الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر

قطر

الدوحة قطر، المياه في قطر
الصورة 1: الدوحة، قطر. المصدر: (waseemlazkani, Pixabay)

على الرغم من كون قطر من الدول التي تعاني ندرةً في المياه، إلا أنها أيضاً واحدةً من أعلى الدول في معدل استهلاك المياه للفرد الواحد في العالم، إذ يبلغ الاستهلاك حوالي 500 لتر/ للفرد/ اليوم. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن التطورات الضخمة في البنى التحتية ومستويات المعيشة المرتفعة تؤدي إلى زيادة الطلب على المياه. تعتمد قطر، إلى حدٍ كبير، على تحلية مياه البحر واستخراج المياه الجوفية، بينما يقل اعتمادها على مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، لتلبية احتياجاتها من المياه.

استثمرت الدولة مبالغ كبيرة في تطوير وتنفيذ استراتيجيات لتحسين أمنها المائي، بما في ذلك استراتيجيات الحفاظ على المياه وتوسيع إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تبلغ مساحة قطر حوالي 11,586 كيلومتر مربع، ويبلغ أقصى طول لها 180 كم على طول المحور بين الشمال والجنوب و85 كم عند أوسع نقطة. تقع قطر في شبه الجزيرة العربية القاحلة، وتقع على الخليج العربي وتحدها من الجنوب السعودية فقط. ينخفض ارتفاع البلاد من 100 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر في الجنوب إلى أقل من 50 متراً في الشمال.[1]

قطر
الخريطة (1): خريطة قطر. @Fanack water

تتمتع قطر بمناخ صحراوي يتميز بمحدودية هطول الأمطار بمعدل 80 ملم سنوياً، ودرجات حرارة عالية خلال فصل الصيف (أعلى من 40 درجة مئوية) ومعدلات تبخر عالية تبلغ 2200 ملم سنوياً. يتراوح التبخر من أقل من 2 ملم في اليوم في ديسمبر إلى 10 ملم/ اليوم كحد أقصى في يونيو.[2] تظهر مستويات هطول الأمطار بين عامي 2010 و2017 في الجدول 1.

الجدول 1: هطول الأمطار (ملم) في محطات المراقبة المختارة (2010-2017). مصدر البيانات: الهيئة العامة للطيران المدني.[3]

المحطة (مليمتر)20102011201220132014201520162017
مسيعيد24.430.317.636.67395.469.792.2
اَلرُّؤَيْس33.893.84098.356.582.549.8129.7
دخان1033.835.854.744.672.166.490.8
مطار الدوحة الدولي33.170.523.941.652.4114.5101.178.4
الكرعانة27.122.032.956.353.437.533.666.2
الأمطار في قطر
الخريطة (2): الهطول المطري في قطر. @Fanack water

السكان

ارتفع عدد سكان قطر من 100,883 نسمة عام 1969 إلى 2,78 مليون نسمة عام 2018 (الشكل 1)، حيث قد نما بمعدل سنوي متوسط قدره 7,1% (الشكل 2).[4] وبلغ أحدث تعداد سكاني 2,646,854 نسمة في أبريل 2021.[5] يعيش ما بين 80% إلى 90% من السكان في 10% إلى 15% فقط من إجمالي المساحة الجغرافية للبلاد، ومن بين المناطق الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان: العاصمة الدوحة، والريان، وأم صلال، والوكرة، ومسيعيد، والخور، وراس لفان، والشمال ودخان. كما يُشكل المغتربون ما نسبته حوالي 86% من السكان.[6]

الشكل 1: النمو السكاني (1986-2019).[7]

الشكل 2: معدل النمو السكاني (%) (1970-2018).[8]

الاقتصاد

بلغ الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في عام 2020، 146.37 مليار دولار أمريكي.[9] يوضح الشكل (3) معدل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بين عامي 2001 و2021. وقد ارتفع نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (بسعر الدولار الحالي) من 29,976 دولار في عام 2000 إلى 50,805 دولار في عام 2020، بمعدل نمو سنوي متوسط نسبته 6,96%.[10]

في عام 2016، قد ساهم النفط والغاز بحوالي 49,5% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (بالأسعار الثابتة لعام 2013)، وساهم قطاعا الكهرباء والمياه بما يقرب من 0,5% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، في حين كانت مساهمة قطاعات الزراعة والثروة الحيوانية والثروة السمكية حوالي 0,1% فقط من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

وخلال الفترة 2011-2016 (بالأسعار الثابتة لعام 2013)، ساهمت قطاعات الكهرباء والمياه ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة بنحو 0,4% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي و1,2% من إجمالي العمالة.[11]

الشكل (3): معدل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي (%) (1992-2016).[12]

[1] FAO Aquastat, 2008. Qatar.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[4] Islamic Development Bank, n.d. Health, nutrition and population statistics.
[5] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2021. Qatar census 2021.
[6] Available at: https://www.go-gulf.qa/expats-in-qatar-statistics-and-trends-infographic/.
[7] Planning and Statistics Authority, 12019. Population and Social Statistics.
[8] The World Bank DataBank, n.d. Health, nutrition and population statistics.
[9] The World Bank DataBank, n.d.
[10] Ibid.
[11] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2017. Qatar in Figures, 32nd issue.
[12] The World Bank DataBank, n.d.

Home / Qatar

Qatar

Doha, Qatar
Photo 1: Doha, Qatar. (Source: waseemlazkani, Pixabay)

Although Qatar is considered to be a water-scarce country, it has one of the highest per capita water consumption rates in the world, at around 500 litres per capita per day (L/cap./d). Massive infrastructure developments and higher standards of living are increasing water demand. Qatar depends largely on seawater desalination and groundwater abstraction, and less on treated wastewater, to meet its water needs.

The country has invested large sums in developing and implementing strategies to improve its water security, including water conservation strategies and expansion of treated wastewater reuse.

Geography and climate

Qatar covers an area of about 11,586 km2, with a maximum length of 180 km along the north-south axis and 85 km at its widest point. Qatar lies in the arid Arabian Peninsula, located on the Persian Gulf and bounded only from the south by Saudi Arabia. The elevation of the country decreases from 100 metres above sea level in the south to less than 50 metres in the north. [1]

Qatar
Map 1: Map of Qatar. @Fanack water

Qatar has a desert climate that is characterized by limited rainfall averaging 80 millimetres annually, high temperatures during the summer (>40 °C) and high evaporation rates of 2,200 millimetres per year (mm/yr). Evapotranspiration ranges from less than 2 millimetres per day (mm/d) in December to a maximum of 10 mm/d in June.[2] Rainfall levels between 2010 and 2017 are shown in Table 1.

Table 1: Rainfall (mm) at selected monitoring stations (2010-2017). Data source: Civil Aviation General Authority.[3]

Station (mm)20102011201220132014201520162017
Umm Said24.430.317.636.67395.469.792.2
Al-Ruwais33.893.84098.356.582.549.8129.7
Dukhan1033.835.854.744.672.166.490.8
Doha International Airport33.170.523.941.652.4114.5101.178.4
Al-Karaana27.122.032.956.353.437.533.666.2
rainfall in Qatar
Map 2: Rainfall map of Qatar. @Fanack water

Population

Qatar’s population increased from 369,079 in 1968 to 2.80 million in 2019 (Figure 1), growing at an average annual rate of 7.1% (Figure 2).[4] The most recent population census was 2,646,854 in April 2021.[5] Between 80% and 90% of the population lives in just 10% to 15% of the total geographic area of the country. Among the most populated areas, the capital Doha, al-Rayyan, Umm Slal, al-Wakra, Mesaieed, al-Khor, Ras Laffan, al-Shamal and Dukhan are important. Expats amount to around 86% of the population. [6]

Figure 1: Population growth (1986-2019).[7]

Figure 2: Population growth rate (%) (1970-2018).[8]

Economy

In 2020, gross domestic product (GDP) was $146.37 billion.[9] Figure 3 shows the GDP growth rate between 2001 and 2020. GDP per capita (current $) increased from $29,976 in 2000 to $50.805 in 2020. [10]

In 2016, oil and gas contributed about 49.5% of GDP (in 2013 constant prices), the electricity and water sectors contributed nearly 0.5% of GDP, while the contribution of the agriculture, livestock and fishery sectors was only around 0.1% of GDP.

Over the period 2011-2016 (in 2013 constant prices), the electricity, water and treated wastewater sectors contributed approximately 0.4% of GDP and 1.2% of total employment.[11]

Figure 3: Annual GDP growth rate (%) (2001-2020).[12]

[1] FAO Aquastat, 2008. Qatar.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[4] Islamic Development Bank, n.d. Health, nutrition and population statistics.
[5] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2021. Qatar census 2021.
[6] Available at: https://www.go-gulf.qa/expats-in-qatar-statistics-and-trends-infographic/.
[7] Planning and Statistics Authority, 12019. Population and Social Statistics.
[8] The World Bank DataBank, n.d. Health, nutrition and population statistics.
[9] The World Bank DataBank, n.d.
[10] Ibid.
[11] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2017. Qatar in Figures, 32nd issue.
[12] The World Bank DataBank, n.d.