الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / تحديات المياه في البحرين

تحديات المياه في البحرين

Bu Maher Fort
الصورة 1: قلعة بو ماهر ، البحرين (المصدر: ZAKARiYA Abbas, Flickr)

قطاع المياه البلدية

في حين تمكنت البحرين من تلبية الطلب المتزايد على المياه البلدية من خلال توسيع قدرة محطات تحلية المياه، حصل هذا بتكلفة هائلة. يتجلى ذلك في الطاقة المطلوبة (الغاز الطبيعي) لإنتاج المياه المحلاة (بما في ذلك تكلفة الفرصة البديلة والقيمة الموقعية) والتكلفة المالية وتكلفة الطاقة/ الكهرباء في كل مرحلة من مراحل تشغيل نظام إمدادات المياه (أي الإنتاج والنقل، والتوزيع، وجمع مياه الصرف الصحي ومعالجتها وإعادة استخدامها). علاوةً على ذلك، يؤثر تصريف المحاليل الملحية بواسطة محطات تحلية المياه على البيئة الساحلية والبحرية المحيطة بها، بينما يؤدي حرق الوقود الأحفوري إلى تلوث الهواء وانبعاثات الغاز، والتي يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير ضار على الصحة العامة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يساهم الأخير في انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة، والتي تعهدت البحرين بتخفيضها من خلال مساهماتها المحددة وطنياً بموجب اتفاقية باريس لعام 2015 بشأن تغير المناخ. [1]

بالإضافة إلى هذه التكاليف المالية والاقتصادية والبيئية، هناك عوامل خارجية وتكاليف أخرى مرتبطة باستهلاك المياه البلدية، وأهمها تلك المتعلقة بكميات مياه الصرف البلدية الناتجة. وتتجلى هذه في التكاليف المالية وتكاليف الطاقة لعملية جمع ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي (لا سيما أن خدمة الصرف الصحي مدعومة بالكامل ويتم إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة مجاناً)، والتكاليف البيئية عند حدوث ضغط مائي، مما يؤثر على كفاءة المعالجة وزيادة كميات الترحيل إلى البيئة البحرية. علاوة على ذلك، فإن الإمكانات الكاملة لمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة ثلاثياً، وكذلك الإمكانات الناتجة عن الحمأة المولدة، لم يتم الحصول عليها بعد، مما يمثل فرصة كبيرة ضائعة في ظل ظروف ندرة المياه السائدة.

في العقد الماضي، ركزت خطة سلطات تزويد المياه لمواجهة الطلب المتزايد على المياه على زيادة قدرة تحلية المياه. وفي الوقت نفسه، تخطط سلطات الصرف الصحي لتعزيز قدرة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي للتعامل مع كميات مياه الصرف الصحي الناتجة.

ومع ذلك، يعدّ هذا النهج القائم على العرض غير مستدام. ولمعالجة هذا الأمر، فقد أنشأت سلطات إمدادات المياه مؤخراً عدداً من البرامج لزيادة كفاءة المياه والتحكم في الطلب. ويشمل ذلك مراجعة رسوم إمدادات المياه البلدية، ووضع برامج للكشف عن التسربات والتحكم فيها في شبكة التوزيع، وتركيب عدادات ذكية، وإجراء حملات التوعية حول المياه وإصدار التشريعات لاستخدام الأجهزة الموفرة للمياه وقوانين البناء.

كما شرعت سلطات مياه الصرف الصحي أيضاً في تنفيذ عدد من البرامج التي من شأنها تخفيف مشاكل المعالجة الحالية وخفض التكاليف، بما في ذلك تطبيق اللامركزية على معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، وإعادة تأهيل شبكة التجميع لتقليل معدلات التسرب وزيادة قدرة المعالجة في محطة المعالجة الرئيسية، بالإضافة إلى رفع مستوى محطات المعالجة الفرعية الصغيرة وزيادة كفاءة المكونات العديدة لنظام جمع مياه الصرف الصحي. من المتوقع أن تؤدي هذه التدابير، عند تنفيذها، إلى تحسين أداء القطاع الفرعي لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي بشكل كبير.

ومع تزايد كميات المياه العادمة المتوقعة، فمن المتوقع أن تتم إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في القطاع الزراعي (بسبب محدودية الأراضي الزراعية ونقلها إلى المناطق الحضرية)، مما سيؤدي إلى فائض كبير من المياه العادمة. وبالتالي، فإن التخطيط الدقيق والسليم لإعادة استخدام هذه الكميات الفائضة مهم لتعزيز كفاءة عملية إعادة الاستخدام. وفي هذا الصدد، بعد تلبية حاجة القطاعين الزراعي وتنسيق الحدائق، يمكن استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في القطاع الصناعي لأغراض لا تحتاج إلى مياه عالية الجودة (مثل التبريد، والاستخلاص المعزز للنفط عن طريق الحقن بالبخار، وغسل الرمال، وإعداد الخرسانة). وكملاذ أخير، يمكن تخزين فائض مياه الصرف المعالجة في طبقة المياه الجوفية من خلال معالجة تربة طبقات المياه الجوفية أو أنظمة التخزين واسترداد طبقة المياه الجوفية، أو مزيج من الاثنين معاً حسب جودة مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة المستخدمة. وستتطلب الخيارات الأخيرة لإعادة تغذية المياه الجوفية اصطناعياً إجراء دراسات لتقييم المخاطر الصحية قبل تنفيذها.

القطاع الزراعي

يمثل الاستخدام غير الفعال للمياه في القطاع الزراعي التحدي الرئيسي للمياه في البحرين. أدت طرق الري، والتي يهيمن عليها الري بالغمر، وكذلك زراعة المحاصيل المستهلكة للمياه وزيادة ملوحة المياه الجوفية والتي تتطلب الغسيل المتكرر للتربة، إلى الإفراط في الري. وفي السنوات العشر الماضية، كان هناك تقدم ملحوظ في اعتماد أساليب الري والزراعة الحديثة. وقد أطلقت وزارة الأشغال وشئون البلديات والتخطيط العمراني عدداً من البرامج لترشيد استخدام المياه الجوفية مع الحفاظ على الأراضي الزراعية وزيادة الإنتاج الزراعي. وتشمل هذه البرامج إدخال أساليب الري الحديثة، وتعديل أنماط المحاصيل، والاستخدام الموسع لمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، وإعادة تغذية المياه الجوفية اصطناعياً بواسطة مياه الصرف المعالجة ثلاثياً والجريان السطحي لمياه الأمطار لتعزيز تخزين المياه الجوفية، وفي الآونة الأخيرة (2017)، تشجيع النظم الزراعية الحديثة ( على سبيل المثال الزراعة بدون تربة).

ويجري بحث استخدام وتجربة أنظمة الاستزراع المحمية بدون تربة (مثل الزراعة المائية، والزراعة في المواد الصلبة) بشكل واسع. كانت نتائج هذه التجارب مشجعة للغاية من حيث كفاءة الري وإنتاجية المياه والمنطقة، مقارنة بالزراعة التقليدية والمحمية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعد هذه النظم الزراعية أكثر ملاءمة للبحرين مقارنة بالأنظمة الزراعية التقليدية. حالياً، قد اعتمدت ثلاث شركات زراعية كبيرة وسبعة مزارعين هذه النظم الحديثة بنجاح. وفي هذا السياق، قد أنشأت الحكومة مشروعين في عام 2017: مشروع هورة عالي لتأجير الأراضي الزراعية ومشروع الحاضنات الزراعية.

تبلغ مساحة مشروع هورة عالي لتأجير الأراضي الزراعية، والذي يؤجر الأراضي للإنتاج الزراعي للمستثمرين البحرينيين، حوالي 100 هكتار. يتم استئجار الأرض مقابل رسم سنوي رمزي للمتر المربع للمستثمرين الذين يستوفون عدداً من الشروط، من بينها وضع دراسة جدوى، وتطوير منتج يخدم الأمن الغذائي في البحرين وتوفير دليل على القدرة المالية. تم إنشاء مشروع الحاضنات الزراعية لتوفير الخدمات الكافية لأصحاب المشاريع الزراعية لتمكينهم من تطوير أفكار زراعية مبتكرة في مشاريع إنتاج عالية التقنية ومجزية. من المتوقع أن يعزز هذان المشروعان بشكل كبير جهود القطاع والحفاظ على المياه بالإضافة إلى نسبة الاكتفاء الذاتي الغذائي الحالية من الخضروات (10% في عام 2015).

التخفيف من تغير المناخ والتكيف معه

تم تقييم آثار تغير المناخ على نظام إدارة المياه البلدية، كما يتضح من الزيادة في الطلب بسبب ارتفاع درجات الحرارة، من قبل زباري وآخرون، في عام 2018 [1]. تحدد الدراسة عدداً من السيناريوهات المستقبلية للفترة 2012-2030 حيث يتم تقدير تأثير ارتفاع درجات الحرارة على الطلب وتحسب التكاليف المرتبطة باستخدام ثلاثة مؤشرات (المالية: تكاليف الإنتاج والنقل والتوزيع؛ الاقتصادية: استهلاك أصول الغاز الطبيعي بواسطة محطات تحلية المياه؛ والبيئية: انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون من محطات تحلية المياه). تُقيّم الدراسة عدداً من سيناريوهات التدخل الإداري كتدابير للتكيف، بما في ذلك تقليل نسبة التسرب في شبكة توزيع المياه البلدية، وتقليل استهلاك الفرد من المياه من خلال زيادة الوعي حول المياه بين المستهلكين وتركيب أجهزة لتوفير المياه في الوحدات السكنية. يشير التقييم إلى إمكانية كبيرة لخفض الطلب على المياه البلدية والتكاليف المرتبطة بها، خاصة عندما يتم الجمع بين التدخلات. إذا تم تنفيذه بحلول عام 2030، فمن المقدر أن يصل التوفير المالي التراكمي إلى حوالي 2,9 مليار دولار، وسيكون التخفيض التراكمي لانبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون حوالي 19,7 مليون طن، وستكون المحافظة على احتياطيات المملكة المحدودة من الغاز الطبيعي حوالي 4 مليارات متر مكعب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن تحقيق انخفاض كبير في تصريف المياه المالحة الناتجة من تحلية المياه في البيئة البحرية وتقليل المياه العادمة المولدة وتكاليف التجميع والمعالجة المرتبطة بها.

Home / Bahrain / Water Challenges in Bahrain

Water Challenges in Bahrain

Bu Maher Fort, Bahrain
Photo 1: Bu Maher Fort, Bahrain (Source: ZAKARiYA Abbas, Flickr)

Municipal water sector

While Bahrain has been able to meet rising municipal water demand by expanding the capacity of desalination plants, this has been at enormous cost. This is manifested in the required energy (natural gas) for desalinated water production (including its opportunity cost and in situ value) and the financial and energy/electricity cost of every stage in the operation of the water supply system (i.e. production, transmission, distribution, wastewater collection, treatment and reuse). Furthermore, brine discharge by desalination plants affects the surrounding coastal and marine environment, while burning fossil fuels results in air pollution and gas emissions, which can have a harmful impact on public health. Moreover, the latter contributes to greenhouse gas emissions, which Bahrain has pledged to decrease through its nationally determined contributions under the 2015 Paris Agreement on climate change.[1]

In addition to these financial, economic and environmental costs, there are other externalities and costs related to municipal water consumption, the most important of which are those related to the volumes of generated municipal wastewater. These are manifested in the financial and energy costs of the wastewater collection and treatment process (especially the fact that the sanitation service is totally subsidized and treated wastewater reuse is provided free of charge), and the environmental costs when hydraulic loading occurs, impacting treatment efficiency and increasing carryover volumes to the marine environment. Moreover, the full potential of tertiary treated wastewater, as well as that of the generated sludge, has not been captured yet, representing a major lost opportunity under the prevailing water scarcity conditions.

In the past decade, the water supply authorities’ plan to cope with increasing water demand has focused on increasing desalination capacity. Meanwhile, the sanitation authorities are planning to enhance the wastewater treatment capacity to handle the generated wastewater volumes.

However, this supply-driven approach is considered unsustainable. To address this, the water supply authorities more recently established a number of programmes to increase water efficiency and control demand. These include revising the tariff of the municipal water supply, establishing programmes to detect and control leaks in the distribution network, installing smart metring, conducting water awareness campaigns and issuing legislation for the use of water-saving devices and building codes.

The wastewater authorities have also embarked on a number of programmes that would alleviate the current treatment problems and reduce costs, including decentralizing wastewater treatment, rehabilitating the collection network to reduce infiltration rates and expanding the treatment capacity of the main treatment plant, in addition to upgrading its minor satellite treatment plants and increasing the efficiency of the numerous components of the wastewater collection system. It is expected that these measures, when implemented, will improve the performance of the wastewater treatment subsector considerably.

With the expected increasing volumes of wastewater, it is anticipated that treated wastewater reuse in the agricultural sector will be saturated (due to limited agricultural lands and their transfer to urban areas), which will lead to large surplus volumes of wastewater. Hence, careful and proper planning for the reuse of these surplus volumes is important to enhance the efficiency of the reuse process. In this regard, after fulfilling the agricultural and landscaping sectors, treated wastewater can be utilized in the industrial sector for purposes that do not require high-grade water (e.g. cooling, enhanced oil recovery by steam injection, sand washing, concrete batching). As a last resort, surplus treated wastewater could be stored in groundwater through soil aquifer treatment or aquifer storage and recovery schemes, or a combination of both depending on the quality of the treated wastewater. The latter options of artificial groundwater recharge will require health risk assessment studies prior to their implementation.

Agricultural sector

Inefficient water use in the agricultural sector represents the main water challenge in Bahrain. Irrigation methods, dominated by flood irrigation, as well as the cultivation of water-intensive crops and the increasing salinity of groundwater requiring frequent soil washing, have led to over-irrigation. In the past ten years, there has been notable progress in the adoption of modern irrigation and agricultural methods. The Ministry of Works, Municipalities Affairs and Urban Planning has launched a number of programmes to rationalize groundwater use while maintaining agricultural lands and increasing agricultural production. These programmes include the introduction of modern irrigation methods, modification of cropping patterns, expanded use of treated wastewater, artificial groundwater recharge by tertiary treated wastewater and storm runoff to enhance groundwater storage and, more recently (2017), the promotion of modern agricultural systems (e.g. soilless farming).

The use of protected, soilless culture systems (e.g. hydroponics, substrate) is being researched and experimented with extensively. The results of these experiments have been very encouraging in terms of irrigation efficiency and water and area productivity, as compared to both traditional and protected agriculture. In addition, such agricultural systems are more suitable to Bahrain compared to traditional agricultural systems. Currently, three large agricultural companies and seven farmers have successfully adopted these modern systems. In this vein, the government established two projects in 2017: the Horat Aali agricultural land-leasing project and the agricultural incubators project.

The Horat Aali agricultural land-leasing project, which rents land for agricultural production to Bahraini investors, has a total area of about 100 ha. Land is leased for a nominal annual fee per square metre to investors who satisfy a number of conditions, among which are producing a feasibility study, cultivating a product that serves Bahrain’s food security and providing proof of financial capability. The agricultural incubators project was established to provide adequate services to agricultural entrepreneurs to enable them to develop innovative agricultural ideas into high-tech and rewarding production projects. It is expected that these two projects will considerably enhance the sector’s productivity and water conservation efforts as well as the current food self-sufficiency ratio in vegetables (10% in 2015).

Climate change mitigation and adaptation

Climate change impacts on the municipal water management system, as evidenced by the increase in demand due to rising temperatures, was assessed by al-Zubari et al. in 2018.[2]  The study outlines a number of future scenarios for the period 2012-2030 where the impact of rising temperatures on demand is quantified and the associated costs are calculated using three indicators (financial: production, conveyance and distribution costs; economic: natural gas asset consumption by desalination plants; and environmental: CO2 emissions by desalination plants). The study evaluates a number of management intervention scenarios as adaptation measures, including reducing the leakage percentage in the municipal water distribution network, and reducing per capita water consumption by raising water awareness among consumers and installing water-saving devices in residential units. The evaluation indicates significant potential for reducing municipal water demand and its associated costs, especially when interventions are combined. If implemented by 2030, it is estimated that the cumulative financial saving would be about $2.9 billion, the cumulative reduction in CO2 emissions would be about 19.7 million tons and the preservation of the kingdom’s limited natural gas reserves would be about 4 billion cubic metres. In addition, a major reduction in desalination brine discharge to the marine environment and a reduction of generated wastewater and its associated collection and treatment costs could be achieved.