الصفحة الرئيسية / المملكة العربية السعودية

المملكة العربية السعودية

السعودية
الصورة 1: جدة، المملكة العربية السعودية. المصدر: (Ali Garba, Flickr)

المُقدمة

تعتبر المياه في المملكة العربية السعودية شحيحة وقيّمة بسبب الافتقار إلى المسطحات المائية الطبيعية، كما أدى تغير المناخ والنمو السكاني إلى تفاقم مشكلة ندرة المياه. وعليه، تعدّ المياه الجوفية مورد المياه الطبيعي الرئيسي، والتي يتم استنفادها بما يتجاوز معدلات تجديدها. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تعتمد المملكة العربية السعودية بشكلٍ كبير على تحلية المياه لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على المياه، إذ تنتج حوالي 18% من إجمالي المياه المحلاة على مستوى العالم. وفي الوقت نفسه، تمتلك المملكة العربية السعودية ثالث أعلى معدل استهلاك للفرد من المياه العذبة في العالم. وفي حال لم يتخذ أي إجراءٍ في المستقبل القريب، ستتعرض موارد المياه في البلاد للخطر.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تبلغ المساحة الإجمالية للأراضي في المملكة العربية السعودية 2.15 مليون كيلومتر مربع.[1] وكما هو موضح في الخريطة رقم (1)، يحدها من الشمال الأردن والعراق والكويت، ومن الشرق الخليج العربي بخط ساحلي يبلغ 480 كم، ومن الجنوب الشرقي والجنوب قطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة وسلطنة عُمان واليمن، ومن الغرب البحر الأحمر بشريط ساحلي يبلغ 1,750 كم. [2]

تقع المملكة العربية السعودية في المنطقة الصحراوية الاستوائية وشبه الاستوائية، ويكون الطقس حاراً وجافاً بمعدلات تبخر مرتفعة. وخلال فصل الصيف، يمكن أن تصل درجات الحرارة إلى 55 درجة مئوية.[3] يتقلب هطول الأمطار السنوي بين 50-150 ملم [4]. وكما هو مبين في الشكل (1)، فقد انخفض معدل هطول الأمطار من 86 ملم في عام 2010 إلى 74 ملم في عام 2015، ولكنه ارتفع إلى 127,8 ملم في عام 2018.[5] وبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار المسجل في عام 2019 حوالي 59 ملم [6]. وتوضح الخريطة (2) توزيع الأمطار في المملكة العربية السعودية.

الشكل (1): هطول الأمطار السنوي في المملكة العربية السعودية بين عامي 2010 و2019. [7]

المملكة العربية السعودية
الخريطة (1): خريطة المملكة العربية السعودية @Fanack water
الأمطار في السعودية
الخريطة (2): توزيع الأمطار في المملكة العربية السعودية. @Fanack water

السكان

قد قُدر عدد سكان المملكة العربية السعودية بنحو 35,04 مليون نسمة في ديسمبر 2020، بمعدل نمو بلغ 1,59%.[8] ويوضح الشكل (2) سكان المملكة وتوقعات السكان حتى عام 2050، بينما يوضح الشكل (3) معدل النمو على مر السنين. ومن المتوقع أن يصل عدد السكان إلى حوالي 45 مليون نسمة في عام 2050، مما سيفرض ضغوطاً إضافية على الموارد المائية المتاحة.

الشكل (2): السكان وتوقعات السكان في المملكة العربية السعودية (1950-2050). [9]

الشكل (3): معدل النمو السكاني في المملكة العربية السعودية (150-2020). [10]

الاقتصاد

في عام 2019، بلغ الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الاسمي للمملكة 792,97 مليار دولار [11]. ويوضح الشكل (4) نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بين عامي 1970 و2019، حيث سجل الناتج المحلي الإجمالي نمواً سنوياً بنسبة 0,3% في عام 2019.

وتشمل الأنشطة الاقتصادية الرئيسية النفط الخام والغاز الطبيعي، والتي شكلت ما نسبته 27,4% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، تليها الخدمات الحكومية (19,4%)، ثم والبيع بالجملة وتجارة التجزئة، والمطاعم والفنادق (10%). وشكلت الزراعة والحراجة وصيد الأسماك، وأنشطة الكهرباء والغاز والمياه ما نسبته 2,2% و1,6% على التوالي.[12]

الشكل (4): الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمملكة العربية السعودية (1970-2019). [13]

[1] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia land area.
[2] FAO, 2008. AQUASTAT Report: Country profile – Saudi Arabia.
[3] Abderrahman, WA, 2006. Groundwater resources management in Saudi Arabia. Special presentation and water conservation workshop, Khobar, Saudi Arabia.
[4] Alrwis, KN et al., 2020. Measuring the impact of water scarcity on agricultural economic development in Saudi Arabia. Saudi Journal of Biological Sciences 28(1): 191-195.
[5] General Authority for Statistics, 2018. Annual rainfall rate compared to long-term average for the period 1961-1990 in Saudi Arabia in 2010-2018.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia population.
[9] Ibid.
[10] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia population.
[11] World Bank. GDP Saudi Arabia.
[12] General Authority for Statistics, KSA, 2019. Gross domestic product 2019.
[13] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia population.

Home / Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Photo 1: Jeddah, KSA.  (Source: Ali Garba, Flickr)
Photo 1: Jeddah, KSA. (Source: Ali Garba, Flickr)

Introduction

Water in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) is scarce and valuable because of the lack of natural water bodies. Climate change and population growth have exacerbated the problem of water scarcity. Groundwater is the main natural water resource, which has been exhausted beyond its replenishment rate. Moreover, KSA depends heavily on seawater desalination to fulfil the increasing demands – it produces about 18% of total desalinated water globally. At the same time, KSA has the third-highest per capita freshwater consumption in the world. If no action is taken in the near future, the country’s water resources will be endangered.

Geography and climate

The total land area of KSA is 2.15 million km2.[1] As shown in Map 1, the country is bordered in the north by Jordan, Iraq and Kuwait, in the east by the Persian Gulf with a coastline of 480 km, in the south-east and south by Qatar, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Oman and Yemen, and in the west by the Red Sea with a coastline of 1,750 km.[2]

KSA lies in the tropical and subtropical desert region, and the weather is hot and dry with a high evaporation rate. During the summer, temperatures can reach 55°C.[3] The annual rainfall fluctuates between 50-150 millimetres (mm).[4] As shown in Figure 1, the rainfall decreased from 86 mm in 2010 to 74 mm in 2015 but increased to 127.8 mm in 2018.[5] The recorded average rainfall in 2019 was about 59 mm.[6] Map 2 presents the rainfall distribution in KSA.

Figure 1: Annual rainfall in KSA between 2010 and 2019[7]

Map of Saudi arabia
Map 1: Map of KSA. @Fanack water
Rainfall in KSA
Map 2: Rainfall distribution in KSA. @Fanack water

Population

The population of KSA was estimated at 35.04 million as of December 2020, with a growth rate of 1.59%.[8] Figure 2 shows the population and population projection to 2050, while Figure 3 shows the growth rate over the years. The population is expected to reach about 45 million in 2050, which will put extra pressure on the available water resources.

Figure 2: Population and population projection in millions in KSA (1950-2050).[9]

Figure 3: Population growth rate in KSA (1960-2020).[10]

Economy

As of 2019, KSA’s nominal gross domestic product (GDP) was $792.97 billion.[11] Figure 4 illustrates GDP growth between 1970 and 2019. GDP recorded an annual growth of 0.3% in 2019.

The main economic activities include crude petroleum and natural gas, which accounted for 27.4% of GDP, followed by government services (19.4%) and wholesale and retail trade, restaurants hotels (10%). Agriculture, forestry and fishing, and electricity, gas and water activities accounted for 2.2% and 1.6%, respectively.[12]

Figure 4: KSA’s GDP in billions (1970-2019).[13]

[1] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia land area.
[2] FAO, 2008. AQUASTAT Report: Country profile – Saudi Arabia.
[3] Abderrahman, WA, 2006. Groundwater resources management in Saudi Arabia. Special presentation and water conservation workshop, Khobar, Saudi Arabia.
[4] Alrwis, KN et al., 2020. Measuring the impact of water scarcity on agricultural economic development in Saudi Arabia. Saudi Journal of Biological Sciences 28(1): 191-195.
[5] General Authority for Statistics, 2018. Annual rainfall rate compared to long-term average for the period 1961-1990 in Saudi Arabia in 2010-2018.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia population.
[9] Ibid.
[10] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia population.
[11] World Bank. GDP Saudi Arabia.
[12] General Authority for Statistics, KSA, 2019. Gross domestic product 2019.
[13] Worldometer. Saudi Arabia population.