الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر / البُنية التحتية للمياه في الجزائر

البُنية التحتية للمياه في الجزائر

عين صالح الجزائر
الصورة 1: صورة من منطقة عين صالح في تمنراست.(المصدر: Habib kaki)

السدود وأنظمة الري ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وحقول الآبار الكبيرة

تعتمد الجزائر بشكلٍ أساسي على المياه السطحية. وحالياً، يوجد في البلاد ما يقرب من 80 خزان سطحي وتهدف إلى رفع عددها إلى 139 بحلول عام 2030.[1] تهدف هذه الخزانات لتلبية احتياجات مياه الشرب والطلب على الري في الهضاب المرتفعة. ومع ذلك، تواجه السدود معدلات تبخر مرتفعة، بالإضافة إلى الطمي وتسرب المياه من ضفافها وأساساتها. وبشكلٍ أكثر تحديداً، تعني فترات الجفاف الطويلة أن السدود نادراً ما تكون ممتلئة، مما يؤثر على الاعتماد عليها كمصدر للمياه.[2]

ولإدارة التوزيع غير المتساوي للموارد المائية، فقد تم تخصيص استثمارات كبيرة للمشروعات التي تهدف إلى نقل المياه من المناطق ذات الفائض في المياه إلى المناطق التي تعاني من نقص المياه.

البُنية التحتيةالقدرة
8,800 بئر5,7 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم
80 سد8,6 مليار متر مكعب/اليوم
11 محطة تحلية للمياه2,1 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم
21 عملية نقل (نحو أعلى وأسفل السد)
100 محطة لمعالجة المياه5 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم
23 محطة للتنقية من المعادن254,000 متر مكعب/ اليوم

الجدول (1): نظرة عامة على البنية التحتية الهيدروليكية.[5]

وعلى سبيل المثال ، يقوم مشروع النقل بين عين صالح وتمنراست، بتعبئة 100,000 مليون متر مكعب من المياه الصالحة للشرب من الحوض المتداخل القاري لمسافة 740 كم.[3] ويعتبر البعض هذا المشروع إنجازاً كبيراً، حيث يسمح بتوفير المياه إلى المناطق النائية في البلاد. ومع ذلك، فقد تعرض المشروع أيضاً لانتقادات شديدة بسبب نهجه الاستبدادي والتكلفة العالية، والتي تهدف إلى حدٍ كبير إلى الحفاظ على الإنفاق الاجتماعي وسط عدم الاستقرار السياسي وتجاهل البدائل المحلية الأخرى.

على الرغم من حقيقة أن 90% من البلاد متصلة بشبكة إمدادات المياه الوطنية، لا يزال هناك تباين كبير بين المناطق الحضرية والريفية. ففي المناطق الحضرية، قد تم وصل 95% من الأسر، في حين أن 70% فقط من الأسر في المناطق الريفية لديها صنابير مياه وتعاني انقطاعاً في إمدادات المياه بسبب التسربات والأعطال في الشبكة.

ولزيادة الاعتماد على إمدادات المياه للزراعة والصناعات، فإن تقنيات تحلية المياه واستصلاح مياه الصرف الصحي هي المستخدمة بشكلٍ متزايد. وقد تم تعزيز تحلية المياه من قبل صناعة النفط والغاز، والتي تستخدم كميات كبيرة من المياه في عدة مراحل من دورة الإنتاج. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد قامت الجزائر بتطوير شبكة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي من 12 محطة بطاقة 90 مليون متر مكعب في السنة في عام 2000 إلى 100 محطة بطاقة 1,8 مليار متر مكعب في السنة في عام 2016. ووفقاً لوزارة الموارد المائية، فسيتم استهداف الاستثمارات في مجال تحلية المياه واستخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في السنوات القادمة، وسيتم تشجيع التعاون مع الشركات الدولية. [4]

أنظمة جمع وتوزيع المياه التقليدية

في الجنوب القاحل، تعتبر المياه الجوفية المورد الرئيسي للمياه. ويتم استخدام الآبار العميقة للإمدادات على نطاقٍ واسع. توجد أيضاً بعض المياه الجوفية الضحلة ويتم استغلالها باستخدام آبار ضحلة، على الرغم من أن الطريقة الرئيسية لاستخراج المياه هي نظام الفقارة التقليدي.

Foggara Algeria
A)
foggara
B)
Foggara Algeria
C)

الصورة 2: نظام الفقارة التقليدي لتوزيع المياه والري. الصورة: المركز الوطني لبحوث ما قبل التاريخ والأنثروبولوجيا والتاريخ. [9]

الفقارة، المعروفة أيضاً باسم القناة في إيران، هي نظام قديم لإيصال مياه الشرب والري يعود إلى القرن الرابع وينتشر بشكلٍ خاص في ولاية أدرار في الصحراء الكبرى. تعتبر الفقارة مفخرةً هندسية استثنائية وشهادةً على التطوير والاستخدام الرشيد للمياه. [6] يتم حفر الأنفاق بعمق في سفوح التلال لاعتراض منسوب المياه وتمكين المياه المحاصرة في طبقات المياه الجوفية من التدفق بتأثير الجاذبية نحو المناطق المروية بعد قياسها بعناية. تكمن براعة النظام في تصميمه وتكييفه مع الظروف المناخية المحلية، لتبقى معدلات التبخر ضمن الحد الأدنى. كما يضمن إمداداً ثابتاً بعيداً عن الاستغلال المفرط للمياه الجوفية ويسمح بالزراعة حتى في الصحراء مع تقليل الأعمال الشاقة والمستهلكة للوقت المتعلقة بجمع المياه وتوزيعها.[7]

ترتبط الفقارة بنظامٍ إجتماعي أساسه العمل الجماعي، يقوده مجلس من كبار السن يدعى الجماعة، الذي يتمثل دوره في توجيه والإشراف على صيانة الفقارة وتوزيع مياهه. وعلى مر القرون، كان للفقارة تأثيرٌ قوي على وجود وتطور الواحات والتطور الاجتماعي والثقافي لسكان المنطقة.[8]

[1]Algérie Focus, 2017. ‘Resources en eau/ L’Algérie comptera 140 barrages en 2030’.
[2]Hassen B and Abid O, 2017. ‘Surface water leakage, sedimentation and evaporation in arid regions: A case study of the Gargar dam, Algeria’. Journal of Water and Land Development 35: 73-81.
[3] Sattar AA and Demmak AM, 2014. Algeria Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. MEWINA: Algeria Water Sector Monitoring.
[4]Mosbahi Z, 2019. Algeria Country Commercial Guide: Algeria – Public Works, Infrastructure Development, and Water Resources.
[5] Djelouah K, 2018. Accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement en Algérie. Presentation given at UNCTAD Multi-year Expert Meeting on Trade, Services and Development. Water and Sanitation, Energy and Food-related Logistics Services. Geneva 7-8 May 2018.
[6]Service de Presse d’Algérie, 2016. Algérie: Gestion de l’eau – Les Foggaras, un système unique témoignant du génie local.
[7]Oliel J, 2012. ‘La foggara: un ingénieux système d’irrigation’.
[8]Benmamar S, Poulard C, Berreksi A, Paquier A, Sioussiou R, 2016. ‘Du système hydraulique ancestral des M’zab aux techniques alternatives pour la gestion des inondations’. Ecole Nationale Polytechnique d’Alger.
[9]Centre Nationale de Recherches Préhistoriques, Anthropologiques et Historiques, 2011. Systeme de foggaras (Mesureurs d’eau des foggaras du touat – tidikelt ‘kiyalin el-ma’).

Home / Algeria / Water Infrastructure in Algeria

Water Infrastructure in Algeria

Ain Salah Algeria water infrastructure in Algeria
Photo 1: From In Salah (Ain Salah) à Tamanrasse. (Taken by: Habib kaki)

Dams, irrigation systems, wastewater treatment plants, large well fields

Algeria relies primarily on surface water. Currently, it has almost 80 surface reservoirs and aims to increase that to 139 by 2030[1] These reservoirs are intended to meet the drinking water needs and demand for irrigation in the high plateaus. However, the dams face high evaporation, siltation and leakage through their banks and foundations. More specifically, long dry spells mean the dams are rarely full, affecting their reliability as a water source.[2]

To manage the uneven distribution of water resources, large investments were allocated to projects aimed at transferring water from regions with surplus water to regions with water shortages.

StructureCapacity
8800 boreholes5.7 MCM/d
80 dams8.6 MCM/d
11 desalination plants2.1 MCM/d
21 transfers (upstream and downstream of dams)
100 water treatment plants5 MCM/d
23 demineralization stations254,000 m3/d

Table 1: Overview of hydrauic infrastructures.[5]

he transfer project between In Salah and Tamanrasset, for example, mobilizes 100,000 MCM/d of potable water from the Continental Interlayer over a distance of 740 km[3]. The project is regarded by some as a major achievement, allowing water to be supplied to the remotest areas of the country. However, it has also been heavily criticized for its pharaonic approach and high cost, aimed largely at maintaining social spending amid political instability and disregarding other local alternatives.

Despite the fact that 90% of the country is connected to the national water supply network, there is still great disparity between urban and rural areas. In urban areas, 95% of households are connected, whereas in rural areas only 70% of households have taps and face interruptions to their supply due to leakages and breakdowns in the network.

To increase the reliability of the water supply to agriculture and industries, desalination and wastewater reclamation are increasingly used techniques. Water desalination has been boosted by the oil and gas industry, which uses significant amounts of water at several stages in the production cycle. In addition, Algeria has grown its wastewater treatment network from 12 stations with a capacity of 90 MCM/yr in 2000 to 100 stations with a capacity of 1.8 BCM/yr in 2016. According to the Ministry of Water Resources, investments in desalination and wastewater treatment will be targeted in the coming years, and cooperation with international companies will be encouraged.[4]

Traditional water collection and distribution systems

In the arid south, groundwater is the main water resource. Deep boreholes are used for large-scale supply. Some shallow groundwater is also available and is exploited using shallow wells, even though the main method of abstraction remains the traditional foggara system.

Foggara Algeria
A)
foggara
B)
Foggara Algeria
C)

Photo 2: Traditional foggara water distribution and irrigation system. (Source: Ministry of Culture National Center for Prehistoric Anthropological Research)[9]

The foggara, also known as qanat in Iran, is an ancient system of drinking water supply and irrigation dating back to the 4th century and especially widespread in the Wilaya of Adrar in the Sahara. It is an exceptional feat of engineering and a testament to the development and rational use of water.[6] Tunnels are excavated deep into the hillsides to intercept the water table and enable water trapped in the aquifers to flow out under gravity towards irrigated areas after it has been carefully measured. The ingenuity of the system lies in its design and its adaptation to the local climatic conditions, keeping evaporation to a minimum. It also ensures a consistent supply without overexploiting the aquifer and allows agriculture even in the Sahara while reducing time-consuming and laborious chores related to water collection and distribution.[7]
The foggara is linked to a social system of collective work, led by a council of elders called djemaa, whose role is to direct and supervise the maintenance of the foggara and the distribution of its water. Over the centuries, the foggara has had a strong influence on the existence and evolution of oases and the social and cultural development of the people in the region.[8]

[1]Algérie Focus, 2017. ‘Resources en eau/ L’Algérie comptera 140 barrages en 2030’.
[2]Hassen B and Abid O, 2017. ‘Surface water leakage, sedimentation and evaporation in arid regions: A case study of the Gargar dam, Algeria’. Journal of Water and Land Development 35: 73-81.
[3] Sattar AA and Demmak AM, 2014. Algeria Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. MEWINA: Algeria Water Sector Monitoring.
[4]Mosbahi Z, 2019. Algeria Country Commercial Guide: Algeria – Public Works, Infrastructure Development, and Water Resources.
[5] Djelouah K, 2018. Accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement en Algérie. Presentation given at UNCTAD Multi-year Expert Meeting on Trade, Services and Development. Water and Sanitation, Energy and Food-related Logistics Services. Geneva 7-8 May 2018.
[6]Service de Presse d’Algérie, 2016. Algérie: Gestion de l’eau – Les Foggaras, un système unique témoignant du génie local.
[7]Oliel J, 2012. ‘La foggara: un ingénieux système d’irrigation’.
[8]Benmamar S, Poulard C, Berreksi A, Paquier A, Sioussiou R, 2016. ‘Du système hydraulique ancestral des M’zab aux techniques alternatives pour la gestion des inondations’. Ecole Nationale Polytechnique d’Alger.
[9]Centre Nationale de Recherches Préhistoriques, Anthropologiques et Historiques, 2011. Systeme de foggaras (Mesureurs d’eau des foggaras du touat – tidikelt ‘kiyalin el-ma’).