الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / استهلاك المياه في سوريا

استهلاك المياه في سوريا

استهلاك المياه في سوريا water use in Syria
الصورة 1: مزارع سوري يحفر قناة للري. (المصدر: Raduan, Flickr)

الاستهلاك الحالي والمتوقع للمياه حسب القطاع وتحليل للعجز

يوضح الشكل التالي الفئات المختلفة المستهلكة للمياه في عام 2012. وكما هو واضح، تعتبر الزراعة المستهلك المهيمن على المياه، بنسبة 87% من إجمالي استهلاك المياه، وبالتالي المساهم الرئيسي في العجز الحالي في الميزان المائي والذي أدى إلى استخراج المياه الجوفية وجفاف العديد من الينابيع.

قد قدر متوسط موارد المياه المتجددة السنوية بحوالي 16 مليار متر مكعب بين عامي 1992-2012. وقد قدر العجز الوطني بنحو 1,25 مليار متر مكعب في نفس الفترة، وهو ما يمثل ل استهلاكا جائرا لما يقارب ح 20% من موارد المياه المتجددة.

  • الزراعة
  • المحلي
  • الصناعي

الشكل 1: استخدام المياه حسب الفئة.

  • الزراعة
  • المحلي
  • الصناعي

الشكل 2: استخدام المياه المتوقع لكل فئة.

السنةإجمالي المياه المتاحةكمية المياه المستخدمةالعجز
1992-19931270512769-64
1995-19961171613964-2248
1999-20001277814989-2211
2000-20011372515557-1832
2004-20051597518887-2912
2005-20061597018844-2874
2010-20111830617544762
2011-201219151177571394
الإجمالي14932.316174-1241.7

الجدول 1. توازن المياه خلال الفترة 1992-2012 (مليون متر مكعب).

الأحواضأغراض منزلية (مليون متر مكعب)الزراعة (مليون متر مكعب)الصناعة(مليون متر مكعب)الإجمالي(مليون متر مكعب)
بردى والأعوج559625711255
العاصي60520335043142
السهوب8210921212
دجلة والخابور2164223244463
الساحل18049196767
اليرموك 24719069506
الفرات 126064853288073
الإجمالي 314914156111318418

الجدول 2. الطلب المتوقع على المياه في عام 2050.

الطلب المتوقع على المياه عام 2050

إن من المتوقع أن يكون لتغير المناخ تأثير شديد على موارد المياه في سوريا، مما سيقلل إجمالي المياه المتاحة سنوياً بنسبة 32% في عام 2050. وفي الوقت نفسه، فسيزداد الطلب على المياه بنسبة 15% نتيجة للتنمية الاقتصادية والنمو السكاني.[1] وسيؤدي هذا بدوره إلى زيادة إجمالي العجز إلى أكثر من 6 مليار متر مكعب سنوياً للسيناريو الأساسي، والذي يتضمن عدم اتخاذ أي إجراء.

استخدام المياه الزراعية وتطوير الري

تعد الزراعة واحدة من القطاعات الاقتصادية الرئيسية المساهمة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي والعمالة – سواء بشكلٍ مباشر أو غير مباشر على سبيل المثال في قطاع النقل – والميزان التجاري والأمن الغذائي والمواد الخام للتصنيع الزراعي وتجهيز الأغذية. ويمثل القطاع الخاص حصة الأسد (98.5%) من إجمالي الاستثمارات الزراعية (تعتبر التعاونيات جزءاً من القطاع الخاص)، مقارنة بنسبة 1% للقطاع المشترك و 0,5% للقطاع العام.

وتبلغ مساحة الأراضي المروية في سوريا حوالي 1,5 مليون هكتار (من إجمالي 5,3 مليون هكتار تتم زراعته)،و التي يقع معظمها في الوديان المحيطة بنهر الفرات. وتُمثل المشاريع العامة التي تديرها الحكومة ولكنها تنفذ من قبل الأفراد 550,000 هكتاراً أو ما يزيد قليلاً عن ثلث المجموع. وتتم تغذية بعض المشاريع من خلال الري بالجاذبية ولكن يتم ري معظمها بالمياه التي يتم ضخها. وقبل الحرب، كان يتم تزويد حوالي 60-70% من المساحة المروية بالمياه الجوفية وحوالي 25% من خلال مشاريع الري بالمياه السطحية والتي تديرها الحكومة. وتمثل الآبار غير المرخصة حوالي 57% من إجمالي 215,000 بئر. وقد كانت طرق الري الحديثة (الري بالرش والتنقيط) لا تزال في المراحل الأولى من التنفيذ، حيث بلغت مساحتها حوالي 360,000 هكتار (24%).

[1] Mourad, K. and Berndtsson, R. 2012. ‘Water Status in the Syrian Water Basins’. Open Journal of Modern Hydrology 2(1):15-20.

Home / Syria / Water Use in Syria

Water Use in Syria

Water use in Syria
Photo 1: A Syrian farmer creating irrigation canal. (Source: Raduan, Flickr)

Current and Projected Water Use per Sector and the Analysis of Deficit

The figure below illustrates the different categories of water use in 2012. As can be seen, agriculture is the dominant water consumer, with 87% of all water use, and hence the major contributor to the current deficit in the water balance, which has led to groundwater mining and to many springs drying up.

The average annual renewable water resources were estimated at around 16BCM between 1992-2012. The national deficit was estimated to be on average 1.25BCM in the same period, which is an overuse of almost 20% of the renewable water resources.

  • Agriculture
  • Domestic
  • Industrial

Figure 1. Water use per categories.

  • Agriculture
  • Domestic
  • Industrial

Figure 2. Projected water use per category.

Hydraulic yearTotal available waterTotal water useDeficit
1992-19931270512769-64
1995-19961171613964-2248
1999-20001277814989-2211
2000-20011372515557-1832
2004-20051597518887-2912
2005-20061597018844-2874
2010-20111830617544762
2011-201219151177571394
Average14932.316174-1241.7

Table 1. Water balance over 1992-2012 (MCM).

Water BasinDomestic (MCM)Agriculture (MCM)Industry (MCM)Total (MCM)
Barada & awaj basin559625711255
Orontes Basin60520335043142
Steppe Basin8210921212
Dajleh & Khabour Basin2164223244463
Coast Basin18049196767
Al-Yarmouk Basin24719069506
Euphrates 126064853288073
Total 314914156111318418

Table 2. Projected water demand in 2050.

Projected Water Use for 2050

It is expected that climate change will have a severe impact on water resources in Syria, decreasing the total water available per year by 32% in 2050. At the same time, the demand for water will increase by 15% as a result of economic development and population growth.[1] This, in turn, will increase the total deficit to more than 6BCM annually for the base scenario, .

Agricultural Water Use and Irrigation Development

Agriculture is one of the key economic sectors in terms of contribution to GDP, employment – both direct and indirect in e.g. the transport sector – balance of trade, food security and raw materials for agro-manufacturing and food processing. The private sector makes the lion’s share (98.5%) of total agricultural investments (cooperatives are considered part of the private sector), compared to 1% by the joint sector and 0.5% by the public sector.

Syria has a total irrigated area of approximately 1.5 million ha (out of a total 5.3 million cultivated ha), most of which is situated in the valleys around the Euphrates River. Public schemes run by the government but implemented by individuals account for 550,000 ha or just over a third of the total. Some schemes are gravity fed but most are irrigated with pumped water. Before the war, about 60-70% of the irrigated area was supplied with groundwater and about 25% through government-run surface water irrigation schemes. Unlicensed wells represented about 57% of the total 215,000 wells. Modern irrigation methods (sprinkler and drip irrigation) were still at an early stage of implementation, accounting for about 360,000 ha (24%).

[1] Mourad, K. and Berndtsson, R. 2012. ‘Water Status in the Syrian Water Basins’. Open Journal of Modern Hydrology 2(1):15-20.