الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر / جودة المياه في قطر

جودة المياه في قطر

الدوحة قطر، جودة المياه في قطر
الصورة 1: اللؤلؤة، الدوحة، قطر. المصدر: (fisherbray, Flickr)

جودة المياه البحرية

يؤثر التعرض لمصادر تصريف متعددة بشكلٍ سلبي على البيئة البحرية في قطر، بما في ذلك مياه التبريد الساخنة من المناطق الصناعية، والمحلول الملحي من محطات الطاقة ومحطات تحلية المياه والذي تحتوي على ما يقرب من ضعف ملوحة مياه البحر، والجريان السطحي على كورنيش الدوحة، والذي يستنزف ما يقرب من 75 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه. كما أن المياه التي يتم تصريفها ملوثة بشدة بالمركبات العضوية وغير العضوية. ويؤثر التركيز العالي لهذه المركبات على أنواع وخصائص البيئة البحرية ويؤدي إلى هجرة الحياة البحرية. وتشكل المصادر الثابتة الأخرى، مثل محطات توليد الطاقة ومحطات تحلية المياه والسفن التي تصرّف مياه الصابورة (مياه التوازن للسفن) والصناعات البتروكيماوية، تهديدات إضافية لجودة المياه البحرية. [1]

جودة المياه الجوفية

يعدّ مستوى ملوحة المياه الجوفية الشاغل الرئيسي فيما يتعلق بجودة المياه في قطر. فقد تدهورت جودة المياه الجوفية بسبب تسرّب مياه البحر وتدفق المياه المالحة وقليلة الملوحة من الطبقات السفلى تحت عدسات المياه الجوفية العذبة. وتوضح الخريطة (1) محيط إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة (TDS) في المياه الجوفية كمؤشر للملوحة لعامي 1971 و2009. وكما هو موضح،فإن مستوى المواد الصلبة الذائبة في طبقات المياه الجوفية الشمالية والمتوسطة يختلف من 500 إلى 5000 ملليغرام لكل لتر (ملغم/ لتر) ويصل إلى 10000 ملغم/ لتر بالقرب من الساحل.[2]

المياه الجوفية في قطر , جودة المياه في قطر
الخريطة (1): إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة في المياه الجوفية (ملغم/ لتر) في عامي 1971 و2009. @Fanack water

ووفقاً لتصنيف الملوحة في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة، فقد تم تصنيف جميع آبار المياه الجوفية في قطر على أنها متوسطة الملوحة خلال الفترة 1998-2014. وقد انخفضت النسبة المئوية للآبار عالية الملوحة من 17% في عام 1998 إلى 16% في عام 2016. أما أعلى نسبة من الآبار ذات المياه المالحة قليلاً (أدنى فئة يمكن العثور عليها في قطر) فتقع في أحواض الدوحة وجنوب قطر وشمال قطر للمياه الجوفية، بينما توجد أعلى نسبة من الآبار عالية الملوحة في طبقات المياه الجوفية في وادي العريق والمسحبية وكذلك في جنوب قطر.[3]

يوضح الجدول (1) اتجاه الملوحة حسب الموصلية بالديسيمنز لكل متر، وإجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة في أجزاء لكل مليون لأحواض مياه المسحبية وجنوب قطر ووسط قطر وشمال قطر. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه طوال الفترة 1998-2014، كانت جميع طبقات المياه الجوفية الأربعة مالحة بشكل معتدل ولكن ذات ملوحة متزايدة (الموصلية الكهربائية). كما وجد أن المواد الصلبة الذائبة تنخفض قليلاً في المسحبية ووسط قطر وجنوب قطر.[4]

الجدول (1): رصد مؤشرات الملوحة في طبقات المياه الجوفية في قطر (إجمالي المواد المذابة (TDS) والتوصيل الكهربائي (1998- 2014).[5]

طبقة المياه الجوفيةالحد الأدنى للموصلية (ديسيمنز/متر)الحد الأقصى للموصلية (ديسمنز/متر)منحنى(اتجاه) الموصليةالحد الأدنى لإجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة (جزء/ مليون)الحد الأعلى لإجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة (جزء/ مليون)منحنى (اتجاه)إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة
المسحبية5.7011.91متزايد3,7807,368تناقص طفيف
شمال قطر3.3215.36متزايد2,4209,210متزايد
وسط قطر4.256.01تناقص طفيف2,5503,610تناقص طفيف
جنوب قطر5.037.75متزايد3,2054,580تناقص طفيف

[1] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.
[2] Baalousha H M and Ouda O K M, 2017. Domestic water demand challenges in Qatar. Arabian Journal of Geosciences, 10: 537.
[3] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2018. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar.

Home / Qatar / Water Quality in Qatar

Water Quality in Qatar

The Pearl - Doha, Qatar, Water Quality in Qatar
Photo 1: The Pearl - Doha, Qatar. (Source: fisherbray, Flickr)

Marine water quality

Exposure to multiple sources of discharge negatively affects Qatar’s marine environment, including hot cooling water from industrial zones, brine from power and desalination plants that has almost twice the salinity of seawater, and surface runoff on the Doha Corniche, which drains nearly 75 MCM/yr. The discharged water is heavily polluted with organic and inorganic compounds. High concentration of these compounds affects the types and characteristics of the marine environment and causes marine life to migrate. Other point sources, such as power plants, desalination plants, ships that discharge ballast water and petrochemical industries, pose additional threats to marine water quality.[1]

Groundwater quality

The salinity level of groundwater is the key concern regarding water quality in Qatar. Groundwater quality has deteriorated due to seawater intrusion and the inflow of brackish and saline water from lower layers underneath the fresh groundwater lenses. Map 1 illustrates the contour of total dissolved solids (TDS) in groundwater as a salinity indicator for the years 1971 and 2009. As shown, the TDS level of the northern and central aquifers varies from 500 to 5,000 milligrams per litre (mg/L) and reaches 10,000 mg/L near the shoreline.[2]

groundwater qatar , Water Quality in Qatar
Map 1: Total dissolved solids in groundwater (mg/L) in 1971 and 2009. @Fanack water

According to the FAO salinity classification, all groundwater wells in Qatar were classified as medium saline during the period 1998-2014. The percentage of high-saline wells declined from 17% in 1998 to 16% in 2016. The highest percentage of wells with slightly saline water (the lowest salinity class that can be found in Qatar) is in the Doha, South Qatar and North Qatar aquifers, whereas the highest percentage of high-salinity wells is found in the Wadi al-Urayq and al-Mashabiya aquifers as well as in South Qatar.[3]

Table 1 shows the salinity trend by conductivity in deciSiemens per metre (dS/m) and total dissolved solids in parts per million (TDS in ppm) for the al-Mashabiya, South Qatar, Central Qatar and North Qatar aquifers. It should be noted that over the entire period 1998-2014, all four aquifers were moderately saline but with a constantly rising salinity (conductivity). TDS was found to be decreasing slightly in al-Mashabiya, Central Qatar and South Qatar.[4]

Table 1: Observations of salinity indicators (TDS and electrical conductivity) in Qatar’s aquifers (1998-2014).[5]

AquiferConductivity (ds/m) MinConductivity (ds/m) MaxConductivity (ds/m) TrendTDS (ppm) MinTDS (ppm) MaxTDS (ppm) Trend
Al-Mashabiya5.7011.91Increasing3,7807,368Slightly decreasing
North Qatar3.3215.36Increasing2,4209,210Increasing
Central Qatar4.256.01Slightly decreasing2,5503,610Slightly decreasing
South Qatar5.037.75Increasing3,2054,580Slightly decreasing

[1] Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics, 2018. Qatar Second National Development Strategy: 2018-2020.
[2] Baalousha H M and Ouda O K M, 2017. Domestic water demand challenges in Qatar. Arabian Journal of Geosciences, 10: 537.
[3] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2017. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar 2017.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Planning and Statistics Authority, 2018. Water Statistics in the State of Qatar.