الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر / إدارة المياه في الجزائر

إدارة المياه في الجزائر

سد بني هارون
الصورة 1: سد بني هارون.( المصدر : Abdelmalek Bermad)

تركز استراتيجية إدارة المياه في الجزائر على الاستفادة القصوى من الموارد المائية الحالية من خلال إعادة التوزيع وزيادة سعة التخزين وتحلية المياه. ومع ذلك، فبالنسبة لبلدٍ يوفر بعض أقل أسعار المياه في المنطقة، تعتمد الجزائر اعتماداً كبيراً على حلولٍ باهظة التكلفة لإدارة المياه. ومن دون الاستثمار الحكومي، فسيستمر توافر وجودة إمدادات المياه في الانخفاض. ومع ذلك، فلا يمكن للحكومة دفع الفاتورة بالكامل؛ وسيكون الاستثمار الخاص ضرورياً لحماية إمدادات المياه.[1]

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

إن الدولة هي السلطة الوحيدة المسؤولة عن إدارة الموارد المائية والوظائف ذات الصلة. ومع ذلك، وفي مواجهة التكلفة الباهظة لإدارة هذا القطاع، فقد فوضت وزارة الموارد المائية بعض المهام إلى الجهات الفاعلة في القطاع الخاص المصرح لها بالقيام بأعمال التوصيل والصرف وكذلك بناء السدود والآبار.

وقد مر تنظيم القطاع بعدة تكراراتٍ للهيكلة مع مرور الوقت:

1962-1970: تم تقسيم أنشطة إدارة المياه بين وزارتين: الأشغال العمومية والزراعة.
1970-1989: وضعت جميع المهام المتعلقة بالمياه تحت إشراف السكرتير الأول للدولة للهيدروليكا، ثم وزارة الهيدروليكا وتطوير الأراضي وحماية البيئة، ثم وزارة الهيدروليكا وأخيراً وزارة البيئة والغابات.
1990 حتى الآن: تم إنشاء وزارة الموارد المائية وكلفت بالإشراف على القطاع بأكمله.

إن جميع أنشطة إدارة المياه هي لا مركزية للمؤسسات العامة المحلية، وتعمل تحت إشراف وزارة الموارد المائية. وقد تم إنشاء العديد من المنظمات لضمان مراقبة أفضل للأنشطة والوظائف المتعلقة بالمياه، وأهمها:[2]

● الوكالة الوطنية للسدود والتحويلات الكبرى؛
● الوكالة الوطنية للموارد المائية؛
● الجزائرية للمياه؛
● الديوان الوطني للتطهير؛
● الديوان الوطني للسقي وصرف المياه؛
● الوكالة الوطنية للإدارة المتكاملة للمواريد المائية؛
● مكتب التحكم الفني للموارد المائية؛
● وكالات مستجمعات المياه؛
● شرطة المياه.

القوانين واللوائح المعمول بها وتلك قيد الإعداد

بعد الاستقلال، اعتمدت الجزائر سياسة احتكارية على المياه، من خلال البرامج المختلفة التي تم تنفيذها بين عامي 1962 و1990. ونظراً للمنافسة القوية على المياه بين السكان والزراعة والصناعة، تعتبر الدولة الكيان الوحيد المصرح له بتنظيم استخدام واستهلاك موارد المياه. ينبع الإطار القانوني الذي يسمح بالتدخل من القانون 83-17 الصادر في يوليو 2003 والذي تم تعديله في يونيو 1996، وقد أظهر بالفعل تقييداته فيما يتعلق بالإدارة المتكاملة.[3]

ويفتقر الإطار القانوني لإدارة المياه فيما يتعلق بالنظام المؤسسي والاقتصادي الحالي إلى أدوات الإدارة المناسبة التي تسمح له بمواكبة تطور الموارد المائية غير التقليدية، وخاصة تحلية مياه البحر وإعادة استخدام المياه العادمة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تفشل شرطة المياه في تطبيق القوانين والقيود المتعلقة بإزالة الغابات، والتوصيلات غير القانونية على شبكات التوزيع واستخدام المواد الملوثة.

تمويل قطاع المياه

إن التناقض بين وجهات النظر المتعارضة عن المياه كسلعةٍ قابلة للتسويق وكموردٍ يمكن للجميع الوصول إليه لم يحل بعد. وتقدر تكلفة المتر المكعب الواحد من المياه في السدود بـ 0,50 دولار، في حين تبلغ تكلفة التوزيع ما بين 0,25 إلى 0,30 دولار، وبتكلفة إجمالية تتراواح ما بين 0,75 إلى 0,80 دولار للمتر المكعب. وفي عام 1997، تم دعم 77% من تكلفة المياه، إلا أن الدعم آخذٌ في التناقص. ويتم تلخيص استراتيجية الاستثمار الوطنية في الجدول 1.

تعتمد تكلفة المتر المكعب من الماء بشكلٍ أساسي على مستوى أداء الشركة المسؤولة عن إدارة المياه. لهذا السبب قررت وزارة الموارد المائية في عام 2005 تفويض التوزيع لشركات دولية خاصة تمتلك أدوات أداء أفضل، بموجب اتفاقيات شراكة قابلة للتجديد كل خمس سنوات.

الاستثمار (مليون دولار)تعبئة الموارد المائيةالصرف الصحيتوافر المياهالزراعة
المدى القصير15307470177015920
المدى المتوسط96019409402850
المدى الطويل-3301470530

الجدول (1): استراتيجية الاستثمار الوطني.[4]

دور القطاع الخاص في إدارة المياه

في عام 2005، فوضت السلطات توزيع المياه لشركاتٍ دولية خاصة، وهي خطوة تهدف إلى نقل الخبرة والدراية الفنية في تكنولوجيا إمدادات مياه الشرب لتحسين رفاهية الأسر الجزائرية.

في القطاع الزراعي، تعتبر الاتحادات والجمعيات مسؤولةً عن ضمان توزيع المياه، بناءً على نهج المساواة بين مختلف المناطق المروية. فنظام الفقارة، على سبيل المثال، يديره المزارعون أنفسهم، مما يوضح شراكة حقيقية بين السلطات وأصحاب المصلحة.

Home / Algeria / Water Management in Algeria

Water Management in Algeria

Beni Haroun Dam إدارة المياه في الجزائر
Photo 1: Beni Haroun Dam. (Source: Abdelmalek Bermad)

Algeria’s water management strategy focuses on making the most of existing water resources through redistribution and increased storage and desalination capacity. Yet for a country with some of the lowest water prices in the region, Algeria relies heavily on expensive water management solutions. Without government investment, the availability and quality of the water supply will continue to decline. However, the government cannot foot the entire bill; private investment will be necessary to safeguard the water supply.[1]

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

The state is the sole authority over water resource governance and related functions. However, faced with the high cost of managing the sector, the Ministry of Water Resources has delegated some tasks to private sector actors who are authorized to carry out connection and drainage work as well as the construction of dams and boreholes.

The organization of the sector has gone through several iterations over time:

1962-1970: Water management activities were divided between two ministries: Public Works and Agriculture.

1970-1989: All water-related tasks were brought under the State Secretary for Hydraulics, then the Ministry of Hydraulics for the Development of Land and Environment, then the Ministry of Hydraulics and finally the Ministry of the Environment and Forests.

1990-present: the Ministry of Water Resources was established and assigned oversight of the entire sector.

All water management activities are decentralized to local public institutions, under the supervision of the Ministry of Water Resources. Several organizations have been created to ensure better monitoring of activities and functions related to water, the most important being:[2]

  • National Dams and Transfers Agency;
  • National Hydraulics Resource Agency;
  • Algerian for Water;
  • National Agency for Sanitation;
  • National Agency of Irrigation and Drainage;
  • National Agency for Integrated Water Resources Management;
  • Technical Control Office of Hydraulics;
  • Watershed agencies;
  • Water police.

Laws and regulations that are in use or in preparation

After independence, Algeria adopted a monopolistic water policy, through the various programmes implemented between 1962 and 1990. Given the strong competition for water between the population, agriculture and industry, the state is the only entity that is authorized to regulate the use and consumption of water resources. The legal framework that allows the intervention stems from Law 83-17 passed in July 2003 and amended in June 1996, and has already shown its limitations in terms of integrated management.[3]

The legal framework for water governance with regards to the current institutional and economic system lacks suitable management instruments that allows it to keep up with the development of non-conventional water resources, particularly seawater desalination and wastewater reuse.

In addition, the water police fail to enforce laws and restrictions regarding deforestation, illegal connections on distribution networks and the use of polluting substances.

Financing of the water sector

The paradox between the opposing views of water as a marketable commodity and as a resource accessible to all has yet to be solved. The cost of a cubic metre of water in dams is estimated at $0.50, whereas the cost of distribution is $0.25-0.30, amounting to a total cost of $0.75-0.80 per cubic metre. In 1997, 77% of the cost of water was subsidized, but subsidies have been decreasing. The national investment strategy is outlined in Table 1.

The cost of a cubic metre of water depends mainly on the performance level of the company in charge of water management. That is why in 2005 the Ministry of Water Resources decided to delegate distribution to private international companies with better performance tools, under partnership agreements renewable every five years.

Investment (Millions $)AgricultureWater availabilitySewageWater resource mobilisation
Short term15307470177015920
Medium term96019409402850
Long term-3301470530

Table 1: National investment strategy.[4]

Role of the private sector in water management

In 2005, the authorities delegated water distribution to private international companies, a move aimed at transferring experience and know-how in drinking water supply technology to improve the well-being of Algerian households.

In the agricultural sector, trade unions and associations are responsible for ensuring water distribution, based on an equity approach between the different irrigated perimeters. The foggara system, for example, is managed by the farmers themselves, which illustrates a real partnership between authorities and stakeholders.