الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر / موارد المياه المشتركة في قطر

موارد المياه المشتركة في قطر

صب اللؤلؤة قطر - المياه المشتركة في قطر
الصورة 1: نصب اللؤلؤة، الدوحة، قطر. المصدر: (fisherbray, Flickr)

يمتد الخزان الجوفي لطبقة أم الرضمة – الدمام من شمال العراق إلى الساحل الجنوبي لشبه الجزيرة العربية على مسافة 2200 كم. ويغطي وإجمالا مساحة تزيد عن 1,2 مليون كيلومتر مربع. يتألف هذا النظام بشكلٍ عام من ثلاثة تشكيلات: الدمام، والرس وأم الرضمة (خريطة 1). [1] وتوضح الخريطة (2) القسم الهيدروجيولوجي من حوض أم الرضمة-الدمام.

يمتد الجزء المركزي من النظام على منصة هيكلية بعرض 400 كم تمتد عبر البحرين وقطر والمملكة العربية السعودية. في مناطق الهضبة الغربية المنخفضة، تهيمن على النظام طبقة أم الرضمة، بينما يصبح في السهول الشرقية أكثر تعقيداً حيث يتم فصل أم الرضمة والدمام بتشكيل الرس. ويغطي القسم المركزي مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 281,000 كيلومتر مربع، منها حوالي 560 كيلومتر مربع تقع في البحرين، و11,300 كيلومتر مربع في قطر، و269,000 كيلومتر مربع في السعودية. يغطي أكبر نتوء من طبقة المياه الجوفية الدمام جميع أنحاء قطر تقريباً، مع نتوءات أصغر عبر البحرين وحول مدينة الدمام في المملكة العربية السعودية. أما أم الرضمة فتنتشر في السعودية فقط. توجد طبقة الرس تحت سطح الأرض عبر المنطقة بأكملها، وتفصل بين وحدتي الخزان الجوفي الرئيسيتين.[2]

موارد المياه المشتركه في قطر
الخريطة (1): شبكة أم الرضمة -الدمام (القسم المركزي). المصدر: Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia. @ Fanack water
موارد المياه المشتركة في قطر
الخريطة (2): القسم الهيدروجيولوجي لطبقة أم الرضمة- الدمام عبر السهل الساحلي للخليج بالقرب من الحدود السعودية القطرية.

يمكن إعادة تغذية أي طبقة من طبقات المياه جوفية داخل النظام من هطول الأمطار (مباشرة أو عن طريق الجريان السطحي) أو نقل المياه عن طريق التدفق الرأسي من طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة أو الأعمق. وصلت كمية التغذية المقدرة المرتبطة بهطول الأمطار إلى 27 مليون متر مكعب / السنة (حوالي 2,4 ملم / السنة) للفترة 1963/1962 – 1980/1979 ، بحد أدنى يبلغ 0,5 مليون متر مكعب وحد أقصى 85,75 مليون متر مكعب. يشكل تسّرب مياه الأمطار المباشر حوالي 2% من التغذية، والتسرب غير المباشر من خلال الوديان حوالي 10%.[3]

أدى الاستغلال المفرط المستمر لنظام طبقات المياه الجوفية في أم الرضمة- الدمام إلى جعل المياه الجوفية عرضة للتملح، إذ أن هذايجعل الخزان الجوفي غير مناسب للاستخدام في المستقبل. إن الاستغلال غير المستدام للنظام على مدى السنوات الـ30-40 الماضية، وما نتج عن ذلك من تملح وانخفاض منسوب المياه الجوفية، قد قيّد بالفعل استخدام هذا النظام في البحرين وربما في بعض الأجزاء في قطر والمملكة العربية السعودية. إن تكوينات الدمام والرس، واللتان كانتا المصدرين الوحيدين للمياه العذبة في البحرين وقطر على التوالي، معرضتان بشكل خاص لخطر التملح و/أو النضوب الكلي.[4]

لا توجد اتفاقيات مياه قائمة للجزء المركزي من نظام أم الرضمة – الدمام الجوفي الذي تشترك فيه البحرين وقطر والمملكة العربية السعودية.[5]

[1] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia.
[2] Ibid.
[3] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ibid.

Home / Qatar / Shared Water Resources in Qatar

Shared Water Resources in Qatar

Pearl Monument, Doha, Shared Water Resources in Qatar
Photo 1: Pearl Monument, Doha, Qatar. (Source: fisherbray, Flickr)

The Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System extends from northern Iraq to the southern coast of the Arabian Peninsula over a distance of 2,200 km. Overall, it covers an area of more than 1.2 million km2. This system generally comprises three formations: the Dammam, the Rus and the Umm er Radhuma (Map 1).[1] Map 2 shows the hydrogeological section of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer.

The central section of the system extends over a 400 km-wide structural platform that stretches across Bahrain, Qatar and Saudi Arabia. In the western low plateau areas, the system is dominated by the Umm er Radhuma, while in the eastern plains it becomes more complex as the Umm er Radhuma and the Dammam are separated by the Rus Formation. The central section covers a total area of 281,000 km2, of which about 560 km2 are located in Bahrain, 11,300 km2 in Qatar and 269,000 km2 in Saudi Arabia. The largest outcrop of the Dammam Aquifer covers almost all of Qatar, with smaller outcrops across Bahrain and around the city of Dammam in Saudi Arabia. The Umm er Radhuma only crops out in Saudi Arabia. The Rus is found in the subsurface across the whole region, separating the two main aquifer units.[2]

Aquifer system qatar, shared water qatar
Map 1: Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System (central section). Source: Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia. @Fanack water
Aquifer System Qatar, Shared Water Resources in Qatar
Map 2: Hydrogeological section of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System across the Gulf coastal plain, near the Saudi-Qatari border. @Fanack water

Recharge to any aquifer within the system can occur from rainfall (directly or via runoff) or transfer of water by vertical flow from shallower or deeper aquifers. Estimated rainfall-related recharge was 27 MCM/yr (approximately 2.4 mm/yr) for the period 1962/1963-1979/1980, with a minimum of 0.5 MCM and a maximum of 85.75 MCM. Direct rainwater infiltration accounts for about 2% of recharge and indirect infiltration through wadis for about 10%.[3]

Continuous overexploitation of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System has rendered the groundwater prone to salinization. This may make the aquifer unsuitable for use in the future. The unsustainable use of the system over the past 30-40 years, and the resulting salinization and drop in water table, have already restricted the use of this system in Bahrain and possibly in some parts of Qatar and Saudi Arabia. The Dammam and Rus formations, which used to be the only source of fresh water in Bahrain and Qatar respectively, are particularly at risk of salinization and/or total depletion.[4]

There are no water agreements in place for the central section of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System, which is shared by Bahrain, Qatar and Saudi Arabia.[5]

[1] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia.
[2] Ibid.
[3] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ibid.