الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب / البُنية التحتية للمياه في المغرب

البُنية التحتية للمياه في المغرب

El Wahda dam, Morocco
الصورة 1: غروب الشمس على سد الوحدة ، المغرب. (المصدر: Jbdodane, Flicker)

لسدود

بحلول عام 2009، كان لدى المغرب 135 سدا كبيرا (الشكل 1) وبسعة إجمالية قدرها 17,500 مليون متر مكعب. ويهدف إنشاء 100 سد صغير آخر بسعة إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 100 مليون متر مكعب إلى تلبية الاحتياجات المحلية لمياه الشرب والري والماشية. ويوجد 13 نظام نقل للمياه بين مستجمعات المياه.[1] [2]

ومع ذلك، تصل فواقد قدرة السدود إلى 70 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. ولتقليل الخسائر، توصي الخطة الوطنية للمياه بإنشاء ما مجموعه 38 سدا صغيرا وكبير بحلول عام 2030 (الجدول 1) لتخزين حوالي 1000 مليون متر مكعب في السنة، باستثناء الـ12 سد قيد الإنشاء بالفعل والتي تهدف إلى تخزين 616 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقترح الخطة تقليل خسائر المياه في السدود الحالية بسبب التآكل بهياكلها عن طريق ترميم حوالي 110,000 هكتار  .[3] ويقدر تراكم الطمي في خزانات السدود بحوالي 75 مليون متر مكعب في السنة لجميع السدود الكبيرة، مما يحد من كمية المياه التي يمكن تعبئتها.

الشكل 1: عدد السدود من عام 1950 إلى 2015. المصدر: الاستراتيجية الوطنية للمياه.

وتقترح الإستراتيجية الوطنية للمياه أيضاً بناء حوالي 60 سدا كبيرا بحلول عام 2030 بطاقة إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 7 مليارات متر مكعب وحجم تعبئة إضافي يبلغ 1,7 مليار متر مكعب بالإضافة إلى 1000 سد صغير للتنمية المحلية،[4] ونقل موارد المياه غير المعالجة من الشمال إلى الجنوب (800 متر مكعب/ السنة) وحماية البنى التحتية للموارد المائية.[5]

الجدول 1: السدود الرئيسية في المغرب.

اسم السدالنهرسنة التشييدالارتفاع (متر)القدرة التخزينية (مليون متر مكعب)
سيدي سعيد معاشوأم الربيع192929 2
بين الويدانالعبيد1953133 1,484
محمد الخامسملوية196764 725
إدريس الأولإيناون197372 1,217
سيدي محمد بن عبد اللهأبو رقراق197499 509
المسيرةأم الربيع197982 2,760
وادي المخازناللوكوس197967 807
عبد المومنإسن198194 216
الحسن الأولالأخضر1986145 273
9 أبريل 1947الحاشف199552 300
الوحدةورغة199688 3,730
الحسن الثانيواد زا199883 275
أسفالوأسفالو1999112 317
أحمد الحنصاليأم الربيع2001101 740
سيدي سعيدملوية2003124 400

أنظمة الري

تعتمد الزراعة المروية بشكل رئيسي على السدود والري بواسطة القطاع الخاص. ويوضح الجدول (5) أنواع الري والأنظمة المستخدمة في عام 2009.[6]

الجدول 2: نظم الري في المغرب. المصدر: الاستراتيجية الوطنية للمياه.

مصدر الريبالجاذبيةبالرش الموضعي الإجماليالنسبة
السدود الكبيرة533,900 113,80034,900 682,600 47%
السدود الصغيرة والمتوسطة327,200 6,900 - 334,100 23%
الري بواسطة القطاع الخاص317,60016,950106,900441,45030%
الإجمالي 1,178,700137,650141,8001,458,150100%

الصرف الصحي وشبكات معالجة الصرف الصحي

كما ذكرنا سابقاً، فإن 75% من السكان موصولون بشبكة الصرف الصحي و62% بمحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.[7] ومنذ خمسينيات القرن العشرين، أدخل المغرب التكنولوجيا الأحيائية لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، بما في ذلك الحمأة المُنشطة ومرشحات المياه والأقراص الحيوية. ولا تعمل محطات الحمأة المنشطة بشكلٍ منتظم بسبب نقص الصيانة وارتفاع تكاليف الطاقة.

وتستخدم معظم المحطات التي بُنيت في التسعينيات تقنياتٍ موسعة، مثل برك الترسيب أو البحيرات الضحلة الطبيعية، وبرك الطحالب بمعدلات تكاثر مرتفعة والمصافي الرملية. وفي عام 1993، كان هناك 55 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي تخدم المدن الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم.[8] وقد تمت التوصية بمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي من خلال برك الترسيب في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الماضي، ويعزى ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى انخفاض تكاليف الاستثمار والتشغيل. ومع ذلك، يُفضل استخدام تقنيات المعالجة الأخرى مثل الحمأة المنشطة في المدن الكبرى، مثل مراكش وفاس، نظراً للمساحات الكبيرة اللازمة لبرك الترسيب.[9] وبحلول عام 2017، تم بناء 123 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، مما زاد من قدرة المعالجة إلى 900 مليون متر مكعب في السنة.[10] ويوضح الشكل (4) توزيع تقنيات محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المغرب.

  • البحيرات الطبيعية
  • البحيرات الهوائية
  • الحمأة المنشطة
  • المرشحات المتدفقة
  • تقنيات أخرى

الشكل 2: توزيع تقنيات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المختلفة. المصدر: Waterbiotech.

أنظمة جمع وتوزيع المياه التقليدية

الخطارات (أو القنوات) هي عبارة عن سلسلة متعاقبة من الآبار المرتبطة بقنوات تحت الأرض تؤدي إلى الحقول (الشكل 3). ينبغي أن توفر القنوات ما يكفي من المياه لبساتين النخيل في المنبع مع الاحتفاظ بما يكفي لأولئك عند المصب، وفقاً للتقاليد وحقوق المياه المنصوص عليها في عقود الأجداد. كما يتم أيضاً إنشاء بحيراتٍ صناعية لتخزين المياه للماشية واستخدامها أثناء نقص المياه.[11] وقد تم حفر الخطارات يدوياً بواسطة مجموعة صغيرة من العمال المهرة. بفضل الصيانة المناسبة، تمكن الخطارات من تحقيق الاكتفاء الذاتي من الزراعة القائمة على أشجار النخيل والزيتون، فضلاً عن زراعة القمح والشعير والذرة والبرسيم والفاكهة والخضار في الحدائق المغلقة. ومع ذلك، تعتبر الخطارات أكثر من مجرد نظامٍ للري، ذلك أنها تجسد البنية الاجتماعية التقليدية.

البُنية التحتية للمياه في المغرب
الشكل 3: رسم توضيحي لنظام الري التقليدي بالخطارات.

[1] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[2] FAO AQUASTAT, 2015. Morocco.
[3] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[4] Alaoui M, 2013. ‘Water sector in Morocco: situation and perspectives’. Journal of Water Resources and Ocean Science 2(5): 108-114.
[5] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[8] Mandi L and Ouazzani N, 2013. ‘Water and wastewater management in Morocco: Biotechnologies application’. Waterbiotech.
[9] Ibid.
[10] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[11] Peroni L. The khettara water management ancient techniques promoted in Morocco.

Home / Morocco / Water Infrastructure in Morocco

Water Infrastructure in Morocco

Water infrastructure in Morocco
Photo 1: Sunset on El Wahda dam, Morocco. (Source: Jbdodane, Flicker)

Dams

By 2009, Morocco had 135 large dams (Figure 1) with a total capacity of 17,500 MCM. A further 100 small dams with a total capacity of nearly 100 MCM aim to meet local needs for drinking water, irrigation and livestock. There are 13 water transfer systems between watersheds.[1],[2]

However, the capacity loss of dams amounts to 70 MCM/yr. To reduce losses, the PNE recommends the construction of a total of 38 large and small dams by 2030 (Table 1) to store around 1,000 MCM/yr, excluding the 12 dams already under construction that aim to store 616 MCM/yr). In addition, it proposes reducing water losses in the present dams due to structural erosion by renovating nearly 110,000 ha upstream.[3] The siltation of dam reservoirs is estimated at nearly 75 MCM/yr for all the large dams, limiting the amount of water that can be mobilized.

Figure 1: Number of dams from 1950 to 2015. Source: National Water Strategy.

The National Water Strategy also suggests the construction of about 60 large dams by 2030 with a total capacity of about 7 BCM and an additional volume mobilized of 1.7 BCM as well as 1,000 small dams for local development,[4] the transfer of raw water resources from the north to the south (800 m3/yr) and the safeguarding of hydraulic infrastructures.[5]

Table 1: Main dams in Morocco.

Name of damRiverConstruction year Height (m)Capacity (MCM)
Sidi Said MaachouOum er-Rbia192929 2
Bin el-OuidaneEl-Abid1953133 1,484
Mohammed VMoulouya196764 725
Idriss 1°Inaouene197372 1,217
Sidi Mohamed Ben AbdellahBouregreg197499 509
Al-MassiraOum er-Rbia197982 2,760
Oued el-MakhazineLoukkos197967 807
AbdelmoumenIssen198194 216
Hassan 1°Lakhdar1986145 273
Neuf Avril 1947Hachef199552 300
Al WahdaOuergha199688 3,730
Hassan IIOued Za199883 275
AsfalouAsfalou1999112 317
Ahmed al-HansaliOum er-Rbia2001101 740
Sidi SaidMoulouya2003124 400

Irrigation systems

Irrigated agriculture depends mainly on dams and private irrigation. The irrigation type and systems in use in 2009 are shown in Table 2.[6]

Table 2: Irrigation systems in Morocco. Source: National Water Strategy.

Source of IrrigationGravitySprinkle Local TotalPercentage
Large dams533,900 113,80034,900 682,600 47%
Small and medium dams327,200 6,900 - 334,100 23%
Private irrigation317,60016,950106,900441,45030%
Total 1,178,700137,650141,8001,458,150100%

Sanitation and wastewater treatment network

As mentioned previously, 75% of the population is connected to the sewer network and 62% to wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs).[7] Since the 1950s, Morocco has introduced biotechnologies for wastewater treatment, including activated sludge, trickling filters and biodiscs. Activated sludge plants are not in regular operation due to a lack of maintenance and the high energy costs entailed.

Most of the plants built in the 1990s employ extensive technologies, such as stabilization ponds or natural lagoons, high-rate algal ponds and sand filters. In 1993, there were 55 WWTPs serving small- and medium-sized cities.[8] The treatment of sewage through stabilization ponds was recommended in the early 2000s, largely because of their low investment and operating costs. However, other treatment techniques such as activated sludge are preferred for larger cities, such as Marrakech and Fez, due to the large areas that are required for stabilization ponds.[9] By 2017, 123 WWTPs had been built, increasing the treatment capacity to 900 MCM/yr.[10] The distribution of WWTP technologies in Morocco is shown in Figure 2.

  • natural lagoons
  • Aerated lagoons
  • Activate sludge
  • Trickling filters
  • Others techniques

Figure 2: Distribution of different wastewater treatment technologies. Source: Waterbiotech.

Traditional water collection and distribution systems

Khettaras (or qanats) are a succession of wells linked by underground canals that lead to fields (Figure 3). The canals should provide enough water for upstream palm groves while retaining enough for those downstream, according to tradition and the water rights prescribed by ancestral contracts. Artificial lakes are also created to store water for cattle and for use during water shortages.[11] Khettaras are constructed manually by a small group of skilled workers. With proper maintenance, khettaras enable self-sufficient agriculture based on palm and olive trees, as well as the cultivation of wheat, barley, maize, alfalfa, fruits and vegetables in enclosed gardens. Khettaras are more than an irrigation system, however, they embody the traditional social structure.

Water infrastructure in Morocco
Figure 3: Illustrative diagram of the traditional khettara irrigation system.

[1] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[2] FAO AQUASTAT, 2015. Morocco.
[3] Houzir M, Mokass M and Schalatek L, 2016. Climate Governance and the Role of Climate Finance in Morocco.
[4] Alaoui M, 2013. ‘Water sector in Morocco: situation and perspectives’. Journal of Water Resources and Ocean Science 2(5): 108-114.
[5] Government of Morocco, 2009. National Water Strategy.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[8] Mandi L and Ouazzani N, 2013. ‘Water and wastewater management in Morocco: Biotechnologies application’. Waterbiotech.
[9] Ibid.
[10] Netherlands Enterprise Agency, 2018. Business Opportunities Report for Reuse of Wastewater in Morocco.
[11] Peroni L. The khettara water management ancient techniques promoted in Morocco.