الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / البُنية التحتية للمياه في سوريا

البُنية التحتية للمياه في سوريا

الصورة 1: سد الرستن ، سوريا. (المصدر: Maiden's Hill, Flickr)
الصورة 1: سد الرستن ، سوريا. (المصدر: Maiden's Hill, Flickr)

السدود وأنظمة الري ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وحقول الآبار الكبيرة

استجابة لتدني مستويات هطول الأمطار وارتفاع تباين الهطول المطري والاعتماد على موارد المياه المشتركة دولياً، فقد استثمرت سوريا كحال معظم بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا بكثافة في التكنولوجيا والبنية التحتية لتخزين وتحويل موارد المياه، وتقديم خدمات المياه للمزارعين والصناعات والأسر.

وفي العقود الأخيرة،قد شهدت سوريا فترة من “تطوير تخزين المياه،” مما أدى إلى سعة تخزينية إجمالية تبلغ 19 مليار متر مكعب في 166 خزاناً (الجدول 1)، أي ما يعادل 120% من موارد المياه المتجددة السنوية الفعلية البالغة حوالي 16 مليار متر مكعب.وقد تم الانتهاء من ثلاثة سدود كبيرة في حوض الفرات في الثمانينيات، والتي تمثل مجتمعة ما يقرب من 16 مليار متر مكعب من حجم التخزين المحتمل. وبالطبع، يعتمد حجم التخزين الفعلي على التغير المناخي على مر السنين وإدارة الخزانات.

البُنية التحتية لمياه الشرب

فئة الحجماسم السدالقدرة التخزينية (1000 م3)
السدود العملاقةالفرات14163000
السدود المتوسطةالرستن228000
السدود المتوسطةقطينة200000
السدود المتوسطةتلدو15000
السدود المتوسطةمحردة67000
السدود السطحية162 سد3985060
الإجمالي 18658060

الجدول 1 . السدود الرئيسية وقدرتهم التخزينية حسب الحوض.

قبل الحرب، قد وصلت مياه الشرب إلى 99% من السكان في المناطق الحضرية و90% في المناطق الريفية، مع تغطية إجمالية على مستوى البلاد قدرها 93%.[1] ومع ذلك، يُظهر إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على المؤشرات حسب المنطقة تباينات واسعة في الأداء بين دمشق والمحافظات الأخرى في الشمال الشرقي من البلاد. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يكون تزويد المناطق بالمياه متقطعاً، وفي بعض المناطق توقف بالكامل لأكثر من تسعة أيام.إن المياه المهدورة – أي المياه التي أنتجتها محطات المعالجة ولكنها فُقدت قبل أن تصل إلى العميل – مرتفعة بنسبة تصل إلى 33%، والفوارق الكبيرة في الاستهلاك اليومي للفرد واضحة بين المدن والمناطق الريفية، وتبلغ 125 لتراً في المدن وأقل من الهدف المحدد وتبلغ 80 لتراً في المناطق الريفية.

أنظمة جمع وتوزيع المياه التقليدية

النواعير

إن النواعير هي عبارة عن دواليب مائية مصنوعة من الخشب والأوتاد بالإضافة إلى صناديق خشبية مثبتة على الأوتاد. ويتم بناؤها على الأنهار لنقل المياه إلى الأراضي الزراعية والمنازل والمساجد والمقاهي والحانات.

وتدور الدواليب مع تدفق المياه عبر النهر. وتواجه فتحات الصناديق تدفق المياه عندما تقترب من سطح النهر وتتركه ممتلئاةً بالماء. ويتم صب هذه المياه في قناة متعددة المسارات لتوزيعها على مختلف المستخدمين.

يوجد في مدينة حماة 17 ناعورة على نهر العاصي، ولكن أربعة منها فقط لا تزال تعمل. يبلغ قطر أكبر نواعير حماة 20 متراً. ويتم تدويرها مرة واحدة كل 20 ثانية، حيث يتم جمع 2,400 لتر من المياه من النهر في كل دورة.

الصورة 2: النواعير في حماة ، سوريا. (المصدر: Charles Roffey, Flickr)
الصورة 2: النواعير في حماة ، سوريا. (المصدر: Charles Roffey, Flickr)

في السابق، كانت النواعير تلعب دوراً أساسياً في الزراعة. وعلى الرغم من أن دورها في الري قد تراجع تدريجياً، سواء بسبب انخفاض منسوب المياه في النهر أو إدخال أنظمة الري الحديثة، إلا أن قيمتها السياحية ازدادت. إن نواعير حماة، التي بناها الآراميون في الفترة ما بين 745-727 قبل الميلاد، تعدّ الأقدم في العالم. وغالباً ما تصور القطع الأثرية السورية النواعير، مثل لوحة الفسيفساء الرائعة الموجودة في شارع الأعمدة في مدينة أفاميا القديمة، على بعد 55 كم شمال حماة، والتي يعود تاريخها إلى عام 420 ميلادي.

القناة

إن القناة هي نظام تقليدي يستخدم في جميع أنحاء المنطقة لنقل مياه الشرب والري. ويتكون النظام من نفق تحت الأرض وعدد من الأعمدة لجلب المياه من المرتفعات إلى الأراضي المنخفضة باستخدام الجاذبية. وقد حددت دراسة حديثة ما مجموعه 42 موقعاً للقنوات في سوريا، والتي تضم 91 قناة، منها 30 قناة لا تزال تعمل. إن من غير الواضح متى تم بناء هذه القنوات، ولكن هناك بعض الدلائل التي تُشير إلى أنها كانت قيد الاستخدام منذ العصر الروماني.

مشاريع مخطط لها

قبل الحرب، كان لدى سوريا خطة طموحة لبناء 345 محطة لمياه الصرف الصحي بتكلفة إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 165 مليون دولار. إن الاستثمارات الإجمالية في معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي ونظم الإدارة البيئية الفعالة تتم إدارتها بشكل سيء ولا تفي بالحاجة المُلحة.

في عام 2009، بدأت المؤسسات المرتبطة بالمياه بالتخطيط لاستراتيجية وطنية شاملة للمياه. وبدعم من جي أي زي (GIZ)، وهي إحدى وكالات التطوير الألمانية، فقد شارك جميع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين بالمياه بإحدى الدراسات المرجعية عن المياه. وقد هدفت الدراسة إلى تقييم الوضع الحالي ودعم صناع القرار في وضع أهداف طويلة الأجل. وبسبب الحرب، لم تكن هناك متابعة ولم يتم استكمال الاستراتيجية مطلقًاً.

وقد تم إطلاق برنامج الأجندة الوطنية لمستقبل سوريا (NAFS) التابع للجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا (الإسكوا) لرسم رؤية مستقبلية لسوريا بالإضافة إلى برامج لإعادة الإعمار بعد الحرب. وتتكون مجموعة المياه من خبراء سوريين في مجال المياه من جميع الخلفيات الذين أوصوا بتوجيهات استراتيجية لمواجهة تحديات المياه في البلاد.

[1] Ministry of Housing and Construction. 2011. “National Performance Indicator Drinking Water and Sanitation Report”.

Home / Syria / Water Infrastructure in Syria

Water Infrastructure in Syria

Photo 1: Al Rastan Dam, Syria.  (Source: Maiden's Hill, Flickr )
Photo 1: Al Rastan Dam, Syria. (Source: Maiden's Hill, Flickr )

Dams, irrigation systems, wastewater treatment plants, large well fields

In response to the low level and high variability of rainfall and a dependency on internationally shared water resources, Syria has, like most MENA countries, invested heavily in technology and infrastructure to store and divert water resources and to deliver water services to farmers, industries and households. In recent decades, Syria has experienced a period of ‘water storage development’, resulting in a total storage capacity of 19BCM in 166 reservoirs (Table 1), equivalent to 120% of the actual annual renewable water resources of around 16BCM. Three large dams in the Euphrates basin were completed in the 1980s, which together account for almost 16BCM of potential storage volume. The actual storage volume depends of course on climatic variability over the years and management of the reservoirs.

Category of sizeDam nameStorage capacity (1000 M3)
Great DamsEuphrates14163000
Medium DamsAl-Rastan228000
Medium DamsKatineh200000
Medium DamsTaldo15000
Medium DamsMouhardeh67000
Surface Dams162 dams 3985060
Total18658060

Table 1. The main dams and their storage capacity per basin.

Drinking water infrastructure

Before the war, drinking water reached 99% of the population in urban areas and 90% in rural areas, with a total national coverage of 93%[1]. However, a close look at the indicators by region shows wide disparities in performance between Damascus and other governorates in the north-east of the country. In addition, the supply is intermittent and, in some regions, stopped completely for more than nine days. Non-revenue water – water that has been produced by treatment plants but is lost before it reaches the customer – is high at 33%, and large disparities in daily per capita consumption are evident between cities and rural areas,standing at 125 litres in the former and below the target of 80 litres in the latter.

Traditional water collection and distribution systems

Norias

Norias are water wheels made of wood and nails with boxes hung on the nails. They are constructed on rivers to bring water to agricultural land, homes, mosques, cafés and bars. The wheels rotate with the water flow in the river. The mouths of the boxes face the water flow when they approach the surface of the river and leave it filled with water. This water is then poured into a multi-stream canal to be distributed to different users.

The city of Hama has 17 norias on the Orontes River, but only four of them are still operational. The biggest noria in Hama has a 20-metre diameter. It rotates once every 20 seconds, raising 2,400 litres of water from the river in each rotation.

Photo 2: Noria at Hamah, Syria. (Source: Charles Roffey, Flickr)
Photo 2: Noria at Hamah, Syria. (Source: Charles Roffey, Flickr)

Norias once played an essential role in agriculture. Although their role in irrigation has gradually declined, both as a result of the falling water level in the river and the introduction of modern irrigation systems, their touristic value has increased. Hama’s norias, which were built by the Arameans in 745–727 BC , are claimed by the local population to be the oldest in the world. Syrian artefacts often depict norias, such as the magnificent mosaic plate found on Column Street in the ancient city of Apamea, 55km north of Hama, which dates back to 420 AD.

Qanat

A qanat is a traditional system used across the region for the transportation of drinking and irrigation water. The system consists of an underground tunnel and a number of shafts to bring water from the highlands to the lowlands using gravity. A recent study identified a total of 42 qanat sites in Syria, containing 91 qanats, of which 30 are still functioning. It is not clear when these qanats were built, but there are some indications that they have been in use since Roman times.

Planned projects

Before the war, Syria had an ambitious plan to build 345 wastewater plants at a total cost of around $165 million). Overall investments in wastewater treatment and effective environmental management systems are poorly managed and fall short of the urgent need.

In 2009, water-related institutions began planning for a comprehensive national water strategy. With support from GIZ, a German development agency, all water-related stakeholders participated in a water baseline study. The study aimed to assess the current situation and support decision makers in devising long-term objectives. Because of the war, there was no follow-up and the strategy was never completed.

The National Agenda for the Future of Syria (NAFS) was initiated under the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) to chart a future vision for Syria as well as programmes for rebuilding after the war. The water group consists of Syrian water experts from all backgrounds who recommend strategic directions to address the country’s water challenges.

[1] Ministry of Housing and Construction. 2011. “National Performance Indicator Drinking Water and Sanitation Report”.