الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / إدارة المياه في سوريا

إدارة المياه في سوريا

إدارة المياه في سوريا water management in Syria
الصورة 1: كسب ، قرية سمره ، سوريا. (المصدر: Essam Haffar, Flickr)

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

إن الإطار المؤسسي العام لإدارة المياه منظم بشكل هرمي. وتتقاسم عدة وزارات مسؤولية إدارة الموارد المائية؛ حيث يتم تمثيل كل منهم في المجلس الأعلى للموارد المائية. وفيما يلي ملخص لدور الهيئات والمؤسسات العامة ذات الصلة بقطاع المياه.

على المستوى الوزاري
● تأسست وزارة الموارد المائية في عام 2012. وهي الهيئة المركزية المسؤولة عن إدارة الموارد المائية في البلاد وكذلك تخصيص هذه الموارد للقطاعات المنزلية والصناعية والزراعية. وتتمثل مهامها الرئيسية في رصد الموارد المائية وتطويرها وحمايتها، ووضع القوانين والتشريعات والسياسات ذات الصلة، وتخطيط الاستثمار وتنفيذ خدمات إمدادات مياه الشرب وجمع ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

● وزارة الزراعة والإصلاح الزراعي وهي مسؤولة عن تطوير وإصلاح جميع القطاعات الزراعية. كما أنها تعمل على تنظيم وترشيد استهلاك الموارد المائية للأغراض الزراعية فضلاً عن وضع السياسات والتشريعات، والتخطيط وتنفيذ البرامج الزراعية على المدى القصير والمتوسط والطويل، وإصلاح الأراضي المملوكة للحكومة.

● وزارة البيئة وهي مسؤولة عن صنع السياسات البيئية وحمايتها من خلال إصدار المعايير ومراقبة جودة المياه للاستخدامات المختلفة. وتندرج الهيئة العامة للشؤون البيئية ضمن اختصاص هذه الوزارة التي تعمل على الصعيدين الوطني والدولي.

على المستوى المحلي
● قد أنشئت لجان إدارة أحواض المياه في عام 2005 بموجب قانون المياه الجديد وهي مسؤولة عن تنفيذ السياسات التي اعتمدتها اللجنة العليا للمياه، بهدف تحقيق الإدارة المستدامة للمياه على مستوى الأحواض. وعلى أرض الواقع، لم تكن اللجان نشطة في معظم الأحواض.

● المؤسسات العامة لمياه الشرب ومياه الصرف الصحي وهي مسؤولة عن تنسيق وإعداد الخطط المتعلقة بمياه الشرب ومشاريع الصرف الصحي؛ وتصميم وتنفيذ مشاريع مياه الشرب والصرف الصحي؛ وتشغيل وإدارة وصيانة مرافق مياه الشرب والصرف الصحي.

● في المحافظات التي تم فيها إنجاز محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، قد تم إنشاء شركة منفصلة لمياه الصرف الصحي، وهي مسؤولة فقط عن تشغيل وصيانة محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

القوانين واللوائح

لم يكن هناك قانون شامل للمياه حتى عام 2005، عندما تم اعتماد القانون 31. وينظم القانون نُهج إدارة الطلب على المياه على المستوى الوطني واستخدام موارد المياه لتجنب نضوب المياه الجوفية. وبالإضافة إلى قانون المياه، يمكن تمييز مجموعتين من القوانين واللوائح:

1) المراسيم والقرارات والوزارات ذات الصلة بالمياه المسؤولة عن وضع القوانين، مثل المرسوم الوزاري رقم 944 لعام 1925، والذي تم بموجبه اعتبار جميع أنواع مجاري المياه والينابيع والأنهار ملكيات عامة.

2) يحدد القانون البيئي 50 اللوائح التي يجب على الهيئة العامة لشؤون البيئة الامتثال لها. ويخول القانون الهيئة العامة لشؤون البيئة وضع السياسات ومراقبة ومعاقبة عدم الامتثال من أجل حماية البيئة من التلوث.

تمويل قطاع المياه

قد ركزت السياسات المالية العامة في سوريا في العقود الماضية على تنمية المياه القائمة على العرض. وهذا يعني تأمين إمدادات المياه من خلال زيادة سعة التخزين وتوسيع خدمات المياه و – بدرجة أقل – خدمات الصرف الصحي. وقد أدت المستويات العالية من سعة التخزين والتغطية الواسعة لإمدادات المياه والبنية التحتية للري إلى مجموعة جديدة من مشكلات إدارة المياه. فقد تم إنفاق ما يقرب من 70% من إجمالي ميزانية الاستثمار العام للزراعة والري على البنية التحتية للري (داخل وخارج المزرعة). وقد كان هناك نقص حاد في التكامل القطاعي في إعداد المشروع ووضع الميزانية بسبب عدم وجود خطط أو استراتيجيات وطنية للمياه. وقد تم إنفاق حوالي 50% من ميزانية الاستثمار المخطط لقطاع المياه بأكمله للخطة الخمسية العاشرة (2006-2010) على تنفيذ مشاريع مياه الشرب والصرف الصحي.

إن تعريفة المياه المنزلية منخفضة للغاية في سوريا مقارنة بالبلدان الأخرى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا مثل الأردن وتونس. وتقدر رسوم خدمات الصرف الصحي كنسبة مئوية من إجمالي فاتورة مياه الشرب.[1]

دور القطاع الخاص في إدارة المياه

على الرغم من أن الخطة الخمسية العاشرة (2006-2010) اتبعت مسار الليبرالية الجديدة للخصخصة قبل اندلاع الحرب وكان هدفها المعلن هو “اقتصاد السوق الاجتماعي،” إلا أنه لا توجد حالياً شراكات واسعة النطاق بين القطاعين العام والخاص في سوريا، سواء في قطاعي المياه والصرف الصحي أو في قطاع الري. وتعتبر إدارة الموارد المائية خدمة عامة. لذلك، غالباً ما يفترض أن هذه الخدمة يجب أن تقدمها الحكومة. وعلى مستوى الأسرة، يستثمر المزارعون في مرافق الري، على سبيل المثال في الآبار، ومعدات الري، وأنظمة نقل الأنابيب والخزانات، والتي يتم تمويلها غالباً من خلال القروض التي يقدمها المصرف الزراعي التعاوني. ويشتمل هذا على الائتمان المدعوم لدعم الانتقال إلى أساليب الري الحديثة. وتستثمر الأسر أيضاً في مرافق إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي، على سبيل المثال في خزانات المياه والآبار وحفر المجاري وما إلى ذلك. إن حجم هذه الاستثمارات الخاصة في قطاع المياه غير معروف.ز يتم تمويل الاستثمارات العامة في القطاع بشكلٍ عام من خلال ميزانية الحكومة المركزية.

[1] Global Water Intelgency (2009), Tariff survey. Washington.

Home / Syria / Water Management in Syria

Water Management in Syria

water management in Syria
Photo 1: Kasab, Samra village, Syria. (Source: Essam Haffar, Flickr)

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

The overall institutional framework for water management is hierarchically organized. Several ministries share the responsibility for water resources management; all of them are represented in the Higher Water Council. The roles of public bodies and institutions related to the water sector are summarized below.

Ministerial level
• The Ministry of Water Resources was established in 2012. It is the central body responsible for the management of the country’s water resources as well as the allocation of these resources to the domestic, industrial and agricultural sectors. Its main tasks are monitoring, developing and protecting water resources, developing related laws, legislation and policies, investment planning and implementation of potable water supply and wastewater collection and treatment services.

• The Ministry of Agriculture and Agrarian Reform is responsible for the development and reform of all agricultural sectors. It also regulates and rationalizes the use of water resources for agricultural purposes as well as policy and legislative development, short-, medium- and long-term planning and execution of agricultural programmes, and government-owned land reform.

• The Ministry of Environment is responsible for environmental policy making and protection by issuing standards and monitoring water quality for various uses. The General Commission for Environmental Affairs (GCEA) falls under the jurisdiction of this ministry, which acts both nationally and internationally.

Local level
• Water basin management committees were established in 2005 under the new water law and are responsible for implementing policies adopted by the High Commission for Water, with the aim of achieving sustainable water management at basin level. In practice, the committees have not been active for most basins.

• General establishments for drinking water and wastewater are responsible for coordinating and preparing plans concerning drinking water and sewage projects; designing and implementing drinking water and sewage projects; and operating, managing and maintaining drinking water and sewage facilities.

• In the governorates where WWTPs have been implemented, a separate wastewater company, responsible only for the operation and maintenance of the WWTPs, has been established.

Laws and regulations

A comprehensive water law did not exist until 2005, when Law 31 was adopted. The law regulates water demand management approaches at the national level and use of water resources to avoid groundwater depletion. In addition to the water law, two sets of laws and regulations can be distinguished:

1) Water-related decrees, decisions and ministries establishing laws, such as Ministerial Decree 944 from 1925, in which all kinds of water streams, springs and rivers were determined as public proprieties.

2) Environmental Law 50 defines the regulations with which the GCEA must comply. The law entitles the GCEA to set policies, monitor and penalize non-compliance in order to protect the environment from pollution.

Financing of the water sector

Public finance policies in Syria have focused in the past decades on supply-led water development. This has meant securing water supplies through building storage capacity and expanding water and – to a lesser extent – sanitation services. High levels of storage capacity and wide coverage of water supply and irrigation infrastructure have led to a new set of water management issues. Almost 70% of the total public investment budget for agriculture and irrigation was spent on irrigation infrastructure (on- and off-farm). There is a severe lack of sectoral integration in project preparation and budgeting due to the absence of national water plans or strategies. Approximately 50% of the planned investment budget for the entire water sector for the tenth five-year plan (2006-2010) was spent on realizing drinking water and sewerage projects.

Tariffs for domestic water are very low in Syria compared to other countries in the MENA region such as Jordan and Tunisia. The tariff for sewage services is estimated as a percentage of the total drinking water bill[1].

Role of the private sector in water management

Even though the tenth five-year plan (2006-2010) followed a neoliberal course of privatization before the outbreak of the war and had the stated goal of a ‘social market economy’, there are currently no large-scale public-private partnerships in Syria, either in the water and sanitation sectors or the irrigation sector. Water resources management is considered a public service. Therefore, it is often assumed that this service should be provided by the government. At household level, farmers invest in irrigation facilities, e.g. wells, irrigation equipment, piped conveyance systems and cisterns, often financed through loans provided by the Agricultural Cooperative Bank. This includes subsidized credit to support the transition to modern irrigation methods. Households also invest in water supply and sanitation facilities, e.g. water tanks, wells, sewage pits etc. The scale of these private investments in the water sector is not known. Public investments in the sector are generally financed through the central government budget.

[1] Global Water Intelgency (2009), Tariff survey. Washington.