الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / البُنية التحتية للمياه في البحرين

البُنية التحتية للمياه في البحرين

Muharraq bridge
الصورة 1: جسر المحرق ، البحرين (المصدر: Haeroldus Laudeus , Flickr)

لا تمتلك البحرين أي سدود أو أنظمة ري مركزية أو آباراً كبيرة. تتكون البُنية التحتية للمياه في البلاد بشكلٍ أساسي من محطات تحلية المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

في قطاع مياه الصرف الصحي، تتبع الحكومة سياسة ذات شقين: توسيع وتطوير محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الحالية، وتنفيذ خطة لامركزية لمياه الصرف الصحي للمستوطنات المطورة حديثاً. وفي الربع الأخير من عام 2018، قد بدأ التوسع في محطة توبلي لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، وهي محطة معالجة المياه العادمة الرئيسية في المملكة. يهدف التوسع إلى تلبية متطلبات التنمية الحضرية والنمو السكاني عن طريق زيادة الطاقة الإنتاجية من 200,000 متر مكعب في اليوم إلى 400,000 متر مكعب في اليوم.[1] ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي هذا التوسع إلى تحسين أداء المحطة والمساهمة في الحفاظ على البيئة والحياة البرية في خليج توبلي، بالإضافة إلى زيادة إنتاج المياه المعالجة المستخدمة في الري وتنسيق الحدائق. وبموجب سياسة اللامركزية، فهناك حالياً محطتان جديدتان لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي قيد الإنشاء: في مدينة سلمان ومدينة خليفة، وكلاهما ستكتملا بحلول عام 2022.

في قطاع إمدادات المياه، أي تحلية المياه، وضعت الحكومة خططاً رئيسية لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على المياه (والكهرباء) على مدار الخمسة عشر عاماً القادمة. من المتوقع أنه بحلول عام 2030، سيزداد إجمالي إنتاج المياه المحلاة من مستواه الحالي البالغ 0,82 مليون متر مكعب في اليوم (300 مليون متر مكعب في السنة) إلى 1,41 مليون متر مكعب في اليوم (515 مليون متر مكعب في السنة)، بزيادة قدرها حوالي 72%.[2] ومن المتوقع أيضاً أن يتم تنفيذ جميع محطات التحلية الجديدة هذه وإدارتها بواسطة القطاع الخاص، أي محطة مستقلة للمياه والكهرباء . تشمل الخطة الرئيسية لهيئة الكهرباء والماء 2030 للإنتاج والنقل مشاريع المياه (والكهرباء) التالية:

1. المرحلة الثانية لإنتاج الكهرباء والماء في محطة الدور: من المقرر بناء محطة جديدة لإنتاج الكهرباء والمياه في القطاع الخاص بطاقة 0,23 مليون متر مكعب في اليوم (80 مليون متر مكعب في السنة) في مجمع الدور للمياه والكهرباء في 2020/2021.

2. محطة رأس أبو جرجور للمياه والكهرباء: من المقرر بناء محطة جديدة لتحلية المياه بطاقة 0,23 مليون متر مكعب في اليوم جنوب محطة التناضح العكسي الحالية في رأس أبو جرجور بحلول عام 2023/2024. يسمح تشغيل هذه المحطة بإيقاف تشغيل محطة التحلية القديمة في سترة.

3. محطة تحلية المدينة الشمالية: سيتم بناء محطة تحلية مياه جديدة بطاقة 0,14 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم (50 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة) لتزويد المدينة الشمالية الجديدة بالمياه بحلول عام 2028.

4. محطة سترة لتحلية المياه: سيتم بناء محطة تحلية مياه جديدة بطاقة 0,11 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم (40 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة) بحلول عام 2029 في نفس الموقع محطة سترة لتحلية المياه بالتقطير الوميضي متعدد المراحل لتحل محل المحطة الحالية.

مما لا شك فيه أن هذا التوسع في طاقة تحلية المياه سيوفر إمدادات مستمرة من مياه الشرب جيدة النوعية خلال الـ15 سنة القادمة وما بعدها.

البنُية التحتية للمياه في البحرين
الخريطة 1: مواقع محطات التحلية في البحرين

[1] The Saudi Fund for Development and the Kuwait Fund for Economic Development are financing the expansion project as part of the GCC Development Programme for Bahrain. The project cost is $367 million over 36 months, followed by two months for operational testing.
[2] During the same period, electricity production capacity will be increased by 87% from 3,922 megawatts to 7,328 megawatts.

Home / Bahrain / Water Infrastructure in Bahrain

Water Infrastructure in Bahrain

Muharraq Bridge
Photo1:The bridge of Muharraq, Bahrain (Source: Haeroldus Laudeus , Flickr)

Bahrain does not have dams, centralized irrigation systems or large wellfields. Its water-related infrastructure consists mainly of desalination and wastewater treatment plants.

In the wastewater sector, the government has a two-pronged policy: expanding and upgrading the current wastewater treatment plants and implementing a wastewater decentralization scheme for the newly developed settlements. In the last quarter of 2018, expansion of Tubli WPCC, the principle wastewater treatment plant in the kingdom, commenced. The expansion aims to meet urban development and population growth requirements by increasing the capacity from 200,000 m3/d to 400,000 m3/d.[1] It is expected that this expansion will improve the performance of the plant and contribute to preserving the environment and wildlife in Tubli Bay, in addition to increasing the production of the treated water used for irrigation and landscaping. Under the decentralization policy, two new sewage treatment plants are currently under construction: in Madinat Salman and Madinat Khalifa, both due to be completed by 2022.

In the water supply sector, i.e. desalination, the government has developed major plans for meeting the increasing water (and electricity) demand over the next 15 years. It is expected that by 2030, the total desalinated water production will increase from its current level of 0.82 MCM/d (300 MCM/yr) to 1.41 MCM/d (515 MCM/yr), an increase of about 72%.[2] It is also expected that all these new desalination plants will be implemented and managed by the private sector, i.e. an independent water and power plant. The Electricity and Water Authority 2030 Master Plan for production and transportation includes the following water (and electricity) projects:

  1. Al-Dur second phase for water and electricity production: A new private sector power and water production plant with a capacity of 0.23 MCM/d (80 MCM/yr) is planned to be built in al-Dur water and electricity complex in 2020/2021.
  2. Ras Abu Jarjur water and electricity plant: A new desalination plant with a capacity of 0.23 MCM/d is planned to be built south of the current Ras Abu Jarjur reverse osmosis plant by 2023/2024. The commissioning of this plant will allow the decommissioning of the old Sitra desalination plant.
  3. North City desalination plant: A new desalination plant with a capacity of 0.14 MCM/d (50 MCM/yr) will be built to supply the new North City by 2028.
  4. Sitra desalination plant: A new desalination plant with a capacity of 0.11 MCM/d (40 MCM/yr) will be built by 2029 in the same location as the Sitra multistage flash desalination plant to replace the existing one.

Undoubtedly, such expansion in desalination capacity will provide a continuous supply of good-quality drinking water in the next 15 years and beyond.

Water infrastructure in Bahrain
Map 1: Location of the desalination plants in Bahrain

[1] The Saudi Fund for Development and the Kuwait Fund for Economic Development are financing the expansion project as part of the GCC Development Programme for Bahrain. The project cost is $367 million over 36 months, followed by two months for operational testing.
[2] During the same period, electricity production capacity will be increased by 87% from 3,922 megawatts to 7,328 megawatts.