الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في البحرين؟

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في البحرين؟

Bahrain
الصورة 1: البحرين. (المصدر: Anton Rogozin, Flickr)

على الرغم من التقدم المحرز على مختلف الجبهات في قطاع المياه، يواجه نظام إدارة المياه الحالي في البحرين تحديات كبيرة. من المتوقع أن يزداد هذا مع مرور الوقت في ظل ظروف العمل المعتادة. تعتبر التكاليف المرتبطة بالنظام (مالية واقتصادية وبيئية) مرتفعة ومن المتوقع أن تزداد بسبب العديد من العوامل الداخلية والخارجية مثل النمو السكاني السريع ومعدلات التحضر وأنماط الاستهلاك غير الفعالة في مختلف القطاعات المستهلكة وخسائر المياه الكبيرة نسبياً، وانخفاض كفاءة استخدام المياه وعدم كفاية إعادة تدوير المياه وإعادة استخدامها. علاوةً على ذلك، فمن المتوقع أن يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى زيادة سرعة تأثر قطاع المياه وتفاقم حالة إدارة موارد المياه والتحديات من خلال الضغط على النظام، مما سيزيد التكاليف. وتتطلب هذه الظروف إصلاح سياسة المياه الرئيسية.

حتى وقت قريب، اتبعت البحرين سياسة زيادة وإتاحة أكبر قدر ممكن من الموارد للحد من الفجوة بين مصادر المياه المتاحة وتزايد الطلب في قطاع المياه البلدي. وقد تم ذلك عن طريق توسيع محطات تحلية المياه، وهو نهج يرتبط بارتفاع التكاليف المالية والاقتصادية والبيئية وكذلك العوامل الخارجية الأخرى ذات الصلة بقطاع المياه العادمة. وفي عام 2016، أصلحت البحرين سياسة التسعير الخاصة بإمدادات المياه البلدية. وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد تم إحراز تقدم كبير في التعامل مع المياه التي لا تدر عائدات، والمعروفة بالمياه التي يتم ضخها أو إنتاجها إلا أنها تُفقد بسبب التسريبات والسرقة وغيرها من الأسباب ولا يتم إدراجها في فاتورة المستهلكين.

على الرغم من عدم استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي بالكامل حتى الآن، فهناك خطط لتوسيع إعادة استخدامها لتشمل غالبية المناطق الزراعية. ومع ذلك، مع زيادة كميات مياه الصرف الصحي المتوقعة، فمن المتوقع أن تصل إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في القطاع الزراعي إلى حدودها. ولذلك، فيعدّ التخطيط لإعادة استخدام الفائض المستقبلي مهماً لتعزيز كفاءة عملية إعادة الاستخدام. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في القطاع الصناعي للأغراض التي لا تتطلب مياه عالية الجودة (مثل التبريد، والاستخلاص المعزز للنفط عن طريق الحقن بالبخار، وغسل الرمال، وإعداد الخرسانة). كما يمكن تخزين فائض مياه الصرف المعالجة في طبقة المياه الجوفية (من خلال معالجة تربة طبقات المياه الجوفية أو أنظمة تخزين واسترداد طبقة المياه الجوفية، أو مزيج من الاثنين معاً حسب جودة مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة المستخدمة) لتخزين الفائض من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في المياه الجوفية وكذلك تعزيز تخزين المياه الجوفية.

كانت الخصخصة جزءاً أساسياً من سياسة البحرين الاقتصادية وهي عنصر رئيسي في إصلاحاتها الاقتصادية وإعادة الهيكلة، والتي بدأت في عام 2002. وتشمل هذه الخدمات قطاعي الخدمات والإنتاج، بهدف زيادة مشاركة القطاع الخاص، مما يتيح استرداد التكلفة وخفض التكاليف وتعزيز كفاءة الخدمات والإنتاج. وفي قطاع المياه على وجه التحديد، قد تمت خصخصة إنتاج المياه المحلاة، حيث تقوم الحكومة بشراء المياه المحلاة المنتجة (والكهرباء)، في حين أن توزيع النقل وجمع الرسوم لا يزالان مسؤولية هيئة الكهرباء والماء. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، بدأ قطاع معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الاعتماد على شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص لإنشاء محطة جديدة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المحرق. وعلى الرغم من أن للخصخصة العديد من المزايا من حيث الكفاءة، وتخفيض تكاليف الخدمات وإشراك القطاع الخاص، إلا أنها تحتاج إلى هيئة تنظيمية قوية وأفراد مدربين على حد سواء لضمان استمرارية هذه المزايا على المدى الطويل. ولذلك، فمن الضروري تحسين قدرة قطاع المياه على أداء هذا الدور والوظيفة الجديدة، أي الانتقال من مزود للخدمة إلى منظم للخدمة.

وأخيراً، يمكن تخفيف تحديات المياه في البحرين بشكل كبير إذا تم تطبيق أدوات التغيير الاجتماعي لتشجيع المجتمع المستهلك للمياه، حيث يصبح الحفاظ على المياه وترشيد استهلاكها والمشاركة معياراً اجتماعياً. وتشمل أدوات التغيير الاجتماعي التثقيف والتدريب وزيادة الوعي باعتبارها أهم الأدوات في بناء المعرفة حول المياه والتوصل إلى رؤية مشتركة. وضمن هذه العملية، سيتم استبدال نهج القيادة والتحكم تدريجياً بنهج أكثر مشاركة، والذي يتطلب مشاركة أكبر من المجتمع المدني، لا سيما المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بالمياه والبيئة.

Home / Bahrain / What Does the Future Hold for Water in Bahrain?

What Does the Future Hold for Water in Bahrain?

Bahrain
Photo1: Bahrain. (Source: Anton Rogozin, Flickr)

Despite the progress on various fronts in the water sector, Bahrain’s current water management system is facing major challenges. These are expected to increase with time under business-as-usual conditions. The system’s associated costs (financial, economic and environmental) are considered high and are expected to increase due to many internal and external factors such as rapid population growth and urbanization rates, inefficient consumption patterns in the various consuming sectors, relatively large water losses, low water use efficiency and inadequate water recycling and reuse. Moreover, it is expected that climate change will increase the water sector’s vulnerability and exacerbate the water resources management situation and challenges by placing additional pressure on the system, further driving up costs. These conditions necessitate major water policy reform.

Until recently, Bahrain pursued a policy of supply augmentation and maximization to reduce the gap between available water sources and escalating demand in the municipal water sector. This was done by expanding desalination plants, an approach that is associated with high financial, economic and environmental costs as well as other externalities related to the wastewater sector. In 2016, Bahrain reformed its pricing policy for municipal water supply. Moreover, major progress has been made in addressing non-revenue water, defined as water that is pumped or produced but lost to leaks, theft and other causes and is not billed to customers.

Although wastewater has not yet been fully utilized, there are plans to expand its reuse to cover the majority of agricultural areas. However, with the expected increasing volumes of wastewater, it is anticipated that treated wastewater reuse in the agricultural sector will reach its limits. Therefore, planning for the reuse of future surplus volumes is important to enhance the efficiency of the reuse process. For example, treated wastewater can be used in the industrial sector for purposes that do not require high-grade water (e.g. cooling, enhanced oil recovery by steam injection, sand washing, concrete batching). Managed aquifer recharge (through soil aquifer treatment or aquifer storage and recovery schemes, or a combination of both depending on the quality of the treated wastewater) could be utilized to store surplus treated wastewater in groundwater as well as enhance groundwater storage.

Privatization has been an essential part of Bahrain’s economic policy and is a major component of its economic reforms and restructuring, which started in 2002. These include both the services and production sectors, with the objective of increasing the participation of the private sector, enabling cost recovery and cost reduction and enhancing the efficiency of services and production. In the water sector specifically, desalinated water production has been privatized, with the government buying the produced desalinated water (and electricity), while transmission distribution and charges collection remain the responsibility of the Electricity and Water Authority. Recently, the wastewater treatment sector has also started relying on a public-private partnership for a new wastewater treatment plant in Muharraq. Although privatization has many advantages in terms of efficiency, reduction of service costs and involvement of the private sector, it will need both a strong regulatory body and trained individuals if it is to deliver these advantages in the long term. Therefore, it is necessary to improve the capacity of the water sector to perform in this new role and function, i.e. moving from a service provider to a service regulator.

Finally, Bahrain’s water challenges could be significantly alleviated if social change instruments are applied to encourage a water-oriented society, where conservation, rationalization and involvement become a societal norm. Social change instruments include education, training and awareness raising as the most important tools in building water knowledge and arriving at a shared vision. Within this process, the command-and-order approach would be gradually replaced with a more participatory approach, requiring more involvement by civil society, particularly water and environment NGOs.