الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / موارد المياه المشتركة في سوريا

موارد المياه المشتركة في سوريا

الصورة 1: نهر دجلة بالقرب من سوريا - الحدود التركية. (المصدر: William Gauthier, Flickr)
الصورة 1: نهر دجلة بالقرب من سوريا - الحدود التركية. (المصدر: William Gauthier, Flickr)

يتم تقاسم معظم المياه السطحية التي تستخدمها سوريا للإنتاج الزراعي مع دول الجوار. وتتضمن الأنهار الرئيسية نهر الفرات وروافده وأنهار دجلة واليرموك والعاصي. وعلى الرغم من الاتفاقيات الحالية مع تركيا والعراق والأردن ولبنان، فيمكن أن تؤثر التنمية واسعة النطاق للمياه (السدود) عند المنبع بشكلٍ سلبي على تدفق المياه السطحية إلى سوريا. كما أن زيادة استهلاك المياه السطحية في المنبع سيؤدي أيضاً إلى تدهور جودة تدفق المياه، بسبب زيادة الملوحة من تدفقات المياه المسترجعة من الزراعة عند المنبع. وأيضاً، فقد يؤدي الطلب المتزايد من جانب الدول الواقعة على مصب النهر إلى مزيد من التأثير على قدرة سوريا على استخدام (المزيد) من المياه السطحية.

يعتبر نهر الفرات أكبر نهرٍ في سوريا، والذي ينبع من تركيا ويتدفق عبر سوريا والعراق، حيث يتلقي بنهر دجلة مكوناً الممر المائي شط العرب والذي يصب في الخليج العربي. ويتكون نهر الفرات من رافدين رئيسيين، هما قره صو ومراد صو، وكلاهما ينبعان من شرق الأناضول ولهما العديد من الروافد الأصغر. وفد تعهدت تركيا من جانب واحد بضمان تدفق 500 سم/ الثانية من المياه إلى سوريا.

وتاريخياً، قد كان نهرا دجلة والفرات نهرين محليين داخل الإمبراطورية العثمانية. ومع تفكك الإمبراطورية وظهور سوريا والعراق كبلدين مستقلين في [1946 و1932 على التوالي]، فقد اكتسبت الأنهار مكانة دولية، وتم إنشاء معاهدات وبروتوكولات جديدة تحكم تخصيص الموارد المائية. إن جميع الاتفاقات، بدءاً من معاهدة لوزان في عام 1923 بين تركيا وبريطانيا (عن العراق) وفرنسا (عن سوريا) إلى المحادثات الثلاثية لما يسمى اللجنة الفنية المشتركة بين تركيا وسوريا والعراق – والتي عقدت للمرة الأخيرة في عام 1997 – كانت ثنائية وغير ملزمة ومخصصة إلى حدٍ كبير. وقد تسببت عدة نزاعات، سياسية وعسكرية، في الوصول إلى طريقٍ مسدود في إدارة المياه بين الدول مع رفض للتوقيع على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة بشأن المجاري المائية الدولية لعام 1997.

وفي السنوات الأخيرة، فقد قامت الجماعات غير الحكومية المدججة بالسلاح بتسليح المياه الدولية، وتعرضت البنية التحتية الرئيسية للمياه في سوريا والعراق للتهديد. وتشترك سوريا بستة أنهار مع دول أخرى: نهر الفرات (مع العراق وتركيا)، ونهر دجلة (مع العراق وتركيا)، ونهر العاصي (مع لبنان وتركيا)، ونهر الخابور (مع تركيا)، ونهر الساجور (مع تركيا)، ونهر البليخ (مع تركيا). ويرد وصفٌ لبعض الاتفاقيات في التقارير الخاصة على فَنَك، مثل العلاقات التركية- السورية: ما بين الصراع والتعاون، والمياه العابرة للحدود في تركيا، ونهر العاصي وسد الصداقة بين تركيا وسوريا.

ويعرض الجدول الزمني أدناه تاريخ تفاعل بلدان المشاطئة.

الشكل 1: الجدول الزمني لدجلة والفرات.

النزاع على نهري الفرات ودجلة

تعتبر تركيا السبب الرئيسي للنزاعات حول نهري الفرات ودجلة. ففي عام 1977، أعلنت تركيا عن خططٍ لأكبر مشروع لتطوير المياه في المنطقة على الإطلاق، وهو مشروع جنوب شرق الأناضول (GAP)، والذي تضمن 22 سداً و19 مشروعاً للطاقة الكهرومائية. ويهدف مشروع جنوب شرق الأناضول إلى توفير مياه الري والطاقة الكهرومائية والتنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وتشمل منطقة المشروع جنوب شرق تركيا، حول ألسنة نهري دجلة والفرات، ويغطي حوالي 10% من إجمالي سكان تركيا وأراضيها. وقد تم تصميم المشروع لتسخير إمكانات المياه غير المستغلة في المنطقة. وفي عام 2005، كان التدفق الطبيعي الناشىء في تركيا 28,3 مليار متر مكعب، أي 89% من التدفق الطبيعي البالغ 31,8 مليار متر مكعب. والباقي – 3,5 مليار متر مكعب أو 11%- ينشأ في سوريا.و إن نهر الفرات هو المصدر الرئيسي للمياه لـ27 مليون شخص في ثلاث دول. ويمكن لسد أتاتورك في تركيا أن يخزن ما يتجاوز عامين من التدفق الطبيعي الكامل للفرات.

وبحلول عام 2003، قد بلغ إنتاج الطاقة الكهرومائية ما نسبته 96% من الطاقة. ومع ذلك، فإن التأثير الكبير على موارد المياه عند المصب سيتم الشعور به فقط خلال السنوات القادمة. وبرنامج الري متأخر بسنوات عن الجدول الزمني. وإن تحويلات الري الحالية من نهر الفرات في تركيا تمثل فقط 20% من المستويات المخطط لها. ولدى سوريا أيضاً خطط كبيرة لمضاعفة المساحة المروية من نهر الفرات. وبحلول عام 2013، قد انخفض التدفق إلى العراق إلى 8,3 مليار متر مكعب، وقد أدى تضاؤل كمية المياه، الذي تفاقم بسبب ظروف الجفاف في ألفينيات القرن الماضي، بالفعل إلى انتقال الأشخاص الذين يعتمدون على النهر. وكما ذكرنا أعلاه، فإن ترتيبات المشاركة في المياه المعمول بها حالياً – والتي ستعمل تركيا بموجبها بتدفق 15,7 مليار متر مكعب سنويا كحدٍ أدنى إلى سوريا بينما ستعمل سوريا بدورها على تدفق 9,9 مليار متر مكعب إلى العراق – هي أقل بكثير من مستويات الاستخدام الأخيرة في العراق والتي تبلغ 15 مليار متر مكعب. وقد حال عدم التعاون بين دول المشاطئة الثلاث على ضفاف النهر دون وضع خطة متكاملة للمياه للحوض بأكمله، فضلاً عن تسببه بمخاطر للعراق على وجه الخصوص باعتباره دولة المصب لتدفقات متناقصة وغير محددة المقدار على نحو متزايد.[1]

الأحواضإجمالي المياه التقليدية المتاحة (2016) (مليون متر مكعب)توقعات الموارد المائية في عام 2050 (مليون متر مكعب)إجمالي الطلب المتوقع في عام 2050 (مليون متر مكعب)العجز المتوقع في عام 2050 (مليون متر مكعب)
بردى والأعوج8814581255797
العاصي 2246140331421739
السهوب17915521257
دجلة والخابور2207194444632519
الساحل 41601084767-317
اليرموك332176506330
الفرات 7933703080731043
الإجمالي 1793812250184186168

الجدول 1 . العام المتوقع فيه نضوب مياه نهر الفرات.

[1] Ward, C. and Ruckstuhl, S. 2017. Water scarcity, climate change and conflict in the Middle East. Securing livelihoods, building peace. London: I.B. Tauris

Home / Syria / Shared Water Resources in Syria

Shared Water Resources in Syria

Photo 1: Tigris River close to the Syria - Turkish borders. (Source: William Gauthier, Flickr)
Photo 1: Tigris River close to the Syria - Turkish borders. (Source: William Gauthier, Flickr)

Shared surface and groundwater resources

Almost all the surface water Syria uses for agricultural production is shared with neighbouring states. The main rivers include the Euphrates and its tributaries, the Tigris, Yarmouk and Orontes rivers. Despite the current agreements with Turkey, Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon, the planned extensive water development (dams) upstream of Syria could negatively affect the surface water flow into Syria. An increased use of upstream surface water will also lead to a deterioration in the quality of water inflow due to increased salinity of upstream irrigation return flows. Also, higher demands by downstream riparian states may eventually further impact Syria’s ability to use (more) surface water.

The Euphrates is the largest river in Syria. Originating in Turkey and flowing through Syria and Iraq, it joins the Tigris in Iraq and becomes the Shatt-al-Arab waterway, which flows into the Arab Gulf. The Euphrates is composed of two main tributaries, the Karasu and Murat, both originating in Eastern Anatolia and having numerous smaller tributaries. Turkey has unilaterally pledged to ensure the flow of 500 CM/s per second to Syria.

Historically, the Euphrates and Tigris were domestic rivers within the Ottoman Empire. With the dissolution of the empire and the emergence of Syria and Iraq as independent countries in [1946 and 1932 respectively], the rivers acquired international status, and new treaties and protocols were established to govern the allocation of water resources. All agreements, starting with the Treaty of Lausanne in 1923 between Turkey, Britain (for Iraq) and France (for Syria) to the tripartite talks of the so-called Joint Technical Committee between Turkey, Syria and Iraq – held for the last time in 1997 – were bilateral, non-binding and largely ad hoc. Several conflicts, both political and military, caused a deadlock in water management between the countries with a refusal to sign the 1997 UN Convention on International Watercourses.

In recent years, heavily armed non-state groups have weaponized international waters, and major water infrastructure in Syria and Iraq have come under threat. Syria shares six rivers with other countries: the Euphrates (with Iraq and Turkey), Tigris (with Iraq and Turkey), Orontes (with Lebanon and Turkey), Khabour (with Turkey), Sajur (with Turkey) and Balikh (with Turkey). Some agreements are described in these special Fanack reports Turkey-Syria Relations: Between Conflict and Cooperation, Turkey’s Transboundary Waters and The Asi River and the Turkey-Syria Friendship Dam.
The timeline below presents the history of the riparian countries’ interaction.

Figure 1: Tigirs and Euphrates timeline.

Dispute over the Euphrates and Tigris rivers

The primary cause of the disputes over the Euphrates and Tigris rivers lie in Turkey. In 1977, Turkey announced plans for the region’s biggest water development project ever, the South-eastern Anatolia Project (GAP), which included 22 dams and 19 hydropower projects. GAP is intended to provide irrigation, hydropower and socio-economic development. The project area encompasses south-eastern Turkey, around the headlands of the Euphrates and Tigris rivers, and covers approximately 10% of Turkey’s total population and territory. The project is designed to harness the vast, untapped water potential of the area. In 2005, the natural flow arising in Turkey was 28.3BCM, 89% of the natural flow of 31.8BCM. The balance – 3.5BCM or 11% – arises in Syria. The Euphrates is the main source of water for 27 million people across three countries. The Ataturk Dam in Turkey can hold over two years equivalent of the entire natural flow of the Euphrates.

By 2003, hydropower production was 96% of capacity. However, the major impact on downstream water resources will only be felt in the coming years. The irrigation programme is years behind schedule. Current irrigation diversions from the Euphrates in Turkey are only 20% of the planned levels. Syria, too, has major plans to double the area irrigated by the Euphrates. By 2013, the flow into Iraq had . The dwindling quantity, exacerbated by drought conditions in the 2000s, had already led to a movement of people who depend on the river. As mentioned above, the water-sharing arrangements currently in force – that Turkey will release to Syria a minimum of 15.7BCM per year and Syria will release to Iraq 9.1BCM – are well below recent use levels in Iraq of 15BCM. The lack of cooperation between the three riparians has prevented the development of an integrated water plan for the entire basin and creates particular risks for Iraq as the downstream riparian of a diminishing and increasingly uncertain flow.[1]

BasinsTotal available conventional water 2016 (MCM)Water resources projections in 2050 (MCM)Total projected demand 2050 (MCM)Projected deficits in 2050 (MCM)
Barada & awaj basin8814581255797
Orontes Basin2246140331421739
Steppe Basin17915521257
Dajleh & Khabour Basin2207194444632519
Coast Basin41601084767-317
Al-Yarmouk Basin332176506330
Euphrates7933703080731043
Total1793812250184186168

Table 1. Estimated year of depletion of Euphrates river water.

[1] Ward, C. and Ruckstuhl, S. 2017. Water scarcity, climate change and conflict in the Middle East. Securing livelihoods, building peace. London: I.B. Tauris