الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر / ما الذي يحمله المستقبل لواقع المياه في قطر؟

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل لواقع المياه في قطر؟

الدوحة قطر - المياه في قطر
الصورة 1: لؤلؤة قطر، الدوحة. المصدر: (Konevi, Pixabay)

الخطوط العريضة لاستراتيجية طويلة المدى

على مر السنين، أطلقت الحكومة القطرية العديد من الاستراتيجيات التي تعزز الاستخدام المستدام والفعال للمياه، والتي تهدف إلى تحقيق الأمن المائي.

رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030

تم إطلاق رؤية قطر الوطنية في عام 2008 من قبل الأمانة العامة للتخطيط التنموي، وهي بمثابة خريطة طريق لمستقبل قطر من خلال موازنة النمو الاقتصادي مع الموارد البشرية والطبيعية. تهدف الرؤية إلى تحويل قطر إلى دولة متقدمة بحلول عام 2030، قادرة على الحفاظ على تنميتها وتوفير مستوى معيشي مرتفع لجميع سكانها لأجيال قادمة. تتكون رؤية قطر الوطنية من أربع ركائز: التنمية البشرية، والتنمية الاجتماعية، والتنمية الاقتصادية، والتنمية البيئية. [1]

استراتيجية قطر الوطنية للبحوث (QNRS)

توفر استراتيجية قطر الوطنية للبحوث، والتي تم نشرها لأول مرة في عام 2012، الأساس لبرنامج البحوث الوطني لتطوير قدرات الباحثين والمؤسسات. تبني استراتيجية قطر الوطنية للبحوث 2014 على الإنجازات السابقة مع التركيز على التحديات الحالية في قطر. كما توفر إطار عمل منظم لأهداف البحث والتطوير الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر وتساعد على دفع خطط البرامج ومقاييس الأداء من خلال توجيه صنّاع القرار لتحديد فرص الاستثمار في برامج البحث والتطوير التي تعالج الأولويات الوطنية الحاسمة والتقدم نحو رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030.[2]

استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية

تم تطوير استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية الأولى، والتي غطت الفترة 2011-2016، لتقديم إرشادات حول أهداف وغايات رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 وتشجيع التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية والبيئية، مما يؤدي إلى ازدهار أكثر لقطر وتحديد وتيرة الاستراتيجيات الوطنية المستقبلية لدفع المزيد من التقدم. تعتمد استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية الثانية، للفترة 2018-2022، على الإنجازات والدروس المستفادة من استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية الأولى وتستمر في دعم تنفيذ رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، بالإضافة إلى تحسين الأداء الاقتصادي والجوانب المستقبلية. تتعهد الاستراتيجية بترشيد استهلاك المياه وتشجيع استخدام موارد المياه غير التقليدية، من بين جوانب مفتاحية أخرى. [3]

استراتيجيات ومشاريع ترشيد

تشمل الحملة الوطنية للحفاظ على المياه والكهرباء واستخدامها بكفاءة، والمعروفة باسم ترشد، العديد من الاستراتيجيات والمشاريع التي تهدف إلى تحقيق أهداف الحملة الوطنية، والتي تركز على الكفاءة في الاستهلاك (انظر أيضاً قسم “تحديات المياه“).

الخلاصة وملخص التطورات الإيجابية والسلبية

نظراً لحقيقة أن التنمية الأخيرة والنمو السكاني قد ألحقا ضغطاً كبيراً على مواردها المائية، فقد استثمرت قطر في تطوير الاستراتيجيات الوطنية، وتحسين البنية التحتية للمياه، وتعزيز الاستخدام المستدام للمياه، وإطلاق حملات التوعية بالمياه والمحافظة عليها. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، تواجه البلاد تحدياتٍ مثل ارتفاع معدلات الاستهلاك المحلي. وبناءً على اتجاهات استهلاك المياه في عام 2011، فقد كان من المتوقع أن يزيد استهلاك المياه بنسبة 5,4% سنوياً للقطريين و7% سنوياً للوافدين حتى عام 2020. [4] [5] ويمكن النظر في العديد من التحسينات للتغلب على هذه التحديات المتعلقة بالمياه، بما في ذلك:

  • زيادة إنتاج وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي. وهذا يتطلب توسيع نطاق تغطية شبكات جمع مياه الصرف الصحي وجذب استثمارات القطاع الخاص.
  • تحسين إدارة المياه الزراعية عن طريق تركيب أنظمة الري الحديثة، واستخدام أنماط المحاصيل المناسبة، وتحسين كفاءة الري، والتحكم في استخراج المياه من الآبار، واستخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة بشكل متزايد في الزراعة.
  • تطوير الحوافز للحد من الاستهلاك المنزلي للمياه. يعد استهلاك المياه أعلى بين القطريين من العمالة الوافدة، مما يشير إلى الحاجة إلى تغيير السلوكيات والمواقف تجاه الحفاظ على المياه.
  • التحول إلى التحلية القائمة على الطاقة المتجددة لتقليل الانبعاثات من محطات تحلية المياه وتكاليف الطاقة الخاصة بها.
  • الاستفادة من إنتاج الغاز الطبيعي والنفط لضمان تحسين إمدادات مياه الشرب الحضرية وخدمات الصرف الصحي.

أخيراً، تحتاج قطر إلى تطوير استراتيجية متكاملة لإدارة موارد المياه وتنفيذ برنامج لإدارة الطلب على المياه لتقليل الطلب على المياه للفرد، وإجراء حملات توعية عامة إضافية، وتحديث نظام تعرفة المياه الحالي ومواصلة الحد من التسرب والخسائر في نظام إمدادات المياه.

[1] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2017. Qatar National Vision 2030.
[2] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ismail H, 2015. Food and Water Security in Qatar: Part 2 – Water Resources. Global Food and Water Crises Research Programme.
[5] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.

Home / Qatar / What Does the Future Hold for Water in Qatar?

What Does the Future Hold for Water in Qatar?

The Pearl-Qatar, Doha, Water in Qatar
Photo 1: The Pearl-Qatar, Doha, Qatar. (Source: Konevi, Pixabay)

Outline of long-term strategy

Over the years, the Qatari government has launched several strategies promoting sustainable and efficient use of water, aimed at achieving water security.

Qatar National Vision (QNV) 2030

Launched in 2008 by the General Secretariat for Development Planning, the QNV serves as a roadmap for Qatar’s future by balancing economic growth with human and natural resources. The vision aims at transforming Qatar into an advanced country by 2030, capable of sustaining its own development and providing for a high standard of living for all of its people for generations to come. The QNV has four pillars: human development, social development, economic development and environmental development.[1]

Qatar National Research Strategy (QNRS)

First published in 2012, the QNRS provides the basis for the national research programme to develop the capabilities of researchers and institutions. The QNRS 2014 builds on previous achievements with a focus on Qatar’s current challenges. It provides a structured framework for the Qatar Foundation’s research and development objectives and helps to drive the programme plans and measures of performance by guiding decision makers in identifying investment opportunities in research and development programmes that address critical national priorities and progress towards the QNV 2030.[2]

National Development Strategy

The first National Development Strategy (NDS-1), which covered the period 2011-2016, was developed to provide guidance on the goals and objectives of the QNV 2030 and encourage economic, social, cultural and environmental development, thus leading to a more prosperous Qatar and setting the pace for future national strategies to drive further progress. The NDS-2 for the period 2018-2022 builds on the achievements of and lessons learned from the NDS-1 and continues to support implementation of the QNV 2030, in addition to improving economic performance and future aspects. The strategy pledges to rationalize water consumption and encourage the use of non-conventional water resources, among other key aspects.[3]

Tarsheed strategies and projects

The National Campaign for Conservation and Efficient Use of Water and Electricity, known as Tarsheed, encompasses numerous strategies and projects aimed at meeting the targets of the national campaign, which focuses on efficiency in consumption (see also the ‘Water Challenges’ section).

Conclusion and summary of positive and negative developments

Owing to the fact that recent development and population growth have put significant pressure on its water resources, Qatar has invested in developing national strategies, improving water infrastructure, enhancing sustainable water use and launching water awareness and conservation campaigns. Despite this, the country faces challenges such as high domestic consumption rates. Based on water consumption trends in 2011, water consumption was projected to increase 5.4% annually for Qataris and 7% annually for expats to 2020.[4] [5] Several improvements to overcome these water-related challenges can be considered, including:

  • Increasing the production and reuse of wastewater. This requires expanding the coverage of the sewage collection networks and attracting private sector investment.
  • Improving agricultural water management by installing modern irrigation systems, using appropriate crops patterns, improving irrigation efficiency, controlling well abstractions and increasingly using treated wastewater in agriculture.
  • Developing incentives to reduce domestic water use. Water use is higher among Qataris than expats, indicating a need to change behaviours around and attitudes towards water conservation.
  • Shifting to renewable energy-based desalination to reduce the emissions from and the energy costs of desalination plants.
  • Utilizing natural gas and oil production to secure improved urban drinking water supply and sanitation services.

Finally, Qatar needs to develop an integrated water resources management strategy and implement a water demand management programme to reduce per capita water demand, conduct additional public awareness campaigns, upgrade the current water tariff system and continue to reduce leakages and losses in the water supply system.

[1] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2017. Qatar National Vision 2030.
[2] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ismail H, 2015. Food and Water Security in Qatar: Part 2 – Water Resources. Global Food and Water Crises Research Programme.
[5] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.