الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / الموارد المائية في سوريا

الموارد المائية في سوريا،

الصورة 1: نهر الفرات عند دخوله سوريا من تركيا (المصدر: هالة الأحمد)
الصورة 1: نهر الفرات عند دخوله سوريا من تركيا (المصدر: هالة الأحمد)

يتألف جزء كبير من سوريا من هضاب صحراوية يتراوح ارتفاعها بين 200 و1000 متر، إذ أن انخفاض هطول الأمطار يعني شح الموارد المائية. ونتيجة لتدفق السكان السريع من المناطق الريفية المقترن بالتصنيع، فإن المناطق الحضرية تعاني من نقص المياه ، فضلاً عن الاستهلاك الجائر لخزانات المياه الجوفية، حيث أن ما يقرب من ثلث إجمالي موارد المياه تنشأ خارج البلاد، وبالتالي، تبرز الحاجة إلى إدارةٍ مستدامة ومخطط لها استراتيجياً للموارد المائية.

مياه الأمطار

إن الأمطار هي المورد الرئيسي للمياه في سوريا، مما يؤثر على توافر جميع الموارد المائية الأخرى. ويقدر متوسط موارد مياه الأمطار السنوية بحوالي 46 مليار متر مكعب. وفي سنوات الجفاف، ينخفض هذا الرقم كثيراً. وعلاوةً على ذلك، يتم توزيع هطول الأمطار بشكل غير متساوٍ في المكان والزمان. وتتساقط الأمطار، وأحياناً الثلوج، بين شهري أكتوبر/تشرين الأول ومايو/أيار ، وخاصة في الجبال. وتنقسم البلاد إلى خمس مناطق بناءً على متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي.

  • المنطقة الأولى: تغطي حوالي 2,7 مليون هكتار ويبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي بين 400 و650 مم.
  • المنطقة الثانية: تغطي حوالي 2,5 مليون هكتار ويبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي بين 300 و400 مم.
  • المنطقة الثالثة: تغطي حوالي 1,3 مليون هكتار ويبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي بين 300 و400 مم.
  • المنطقة الرابعة: تغطي حوالي 1,8 مليون هكتار ويبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي بين 100 و200 مم.
  • المنطقة الخامسة: تغطي منطقة البادية حوالي 8,3 مليون هكتار، ويبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي أقل من 100 مم

تساهم حوالي 20% فقط من الأمطار في موارد المياه المتجددة الداخلية. أما فيما يتعلق بعلم المياه، فتنقسم سوريا إلى سبعة أحواض، ويقدر متوسط إمدادات المياه السطحية بحوالي 10 مليار متر مكعب، في حين تشير الأرقام إلى أن متوسط إمدادات المياه الجوفية المتجددة يبلغ حوالي 6 مليار متر مكعب.[1] [2]

الحوض المائيكمية الأمطار (مليون متر مكعب)مساحة الحوض (هكتار)إجمالي المياه التقليدية المتوفرة (مليون متر مكعب)
حوض بردى والأعوج22978596881
حوض العاصي6603216242246
حوض السهوب193070786179
حوض دجلة والخابور10691211292207
حوض الساحل849350864160
حوض اليرموك68226721332
حوض الفرات9800512387933
المجموع 4663618518017938

الجدول 1 : الأحواض المائية في سوريا.

  • حوض بردى والأعوج
  • حوض العاصي
  • حوض دجلة والخابور
  • حوض الساحل
  • حوض اليرموك
  • حوض الفرات

الشكل 1: النسبة المئوية من إجمالي المياه التقليدية المتاحة في أحواض المياه في سوريا.

الخريطة 1: أحواض المياه في سوريا. اضغط للتكبير. @ Fanack.com
الخريطة 1: أحواض المياه في سوريا. اضغط للتكبير. @ Fanack.com

المياه السطحية

يتدفق في سوريا 16 نهراً وروافدها، وخمسة منها مشتركة دولياً (الفرات ودجلة والعاصي واليرموك والنهر الكبير الجنوبي ). ويمثل تدفقها حوالي 75% من إجمالي موارد المياه السطحية المنظمة في البلاد وأكثر، من 45% من موارد المياه المتاحة للاستخدام. وإن إجمالي موارد المياه السطحية (باستثناء نهر دجلة لأن سوريا لا تستخدم مياهه) هو 10 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة.

اسم النهرأقل تدفق. متر مكعب/ الثانيةأعلى تدفق. متر مكعب/ الثانيةمتوسط التدفق. متر مكعب/ الثانيةالطول (كلم) داخل الأراضي السوريةالطول الكلي (كم)
الفرات7714745836102880
الخابور0602.09402477
الجغجغ040.36100124
البليخـــــــــ116202
الساجور0.034.180.7927122
العاصي3.37.44.8366485
عفرين011.061.6774136
قويق3.628.085.13155202
الكبير الشمالي0.4523.025.79696
السن0.1812.13566
بردى0.81.350.918181
الأعوج702.220.957070
اليرموك1.41.81.734860
الكبير الجنوبي0.1105.2514.475676
السيبراني04.010.283232
أبو قبيس0.021.20.366
الإجمالي156.91719.7627.1822455055

الجدول 2 : الأنهار في سوريا.

ويوجد في سوريا 9 بحيرات رئيسية، والتي تغطي مساحة إجمالية قدرها 1,174 كيلومتراً مربعاً.

المياه الجوفية

تتوفر المياه الجوفية في معظم التكوينات الجيولوجية في البلاد. وإن بعض طبقات المياه الجوفية الرئيسية غير قابلة للتجديد (المياه الأحفورية)، ويعتبر استغلالها مشابهاً للتعدين. وتشير البيانات التاريخية والفعلية إلى أن سحب المياه الجوفية يفوق بكثير معدل التغذية الطبيعية في جميع المناطق تقريباً.

وإن خزانات المياه الجوفية الرئيسية هي تلك الموجودة في سلسلة جبال لبنان الشرقية (جبال القلمون) وجبال العلويين. وتتفجر عدة ينابيع من أنظمة الخزانات الجوفية العابرة للحدود هذه، مثل عارييّة وبردى وعنجر- شمسين وراس العين. تحدث عملية تغذية النظام الجوفي من هطول الأمطار الغزيرة في المناطق الجبلية، والتي تتسرب عبر الطبقات الكارستية. يُقدر إجمالي التدفق الفعلي للمياه الجوفية بنحو 1,33 كم3/ السنة، منها 1,20 كم3 من تركيا و0,13 كم3 من لبنان (نبع الدان). ويقدر تدفق المياه الجوفية إلى إسرائيل والأردن بنحو 0,25 كم3/ السنة و0,09 كم3/ السنة على التوالي.

اسم البحيرةموقعهاالمساحة. كم2
الأسدقرب الثورة665
جبولقرب حلب239
تشرينقرب حلب166
قطينةقرب حمص61
العتيبةقرب دمشق11
خاتونيةقرب الحسكة3
مزيريبقرب درعا1
البعثقرب الرقة27
مسعدةقرب القنيطرة1
الإجمالي1174

الجدول 3 : البحيرات في سوريا.

موارد المياه غير التقليدية

مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة
توجد في البلاد 26 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي قيد التشغيل، بطاقة إجمالية تبلغ 821,000 متر مكعب/ اليوم أو 299 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. ولا يوجد سوى أربع  محطات مركزية لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المدن الرئيسية وهي: دمشق وحماة وحمص وحلب. وإن محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الـ22 المتبقية هي محطات لا مركزية، بطاقة إنتاجية تتراوح ما بين 400 و10,000 متر مكعب في اليوم.

ومع ذلك، فإن معظم محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي لا تعمل بكامل طاقتها. ويتم استخدام ثمانية ملايين متر مكعب في السنة فقط من مياه الصرف المعالجة من محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الرئيسية لأغراض الري. وإن استخدام المياه العادمة المعالجة لديه القدرة على تغطية 3% من إجمالي الطلب على المياه في سوريا.[3]

المحافظةعدد محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحيالمياه المعالجة (متر مكعب/ اليوم)
درعا2475
حمص510490
حماة215000
حلب1371520
اللاذقية42100
طرطوس21000
الرقة52500
الحسكة15000
دمشق وريفها4413300
الإجمالي26821385

الجدول 4 : استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في سوريا.

تحلية المياه

في سوريا، تحلية مياه البحر لها قيمة ثانوية فحسب إذ تبلغ الطاقة الإجمالية لتحلية المياه  8,18 متر مكعب، اليوم/ أي أقل من 3 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. يُشكل هذا ما يقرب من 0,01% من إجمالي سحب المياه، وبالتالي فإن أهمية هذا المكون تكاد لا تذكر. يقتصر استخدام المياه المحلاة على الأغراض الصناعية فقط، فمن ناحية، فمن ناحية، فإن تكاليف تحلية المياه مرتفعة؛ ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، فإن البحر يعتبر بعيداً عن مناطق العجز المائي.

حصاد مياه الأمطار
يعتبر حصاد مياه الأمطار تقنية تستخدم لجمع وتخزين مياه الأمطار لاستخدامها لاحقاً. وتمتلك سوريا إمكانيات كبيرة لتأمين موارد مائية إضافية باستخدام هذه التقنية. ومن الهطول المطري السنوي البالغ 46 مليار متر مكعب، فإنه يتم استخدام 9 مليون متر مكعب فقط على نحو فعّال. وتتم خسارة الـ37 مليون متر مكعب المتبقية من خلال التبخر والتسرّب والجريان السطحي نحو البحر. وإنه من شأن جمع المياه من أسطح المنازل في المناطق الريفية وحده أن يوفر 35 مليون متر مكعب من المياه.[4] ولا يُعرف الكثير عن الإمكانات إذا ما تم دمج هذه التقنية مع تقنيات أخرى لجمع مياه الأمطار في المناطق الحضرية والريفية.

إجمالي توافر المياه

قد انخفضت موارد المياه المتاحة للفرد من 12,185 متر مكعب في عام 1992 إلى 809 متر مكعب في عام 2012، في حين بلغ متوسط موارد المياه المتجددة الفعلية 1,250  متر مكعب (انظر الشكل 2).و في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، فإن سوريا تعد واحدة من أفضل الدول من حيث توافر المياه. ومع ذلك، فإن توافر المياه للفرد أقل من المستوى المحدد دولياً لندرة المياه البالغ  1000 متر مكعب للفرد.

Syria- Water availability per capita between 1992-2012

الشكل 2: توافر المياه للفرد بين عامي 1992-2012.

[1] Mahmoud, DH and Sayegh, C. 2017. Syrian Water Situation – Analytical Study and Future Prospects. Homs: Baath University.
[2] Aw-Hassan, A., Rida, F., Telleria, R. and Bruggeman, A. 2014. ‘The impact of food and agricultural policies on groundwater use in Syria’. Journal of Hydrology 513, 204-215.
[3] Ministry of Housing and Construction. 2011. Wastewater treatment plants performance report.
[4] Mourad, K. and Berndtsson, R. 2011. ‘Potential water saving from rainwater harvesting in Syria’. Vatten 67:113-117.

Home / Syria / Water Resources in Syria

Water Resources in Syria

Photo 1: Euphrates River when  enters Syria from Turkey (Source : Hala ALahmad )
Photo 1: Euphrates River when enters Syria from Turkey (Source : Hala ALahmad )

Much of Syria comprises desert plateaus with elevation ranging from 200-1,000 metres. Low precipitation means water resources are scarce. As a result of rapid population inflow from rural areas coupled with industrialization, urban areas suffer from water shortages, groundwater aquifers are heavily overexploited and, with almost one third of total water resources originating outside the country, the need for sustainable and strategically planned water resources management becomes apparent.

Rain Water

Rain is the main water resource in Syria, affecting the availability of all other water resources. The average annual rainwater resource is estimated at 46 billion cubic metres (BCM). In drought years, this figure is much lower. Furthermore, the rainfall is unevenly distributed in both space and time. Rain and sometimes snow fall between October and May, mainly in the mountains. The country is divided into five zones based on the average annual precipitation.

  • Zone I: covers some 2.7 million hectares (ha) and has an average annual rainfall of 400-650mm.
  • Zone II: covers about 2.5 million ha and has an average annual rainfall of 300-400mm.
  • Zone III: covers about 1.3 million ha and has an average annual rainfall of 300-400mm.
  • Zone IV: covers about 1.8 million ha and has an average annual rainfall of 100-200mm.
  • Zone V: covers the badia and about 8.3 million ha and has an average less than 100 mm

Only around contributes to the internal renewable water resources. In terms of hydrology, Syria is divided into seven basins, and the average supply of surface water is estimated to be around 10BCM, whereas figures show that the average supply of renewable groundwater is around 6BCM.[1],[2]

Water basinAmount of rainfall (MCM)Area of the basin (Hectar)Total available conventional water (MCM)
Barada & Awaj Basin22978596881
Orontes Basin6603216242246
Steppe Basin193070786179
Dajleh & Khabour Basin10691211292207
Coast Basin849350864160
Al-yarmouk Basin68226721332
Euphrates9800512387933
Total 4663618518017938

Table 1. Water basins in Syria .

  • Barada & Awaj Basin
  • Orontes Basin
  • Dajleh & Khabour Basin
  • Coast Basin
  • Al-yarmouk Basin
  • Euphrates

Figure 1. Percentage of total available conventional water in the water basins of Syria.

Map 1: Water basins in Syria. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com
Map 1: Water basins in Syria. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Surface Water

There are 16 rivers and tributaries flowing in Syria, five of which are internationally shared (Euphrates, Tigris, Orontes, Yarmouk and Khabeer al-Janoubi). Their flow constitutes almost 75% of the country’s total organized surface water resources and over 45% of the water resources available for use. The total surface water resources (excluding the Tigris since its water is not used by Syria) are 10BCM/yr.

River nameMin. flow M3/secMax. flow M3/secAverage flow M3/secLength (km) within syrian territoryTotal length (km)
Euphrates7714745836102880
Al-Khabour0602.09402477
Al-Jaghiagh040.36100124
Al-Balikhـــــــــ116202
Al-Sajour0.034.180.7927122
Orontes 3.37.44.8366485
Afrin 011.061.6774136
Queiq3.628.085.13155202
Al-Kabir-Al-Shamali0.4523.025.79696
Sinn0.1812.13566
Barada0.81.350.918181
Al-Awaj702.220.957070
Al-Yarmouk1.41.81.734860
Al-kabir Al-Janubi0.1105.2514.475676
Sybarani04.010.283232
Abou kobis0.021.20.366
Total156.91719.7627.1822455055

Table 2. Rivers in Syria.

Groundwater

Groundwater is available in most of the country’s geological formations. Some of the main aquifers are non-renewable (fossil water), and their exploitation is considered as mining. Historical and actual data indicate that the groundwater withdrawal far exceeds the natural recharge rate in almost all areas.

The main groundwater aquifers are those of Anti-Lebanon and the Alawite mountains. There are several springs discharging from this transboundary groundwater aquifer system, such as the Ari-Eyh, Barada, Anjar-Chamsine and Ras el-Ain. Recharge to the system occurs from heavy precipitation in the mountainous regions. which infiltrates through karstic layers.

Total actual groundwater inflow is estimated at 1.33km3/yr, of which 1.20km3 is from Turkey and 0.13km3 is from Lebanon (Dan springs). Groundwater outflow to Israel and Jordan is estimated at 0.25km3/yr and 0.09km3/yr respectively.

Lake NameLocationArea Km2
Al-AssadNear Al-Thawra665
JabbulNear Aleppo239
TeshrieneNear Aleppo166
QattinehNear Homs61
AutaybaNear Damascus11
KhatuniehNear Al-Hasakeh3
MzereebNear Daraa1
Al-BaathNear Al-Rakka27
MasadaNear Al-Quneitra1
Total1174

Table 3. Lakes in Syria.

Non-Conventional Water Sources

Treated wastewater
Twenty-six wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) are in operation, with a total capacity of 821,000m3/day or 299 million cubic metres per year (MCM/yr). There are only four major centralized WWTPs in the main cities: Damascus, Hama, Homs and Aleppo. The remaining 22 WWTPs are decentralized, with capacities ranging between and 400 m3/day. However, most WWTPs are not working to their full capacity.

Only eight MCM/yr of treated wastewater from the major WWTPs is used for irrigation. The use of treated wastewater has the potential to cover 3% of the total water demand in Syria.[3]

GovernorateNumber of WWTPsTreated water M3/day
Daraa’2475
Homs510490
Hama215000
Aleppo1371520
Latakia42100
Tartous21000
Ra’aqa52500
Hasaka15000
Damascus and Rif4413300
Total26821385

Table 4. Reuse of treated wastewater in Syria.

Desalination

In Syria, desalination of seawater has only marginal value, and the total desalination capacity is 8.18m3/day, which amounts to less than 3MCM/yr. This is approximately 0.01% of the total water withdrawal, and therefore the importance of this component is negligible. The use of desalinated water is limited to industrial purposes only. On the one hand, desalination costs are high; on the other, the sea is far from the water-deficit areas.

Rainwater harvesting
Rainwater harvesting is a technique to collect and store rainwater for later use. Syria has great potential to secure additional water resources using this technique. Of the BCM of annual rainfall, only 9BCM is effectively used. The remaining BCM is lost through evaporation, percolation and runoff to the sea. Roof rainwater harvesting in rural areas alone would save more than 35MCM.[4] Not much is known about the potential if this were combined with other rainwater harvesting techniques in both urban and rural areas.

Total Water Availability

Available water resources per capita declined from 12,185m3 in 1992 to 809m3 in 2012, whereas the actual renewable water resources were on average 1,250m3 (see Figure 2). In the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), Syria is one of the better off countries in terms of water availability. Even so, per capita availability is below the internationally set level for water scarcity of 1,000m3 per capita.

Syria- Water availability per capita between 1992-2012

Figure 2: Water availability per capita between 1992-2012.

[1] Mahmoud, DH and Sayegh, C. 2017. Syrian Water Situation – Analytical Study and Future Prospects. Homs: Baath University.
[2] Aw-Hassan, A., Rida, F., Telleria, R. and Bruggeman, A. 2014. ‘The impact of food and agricultural policies on groundwater use in Syria’. Journal of Hydrology 513, 204-215.
[3] Ministry of Housing and Construction. 2011. Wastewater treatment plants performance report.
[4] Mourad, K. and Berndtsson, R. 2011. ‘Potential water saving from rainwater harvesting in Syria’. Vatten 67:113-117.