الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر / موارد المياه في قطر

موارد المياه في قطر

خليج الدوحة، موارد المياه في قطر
الصورة 1: خليج الدوحة، قطر. المصدر: (Qatar Airways, Flickr)

لا توجد موارد مائية سطحية عذبة في قطر، مما يجعل هطول الأمطار والمياه الجوفية تغذي موارد المياه العذبة الرئيسية. تأتي الموارد المائية الرئيسية للبلاد من تحلية المياه، والمياه الجوفية وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة (الشكل 1).

وقد ارتفع إجمالي إنتاج المياه من هذه الموارد الثلاثة من 220 مليون متر مكعب عام 1990 إلى 912 مليون متر مكعب عام 2016.[1] [2]

  • تحلية المياه
  • المياه الجوفية
  • استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة

الشكل (1): توزيع الموارد المائية في قطر.[3]

المياه الجوفية

تمتلك قطر مصدرين رئيسيين للمياه الجوفية، هما طبقة مياه الرس وأم الرضمة. تساهم تغذية الأمطار بنسبة 43,4% من احتياطي المياه الجوفية، ويساهم التدفق من المملكة العربية السعودية، والذي ينشأ من طبقة جوفية ارتوازية مشتركة، بنسبة 2%، بينما تساهم التغذية الاصطناعية من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة بنسبة 54,6%.[4] وكما هو موضح في الخريطة (1)، تمتلك قطر أربعة أحواض رئيسية للمياه الجوفية، وهي الحوض الشمالي، والحوض الجنوبي وحوض الدوحة وحوض العلات. ويوضح الجدول (1) التوازن المائي الطبيعي طويل الأجل لموارد المياه الجوفية في قطر بين عامي 1998 و2016.

المياه الجوفية في قطر, مصادر المياه في قطر
الخريطة (1): أحواض المياه الجوفية في قطر. @Fanack water

يتجاوز استخراج المياه الجوفية، والذي يلبي حالياً 30% من إجمالي الطلب على المياه، معدلات إعادة التغذية.[5]في عام 2017، وصل استخراج المياه الجوفية إلى 250,8 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، بينما بلغ السحب الآمن للمياه الجوفية 55,8 مليون متر مكعب/السنة، [6] مما تسبب في استنزاف طبقات المياه الجوفية، وتسرب مياه البحر وزيادة الملوحة. يتم استخدام حوالي 230 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه المستخرجة من المياه الجوفية – أو حوالي 92% من إجمالي السحب – للأغراض الزراعية. وخلال الفترة من 2008 إلى 2016، قد تراوح العجز السنوي في المياه، والذي نتج بشكل أساسي عن استخراج المياه الجوفية، من 97 مليون متر مكعب في السنة إلى 158 مليون متر مكعب في السنة.[7]

الجدول (1): توازن المياه الطبيعية في طبقات المياه الجوفية في قطر (المتوسط السنوي 1998-2016).[8]

رقمالموازنة المائيةمليون متر مكعب/ السنةمصدر البيانات
1إعادة تغذية طبقة المياه الجوفية من الأمطار71.6كهرماء ووزارة البلدية والبيئة (المتوسط السنوي طويل الأجل 1998-2017)
2التدفق من السعودية2.2منطقة الدر (المتوسط السنوي طويل الأجل 2006)
3إجمالي الموارد المائية المتجددة73.8المجموع (1 + 2)
4تدفق المياه الجوفية إلى طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة و المالحة18.0كهرماء ووزارة البلدية والبيئة (المتوسط السنوي طويل الأجل 1998-2017)
5متوسط التوازن المائي السنوي (سحب آمن للمياه الجوفية)55.8الطرح (3 + 4)

موارد المياه غير التقليدية

لتكملة الموارد المائية التقليدية المحدودة في ظل الضغط السكاني والاقتصادي، تعتمد قطر بشكلٍ متزايد على موارد المياه غير التقليدية لتلبية الطلب على المياه. تشمل هذه الموارد بشكل رئيسي مياه البحر المحلاة ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة.

تحلية المياه

تزود مياه البحر المحلاة ما لا يقل عن 50% من مياه الدولة. [9] تُستخدم إلى حد كبير للأغراض البلدية والصناعية، والتي تلبي حالياً حوالي 99% من احتياجات المياه المنزلية. وفي عام 2015، بلغت كمية المياه المحلاة 533 مليون متر مكعب، مقارنة بـ 362 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2010. [10] بينما في عام 2019، بلغ إجمالي المياه التي توفرها تحلية المياه 671 مليون متر في اليوم.[11]

استثمرت قطر في العديد من محطات تحلية المياه في مختلف أنحاء البلاد، وبطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 2,27 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم. يلخص الجدول 1 (البنية التحتية للمياه في قطر) جميع محطات تحلية المياه المستقلة التي تعمل اعتبارا من عام 2016.

يرتبط إنتاج المياه المحلاة بتوليد محلول ملحي يسبب مشاكل بيئية خطيرة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعتمد تحلية المياه جزئياً على النفط والغاز للحصول على الطاقة، مما يؤدي أيضاً إلى تأثيرات بيئية متعددة. ولمزيد من المعلومات حول هذه المسألة، يرجى الرجوع إلى قسم “تحديات المياه في قطر“.

إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي

بالإضافة إلى تحلية المياه، قد كانت مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة مصدراً هاماً للمياه غير التقليدية في قطر منذ طرحها في عام 2004.[12] ووفقاً لوزارة التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء، فإنه يتم جمع 50% من مياه الصرف الصحي، وتتم معالجة 60% منها على مستوى أساسي.[13] في عام 2019، وصلت كمية مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى 276 مليون متر في المتوسط (حوالي 99.3٪ من إجمالي مياه الصرف الصحي التي تم جمعها).[14] وفي عام 2015، وصلت كمية مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى 194 مليون متر مكعب (حوالي 98,2% من إجمالي مياه الصرف الصحي).

  • الزراعة
  • المسطحات الخضراء والحدائق العامة
  • الحقن العميق في طبقات المياه الجوفية
  • التصريف في البحيرات والبحر

الشكل (2): استخدامات مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة [15]

وكما يوضح الشكل 2، فإنه يتم استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في الزراعة ولري المناظر الطبيعية والحدائق العامة، وللحقن العميق في داخل طبقات المياه الجوفية أو تصريفها في البحيرات.

كما تلعب مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة دوراً بارزاً في صناعات التبريد. تشير التقديرات إلى أن هذه الصناعات تستهلك ما يقرب من 73 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، والتي تمثل 17% من إجمالي الطلب على مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في عام 2020.[16] تهدف استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية الثانية لدولة قطر (NDS-2)، والتي تغطي الفترة 2018-2022، إلى التوسع في إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي وكذلك تطوير إدارة المياه لزيادة كفاءة استخدام المياه في المناطق الصناعية.

[1] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[2] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[5] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2015.
[6] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Ibid.
[9] Ismail H, 2015. Food and Water Security in Qatar: Part 2 – Water Resources. Global Food and Water Crises Research Programme.
[10] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.
[11] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[12] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[13] Ismail H, 2015. Food and Water Security in Qatar: Part 2 – Water Resources. Global Food and Water Crises Research Programme.
[14] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[15] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[16] Ashghal, 2014. Treated Sewage Effluent Networks in Qatar. District Cooling Workshop, 18 June 2014.

Home / Qatar / Water Resources in Qatar

Water Resources in Qatar

bay of Doha, Qatar, Water Resources in Qatar
Photo 1: The bay of Doha, Qatar. (Source: Qatar Airways, Flickr)

There are no fresh surface water resources in Qatar, which makes rainfall and groundwater recharge the main freshwater resources. The country’s major water resources are desalination, groundwater and reuse of treated sewage effluent (TSE) (Figure 1).

The total water production from these three resources rose from 220 million cubic metres (MCM) in 1990 to 912 MCM in 2016, and to 1038.16 MCM in 2019. [1] [2]

  • Desalination
  • Groundwater
  • Reuse of TSE

Figure 1: Breakdown of Qatar’s water resources. [3]

Groundwater

Qatar has two main groundwater resources, namely the Rus and Umm er Rhaduma aquifers. Rainfall recharge contributes 43.4% of the groundwater reserve. The inflow from Saudi Arabia, which originates from a shared artesian aquifer, contributes 2%, while the artificial recharge from TSE contributes 54.6%.[4] As shown in Map 1, Qatar has four main groundwater basins, namely the Northern Basin, Southern Basin, Doha Basin and Allat Basin. Table 1 shows the natural long-term water balance of Qatar’s groundwater resources between 1998 and 2016.

Groundwater Qatar, Water resources in Qatar
Map 1: Groundwater basins in Qatar. @Fanack water

Groundwater abstraction, which currently meets 30% of the total water demand, is above recharge rates.[5] In 2017, groundwater abstraction reached 250.8 MCM/yr, while the safe yield amounted to 55.8 MCM/yr,[6] causing depletion of aquifers, seawater intrusion and increased salinity. About 230 MCM/yr of water abstracted from groundwater – or around 92% of the total withdrawal – is used for agricultural purposes. During the period 2008-2016, the annual water deficit, which was mainly caused by groundwater abstraction, ranged from 97 MCM/yr to 158 MCM/yr.[7]

Table 1: Natural water balance of Qatar’s aquifers (annual average 1998-2016).[8]

NoWater balanceMCM/yearData source
1Recharge of aquifers from rainfall71.6kahramaa and Ministery of Municipality and Environment (Long-term annual average 1998-2017)
2Inflow from Saudi Arabia2.2Al Dour Zone (Long-term annual average 2006)
3Total renewable water resources73.8Total (1+2)
4Groundwater outflow into sea and deep saline aquifers18.0kahramaa and Ministery of Municipality and Environment (Long-term annual average 1998-2017)
5Average annual water balance (groundwater safe yield)55.8Subtraction (3+4)

Non-conventional water resources

To supplement the limited conventional water resources under population and economic stress, Qatar is increasingly relying on non-conventional water resources to meet its water demand. These resources mainly comprise desalinated seawater and treated wastewater.

Desalination

Desalinated seawater supplies at least 50% of the country’s water.[9] It is largely used for municipal and industrial purposes, currently meeting around 99% of the domestic water needs. In 2015, desalinated water amounted to 533 MCM, compared to 362 MCM in 2010.[10] While in 2019, the gross water supplied by desalination amounted to 671 MCM. [11]

Qatar has invested in and built several desalination plants across the country, with an installed capacity of around 2.27 MCM/d. Table 1 (water infrastructure in Qatar) summarizes all the independent desalination plants in operation as of 2016.

The production of desalinated water is associated with the generation of brine solution, which causes serious environmental problems. Additionally, desalination depends partially on oil and gas for energy, which also causes multiple environmental impacts. For more information on this issue, please refer to the section ‘Water Challenges in Qatar’.

Wastewater reuse

In addition to desalination, treated wastewater has been a significant non-conventional water resource in Qatar since its introduction in 2004.[12] According to the Ministry of Development, Planning and Statistics, 50% of wastewater is collected, 60% of which is treated at a basic level.[13] In 2019, the amount of treated wastewater reached 276 MCM (around 99.3% of the total wastewater collected).[14] As Figure 2 shows, treated wastewater is used in agriculture, landscaping and parks, for deep injection into aquifers or discharge into lagoons.

  • Agriculture
  • Green landscapes and public parks
  • Deep-injection into aquifers
  • Discharge into lagoons and sea

Figure 2: Uses of treated wastewater. [15]

Treated wastewater also plays a prominent role in cooling industries. It is estimated that these industries consume nearly 73 MCM of treated wastewater, which represents 17% of total treated wastewater demand in 2020.[16] The Second National Development Strategy (NDS-2), which covers the period 2018-2022, aims to expand wastewater reuse as well as the development of water management to increase efficient water use in industrial zones.

[1] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[2] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[5] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2015.
[6] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Ibid.
[9] Ismail H, 2015. Food and Water Security in Qatar: Part 2 – Water Resources. Global Food and Water Crises Research Programme.
[10] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.
[11] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[12] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[13] Ismail H, 2015. Food and Water Security in Qatar: Part 2 – Water Resources. Global Food and Water Crises Research Programme.
[14] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[15] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2019. Infographics of water statistics in Qatar 2019.
[16] Ashghal, 2014. Treated Sewage Effluent Networks in Qatar. District Cooling Workshop, 18 June 2014.