرب والسيطرة على مياه الصرف الصحي.[6]

  • إجمالي عدد السكان
  • الريفي
  • الحضري

الشكل (1): النمور السكاني الإجمالي والريفي والحضري من عام 1960 حتى 2010

الشكل (2): إجمالي عدد السكان والتنبؤ السكاني من عام 1960 حتى 2100

الاقتصاد (الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الحالي؛ والتوقعات؛ والقطاعات الرئيسية وحصتها في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي)

يعتمد الاقتصاد الجزائري اعتماداً كبيراً على قطاع النفط والغاز، والذي يعتبر المصدر الرئيسي لإيرادات البلاد. وبلغ الناتج المحلي الإجمالي 170,37 مليار دولار في عام 2017، إذ يساهم قطاع الخدمات بنسبة 50,7% من ذلك. وتساهم الصناعة بما نسبته 36,1% والزراعة بما نسبته 13,2%. وفي الوقت نفسه، تستهلك الزراعة 59% من المياه المتوفرة. كما أن البلاد غير قادرة على زراعة ما يكفي من المحاصيل لإطعام سكانها، وبالتالي تستورد ما يقرب من 45% من غذائها. ومع ذلك، فقد زادت مساهمة الزراعة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بين عامي 2000 و2017، مما يعكس الاستثمارات المالية والتنظيمية في القطاع. ومن المتوقع أن يستمر هذا الاتجاه التزاماً بالخطط الموضوعة في الاستراتيجية الزراعية الوطنية ، (الشكل 3 و 4).

الشكل (3): مساهمة الزراعة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. [7]

الشكل (4): المساهمة المتوقعة للزراعة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. [8] [9]

[1] FAO Aquastat, 2015. Algeria.
[2] Office Nationale de la Météorologie. Climat en Algérie.
[3] Agence Nationale de Développement de l’Investissement, 2017. Démographie Algérienne.
[4] United Nations, 2015. World Population Prospects: Key Findings and Advance Tables.
[5] Rapport national sur les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (archived), 2005.
[6] Zella L and Smadhi D, 2006. ‘Gestion de l’eau dans les pays arabes’. Larhyss Journal 5:157-169.
[7] Trading Economics, 2019.  Algeria GDP From Agriculture.
[8]Ibid
[9] Statista, 2019. Gross domestic product (GDP) in current prices from 2014 to 2024.

Home / Algeria

Algeria

Algiers bay water in Algeria
Photo 1: Algiers Bay. (Source: Noreedine Maamri, Adobe Stock)

Contributors

  • Authors:

Walid Moulahoum (chapters 1 to 5): Water resource specialist and hydraulic engineer working on the application of remote sensing to monitor water resource risk in developing countries. He is involved in the sector of water in Algeria through capacity building and technology transfer and training courses to public and private institutions.

Mohamed-Sofiane Chaoui (chapters 6 to 9): Economics researcher specializing in water policy assessment. He works on epistemological issues, public policy, customer behavior and the dynamics of water markets.

  • Peer reviewer :Pr. Abdelmalek Bermad, dean of the hydraulic/Water Engineering department at the National Polytechnic Institute in Algeria.

Introduction to Water in Algeria

Algeria, like many other countries in the world, is facing significant natural, environmental and climatic challenges. Its galloping population coupled with increasing water demand is putting this vital resource – and by extension social and economic development – at risk.

To meet the minimum standards for water quantity and quality set by the World Bank, Algeria developed an ambitious strategy to increase water supply through huge investments in the improvement of the hydraulic infrastructure as well as organizational and institutional restructuring focused on the valuation of the resource. A new vision was introduced at the end of 1990s, aimed at bridging the gap between demand and supply in the most sustainable way.

Geography and climate

Algeria covers an area of 2,381,741 km², making it the largest country on the African continent. It has three distinct climatic zones. The coast and Tellian Atlas Mountains in the north make up 4% of the total area and enjoy a Mediterranean climate of wet, cool winters and hot, dry summers. In the centre of the country are the semi-arid highlands, where nearly two thirds of the cultivated land is concentrated. The Sahara occupies 87% of the country and is characterized by extreme weather conditions with strong thermic amplitudes.[1]

Rainfall is characterized by significant spatio-temporal variability. The Mediterranean strip receives up to 1,200 mm per year, although this varies from year to year and decreases towards the west. The central regions are transitional and receive average annual rainfall of 100-400 mm. The desert receives less than 100 mm of rain per year. The natural losses through potential evapotranspiration range from 1,000 mm in the north-east to almost 3,000 mm in the south-east (Map 1 and 2).[2]

Rainfall algeria
Map 1: Average annual precipitation. Click to enlarge
water in ALgeria evapotranspiration.
Map 2: annual potential evapotranspiration. Click to enlarge.

Population (Growth since 1950; projection for 2050)

Algeria’s population has exploded since independence in 1962, rising from 12 million to 43 million in 2019.[3] The population is expected to reach 56 million by 2050.[4]

About 87% of Algerians live in a little over 10% of the country, concentrated mainly along the Mediterranean coast. The average population density is 14 inhabitants/km2. However, the density typically exceeds 100 inhabitants/km2 in the main populated areas of the north. The south, despite its large area, is home to only 13% of the total population.[5]

The population growth rate is higher in urban areas, and the rural population has been gradually declining since 1997 due to urban migration (Figure 1 and 2). This high concentration of the population is putting increasing pressure on water resources, and major investments are needed to meet the demand for drinking water and control of wastewater.[6]

  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban

Figure 1: Total, urban and rural population of Algeria from 1960 to 2010. World Bank.

Figure  2: Total population of Algeria and the population projection  from 1960 to 2100. World Bank.

Economy (Current GDP; projections; main sectors and their shares in the GDP)

Algeria’s economy is heavily reliant on the oil and gas sector, which is the country’s main source of revenues. The gross domestic product (GDP) was $170.37 billion in 2017, with the services sector contributing 50.7% of that. Industry contributes 36.1% and agriculture 13.2%. At the same time, agriculture consumes 59% of the available water. The country is unable to grow enough to feed its population and thus imports almost 45% of its food. That being said, agriculture’s contribution to GDP increased between 2000 and 2017, reflecting the financial and organizational investments made in it . This trend is expected to continue, following plans drawn up in the national agricultural strategy, See figure 3 and 4 below.

Figure 3: History of agriculture from GDP (Millions $). [7]

Figure 4: Projected contribution of agriculture to GDP.[8] [9]

[1] FAO Aquastat, 2015. Algeria.
[2] Office Nationale de la Météorologie. Climat en Algérie.
[3] Agence Nationale de Développement de l’Investissement, 2017. Démographie Algérienne.
[4] United Nations, 2015. World Population Prospects: Key Findings and Advance Tables.
[5] Rapport national sur les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (archived), 2005.
[6] Zella L and Smadhi D, 2006. ‘Gestion de l’eau dans les pays arabes’. Larhyss Journal 5:157-169.
[7] Trading Economics, 2019.  Algeria GDP From Agriculture.
[8]Ibid
[9] Statista, 2019. Gross domestic product (GDP) in current prices from 2014 to 2024.