الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر / جودة المياه في الجزائر

جودة المياه في الجزائر

احتجاجات الجزائر جودة المياه في الجزائر
الصورة 1: احتجاجات ضد استغلال الغاز الصخري. (المصدر: Adobe Stock ,Le Matin d’Algérie)

كان للتنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والتوسع الحضري السريع تأثيرٌ ضار على جودة الموارد المائية، حيث لوحظ التلوث الصناعي والحضري في السدود والمياه الجوفية والأنهار. [1] وعلى الرغم من أن الجزائر تعترف بتلوث مواردها المائية، إلا أنه لم يتم اتخاذ أي إجراءٍ واضح على المستوى الوطني.

جودة المياه السطحية

وفقاً للوكالة الوطنية للموارد المائية، فقد تلوثت أجزاء كبيرة من الأنهار في أحواض تافنة والمقطع والشلف والصومام وسيبوس. ومعظم هذه المياه السطحية ملوثة بمياه الصرف الصحي البلدية والصناعية غير الخاضعة للرقابة وغير المعالجة إما بسبب التوصيلات السيئة أو محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي غير العاملة. ويتم تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة أو النفايات السائلة المعالجة بجودة منخفضة والتي تبلغ حوالي 200 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً في المسطحات المائية الطبيعية مباشرةً. كما تم اكتشاف الفوسفور والنترات والمبيدات الحشرية في بعض المياه السطحية نتيجة لممارسات الإدارة الزراعية غير السليمة. [2]

جودة المياه الجوفية

وفقاً لخطة وكالة الحوض الهيدروغرافي الوطنية لرصد جودة المياه في طبقات المياه الجوفية في البلاد، فإن جودة المياه الجوفية جيدة عموماً. ومع ذلك، حصلت بعض التغييرات بسبب عوامل بيئية وأنشطة بشرية على حد سواء.[3]

وفي الشمال، فإن معظم المياه الجوفية غير مالحة، حيث لا تتجاوز قيم الملوحة 1 غرام لكل لتر. ومع ذلك، تعاني بعض أحواض المياه الجوفية الساحلية في متيجة وواد سيباو من تسرب مياه البحر بسبب نفاذيتها العالية والاستغلال المفرط. وفي الصحراء الجنوبية، تتفاوت مستويات الملوحة ويمكن أن تصل إلى 9 غرام لكل لتر في حوض المركب النهائي. وتزداد الملوحة أيضاً في أحواض المياه الجوفية المحيطة بالبحيرات المالحة. [4][5]

يلاحظ عادةً تلوث المياه الجوفية الناتج عن الأنشطة البشرية في طبقات المياه الجوفية في الشمال. ولا يزال الحجم الكبير لمياه الصرف الصحي المنزلية والصناعية التي يتم تصريفها يومياً في الوديان يشكل تهديداً حقيقياً لمصادر المياه الجوفية، مع ملاحظة نقص مستويات الأكسجين في المياه. كما لوحظت حالات مماثلة في الجنوب، حيث لا تستطيع مرافق معالجة المياه العادمة استيعاب كميات النفايات السائلة بأكملها. وأخيراً، فعلى الرغم من الزراعة المكثفة في المناطق الريفية، فإن تركيزات النترات في المياه الجوفية تظل عموماً أقل من المستويات المقبولة.[6][7]

وهناك علاقة بين استغلال الغاز الصخري وتدهور موارد المياه على مستوى العالم. ونتيجةً لذلك، فقد شهد استغلال الغاز الصخري في الجزائر في عام 2015 معارضة شعبية قوية. وبعد أيام قليلة من افتتاح أول عملية تنقيب استكشافية بالقرب من مدينة عين صالح، خرج السكان المحليون بمسيرة بدعمٍ من العلماء والناشطين لمنع تلوث طبقة المياه الجوفية المحلية بما لا تُحمد عُقباه. [8] وقد نجحت الحركة في إبطاء تنفيذ المشروع، على الرغم من استئناف المفاوضات الأخيرة مع الشركات الأمريكية لإعادة افتتاح مواقع التنقيب عن الغاز الصخري.[9]

شبكات الصرف الصحي ومعالجة المياه العادمة

لا يزال الصرف الصحي يمثل جانباً صعباً في إدارة المياه، حيث يقدر حجم مياه الصرف التي تم تصريفها بحوالي 1,2 مليار متر مكعب في السنة.[10]

وقد شهد تنفيذ البرنامج الوطني لشبكة الصرف الصحي زيادةً في طول الشبكة من 21,000 كم في عام 1995 إلى 41,000 كم في عام 2011. وقد ضمن ذلك أن حوالي 86% من مجموع السكان متصل بالشبكة، حيث تصل النسبة إلى 90% في المناطق الحضرية و82% في المناطق الريفية.[11]

العام19992005201020132020
عدد محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي3334112145239
الطاقة الإنتاجية (مليون متر مكعب/ السنة)901606658001,200

الجدول (1): تطور محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي من عام 1999 وحتى 2020.

وإن الهدف هو زيادة طول الشبكة إلى 54,000 كم بحلول عام 2020 لمواكبة النمو السكاني. [12]  وفي عام 2011، كانت البنية التحتية للصرف الصحي تتكون من 134 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي بطاقة معالجة إجمالية تبلغ 700 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. وقد تم تحديد هدف بإنشاء 100 محطة معالجة إضافية بحلول عام 2020، مما سيزيد من قدرة المعالجة بما يكفي لتحقيق معالجة للمياه بنسبة 100% من المياه العادمة المنتجة (الجدول 1).[13][14]

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

يؤدي الافتقار إلى الإدارة المتكاملة للمياه إلى تفاقم المخاطر البيئية والصحية في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

ويعكس تدهور جودة المياه نسباً مثيرة للقلق، خاصة في الشمال. كما تتسبب الممارسات الزراعية غير الخاضعة للرقابة في تدهور جودة المياه من خلال تدفقات المياه المسترجعة. وفي المناطق الحضرية، تتعرض إمدادات المياه لخطر التلوث البيولوجي والفيزيائي -الكيميائي بسبب المخلفات السائلة غير القانونية وغير الخاضعة للرقابة في المجاري المائية والمسطحات المائية. ويتفاقم هذا الخطر بسبب محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي القديمة التي لم يتم تجهيزها لمعالجة المياه الملوثة بالمعادن الثقيلة والمبيدات الحشرية.

تعتبر الملوحة مشكلةً متكررة تطرح تحدياتٍ لإدارة إمدادات المياه. وتتأثر بعض المناطق في غرب البلاد بشكلٍ رئيسي بمعدلات ملوحة مرتفعة، والتي أدت إلى تدهورٍ لا يمكن تصحيحه في السهول الزراعية المروية. وفي الجنوب، يؤدي الضخ المفرط والري غير الخاضعين للرقابة إلى زيادة تملح التربة وطبقات المياه الجوفية المالحة في الأصل بشكلٍ طبيعي في حوض المركب النهائي. وفي المناطق الساحلية مثل وهران والجزائر وجيجل، يؤدي الإفراط في استغلال طبقات المياه الجوفية الساحلية إلى تسرب ملحي لا يمكن إصلاحه.[15][16]

الكوليرا الجزائر
الصورة 2: كاريكاتور للفنان ديلم عن تفشي وباء الكوليرا عام 2018. (المصدر Liberté (صحيفة جزائرية يومية)، 20 سبتمبر 2018).

كما يعدّ تآكل التربة تحدٍ بيئي رئيسي آخر. ففي عام 2000، تعرض ما يقرب من 7,5 مليون هكتار من الأراضي في منطقة السهوب للتهديد من جراء التصحر والتعرية بفعل الريح. ويهدد التآكل بفعل المياه 12 مليون هكتار في المناطق الجبلية. هناك، أدى تآكل التربة إلى تراكم الطمي في السدود، مما تسبب في انخفاض مقداره 1,2 مليار متر مكعب في سعة التخزين في الخزانات السطحية. [17]

من حين لآخر، تم الإبلاغ عن الإصابة بأمراضٍ تنقلها المياه، مما يشكل خطراً على الصحة لا يمكن للسلطات السيطرة عليه دائماً. وفي عام 2018، تم الإبلاغ عن 76 حالة لوباء الكوليرا في ستة أقاليم ساحلية. وعادةً ما يحصل تفشي مثل هذه الأمراض نتيجة للبنية التحتية القديمة للصرف الصحي التي تلوث المياه المستخدمة في الري بسبب التسرب.[18]

[1] Bouchekima B, Bechki D, Bouguettaia H, Boughali S and Tayeb Meftah M, 2008. ‘The underground brackish waters in South Algeria: Potential and viable resources’. Laboratoire de Développement des Energies Nouvelles et Renouvelables dans les Zones Arides Sahariennes, Université de Ouargla.
[2] British Geological Survey, 2018. Africa Groundwater Atlas: Hydrogeology of Algeria.
[3] Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2009. Groundwater Management in Algeria: Draft Synthesis Report.
[4] Safar-Zitoun M, 2018. Plan National Secheresse Algerie: Deuxième Version. Convention des Nations Unies de Lutte contre la Désertification.
[5] Mozas M and Ghosn A, 2013. État des lieux du secteur de l’eau en Algérie. IPEMED.
[6] Jacobs C and van ‘t Klooster C, 2012. Water and agriculture in the Maghreb. Alterra, Wageningen-UR.
[7] Ennabli M, 2005. Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program, Water Quality Management: Algeria.
[8] Agence de Bassin Hydrographique, 2009. Qualité des eaux souterraines dans les bassins du Kebir-Rhumel, de la Seybousse et de la Medjerda-Mellegue, 2004-2007. Cahiers de l’Agence.
[9] Aylan B, 2019. ‘Malgré la revolution l’Algérie veut exploiter le gaz de schiste avec une société américaine’. Observ’Algérie.
[10] Sattar AA and Demmak AM, 2014. Algeria Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. MEWINA: Algeria Water Sector Monitoring.
[11] Xinhua, 2011. ‘Algeria’s drinking water supply increases by 3 times within a decade’.
[12] WASHwatch, 2019. Algeria.
[13] UNICEF and World Health Organization, 2015. Progress on Sanitation and Drinking Water – 2015 Update and MDG Assessment.
[14] Sattar AA and Demmak AM, 2014. Algeria Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. MEWINA: Algeria Water Sector Monitoring
[15] Safar-Zitoun M, 2018. Plan National Secheresse Algerie: Deuxième Version. Convention des Nations Unies de Lutte contre la Désertification.
[16]Sarraf M, 2004. Cost of Environmental Degradation. METAP (Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program). World Bank.
[17] Remini B, 2010. ‘La problématique de l’eau en Algérie du Nord’. Larhyss Journal, 8:36
[18]European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, 2018. Rapid risk assessment: Cholera outbreak in Algeria, 2018.

Home / Algeria / Water Quality in Algeria

Water Quality in Algeria

Gas protest algeria
Photo 1: Protests against shale gas exploitation. (Source: Le Matin d’Algérie)

Socio-economic development and rapid urbanization have had a detrimental impact on the quality of water resources, and industrial and urban pollution has been observed in dams, groundwater and rivers.[1] Although Algeria recognizes the polluted state of its water resources, no clear action has yet been taken at a national level.

Surface water quality

According to the National Agency of Water Resources, significant sections of rivers in the Tafna, Macta, Cheliff, Soummam and Seybous basins are polluted. Most of these surface waters are polluted by uncontrolled and untreated municipal and industrial wastewater due to either a bad connection or non-functioning wastewater treatment plants. Untreated sewage or low-quality treated effluents amounting to about 200 MCM are discharged annually directly into natural waterbodies. Phosphorus, nitrates and pesticides have also been detected in some surface waters as a result of improper agricultural management practices.[2]

Groundwater quality

According to the Agence de Bassin Hydrographique’s national plan to monitor water quality in the country’s aquifers, groundwater quality is generally good. However, some changes have occurred due to both natural causes and anthropogenic activities. [3]

In the north, most groundwater is non-saline, with salinity values less than 1 gram per litre (g/l). However, some coastal aquifers in Mitidja and Bas Sebaou suffer from seawater intrusion due to their high permeability and overexploitation. In the southern Sahara, salinity levels are variable and can reach up to 9 g/l in the Complex Terminal. Salinity also increases in aquifers surrounding saline lakes.[4][5]
Anthropogenic pollution of groundwater is commonly observed in aquifers in the north. The large volume of domestic and industrial wastewater discharged daily into the wadis continues to constitute a real threat to groundwater sources, with low levels of dissolved oxygen being noted. Similar cases are also observed in the south, where the wastewater treatment facilities cannot accommodate the entire effluent. Finally, despite intensive farming in rural areas, nitrate concentrations in groundwater generally remain below acceptable levels.[6][7]

Links between shale gas exploitation and deterioration of water resources have been established globally. As a result, shale gas exploitation in Algeria in 2015 saw strong public opposition. A few days after the inauguration of the first exploratory drilling near the city of In Salah, the local population marched with the support of its scientists and activists to prevent the local aquifer from being irreversibly polluted[8] The movement succeeded in slowing down the project implementation, although recent negotiations with American companies have been resumed to reopen shale gas exploitation drilling sites[9]

Sanitation and wastewater treatment network

Sanitation remains a challenging aspect of water management, with an estimated volume of discharged wastewater of around 1.2 BCM/yr.[10]

The implementation of a national sewage network program saw the length of the network increase from 21,000 km in 1995 to 41,000 km in 2011.

Year19992005201020132020
Number of waste water treatment plants3334112145239
Capacity (MCM/yr)901606658001,200

Table 1: Evolution of wastewater treatment plants from 1999 to 2020.

This has ensured that almost 86% of the total population is connected to the network, with the percentage reaching 90% in urban areas and 82% in rural areas.[11] The aim is to extend the network to 54,000 km by 2020 to keep pace with population growth.[12]

In 2011, the sanitation infrastructure consisted of 134 sewage treatment plants with a total treatment capacity of 700 MCM/yr. A target of an additional 100 treatment plants by 2020 was set, which will increase the treatment capacity enough to achieve 100% treatment of the produced wastewater (Table 1).[13][14]

Environmental and health risks

A lack of integrated water management is exacerbating environmental and health risks across the country.

The declining water quality is acquiring worrying proportions, particularly in the north. Uncontrolled agricultural practices cause water quality degradation through return flows. In urban areas, water supply is at risk of biological and physico-chemical pollution because of the illegal and uncontrolled effluents in the waterways and waterbodies. This risk is amplified by outdated wastewater treatment plants that are not equipped to treat water polluted with heavy metals and pesticides.

Salinization is also a recurring issue that poses challenges for the management of water supply. Certain regions in the west of the country are mainly affected by high salinization rates, which have irreversibly degraded the irrigated agricultural plains. In the south, excessive pumping and uncontrolled irrigation are further salinizing the naturally saline soils and aquifers of the Complex Terminal. In coastal areas such as Oran, Algiers and Jijel, overexploitation of coastal aquifers is resulting in irremediable salt intrusion.[15][16]

Cholera in Algeria
Photo 2: Caricature by Dilem of the cholera outbreak in 2018. . (Source: Liberté ,Algerian daily newspaper, 20 September 2018)

Soil erosion is another major environmental challenge. In 2000, nearly 7.5 million hectares of land in the steppe zone were threatened by desertification and wind erosion. Water erosion threatens 12 million hectares in mountainous areas. There, soil erosion has resulted in siltation of dams, which has caused a reduction of 1.2 BCM in the storage capacity of surface reservoirs.[17]

Waterborne diseases have occasionally been reported, which pose a health risk that the authorities cannot always control. In 2018, 76 cholera cases were reported in six coastal provinces. Such outbreaks are typically a consequence of the old leaky sanitation infrastructure that contaminates water used for irrigation.[18]

[1] Bouchekima B, Bechki D, Bouguettaia H, Boughali S and Tayeb Meftah M, 2008. ‘The underground brackish waters in South Algeria: Potential and viable resources’. Laboratoire de Développement des Energies Nouvelles et Renouvelables dans les Zones Arides Sahariennes, Université de Ouargla.
[2] British Geological Survey, 2018. Africa Groundwater Atlas: Hydrogeology of Algeria.
[3] Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2009. Groundwater Management in Algeria: Draft Synthesis Report.
[4] Safar-Zitoun M, 2018. Plan National Secheresse Algerie: Deuxième Version. Convention des Nations Unies de Lutte contre la Désertification.
[5] Mozas M and Ghosn A, 2013. État des lieux du secteur de l’eau en Algérie. IPEMED.
[6] Jacobs C and van ‘t Klooster C, 2012. Water and agriculture in the Maghreb. Alterra, Wageningen-UR.
[7] Ennabli M, 2005. Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program, Water Quality Management: Algeria.
[8] Agence de Bassin Hydrographique, 2009. Qualité des eaux souterraines dans les bassins du Kebir-Rhumel, de la Seybousse et de la Medjerda-Mellegue, 2004-2007. Cahiers de l’Agence.
[9] Aylan B, 2019. ‘Malgré la revolution l’Algérie veut exploiter le gaz de schiste avec une société américaine’. Observ’Algérie.
[10] Sattar AA and Demmak AM, 2014. Algeria Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. MEWINA: Algeria Water Sector Monitoring.
[11] Xinhua, 2011. ‘Algeria’s drinking water supply increases by 3 times within a decade’.
[12] WASHwatch, 2019. Algeria.
[13] UNICEF and World Health Organization, 2015. Progress on Sanitation and Drinking Water – 2015 Update and MDG Assessment.
[14] Sattar AA and Demmak AM, 2014. Algeria Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. MEWINA: Algeria Water Sector Monitoring
[15] Safar-Zitoun M, 2018. Plan National Secheresse Algerie: Deuxième Version. Convention des Nations Unies de Lutte contre la Désertification.
[16]Sarraf M, 2004. Cost of Environmental Degradation. METAP (Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program). World Bank.
[17] Remini B, 2010. ‘La problématique de l’eau en Algérie du Nord’. Larhyss Journal, 8:36
[18]European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, 2018. Rapid risk assessment: Cholera outbreak in Algeria, 2018.