الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / تحديات المياه في سوريا

تحديات المياه في سوريا

تحديات المياه في سوريا water challenges in Syria
الصورة 1: ميناء أرواد ، سوريا. (المصدر: The Nailman, Flickr)

قد حدد الفريق المعني بالمياه والغذاء والطاقة في الإسكوا[1] التحديات الرئيسية التي تواجه قطاع المياه قبل بدء الحرب في عام 2011. وتتلخص هذه التحديات على النحو التالي:

الإستخدام غير الفعّال للمياه

يمثل انخفاض إنتاجية المياه في الزراعة تحدياً كبيراً يواجه إدارة المياه في سوريا. وعموماً، فإن صافي العائد للمحاصيل منخفض جداً. أما صافي العائدات للقطن والسكر، واللذان يزرعان على مساحة أكثر من 221,000 هكتار، فهو سلبي (ويقاس بالأسعار الاجتماعية).

ويتم استغلال جميع موارد المياه الجوفية تقريباً استغلالاً مفرطاً، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاضٍ مستمر في مستويات المياه الجوفية. وإن هذا غير مستدام ويؤدي إلى زيادة العجز في توازن المياه.

ويُمثل الفاقد الطبيعي والإداري للمياه تحدياً آخر. حيث يبلغ متوسط المياه المهدورة 33% على المستوى الوطني وقد يصل إلى 40% في بعض المناطق. إن الأسباب الرئيسية هي الربط غير القانوني بالشبكات والنوعية والكمية غير الملائمة للعدادات في نظام إمدادات المياه.

ضعف الإطار الاجتماعي- الاقتصادي

لم يتناول التحديث الاقتصادي الذي كان جزءاً من الخطة الخمسية (2006-2010) قطاع المياه بأكمله. وتم التعامل مع مياه الشرب في الغالب كقطاع اقتصادي (خدمة)، في حين ظل قطاع الري خدمةً عامة، مع وضع قيمة ضئيلة أو معدومة على استهلاك المياه. وعلى الرغم من الشروع بتحديث قطاع الري، إلا أن ذلك لم يرافقه دوماً التغييرات اللازمة في تخصيص المياه الفعلي. وقد كانت المشاركة والمنافسة بين الشركات الخاصة محدودة، مما قد أعاق تقديم الممارسات المبتكرة بكفاءة.

القيود السياسية والاقتصادية

تُهيمن الأهداف الوطنية للأمن الغذائي على السياسيات الزراعية في سوريا، مما يحفز إنتاج الحبوب ذات القيمة المنخفضة والمستهلكة للماء. وتواصل الحكومة تقديم الدعم ذي الصلة بالأسعار والمدخلات لمزارعي القمح والحبوب الأخرى، على الرغم من وجود درجة معينة من تحرير السوق المحلي للحبوب. ويعتبر القمح المستهلك الرئيسي لمياه الري، وخاصة في سلة خبز البلاد في الشمال الشرقي.[2]

تزايد الطلب والتحضر

بالإضافة إلى تراجع توافر المياه العذبة، تعتبر الرؤية المشتركة غائبة في قطاع المياه. وقد أدى ذلك إلى الافتقار إلى التواصل والتنسيق بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة. إن ندرة المياه هي إلى حدٍ كبير من أعراض سوء الإدارة أكثر من الندرة الفعلية. ويمكن مواجهة التحديات الطبيعية والتي تتميز بالتبخر الشديد وتفاوت تساقط الأمطار عبر الزمان والمكان بممارسات الإدارة الجيدة. وإن جمع مياه الأمطار له إمكانات كبيرة إلا أنه غير مستخدم كما ينبغي.

توجد العديد من القوانين واللوائح المعمول بها لحماية موارد المياه من التلوث والاستغلال المفرط. ومع ذلك، فإن الإنفاذ الفعال سيتطلب إصلاحاً مؤسسياً كبيراً وإدخال تدابير المساءلة، والتي يتم الافتقار إليها في الوقت الحالي.

حماية المناخ والتكيف مع التغيرات المناخية

غالباً ما تواجه سوريا فترات جفاف، والتي لها عواقب وخيمة على الموارد المائية والأنشطة الاقتصادية ذات الصلة. وتشير العديد من الدراسات الدولية إلى أن تغير المناخ سيؤدي إلى تفاقم شدة وتواتر أحداث الجفاف. وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن من المرجح أن يصبح تواتر وشدة هطول الأمطار غير متوقع على نحو متزايد، مما سيزيد من التفاوت في تخصيص الموارد المائية. وتشير الدراسات المختلفة إلى تأثيرات مختلفة بسبب تغير المناخ. وقد تم هنا اعتماد تخفيض بنسبة 32% في توافر الموارد المائية بحلول عام 2050، كما تنبأت به الأمم المتحدة.

تأثير الحرب: الاحتياجات قصيرة الأجل هائلة

إن التحديات طويلة الأجل لموارد المياه في سوريا، كما كان الحال قبل الحرب، مُلحة اليوم بنفس القدر، إن لم تكن بقدرٍ أكبر. إن هذه التحديات هي نتيجة سنواتٍ من عدم الاهتمام الكافي بالإدارة المستدامة لموارد المياه. ويعزى ذلك جزئياً إلى أهداف الأمن الغذائي، مما قد أدى إلى سياسات وحوافز اقتصادية ساهمت في استنفاد احتياطي المياه في البلاد. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، فقد شهدت الحرب تدميراً واسعاً للبنية التحتية للمياه، سواء كانت تلك المرتبطة بتزويد المياه للأغراض المنزلية والزراعية والصناعية أو لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي أيضاً، مما يؤثر بشكلٍ مباشر على الرفاه الاجتماعي والاقتصادي وصحة السكان. وبمعنى آخر، فإن الاحتياجات ا في الأجل القريب هائلة.

إمدادات مياه الشرب

في أجزاء كثيرة من البلاد، قد تعطلت إمدادات مياه الشرب إلى حدٍ كبير. ولم يقتصر الأمر على محدودية الوصول إلى المياه بشكلٍ كبير بسبب تعطل أو تدمير شبكات الإمدادات ونقص قطع الغيار ونقص الوقود وانقطاع الكهرباء، بل قد أدت الحرب أيضاً إلى نزوح الآلاف من الناس، وخاصة سكان الريف والذين انتقلوا إلى المناطق الحضرية غير المجهزة بما يكفي للتعامل معهم. وقد أدى ذلك إلى زيادة الأمراض المنقولة عن طريق المياه. وكثيراً ما تتعرض المدن الكبرى لنقص المياه والكهرباء.

معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

إن غالبية محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي قد توقفت عن العمل بسبب عدم توافر الوقود وقطع الغيار، وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي وتدمير البُنية التحتية. وقد نتج عن ذلك تلوث واسع النطاق في المياه الجوفية والمياه السطحية، وتزايد خطر التعرض لمياه الصرف الصحي، والنفايات السائلة الصناعية والأمراض المنقولة عن طريق المياه.

[1] In 2005/2006, 75% of wheat production was realized in the four governorates of Hasakeh, Aleppo, Raqqa and Deir ez-Zor, according to USDA figures. Retrieved from www.pecad.fas.usda.gov/highlights/2008/05/Syria_may2008.htm. Accessed on [19-03-2019].
[2] Trondalen, J. 2009. ‘Climate Changes, Water Security and Possible Remedies for the Middle East’. Scientific paper for UNESCO-PCCP. Available at www.unwater.org/downloads/181886E.pdf. Retrieved on [19-03-2019].

Home / Syria / Water Challenges in Syria

Water Challenges in Syria

Water challenges in Syria
Photo 1: Port of Arwad, Syria. (Source: The Nailman, Flickr)

Inefficient water use

Low water productivity in agriculture is a major challenge facing water management in Syria. Net returns for crops are generally quite low. Cotton and sugar, which are planted over 221,000 ha, have negative net returns (measured in social prices).

Almost all groundwater resources are overexploited, causing continuous lowering of groundwater levels. This is unsustainable and leading to an increasing deficit in the water balance.

Excessive physical and administrative water loss is another challenge. Non-revenue water averages 33% at the national level and up to 40% in some regions. The main causes are illegal connections and inadequate quality and quantity of metres in the water supply system.

Weak socio-economic framework

The economic modernization that was part of the five-year plan (2006-2010) did not address the whole water sector. Drinking water was dealt with mostly as an economic (service) sector, while the irrigation sector remained a public service, with little to no value placed on water consumption. Although the irrigation sector started to be modernized, this was not always accompanied by the necessary changes in actual water allocation. The involvement of and competition between private companies was limited, obstructing the efficient introduction of innovative practices.

Political and economic constraints

Syria’s agricultural policies are dominated by the national goals of food security, stimulating the production of low-value, high-water-consuming grains. The government continues to provide related price and input support to farmers for wheat and other grains, despite a certain degree of domestic market liberalization for grains. Wheat is the main user of irrigation water, especially in the country’s breadbasket in the north-east.[1]

Growing demand and urbanization

In addition to declining freshwater availability, a common vision is missing in the water sector. This has led to a lack of communication and coordination between the different stakeholders. Water scarcity is largely a symptom of poor management than actual scarcity. The natural challenges characterized by high evaporation and uneven rainfall across time and space can be countered with good management practices. Rainwater harvesting has significant and underused potential.

Several laws and regulations are in place to protect water resources from pollution and overexploitation. However, effective enforcement will require major institutional reform and the introduction of accountability measures, which are currently lacking.

Climate change mitigation and adaptation

Syria often faces periods of drought, which have severe consequences for water resources and the related economic activities. Several international studies indicate that climate change will worsen the severity and frequency of drought events. Furthermore, the frequency and intensity of precipitation is likely to become more unpredictable, which will increase the disparities in water resource allocation. Different studies suggest different impacts due to climate change. A 32% reduction of water resources availability by 2050, predicted by UN Water, is adopted here.[2]

Impact of the war: Short-term needs are immense

The long-term challenges to Syria’s water resources, as they existed before the war, are just as urgent today, if not more so. These challenges are the result of years of insufficient attention to sustainable water resources management. This was partly driven by food security goals, resulting in policies and economic incentives that contributed to exhausting the country’s water reserves. More recently, the war has seen the widespread destruction of water infrastructure, both for the supply of water for domestic, agricultural and industrial purposes and for wastewater treatment, directly affecting the socio-economic well-being and health of the population. In other words, the short-term needs are immense.

Drinking water supply

In many parts of the country, drinking water supply has been severely disrupted. Not only has access to water been drastically reduced because of broken or destroyed supply systems, lack of spare parts, fuel shortages and power cuts, the war has also internally displaced thousands of people, notably rural populations who have moved to urban areas that are ill-equipped to handle them. This has resulted in an increase in waterborne diseases. The major cities are frequently hit by water and electricity shortages.

Wastewater treatment

Most WWTPs have stopped working because of the unavailability of fuel and spare parts, power cuts and the destruction of the infrastructure itself. This has resulted in large-scale pollution of the groundwater and surface water, and increased risk of exposure to wastewater, industrial effluents and waterborne diseases.

[1] In 2005/2006, 75% of wheat production was realized in the four governorates of Hasakeh, Aleppo, Raqqa and Deir ez-Zor, according to USDA figures. Retrieved from www.pecad.fas.usda.gov/highlights/2008/05/Syria_may2008.htm. Accessed on [19-03-2019].
[2] Trondalen, J. 2009. ‘Climate Changes, Water Security and Possible Remedies for the Middle East’. Scientific paper for UNESCO-PCCP. Available at www.unwater.org/downloads/181886E.pdf. Retrieved on [19-03-2019].