تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في الأردن؟

البتراء، الأردن - المياه في الأردن
الصورة 1: البتراء، الأردن. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

تعتبر المياه أمراً أساسياً للأمن الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والسياسي للأردن. وقد أدت الفجوة المتزايدة بين العرض والطلب على المياه، والقضايا المتعلقة بموارد المياه العابرة للحدود، وتغير المناخ، وتدفق مئات الآلاف من اللاجئين العراقيين والسوريين في العقود الماضية إلى زيادة تعرض البلاد لعدم الاستقرار المرتبط بالمياه.

إن مستقبل الأردن يعتمد إلى حدٍ كبير على معالجة هذه التحديات بنجاح بالإضافة إلى قدرة الحكومة على تحديد الحلول. وليتمكن الأردن من الوفاء باحتياجاته المتزايدة، فإنه ينبغي توسيع إمدادات المياه من خلال استغلال موارد جديدة (انظر مشاريع البنية التحتية الحالية والمخطط لها)، مع تقليل الضغط على موارد المياه الجوفية المستنزفة بالفعل. وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن الاستخدام الأمثل لإمدادات المياه المحدودة من خلال تنفيذ استراتيجيات أكثر كفاءة لإدارة الطلب يعد أمراً بالغ الأهمية. ويشمل ذلك التركيز على الحفاظ على المياه، وتقليل الفاقد المائي وزيادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة.

ومن نواحٍ عديدة، فقد أدت السياسات والممارسات السابقة إلى تفاقم مشاكل الوصول إلى هذا المورد الطبيعي الأساسي واستنزافه والإفراط في استخدامه. وبعد عقودٍ من الاعتماد بشكلٍ أساسي على حلول إدارة العرض، فقد وسع الأردن نهجه لمعالجة هذه المشاكل. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك تحسين إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، وإشراك الجمهور من خلال زيادة الوعي بإدارة أفضل لموارد المياه المتاحة، وتطوير أطر وضع السياسات على نحوٍ أفضل. ولضمان فعالية هذه الحلول وغيرها، فإن من الضروري شروع الأردن بتعديل تصميم عمليات الإشراف والرقابة المؤسسية عبر قطاعات استهلاك المياه، وتعزيز الروابط داخل المؤسسات والقطاعات وفيما بينها.

وفي نهاية المطاف، فإن مستقبل توافر المياه في الأردن يعتمد على إيجاد حلول طويلة الأمد تضمن الوصول إلى موارد المياه واستخدامها المستدام. ومع استمرار تقلّب السياق السياسي الإقليمي، فإن تأثيره يتواصل أيضاً على استراتيجيات الأردن للأمن المائي. وقد أدى تدهور العلاقات الأردنية الإسرائيلية في السنوات الأخيرة إلى التخلي عن مشروع ناقل البحرين بين البحر الأحمر والبحر الميت ودفع الأردن نحو حلٍ وطني: وهو الناقل الوطني للمياه. وفي الوقت نفسه، فقد أدى تطبيع العلاقات بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإسرائيل في عام 2021 إلى خطة جديدة للتعاون الأردني الإسرائيلي الإماراتي المحتمل: وهو محطة للطاقة الشمسية في جنوب الأردن – بتمويل من الإمارات العربية المتحدة – لإنتاج الطاقة لإسرائيل مقابل حصول الأردن على المياه المحلاة التي توفرها إسرائيل. ومرةً أخرى، فإن التحدي الذي يواجه الأردن يكمن في إجراء مفاضلة متوازنة، وأخذ الاعتبارات طويلة الأجل وقصيرة الأجل والمتطلبات المشتركة بين القطاعات بعين الاعتبار، وضمان الموثوقية والاستدامة – بما في ذلك السياسية والاجتماعية – فيما يتعلق بالموارد.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

What Does the Future Hold for Water in Jordan?

Petra, Jordan - water in Jordan
Photo 1: Petra, Jordan. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

Water is central to Jordan’s social, economic and political security. The growing gap between water supply and demand, the issues related to transboundary water resources, climate change and the influx of hundreds of thousands of Iraqi and Syrian refugees in the last decades have increased the country’s vulnerability to water-related instability.

Jordan’s future is very much dependent on successfully addressing these challenges as well as on the ability of the government to identify solutions. For Jordan to meet its growing needs it must expand its water supplies by exploiting new resources (see Current and Planned Infrastructure Projects), while decreasing pressure on the over-extracted groundwater resources. At the same time, making better use of the limited water supply by implementing more efficient demand-side strategies is critical. This includes a focus on preserving water, reducing system leakages and increasing wastewater usage.

In many ways, past policies and practices have exacerbated the problems of access, abstraction and overuse of this essential natural resource. After decades of relying mainly on supply-side solutions, Jordan has expanded its approaches to addressing these problems. Examples include improved wastewater recovery; engaging the public by raising awareness of better management of the available water resources; and developing a better framework for policy setting. For these and other solutions to be effective, it is essential for Jordan to modify the design of institutional oversight and control processes across water use sectors and strengthen linkages within and between institutions and sectors.

Ultimately, the future of water availability in Jordan depends on finding long-term solutions that ensure access to water resources and their sustainable use. The regional political context keeps shifting, impacting Jordan’s strategies for water security. Deteriorating Jordanian-Israeli relations in recent years resulted in the Red Sea-Dead Sea Project being abandoned and driving Jordan towards a national solution: the National Water Carrier. At the same time, the normalization of relations between the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Israel resulted in 2021 in a new plan for potential Jordanian-Israeli-Emirati cooperation: a solar power plant in southern Jordan – financed by the UAE – to produce energy for Israel, in exchange for desalinated water supplied by Israel to Jordan. The challenge for Jordan, again, will be to balance different trade-offs, long-term and short-term considerations and intersectoral demands, ensuring reliability and sustainability – including political and social – in terms of sources.