تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

إدارة المياه في الأردن

سد الوحدة في الأردن - إدارة المياه في الأردن
الصورة 1: سد الوحدة على نهر اليرموك، الأردن. (Source: Mark Zeitoun, Water Alternatives Photos, Flickr)

المؤسسات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

إن قطاع المياه في الأردن شديد المركزية، حيث تلعب وزارة المياه والري دوراً مركزياً في حوكمة وإدارة المياه. ويتم تفصيل المؤسسات الثلاث الرئيسية في قطاع المياه أدناه.

  1. تعدّ وزارة المياه والري، والتي أسست عام 1988، المؤسسة الحكومية الرئيسية للمياه في الأردن. وتعمل الوزارة على مستوى رسم السياسات وهي المسؤولة عن وضع استراتيجية المياه في البلاد، ووضع خطة رئيسية وطنية لاستهلاك المياه، وإعداد دراسات المياه ومراقبة الموارد المائية.
  2. تعمل سُلطة المياه الأردنية تحت إشراف وزارة المياه والري وهي مسؤولة عن الإدارة التنفيذية للموارد المائية وتنظيم إمدادات المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المرتفعات. فعلى سبيل المثال، تمتلك السلطة تفويضاً لإدارة موارد المياه الجوفية المهددة من خلال سيطرتها على تراخيص ضخ المياه الجوفية.
  3. تعمل سلطة وادي الأردن أيضاً تحت إشراف وزارة المياه والري، ويتمثل اختصاصها العام في وضع خطة وشروط التنمية الشاملة (الزراعية والصناعية والسياحية والبلديات) في وادي الأردن وحماية جميع موارد الوادي المائية.

ومع ذلك، فيتم حالياً مراجعة هذا الهيكل بهدف دمج وزارة المياه والري وسلطة المياه. وإن الوزارات الأخرى ذات الصلة المشاركة في قطاع المياه هي وزارة الزراعة، ووزارة التخطيط والتعاون الدولي ووزارة البيئة.

وقد لُخصت رؤية قطاع المياه في الاستراتيجية الوطنية للمياه 2016-2025، وهي وثيقة تعبر بين القطاعات وتحدد اتجاه السياسات والقرارات التي تتخذها وزارة المياه والري. وتسترشد الاستراتيجية بضرورة ضمان الأمن المائي وتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة، ولا سيما الهدف السادس والذي يرّكز على المياه. كما تهدف الاستراتيجية إلى بناء قطاع مرن يعتمد على نهج موحد، وبشكلٍ أساسي للانتقال نحو الإدارة المستدامة للمياه والصرف الصحي لجميع الأفراد في الأردن. وتغطي الاستراتيجية خمس ركائز وموضوعات: الإدارة المتكاملة لموارد المياه؛ وخدمات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية؛ ومياه الري والطاقة والاستخدامات الأخرى؛ والإصلاح المؤسسي؛ وإدارة المعلومات المتمحورة حول القطاع ومراقبتها. وتناقش الإستراتيجية أيضاً القضايا الشاملة مثل التكيف مع تغير المناخ، والموارد المائية المشتركة / العابرة للحدود، وتنسيق قطاع المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية (المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة)، والشراكات العامة / الخاصة، والأبعاد الاقتصادية للمياه.[1]

وادي الأردن - إدارة المياه في الأردن
الصورة 2: سد صغير في وادي الأردن. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

دور القطاع الخاص

قد طورت سلطة المياه الأردنية سياسةً للسماح بالمبادرات الخاصة في قطاع المياه على شكل شركات المياه الخاصة والشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص. وتعتبر شركة مياه العقبة، وهي المسؤولة عن إمدادات المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في مدينة العقبة الجنوبية، مثالاً على إحدى شركات المياه التي تتمتع بسيطرة كبيرة من القطاع الخاص. ومثالٌ آخر هو محطة السمرا لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، وهي المسؤولة عن مياه الصرف الصحي في العاصمة عمّان، حيث يوضح الإطار التنظيمي للمحطة كيف يمكن للخبراء من القطاع الخاص مساعدة سلطة المياه في تحسين منشآتها.

كما بدأت وزارة المياه والري في تطبيق مبادئ المُلكية الخاصة في الشركات الحكومية المنشأة حديثاً، مثل شركة مياه العقبة ومياهنا. وينعكس نجاح هذه المبادئ في السرعة والمرونة في الاستجابة لاحتياجات الناس وتنفيذ مشاريع جديدة. وتعتزم وزارة المياه والري تكرار هذا النجاح من خلال إنشاء شركات مياه مماثلة في المحافظات الجنوبية.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

Water Management in Jordan

Wehdeh dam, Jordan - Water management in Jordan
Photo 1: Wehdeh dam on Yarmouk River, Jordan. ( Source: Mark Zeitoun, Water Alternatives Photos, Flickr)

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

Jordan’s water sector is highly centralized, with the Ministry of Water and Irrigation (MWI) playing a central role in water governance and management. The three main institutions within the water sector are detailed below.

  1. Established in 1988, the MWI is the main public water institution. The ministry operates at policy-making level and is responsible for outlining the country’s water strategy, creating the national master plan for water use, preparing water studies and monitoring water resources.
  2. The Water Authority of Jordan (WAJ) operates under the MWI and is responsible for the operational management of water resources and the organization of water supply and wastewater treatment in the highlands. For example, the authority has the mandate to manage threatened groundwater resources through its control of groundwater pumping licenses.
  3. The Jordan Valley Authority also operates under the MWI. Its overall mandate is to create a plan and conditions for comprehensive development (farming, industrial, municipal and tourism) in the Jordan Valley and to protect all the valley’s water resources.

However, this structure is currently being revised, with the intention of merging the MWI and WAJ. Other relevant ministries involved in the water sector are the Ministry of Agriculture (MoA), the Ministry of Planning and International Cooperation (MoPIC) and the Ministry of Environment (MoE).

The vision for the water sector is summarized in the National Water Strategy 2016-2025, a cross-sectoral document setting the direction for policies and decisions made by the MWI. The strategy is guided by the need to ensure water security and achieve the Sustainable Development Goals, notably goal 6, which focuses on water. It aims to build a resilient sector based on a unified approach and, primarily, to transition towards sustainable management of water and sanitation for all people in Jordan. The strategy covers five pillars and themes: integrated water resources management; water, sewage and sanitation services; water for irrigation, energy and other uses; institutional reform; and sector information management and monitoring. The strategy also discusses cross-cutting issues such as climate change adaptation, transboundary/shared water resources, humanitarian WASH (water, sanitation and hygiene) sector coordination, public/private partnerships, and the economic dimensions of water.[1]

Jordan Valley, Jordan - Water Management in Jordan
Photo 2: Small dam in Jordan Valley, Jordan. (Credit : Ruben Vermeer)

Role of the private sector

The WAJ has developed a policy to allow private initiative in the water sector in the form of private water companies and public-private partnerships. Aqaba Water, which handles water supply and wastewater treatment in the southern city of Aqaba, is an example of a water company with a large amount of private control. Another example is the Samra wastewater treatment plant, which handles wastewater from the Amman region. The plant’s organizational set-up demonstrates how private experts can help the WAJ to optimize its facilities.

The MWI has also started implementing private-ownership principles in newly established government-owned companies, such as the Aqaba water company Miyahuna. The success of these principles is reflected in the resultant speed and flexibility in responding to people’s needs and implementing new projects. MWI intends to replicate this success by establishing similar water companies in the southern governorates.