الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / جودة المياه في البحرين

جودة المياه في البحرين

water bahrain
الصورة 1: مراقبة جودة المياه في البحرين. (المصدر: اEnvironment Arabia, Flickr)

جودة المياه السطحية

كما هو مبين أعلاه، ليس لدى البحرين موارد مائية سطحية.

جودة المياه الجوفية

أدى الاستغلال المفرط لطبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية إلى انخفاض منسوب المياه . وكنتيجةٍ مباشرة، هاجرت مسطحات المياه المالحة (مياه البحر والمياه قليلة الملوحة الكامنة في طبقة الرس- أم الرضمة) إلى طبقة المياه الجوفية، مما أدى إلى استمرار تملح وتدهور جودة المياه الجوفية. في الوقت الحالي، قد فقد معظم الاحتياطي الأصلي من المياه الجوفية بسبب التملح، باستثناء قطاع صغير في الشمال الغربي من جزيرة البحرين حيث تقل ملوحة طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية عن 3500 ملغم/ لتر. توضح الخريطة (1) توزيع الملوحة الملحوظ لعام 2015 في خزان الخبر، عضو تكوين طبقة الدمام.

الخريطة 1: خريطة كفاف الملوحة لخزان الخبر في طبقة الدمام للمياه الجوفية في عام 2015، بالملغ/ لتر.

ظلت ملوحة طبقة المياه الجوفية الرس- أم الرضمة غير المتجددة ثابتة إلى حدٍ ما منذ بداية استخدامها على نطاق واسع نسبياً في عام 1984 من قبل القطاع الصناعي وفي تغذية محطة تحلية مياه البحر في رأس أبو جرجور. يعرض الشكل (1) متوسط الملوحة (من حيث إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة).

جودة مياه الشرب ومياه الصرف الصحي

لمواجهة تدهور جودة المياه الجوفية وتزايد الطلب على المياه البلدية، قد طبقت سلطات المياه البلدية سياسة بدأت في منتصف الثمانينات في تقليل الاعتماد على المياه الجوفية في إمدادات المياه البلدية من خلال زيادة مدخلات المياه المحلاة لتلبية معايير مياه الشرب. يعرض الشكل (2) ملوحة إمدادات المياه البلدية للفترة 1985-2015. تتطابق التحسينات الرئيسية في الملوحة في الأعوام 1999 و2008 و2014 مع التوسع الكبير لتحلية المياه.

يغطي نظام الصرف الصحي الحالي معظم مناطق البحرين ويتكون من 127,5 كم من مجاري الصرف الصحي و1,228,3 كم من المجاري الثانوية و1,822 كم من المجاري الجانبية بما في ذلك التوصيلات المنزلية، و85,2 كم من خطوط الضغط و631 محطة ضخ ورفع.

الشكل 1: متوسط الملوحة (مجموع المواد الصلبة الذائبة) لطبقة المياه الجوفية الرس- أم الرضمة المقاسة في آبار المراقبة لطبقة المياه الجوفية، 2006-2016. يمثل خط اللون الأحمر متوسط إجمالي المواد الذائبة.

الشكل (2): إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة في مياه الصرف الصحي البلدية، بالملغم / لتر.

تقوم شبكة تصريف المجاري بجمع النفايات المتدفقة ومياه الصرف الصحي الخام من المنازل والمؤسسات المختلفة ونقلها إلى محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. في الوقت الحالي، يحصل حوالي 90% من السكان على خدمات الصرف الصحي. تم بناء أنظمة الصرف الصحي بأنظمة تدفق الجاذبية التقليدية مع محطات الضخ المتناوبة للحد من وصول عمق النظام إلى حوالي 7 أمتار. يبلغ طول شبكة المجاري الحالية حوالي 2,962 كم.

كانت أحد أهم القيود لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في الماضي ارتفاع درجة ملوحتها، حيث بلغت حوالي 4000 ملغم/ لتر، وكان ذلك نتيجة لعاملين: ارتفاع معدلات تسرب المياه الجوفية الضحلة إلى شبكة الجمع، وارتفاع نسبة ملوحة المياه البلدية نسبياً. واستجابة لذلك، فقد شرعت وزارة الأشغال وشئون البلديات والتخطيط العمراني في عام 2011 في تنفيذ برنامج على مستوى البلاد للحد من معدلات التسرب، والتي لا تزال مستمرة. ومنذ عام 2008، قد حدث تحسن كبير في ملوحة المياه البلدية الموردة بسبب التوسع في طاقة تحلية المياه وتقليل الاعتماد على المياه الجوفية قليلة الملوحة. يوضح الشكل (2) اتجاهات التحسن في ملوحة مياه الصرف الصحي الخام والمعالجة ضمن المرحلة الثانوية والثالثة للفترة 1985-2015.

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

تتمثل المخاطر البيئية والصحية الرئيسية المرتبطة بأنشطة قطاع المياه في الآثار البيئية لمحطات تحلية المياه على البيئات البحرية والجوية، وتصريف مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة/ غير المعالجة والحمأة في البيئة البحرية.

الآثار البيئية لمحطات التحلية

في حين قد تمكنت البحرين من تلبية الطلب المتزايد على المياه البلدية من حيث الكمية والنوعية من خلال توسيع إنتاج محطة تحلية المياه، إلا أن هذا لا يرتبط فحسب بالتكاليف المالية والاقتصادية (مثل استنفاد احتياطيات الغاز) ولكن أيضاً بالتكاليف البيئية المرتفعة نسبياً. وتتجلى هذه في تصريف المحاليل الملحية ذات درجة الحرارة المرتفعة إلى البيئة الساحلية والبحرية المحيطة، وكذلك الانبعاثات الغازية في بيئة الهواء المحيطة.

معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

قبل عام 2014، تبنت البحرين نظاماً مركزياً لمياه الصرف الصحي، أي الاعتماد على محطة واحدة مركزية لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي (محطة توبلي لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي) لمعالجة جميع مياه الصرف الصحي الحضرية المتولدة في البلاد. وقد أدى ذلك إلى تلقي النظام في كثير من الأحيان أحمالاً هيدروليكية تتجاوز سعته التصميمية، مما أدى إلى تصريف كميات كبيرة من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة جزئياً (وأحياناً مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة) إلى البيئة البحرية والساحلية المحيطة بها. بالإضافة إلى تلوث البيئة المحيطة، حدث نفوق متكرر للأسماك في منطقة التصريف، وأثيرت مخاوف بشأن الصحة والسلامة البيئية للمناطق السكنية المجاورة.

ومع ذلك، ففي عام 2014، قد تم اعتماد سياسة جديدة لامركزية شهدت تشغيل محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المحرق (القطاع الخاص). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فهناك خطط لتوسيع وتحديث وتطوير محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الحالية، والتي من المتوقع أن تقلل من مشاكل الحمل الهيدروليكي عند تنفيذ هذه الخطط.

Home / Bahrain / Water Quality in Bahrain

Water Quality in Bahrain

Water quality bahrain
Photo1: Water quality monitoring in Bahrain. (Source: Environment Arabia, Flickr)

Surface water quality

As indicated in previous sections, Bahrain has no surface water resources.

Groundwater quality

Prolonged overexploitation of the Dammam aquifer has resulted in water level decline (Figure 1). As a direct consequence, saltwater bodies (seawater and underlying brackish/saline water in the Rus-UER layer) have migrated into the aquifer, leading to a continuous salinization and deterioration of the groundwater quality. Currently, most of the original groundwater reservoir has been lost to salinization, except for a small strip on the north-west of Bahrain Island where the Dammam aquifer’s salinity is less than 3,500 mg/L. Map 1 illustrates the observed 2015 salinity distribution in the Khobar member of the Dammam aquifer.

water quality in Bahrain
Map 1: Salinity contour map for the Khobar member of the Dammam aquifer in 2015, in mg/L.

The salinity of the non-renewable Rus-UER aquifer has remained more or less constant since the beginning of its use at a relatively major scale in 1984 by the industrial sector and in feeding the Ras Abu Jarjur reverse osmosis desalination plant. Figure 1 displays the average salinity (in terms of total dissolved solids).

Drinking water and wastewater quality

Faced with groundwater quality deterioration and escalating municipal water demand, the municipal water authorities implemented a policy that in the mid-1980s started to reduce the reliance on groundwater in the municipal water supply by increasing desalinated water input to meet the standards of drinking water. Figure 2 displays the salinity of the municipal water supply for the period 1985-2015. Major improvements in the salinity in 1999, 2008 and 2014 correspond with major desalination expansion.

The current sanitation system covers most of Bahrain and consists of 127.5 km of trunk sewers, 1,228.3 km of secondary sewers, 1,822 km of lateral sewers including house connections, 85.2 km of pressure lines and 631 pumping and lifting stations.

Figure 1: Average salinity (total dissolved solids) of the Rus-UER aquifer measured in aquifer observation wells, 2006-2016. Red color line represents the average TDS.

Figure 2: Total dissolved solids of municipal water, in mg/L.

The current sanitation system covers most of Bahrain and consists of 127.5 km of trunk sewers, 1,228.3 km of secondary sewers, 1,822 km of lateral sewers including house connections, 85.2 km of pressure lines and 631 pumping and lifting stations. The sewer discharge network catches infiltration wastes and raw sewage from households and different establishments and transports it to the wastewater treatment plants. Presently, about 90% of the population has access to sanitation services. The sewerage systems were built as conventional gravity flow systems with intermittent lift stations to limit the system depth to about 7 metres. The existing sewer network has a total length of approximately 2,962 km.

One of the main constraints for treated wastewater reuse in the past was its high salinity, reaching about 4,000 mg/L, which was the result of two factors: high infiltration rates to the collection network by shallow groundwater and relatively high salinity of municipal water. In response, the Ministry of Works, Municipalities Affairs and Urban Planning embarked in 2011 on a countrywide staged programme to reduce the infiltration rates, which is still ongoing. Since 2008, a major improvement in the salinity of the supplied municipal water has occurred due to the expansion in desalination capacity and reduced reliance on brackish groundwater. Figure 2 illustrates the improvement trends of salinity in raw, secondary treated and tertiary treated wastewater for the period 1985-2015.

Environmental and health risks

The major environmental and health risks associated with water sector activities are the environmental impacts of desalination plants on the marine and air environments and the discharge of partially treated/untreated wastewater and sludge to the marine environment.

Environmental impacts of desalination plants

While Bahrain has been able to meet the rising municipal water demand in quantity and quality by expanding desalination plant production, this has not only been associated with financial and economic costs (e.g. depletion of gas reserves) but also with relatively high environmental costs. These are manifested in the discharge of elevated temperature brines to the surrounding coastal and marine environment as well as gaseous emissions to the surrounding air environment.

Wastewater treatment

Prior to 2014, Bahrain adopted a centralized wastewater system, i.e. relying on one centralized wastewater treatment plant (Tubli WPCC) to treat all generated urban wastewater in the country. This resulted in the system frequently receiving hydraulic loads that exceeded its designed capacity, leading to large carryover volumes of partially treated wastewater (and sometimes untreated wastewater) to the surrounding marine and coastal environment. In addition to the pollution of the surrounding environment, a frequent fish kill occurred in the discharge area, and concerns were raised about the health and environmental safety of the adjacent residential areas.

However, in 2014, a new decentralization policy was adopted that saw the operation of the Muharraq wastewater treatment plant (private sector). In addition, plans to expand, upgrade and modernize existing sewage treatment plants are underway, which are expected to reduce the hydraulic loading problems as these plans are implemented.