الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / جودة المياه في سوريا

جودة المياه في سوريا

الصورة 1: نهر بردى ، دمشق ، سوريا. (المصدر: Shadi Hijazi, Flickr)
الصورة 1: نهر بردى ، دمشق ، سوريا. (المصدر: Shadi Hijazi, Flickr)

تكشف بيانات جودة المياه المتاحة، بوضوح، أن تلوث المياه الجوفية والسطحية ظاهرة شائعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

جودة المياه السطحية

نهر الفرات
يعاني نهر الفرات من ملوحة مرتفعة خلال موسم الري بسبب تصريف مياه الري. وقد ازدادت الملوحة من 400 مللي سيمنز لكل سم في جرابلس على الحدود التركية إلى أكثر من 1,000 مللي سيمنز لكل سم في البوكمال على الحدود العراقية. تُشكل هذه الملوحة العالية تهديداً كبيراً خاصةً في فترات الجفاف/ القحط، مما يؤدي إلى تملّح الأرض وانخفاض إنتاج المحاصيل. ويحدث التلوث الجرثومي أحياناً نتيجة التخلص من مياه الصرف الصحي من المناطق الحضرية (مثل دير الزور). وتُظهر سدود الفرات والبعث وتشرين مؤشرات كيميائية مستقرة ضمن معايير مياه الشرب. ويُظهر سد البعث تلوثاً جرثومياً بسبب التخلص من مياه الصرف الصحي من دينا .

بحيرة الجبول
إن هذه المحمية الطبيعية مهددة بالتلوث الناجم عن مياه الصرف الصحي والمواد المغذية والمبيدات الحشرية من الحقول الزراعية المحيطة. ويُظهر نهر الساجور، أحد روافد الفرات، مستوياتٍ عالية من طلب الأكسجين البيوكيميائي والأمونيا. ويحتوي نهر قويق على الكروم بمستويات أعلى من المعايير المعيارية بسبب التلوث من المدابغ ومياه الصرف الصحي من حلب، مما يهدد مياه الشرب في حلب. ويشكل الري في منطقة السبخة تهديداً للصحة العامة نتيجة لاستخدام المياه شديدة التلوث من نهر قويق.

نهر دجلة
إن أكبر مشكلة تلوث تواجه نهر دجلة هي تلوث الخزانات بمياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة. هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص بالنسبة لبحيرة الأسد، والتيهي ملوثة بمياه الصرف الصحي من الحسكة، في أقصى الشمال الشرقي من سوريا، وتكرير النفط عبر نبع طابان. وبشكل عام، فإن نوعية المياه في الخزانات الأخرى على نهر دجلة مناسبة للري ولاستهلاك مياه الشرب. وفي موسم الري، فإن موارد المياه الجوفية يكون عندها ازدياد في مستويات الملوحة.

الحوض الساحلي
إن موارد المياه في الحوض الساحلي هي ذات جودة عالية بما يكفي لمياه الشرب والاستخدامات الأخرى. وفي بعض الحالات، تحتوي المياه السطحية على مستوياتٍ عالية من المواد الصلبة العالقة، والنترات، والأمونيا، وبكتيريا الإشريكية القولونية، ولكن تستخدم معظمها في الري. وتتسبب النفايات السائلة الناتجة عن مصانع معالجة الزيتون في تلويث المياه الجوفية والينابيع، لا سيما في منطقة طرطوس وديفة، مما يهدد إمدادات مياه الشرب. وتُظهر بعض الآبار العميقة مستويات مرتفعة من الملوحة بسبب تسرب الملح. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن بعض المحميات الساحلية تحتوي على مستويات عالية من المغذيات و إن العديد من الشواطىء مهددة بالتلوث الجرثومي الناتج عن التخلص من مياه الصرف الصحي.

البادية
إن المياه الجوفية عالية الملوحة في بعض المناطق بسبب تدفق مياه الري وارتفاع معدلات التبخر.

نهر العاصي
تُظهر منطقة أسفل مجرى نهر العاصي جودة دون المستوى لمواد صلبة عالقة والنترات وطلب الأكسجين البيوكيميائي وذلك بسبب الأنشطة الزراعية والصناعية الكثيفة (مصنع الأسمدة في حمص والعديد من معامل تكرير السكر) فضلاً عن المراكز السكانية. وإن مصادر مياه الشرب معرضة للخطر بسبب مستويات التلوث العالية.

بحيرة قطينة
إن بحيرة قطينة ملوثة بالنفايات الصناعية، بما في ذلك النترات والفوسفات والمعادن الثقيلة، ونباتاتها وحيواناتها المائية مهددة بالخطر. ولا تزال جودة المياه الجوفية مناسبة للاستخدام في قطاع الزراعة.

نهري بردى والأعوج
تؤدي مياه الصرف الصحي المنزلية في المناطق الحضرية والريفية إلى ارتفاع مستويات طلب الأكسجين البيوكيميائي بمستوياتٍ أعلى من المعايير المعيارية عند مصب نهر بردى. وتتمتع مياه الأعوج بنوعية مياه أفضل قليلاً من نهر بردى.و تُظهر الينابيع والمياه الجوفية مستوياتٍ عالية من البكتيريا الإشريكية القولونية وذلك بسبب تسرّب مياه الصرف الصحي. وفي منطقة الغوطة وريف دمشق، حيث يتم استخدام العديد من الآبار لمياه الشرب، تصل تركيزات النترات من 120-200 ملليغرام لكل لتر (ملغ/ لتر)، أي أربعة أضعاف معايير منظمة الصحة العالمية. وإن التركيزات العالية من الكروم، والتي تصل إلى 5 ملغ/ لتر في المياه السطحية، هي نتيجة النفايات السائلة من صناعة الدباغة حول مدينة دمشق، مما يساهم في تهديد إمدادات مياه الشرب في الحوض.

الصورة 2: نهر العاصي ، حماة ، سوريا. (المصدر: José Mª, Flickr)
الصورة 2: نهر العاصي ، حماة ، سوريا. (المصدر: José Mª, Flickr)
الصورة 3: نهر بردى ، سوريا. (المصدر: Jamie Barras, Flickr)
الصورة 3: نهر بردى ، سوريا. (المصدر: Jamie Barras, Flickr)

نهر اليرموك
تتدهور جودة المياه في الخزانات بسبب التخلص من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة والصرف الزراعي (على سبيل المثال من بلدة أبطع، وعدوان، وطفس، وريف درعا الشرقي، ومعربة، والأصلحا، وحبران، وجبل العرب). وتوجد تركيزات عالية من النترات والأمونيا في المياه الجوفية (على سبيل المثال في وادي اليرموك والزبداني  (Altashgiel )). وإن مياه الينابيع ذات نوعية جيدة عموماً باستثناء التلوث البكتيري المحدود وارتفاع مستوى النترات في منطقة السويداء في الجنوب الغربي. وتحتوي بعض مناطق المياه الجوفية أيضاً على مستويات عالية من الملوحة (بشكلٍ طبيعي). ويتمثل التهديد الرئيسي  في ارتفاع مستويات مسببات الأمراض في مياه الري ومستويات عالية من النترات والأمونيا في آبار مياه الشرب.

جودة المياه الجوفية

إن مياه الآبار والينابيع في حوض الأعوج ملوثة بكتريولوجياً بسبب تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي. وإن تركيز النترات في بعض الآبار في الغوطة يتجاوز الحدود المحددة لمياه الشرب. وفي المنطقة الساحلية، قد تلوثت الآبار المستخدمة لأغراض الشرب بتركيزات عالية من النترات والأمونيا بسبب تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي واستخدام الأسمدة. كما أن ملوحة المياه مرتفعة في بعض الآبار بسبب تسرب مياه البحر إلى خزانات المياه الجوفية العذبة.

شبكة الصرف الصحي ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

تظهر بيانات جودة المياه المتاحة بوضوح أن تلوث المياه الجوفية والمياه السطحية بالنفايات المنزلية والصناعية قد حدث في جميع أنحاء البلاد بالقرب من جميع الأحياء السكنية الرئيسية. وفي عام 2011، قد تم توصيل حوالي 89% من سكان الحضر و69% من سكان الريف بشبكات الصرف الصحي، في حين أن 71% من سكان الحضر و7% فقط من سكان الريف كانوا مرتبطين بمحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.[1]

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

قد عانت مصادر المياه من التلوث الناتج عن النفايات الصناعية والمنزلية قبل اندلاع الحرب في عام 2011. وقد وضعت وزارة الإسكان والتعمير خطة شاملة لمعالجة المشكلة، والتي تضمنت عدداً من اللوائح البيئية وخطةً رئيسية طموحة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المحلية في جميع أنحاء البلاد. كما تضمنت الخطة بناء 345 محطة معالجة مركزية وغير مركزية بطاقة إجمالية قدرها 1,2 مليار متر مكعب في اليوم بتكلفة 1,7 مليار دولار. ومن المتوقع أن تخدم الخطة، عند تحقيقها، حوالي 75% من إجمالي السكان. ومع ذلك، فقد توقف العمل على الخطة بسبب الحرب المستمرة فضلاً عن تحديات التمويل.

وفي الواقع، فقد فاقمت الحرب من الوضع العام للمياه في سوريا مع توقف العديد من مشاريع مياه الشرب عن العمل بسبب نقص الصيانة والتمويل التشغيلي أو تعرضها للتدمير. كما أضافت الحرب إلى مصادر التلوث بسبب غياب الرقابة البيئية، وتكرير النفط بشكل عشوائي والتخلص من الجثث. ففي عام 2013، قد تم العثور على أكثر من 100 جثة في نهر قويق في حلب. وقد أدى تلوث المياه وبيع المياه غير المرخص بواسطة الصهاريج إلى انتشار عددٍ من الأمراض، بما في ذلك داء الليشمانيات في حلب ودير الزور وحمى التيفوئيد حول دمشق.

[1] Ministry of Housing and Construction. 2011. National Performance Indicator Drinking Water and Sanitation Report.

Home / Syria / Water Quality in Syria

Water Quality in Syria

Water quality
Photo 1: Barada river, Damascus. (Source: Shadi Hijazi, Flickr)

Available water quality data clearly reveal that groundwater and surface water pollution is a common phenomenon across the country.

Surface Water Quality

Euphrates River
The Euphrates suffers from high salinity during the irrigation season due to drainage of irrigation effluent. Salinity increases from 400 milliseimens per centimeter (mS/cm) at Jarabulus on the Turkish border to more than 1,000mS/cm at Bukamal on the Iraqi border. This high salinity is a major threat especially during dry spells/droughts, resulting in salinization of land and yield reduction. Bacteriological contamination occurs occasionally as a result of wastewater disposal from urban areas (e.g. Deir ez-Zor). The Euphrates, Baath and Tishrin dams show stable chemical indicators within the standards for drinking water. The Baath Dam shows bacteriological pollution due to sewage disposal from Dina.

Al-Jaboul Lake
This natural reserve is under threat from pollution from sewage water, nutrients and pesticides from surrounding agricultural fields. The Sajur River, a tributary of the Euphrates, shows high levels of biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) and ammonia. The Quaik River has chromium at levels above standards due to pollution from tanneries and sewage from Aleppo, threatening Aleppo’s drinking water. Irrigation in the Es-Siha area poses a public health threat as a result of the use of highly polluted water from the Quaik River.

Tigris River
The biggest contamination problem facing the Tigris River is pollution of reservoirs with untreated sewage. This is especially the case for Lake Assad, which is polluted by sewage from al-Hasakah, in the far north-eastern corner of Syria, and oil refining through Taban spring. The water quality in the Tigris’ other reservoirs is sufficient for irrigation and, generally, drinking water use. In the irrigation season, groundwater sources have increased salinity levels.

Coastal Basin
Water resources in the coastal basin are of a high enough quality for drinking water and other uses. In some cases, surface water has high levels of suspended solids, nitrates, ammonia and e-coli, but mostly within the limit for irrigation use. Effluent from olive processing factories is polluting groundwater and springs, especially in the Tartous area and Difa, threatening drinking water supply. Some deep wells show high levels of salinity due to salt intrusion. In addition, some coastal reserves have high nutrient levels and several beaches are threatened by bacteriological contamination caused by sewage disposal.

Badia
Groundwater is highly saline in certain areas due to irrigation effluent and high evaporation rates.

Orontes River
The downstream part of the Orontes River shows substandard quality for suspended solids, nitrate and BOD due to dense agricultural and industrial activities (a fertilizer plant in Homs and several sugar refineries) as well as population centers. Drinking water sources are threatened by high pollution levels.

Lake Qattinah
Lake Qattinah is polluted by industrial waste, including nitrate, phosphate and heavy metals, and its aquatic flora and fauna are threatened. Groundwater quality is still sufficient for use in agriculture.

Barada and Awaj Rivers
Urban and rural domestic wastewater result in BOD levels above the standard downstream in the Barada. The Awaj has a slightly better water quality than the Barada. Springs and groundwater show high levels of e-coli due to percolation of sewage. In the Ghouta area and Damascus Rif, where many wells are used for drinking water, nitrate concentrations of 120-200 milligrams per litre (mg/L) are up to four times the World Health Organization standard. High concentrations of chromium of up to 5 mg/L in surface water are a result of effluent from tanning industries around Damascus, contributing to the threat to drinking water supplies in the basin.

water quality in Syria
Photo 2: Orontes River, Hama, Syria. (Source: José Mª, Flickr)
Water quality in Syria
Photo 3: Barada River, Syria. ( Source: Jamie Barras, Flickr)

Yarmouk River
Water quality in reservoirs is deteriorating due to untreated wastewater disposal and agricultural drainage (from e.g. Ibtaa, Udwan, Tafas, Daraa al-Sharqi, Maaraba, Aslaha, Habran and Jabal Alarab). High nitrate and ammonia concentrations are found in groundwater (e.g. in Yarmouk, Alzabadan and Altashgiel valley). Spring water is generally of good quality except for limited bacteriological contamination and high nitrates in the Sweida area in the south-west. Some groundwater areas also have (naturally) high salinity levels. The major threat comes from high pathogen levels in irrigation water and high nitrate and ammonia levels in wells for drinking water.

Groundwater Quality

Well and spring water in the Awaj basin is bacteriologically contaminated because of sewage discharge. The concentrations of nitrates in some wells in Ghouta exceed the limits set for drinking water. In the coastal region, wells used for drinking purposes are contaminated with high concentrations of nitrates and ammonia because of sewage discharge and fertilizer use. Water salinity is also high in some wells due to seawater intrusion into the fresh groundwater aquifers.

Sanitation and Wastewater Treatment Network

Available water quality data clearly show that pollution of groundwater and surface water with domestic and industrial waste has occurred across the country, in the vicinity of all major settlements. In 2011, about 89% of the urban population and 69% of the rural population was connected to sewer networks, whereas 71% of the urban population and only 7% of the rural population was connected to WWTPs.[1]

Environmental and Health Risks

Water sources suffered from pollution by industrial and domestic waste before the outbreak of the war in 2011. A comprehensive plan to address the problem was initiated by the Ministry of Housing and Construction, which included a number of environmental regulations and an ambitious master plan to treat domestic wastewater across the country. The plan also included the construction of 345 centralized and decentralized treatment plants with a total capacity of 1.2BCM/day at a cost of $1.7 billion. The plan, when realized, was expected to serve about 75% of the total population. However, it was halted because of the ongoing war as well as funding challenges.

Indeed, the war has exacerbated Syria’s overall water situation, with many drinking water projects going out of service as a result of a lack of maintenance and operational funding or destruction. The war has also added to the sources of pollution due to the absence of environmental control, random oil refining and the dumping of bodies. In 2013, more than 100 corpses were found in Quaik River in Aleppo. Water pollution and unlicensed water vending by tanks has led to the spread of a number of diseases, including Leishmaniasis in Aleppo and Deir ez-Zor and typhoid fever around Damascus.

[1] Ministry of Housing and Construction. 2011. National Performance Indicator Drinking Water and Sanitation Report.