الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر / استهلاك المياه في الجزائر

استهلاك المياه في الجزائر

مخيمات تندوف استهلاك المياه في الجزائر
الصورة 1: صورة لمواطنة تسكب الماء في أحد مخيمات تندوف. المصدر : Adobe Stock, Louafi Larbi

الاستهلاك الحالي للمياه حسب القطاع وتحليل للعجز المحتمل

تتمتع الجزائر بموارد مائية طبيعية محدودة، وهي غير منتظمة وغير موزعة بشكل متساوٍ. وتقدر إمكانات المياه الطبيعية في البلاد بـ19 مليار متر مكعب في السنة، لكن الطلب مستمر في الارتفاع.

وقد تضاعف إجمالي الطلب أربع مرات على مدار الأربعين عاماً الماضية ويتجاوز حالياً أكثر من نصف حجم الموارد القابلة للتعبئة. وعند هذا المعدل، فمن المتوقع الوصول إلى الحد الأقصى لإمكانات الموارد المائية قبل عام 2050. وفي هذا السياق، تتطور منافسة قوية بين المستخدمين الرئيسيين، مما يزيد من الاختلالات في توفر الموارد بين المناطق ويجعل من الصعب اتخاذ قرارات التخصيص.[1] [2]
وقد اكتسبت مياه الشرب أولوية واضحة على الاستخدامات الأخرى، وهي أولوية منصوص عليها في قانون المياه الجزائري. وقد نمت حصة مياه الشرب بشكل كبير من 16% من إجمالي الاستهلاك في عام 1975 إلى 36% في عام 2019. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، فقد انخفضت حصة الزراعة من 80% إلى 60%، على الرغم من أنها لا تزال المستهلك الرئيسي للمياه (الشكل 1). [3]

تأتي إمدادات المياه بشكلٍ أساسي من المياه السطحية المخصصة من خلال الخزانات ومنشآت التخزين والنقل. وتعتبر المياه الجوفية مصدر المياه الرئيسي في الجنوب. وقد ازدادت أهمية موارد المياه غير التقليدية، مثل تحلية المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف، (الشكل 2).

وفي الجنوب على وجه الخصوص، الذي يمثل أكثر المناطق صعوبةً في إدارة المياه، تهيمن الزراعة على الطلب على المياه. يرجع هذا جزئياً إلى الاستثمارات الكبيرة في تطوير الأنشطة الزراعية في المنطقة. تتم مراجعة حجم المياه الجوفية المستخرجة للزراعة والصناعة سنوياً، إلا أن الكميات الفعلية غير واضحة، حيث أن البيانات متفرقة وغالباً ما تكون متناقضة.

  • الصناعات
  • البلديات
  • الزراعة

الشكل (1): النسبة المئوية لاستهلاك المياه حسب القطاع (2012).

  • تحلية المياه
  • المياه المعالجة
  • المياه السطحية
  • المياه الجوفية

الشكل (2): النسبة المئوية لسحب المياه حسب المصدر (2012).

  • المحلي
  • الصناعي
  • الزراعي

الشكل(3): الاستهلاك المتعدد للمياه الجوفية من نظام الطبقات المائية في شمال غرب الصحراء الكبرى.

الاستهلاك المتوقع للمياه بحلول عام 2030

بناءً على النمو السكاني والهجرة من الريف إلى الحضر وتوقعات حصة الفرد من الطلب على المياه، فمن المتوقع أن يبلغ إجمالي الطلب على المياه في جميع القطاعات حوالي 18,9 مليار متر مكعب بحلول عام 2030 (الجدول 2).[4]

تسمح الدراسات التخطيطية التي أجرتها وزارة الموارد المائية ببناء حوالي 70 سداً إضافياً عبر جميع أحواض الأنهار، بحيث تصل إلى 139 خزان بحلول عام 2030. يهدف هذا الاستثمار المكلف إلى زيادة توافر المياه بمقدار 5 مليار متر مكعب.

الاستهلاك2011 (مليار متر مكعب)2030 (مليار متر مكعب)
مياه الشرب (الحضري والريفي) والقطاع الصناعي2.93.5
الري8.615.4
الإجمالي 11.518.9

الجدول (1): التغييرات في الطلب على المياه في المستقبل، دون الأخذ بعين الإعتبار تغير المناخ (مليار متر مكعب)[5]

وسيتم بناء السدود المخطط لها في مناطق أبعد عن مكان استخدام المياه، مما يزيد نسبياً من طول شبكات النقل المتوقعة للمشروعات، من أجل إيصال الإمدادات إلى أقصى مساحة ممكنة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تم تنفيذ برنامج للحفاظ على المياه في القطاع الزراعي بهدف الحد بشكلٍ كبير من استخراج المياه وعوائد الري وبالتالي زيادة توافر المياه الجوفية وتلبية الطلب الحالي. ويُراد أن يتم تحقيق ذلك عن طريق استبدال إمدادات المياه الجوفية بالمياه السطحية، وزيادة التغذية الاصطناعية بالمياه المستصلحة، وتعزيز نظام المراقبة والعقوبات على أصحاب نسب الإستهلاك المرتفع وتقييد ضخ المياه الجوفية.

تعطي الإستراتيجية الوطنية الجزائرية لتنمية الموارد المائية مكانةً مهمة لاستغلال الموارد المائية غير التقليدية. ومن المتوقع أن يصل إنتاج المياه غير التقليدية إلى حوالي 3 مليار متر مكعب في عام 2030. والغرض من هذه المياه هو استخدامها لسقي المساحات الخضراء والميادين الرياضية وتطوير الري حول المناطق الحضرية.

استخدام المياه الزراعية وتطوير الري

على الرغم من أن القطاع الزراعي هو أكبر مستهلك للمياه في الجزائر، إلا أنه يساهم مساهمةً ضئيلة في إجمالي الناتج المحلي. تعتمد الزراعة في البلاد على كلٍ من المناطق المروية الكبيرة التي يديرها الديوان الوطني للسقي وصرف المياه وكذلك المناطق الصغيرة والمتوسطة الخاصة ومناطق الري. ومن المفترض أن يصل إجمالي المساحة المروية إلى 2 مليون هكتار في عام 2019 (الشكل 4).[6]

في الشمال، يتم ري المساحات الكبيرة من السدود والآبار. وفي الجنوب، يتم ري المساحات من الآبار العميقة في طبقات المياه الجوفية الكبيرة في الحوض المتداخل القاري. وفي الوقت ذاته، فقد تطورت مشاريع الري الصغيرة بشكلٍ ملحوظ، بفضل المساعدات الحكومية والإعانات الممنوحة للمزارعين وكذلك تحرير التنقيب وحفر الآبار. تسهم المحاصيل الرئيسية المنتجة في المزارع الصغيرة بشكل كبير في تلبية متطلبات الفاكهة والخضروات الطازجة لجميع السكان. وقد صاحب هذا التطور، لسوء الحظ، سحوبات كبيرة للمياه الجوفية لا تخضع للرقابة ، بل وصل الأمر إلى حد الاستغلال المفرط لبعض طبقات المياه الجوفية الكبيرة.

الشكل (4): تطور المساحات المروية.

لا يزال الري الانسيابي الطريقة الأكثر استخداماً في المزارع الصغيرة والمتوسطة. ومع ذلك، فإن طرق الري الأكثر كفاءة تكتسب زخماً، وخاصة الري بالتنقيط، والذي يشيع استخدامه في المناطق المرتفعة القاحلة وفي الصحراء.

[1] FAO Aquastat, 2015. Algeria.
[2] GIZ/BGR/OSS, 2016. Projet CREM: Etude d’évaluation du secteur de l’eau en Algérie, Etat des Lieux.
[3] FAO Aquastat, 2015. Algeria.
[4]Hamiche A, Stambouli A and Flazi S, 2016. ‘A review on the water and energy sectors in Algeria: Current forecasts, scenario and sustainability issues’. Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, 41:261-276.
[5] Ibid.
[6] GIZ/BGR/OSS, 2016. Projet CREM: Etude d’évaluation du secteur de l’eau en Algérie, Etat des Lieux.

Home / Algeria / Water Use in Algeria

Water Use in Algeria

Camp Tindouf in Algeria Water use in Algeria
Photo 1: Citizen pours water at a camp in Tindouf. (Taken by : Louafi Larbi)

Current water uses per sector and analysis of possible deficit

Algeria has limited natural water resources, and these are irregular and unequally distributed. The country’s natural water potential is estimated at 19 BCM/yr, but demand continues to increase.

The overall demand has quadrupled over the last 40 years and currently exceeds more than half the volume of potentially mobilizable resources. At this rate, the maximum limit of hydraulic potential is projected to be reached before 2050. In this context, strong competition is developing between the major users, adding to imbalances in resource availability between regions and making allocation decisions difficult.[1] [2]

Drinking water has acquired a clear priority over other uses, a priority that is enshrined in Algerian water legislation. The share of drinking water has grown considerably from 16% of overall consumption in 1975 to 36% in 2019. By contrast, during the same period, agriculture’s share fell from 80% to 60%, even though it remains the leading consumer (Figure 1).[3]

The water supply mainly comes from surface water allocated through reservoirs, storage facilities and transfers. Groundwater is the main water source in the south. Non-conventional water resources, such as desalination and treated wastewater, are becoming increasingly important (Figure 2).

  • Industries
  • Municipalities
  • Agriculture

Figure 1: Percentage of water consumption by sector (2012).

  • Desalination
  • Treated water
  • Surface water
  • Groundwater

Figure 2: Percentage of water withdrawals by source (2012).

Particularly in the south, which represents the most challenging region for water management, water demand is dominated by agriculture. This is partly the result of major investments in the development of agricultural activities in the area. The volume of groundwater abstracted for agriculture and industry is reviewed annually, but the actual volumes are unclear, as data are scattered and often contradictory.

  • Domestic
  • Industrial
  • Agricultural

Figure 3: Multiple uses of groundwater ((MCM/year)) from the North-Western Sahara Aquifer System).

Projected water use for 2030

Based on population growth, rural-to-urban migration and per capita water demand projections, the overall water demand for all sectors is projected to be approximately 18.9 BCM by 2030 (Table 1).[4]

The planning studies conducted by the Ministry of Water Resources allow the construction of around 70 additional dams across all river basins, reaching a total of 139 reservoirs by 2030.

Usage2011 (BCM)2030 (BCM)
Drinking (urban and rural) and industrial2.93.5
Irrigation8.615.4
Total 11.518.9

Table 1: Changes to future water demand, not taking climate change into account, in BCM.[5]

This costly investment intends to raise water availability by 5 BCM. The planned dams are to be built further and further from the place of water use, proportionally increasing the projected transfer length of the projects, in order to supply to a maximum possible area.

At the same time, a water conservation program has been implemented in the agricultural sector with the aim to significantly reduce water abstractions and irrigation returns and thus increase the groundwater availability and meet the current demand. This is intended to be achieved by substituting groundwater supply with surface water, increasing artificial recharge with reclaimed water and strengthening the monitoring and sanctions system for over-users and the restriction on groundwater pumping.

The Algerian National Strategy for Development of Water Resources gives a significant place to the exploitation of non-conventional water resources. Non-conventional water production is forecasted to be nearly 3 BCM in 2030. This water is intended to be used for watering green spaces and sports fields and developing irrigation around urban areas.

Agricultural water use and irrigation development

Despite the agricultural sector being the largest water consumer in Algeria, it makes a minimal contribution to GDP. Agriculture is based on both large irrigated perimeters managed by the National Office of Irrigation and Drainage as well as privately owned small and medium perimeters and irrigation areas. The total irrigated area is intended to reach 2 million hectares in 2019 (Figure 4).[6]

In the north, large perimeters are irrigated from dams and boreholes. In the south, perimeters are irrigated from deep boreholes in the large aquifers of the Continental Interlayer. At the same time, small-scale irrigation schemes have developed remarkably, thanks to state aid and subsidies granted to farmers as well as the liberalization of drilling and well digging. The main crops produced on small-scale farms contribute significantly to meeting the fresh fruit and vegetable requirements of the entire population.

Figure 4: Evolution of irrigated perimeters.

This development has, unfortunately, been accompanied by large and poorly controlled abstractions of groundwater and even overexploitation of some large aquifers.

Gravity irrigation is still the most widely used method on small- and medium-scale farms. However, more efficient irrigation methods have been gaining traction, especially drip irrigation, which is commonly observed in the arid highlands and Saharan regions.

[1] FAO Aquastat, 2015. Algeria.
[2] GIZ/BGR/OSS, 2016. Projet CREM: Etude d’évaluation du secteur de l’eau en Algérie, Etat des Lieux.
[3] FAO Aquastat, 2015. Algeria.
[4]Hamiche A, Stambouli A and Flazi S, 2016. ‘A review on the water and energy sectors in Algeria: Current forecasts, scenario and sustainability issues’. Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, 41:261-276.
[5] Ibid.
[6] GIZ/BGR/OSS, 2016. Projet CREM: Etude d’évaluation du secteur de l’eau en Algérie, Etat des Lieux.