تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

موارد المياه في الأردن

البحر الميت - موارد المياه في الأردن
الصورة 1: غروب الشمس في البحر الميت، الأردن. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

يتقاسم الأردن معظم موارد المياه الرئيسية مع دول الجوار، مما يفاقم التحديات في ظل زيادة ندرة المياه.

في عام 2017، قدرت وزارة المياه والري توافر المياه السنوي بنحو 1054 مليون متر مكعب، منها 288 مليون متر مكعب من الموارد السطحية، و619 مليون متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية، و147 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة. [1]

المياه السطحية

تساهم المياه السطحية في الأردن بحوالي 28% من إجمالي إمدادات المياه، حيث قد وفرت موارد المياه السطحية 288 مليون متر مكعب من المياه في عام 2017. [2] وتعتبر الأنهار الثلاث الرئيسية في البلاد، نهر الأردن واليرموك والزرقاء، جزءاً رئيسياً من نظام المياه السطحية في البلاد، ومع ذلك، فقد بات من غير الممكن إلى حدٍ كبير الاعتماد على إمدادات المياه المتاحة من كلٍ منها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن تحويل منابع المياه والضخ المفرط للمياه في كلٍ من سوريا (لنهر اليرموك وروافده وموارد المياه الجوفية من نفس الحوض) وإسرائيل (لنهر الأردن) يؤثر تأثيراً مباشراً على توافر المياه في الأردن. [3]

وفي الثلاثينيات من القرن الماضي، فإن نهر الأردن كان أحد مصادر المياه الرئيسية للبلاد إذ كان يتدفق آنذاك 1,3 مليار متر مكعب من المياه في السنة. [4] ومع ذلك، فقد أسفرت عمليات تحويل مجرى النهر وروافده، بما في ذلك تدشين إسرائيل لمشروع الناقل الوطني للمياه في عام 1953 وتحويل المياه من بحيرة طبريا إلى السهول الساحلية والصحراء الجنوبية الإسرائيلية، إلى انخفاض تدفق نهر الأردن السفلي بشكلٍ كبير. وتعويضاً عن هذه الخسارة، وكجزءٍ من معاهدة السلام بين الأردن وإسرائيل عام 1994، تضخ إسرائيل 50 مليون متر مكعب من المياه في السنة من بحيرة طبريا إلى الأردن. ومع ذلك، فقد وجدت دراسة أجريت عام 2010 أن تدفق نهر الأردن السفلى قد انخفض إلى 2% فقط من تدفقه التاريخي، [5] فضلاً عن تدهور جودة المياه بشكلٍ حاد مع ارتفاع مستويات الملوحة والتلوث من الأسمدة الزراعية ومياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة عند المنبع في إسرائيل والضفة الغربية.

المياه الجوفية في الأردن - موارد المياه في الأردن
الخريطة (1): أحواض المياه الجوفية في الأردن. @Fanack water

وبالرغم من أن مياه نهر اليرموك ذات نوعية جيدة، إلا أن الأردن يواجه تحدياتٍ بسبب الطبيعة العابرة للحدود للنهر حيث يتم تقاسمه شمالاً مع سوريا، فضلاً عن محدودية كميات المياه المتدفقة بحسب الاتفاقية الثنائية المتفق عليها عام 1987. [6] وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى أن موطن ضعف الاتفاقية يكمن في كونها تأخذ في الاعتبار موارد المياه السطحية فحسب متجاهلةً موارد المياه الجوفية المرتبطة بالأنهار. [7] وبسبب استغلال سوريا المفرط لموارد المياه الجوفية، فقد بات تدفق النهر الذي يصل إلى الجانب الأردني من الحدود ويملأ سد الوحدة أقل بكثير مما كان متوقعاً. وفي معرض ما ذكر آنفاً إلى جانب أن نهر اليرموك يمثل 40% من موارد المياه السطحية الأردنية، فإن الحكومة الأردنية تدرس إعادة التفاوض على الاتفاقية. كما يعتبر نهر اليرموك أيضاً مصدراً مهماً للمياه لقناة الملك عبد الله، والتي تستخدم في وادي الأردن لأغراض الري.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، فقد شهد نهر الزرقاء، على الرغم من كونه داخل الحدود الأردنية بالكامل، انخفاضاً في جودة المياه بسبب عمليات السحب والتصريف من المناطق الصناعية والمنازل، إذ يرجع هذا نتيجة وجوده داخل المنطقة الصناعية الرئيسية في الأردن، والتي تتضمن حوالي 70% من المؤسسات الصناعية الصغيرة والمتوسطة في البلاد، حيث إن القليل من هذه الصناعات، إن كان أيّاً منها، تمتلك خططاً لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الملوثة قبل تصريفها في النهر. [8] وفي الوقت نفسه، يأتي حوالي 50% من تدفق النهر من محطة السمرا لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. [9] ومع ذلك، ما يزال نهر الزرقاء يرفد حوالي 60 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه لسد الملك طلال، الذي يعدّ أحد السدود الرئيسية في البلاد.

المياه الجوفية

بالنظر إلى القضايا التي نوقشت أعلاه فيما يتعلق بكمية مصادر المياه السطحية ومدى الاعتماد عليها وجودتها، فإن الأردنيين يعتمدون بشكلٍ أساسي على المياه الجوفية في إمدادات المياه للأغراض المنزلية. ومع ذلك، فلم تعد إمدادات المياه الجوفية كافيةً أيضاً لتلبية الطلب المتزايد، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى أن المزارعين يستخدمون أيضاً هذه المياه الجوفية لري محاصيلهم، وأن القطاعين المنزلي والزراعي يتنافسان على ذات المورد. ففي عام 2017 على سبيل المثال، قد استهلك القطاع الزراعي حوالي 45% من موارد المياه في البلاد. [10]

وتمثل المياه الجوفية (المتجددة وغير المتجددة) حوالي 60% من الموازنة المائية السنوية، أو حوالي 618 مليون متر مكعب / السنة. [11]

وهناك نوعان رئيسيان من موارد المياه الجوفية: الموارد المتجددة وغير المتجددة (الأحفورية). و يمكن إعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية المتجددة عن طريق التغذية الطبيعية والاصطناعية.

كما تعتبر الأمطار والمياه السطحية والري مصادر طبيعية لإعادة التغذية، بينما تعتبر المياه العذبة المعالجة (من خلال حقنها في نظم التصريف) أو مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة ضمن الموارد الاصطناعية. [12]

وقد تم تحديد وجود اثني عشر حوضاً للمياه الجوفية في الأردن (الخريطة 2). [13] وتشير التقديرات إلى أن العائد الآمن الذي يسمح بإعادة تغذية إمدادات المياه الجوفية لمصادر المياه الجوفية المتجددة في جميع أنحاء البلاد يبلغ حوالي 275 مليون متر مكعب / السنة. [14]

علاوةً على ذلك، تقع موارد المياه الجوفية داخل حدود الأردن إلى جانب الموارد المشتركة مع دول الجوار، كما هو موضح أدناه. فعلى سبيل المثال، فهذا هو حال حوضيّ الديسي واليرموك للمياه الجوفية، حيث يأتي تدفق الموارد المشتركة من دول المنبع. وعلى مدى العقود الماضية، كان هذا التدفق يتناقص لعدة أسباب، بما في ذلك الآثار التي ألقاها تغير المناخ على إعادة تغذية الآبار الجوفية والاستخراج غير القانوني وأنماط الاستهلاك المتغيرة.

أحواض المياه الجوفية في الأردن - موارد المياه في الأردن

الخريطة (2): العائد السنوي الآمن من أحواض المياه الجوفية في الأردن (مليون متر مكعب). Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, 2012.

مصادر المياه غير التقليدية

أصبحت مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة مورداً متزايد الأهمية، حيث تساهم بما نسبته حوالي 18% من الموازنة الوطنية للمياه. [15] وتستخدم معظم هذه المياه في القطاع الزراعي. ففي عام 2017، قد بلغ استهلاك القطاع الزراعي للمياه 144 مليون متر مكعب من أصل 147 مليون متر مكعب، ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع الاستهلاك إلى 411 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2035.

وتُصرّف معظم مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة من محطات المعالجة بالقرب من المراكز السكانية الرئيسية (ومصادر مياه الصرف الصحي الرئيسية) في وسط البلاد، إلى المجاري المائية الواقعة على حواف جبال وادي الأردن، حيث تتدفق إلى الوادي لاستخدامها في الري (الخريطة 3 والجدول 1).

وقد ازدادت كمية مياه الصرف الصحي على مر السنين، ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى الزيادة السكانية الكبيرة (بما في ذلك اللاجئين) [16]، إذ قد أدى ذلك إلى عمل محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الحالية بما يتجاوز طاقتها التصميمية الأصلية.

ولطالما استخدم المزارعون على طول مجرى نهر الزرقاء مياه النهر للري، ويرفض الكثيرون الامتثال للوائح الحكومية التي تحظر هذا الاستغلال. وقد وضعت هذه اللوائح عندما تم إنشاء محطة معالجة المياه لمنع المزارعين من استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة على محاصيلهم قبل تخفيف تركيزها، إذ تُشكل المحاصيل المروية بمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة جزئياً خطراً على صحة المستهلكين.

و، قد أدت الزيادة في عدد اللاجئين، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين يعيشون في مخيمات اللاجئين، إلى زيادة حادة في كمية مياه الصرف الصحي، بما في ذلك مياه دورات المياه. ونظراً لأن مخيمات اللاجئين هي واقع طويل الأمد في الأردن، فإن استراتيجية إدارة مياه الصرف الصحي المستدامة ضرورية لضمان جودة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

الصرف الصحي في الأردن - موارد المياه في الأردن
الخريطة (3): مواقع محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الأردن. @Fanack water

الجدول (1): محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الأردن 2017. المصدر: وزارة المياه والري الأردنية.[17].

اسم المحطةحالة المشروعالسعة التصميمية- متر مكعب/ اليومالمياه الداخلة- متر مكعب/ اليومنوع المعالجةسنة التشغيلالحمل العضوي
محطة تنقية العقبة القديمة9,0007,066تنقية طبيعية1987900
محطة تنقية العقبة الميكانيكية12,00012,719الحمأة المنشطة2005420
محطة تنقية العقبة الميكانيكيةقيد الإنشاء28,000الحمأة المنشطةقيد الإنشاء400
محطة تنقية البقعةقيد الدراسة والتصميم 14,90014,563المرشحات البيولوجية1987800
محطة تنقية الفحيص وماحصالحمأة المنشطة2,4002,928الحمأة المنشطة1997995
محطة تنقية إربد المركزية (فوعرا)تحويل إلى الحمأة المنشطة13,3508,272الحمأة المنشطة1987800
محطة تنقية جرشقيد التطوير9,500الحمأة المنشطة19831,200
محطة تنقية المعراض- جرش10,0004,397الحمأة المنشطة2011800
محطة تنقية الكركقيد التطوير والإنشاء5,5001,321الحمأة المنشطة1988800
محطة تنقية كفرنجةتحويل إلى الحمأة المنشطة9,0003,497الحمأة المنشطة1989850
محطة تنقية مأدباتحويل إلى ميكانيكية7,6007,388الحمأة المنشطة1989950
محطة تنقية المفرقتحويل إلى ميكانيكية5,5003,731أحواض مهواة2017825
محطة تنقية معانتحويل إلى ميكانيكية7,0002,324الحمأة المنشطة1989700
محطة تنقية أبو نصير4,0003,385الحمأة المنشطة19851,100
محطة تنقية الرمثاتحويل إلى ميكانيكية5,4004,268الحمأة المنشطة19871,00
محطة تنقية السلطقيد الدراسة والتصميم (السعة- 7600 متر مكعب/ اليوم)2,5008,086الحمأة المنشطة19811,090
محطة تنقية الطفيلةقيد التطوير والإنشاء (السعة- 5000 متر مكعب/ اليوم حتى عام 2025) (السعة- 7500 متر مكعب/ اليوم حتى عام 2035)1,6001,945المرشحات البيولوجية + الحمأة المنشطة19881,060
محطة تنقية وادي العرب (دوقرا)20,80012,683الحمأة المنشطة1999582
محطة تنقية وادي حسان1,6001,262الحمأة المنشطة2001800
محطة تنقية وادي موسى3,4002,832الحمأة المنشطة2000500
محطة تنقية وادي السيرقيد التطوير والإنشاء17,0005,040تنقية طبيعية1997670
محطة تنقية الأكيدر4,0002,087تنقية طبيعية20051,500
محطة تنقية اللجونمن الأحواض المهواة إلى الحمأة المنشطة1,200712أحواض مهواة20051,500
محطة تنقية تل المنطح400383المرشحات البيولوجية + الحمأة المنشطة20052,000
محطة تنقية الجيزة4,000895الحمأة المنشطة2008898
محطة تنقية الشوبك350153أحواض مهواة20101,136
محطة تنقية السمراتحويل إلى ميكانيكية360,000344,548.5الحمأة المنشطة1984 old - 2008 new600
محطة تنقية المنصورة5020أحواض مهواة2010
محطة تنقية جنوب عمّان52,00013,517.5الحمأة المنشطة2015750
محطة تنقية وادي الشلالة13,7508,421الحمأة المنشطة2014762
محطة تنقية مؤتة- المزار- العدنانية7,0601,369الحمأة المنشطة2014673
محطة تنقية الشونة الشمالية1,200655أحواض مهواة20151,850
محطة تنقية الزعتري3,5001,468المفاعل الحيوي الغشائي + المرشحات البيولوجية20151,130
محطة تنقية مخيم الأزرق1,7600المفاعل الحيوي الغشائي + المرشحات البيولوجية1,500
الإجمالي 639,320137387.5

[1] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115; Zeitoun, M et al., 2019. ‘The Yarmouk tributary to the Jordan River I: Agreements impeding equitable transboundary water arrangements.’ Water Alternatives 12(3): 1064-1094.
[4] Gafny, S et al., 2010. ‘Towards a Living Jordan River.’ An Environmental Flows Report on the Rehabilitation of the Lower Jordan River.
[5] Bromberg, G, 2008. ‘Will the Jordan River Keep on Flowing?’ Yale Environment 360.
[6] Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115.
[7] Zeitoun, M et al., 2019. ‘The Yarmouk tributary to the Jordan River I: Agreements impeding equitable transboundary water arrangements.’ Water Alternatives 12(3): 1064-1094; Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115.
[8] Mohsen, MS, 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination 203: 27-46.
[9] Abu-Sharar, TM et al., 2003. ‘The use of treated sewage for irrigation in Jordan: Opportunities and constraints.’ Water and Environment Journal 17(4): 232-238.
[10] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[11] Ibid.
[12] Ghneim, A, 2010. ‘Wastewater Reuse and Management in the Middle East and North Africa: A Case Study of Jordan.’ MSc Dissertation. Published by Universitätsverlag der TU Berlin.
[13] Ibid.
[14] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[15] Ibid.
[16] Namrouqa, H, 2018. ‘Government seeks to expand As-Samra Wastewater Treatment Plant, citing population growth concerns.’ The Jordan Times.
[17] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

Water Resources in Jordan

The Dead Sea - Water resources in Jordan
Photo 1: Dead Sea at sunset, Jordan. (Credit: Ruben Vermeer)

Most of the major water resources in Jordan are shared with neighbouring countries, leading to additional challenges as water scarcity increases.

In 2017, the Ministry of Water and Irrigation (MWI) estimated annual water availability at 1,054 million cubic metres (MCM). Of these, 288 MCM come from surface resources, 619 MCM from groundwater and 147 MCM from treated wastewater.[1]

Surface water

Surface water in Jordan contributes about 28% of the total water supply. Surface water resources provided 288 MCM of water in 2017.[2] The country’s three main rivers, the Jordan, Yarmouk and Zarqa, are a major part of the country’s surface water system. However, the available water supply from each has become highly unreliable. Upstream diversion and over-pumping in Syria (Yarmouk River, its tributaries and groundwater resources from the same basin) and Israel (Jordan River) directly affect water availability in Jordan.[3]

In the 1930s, one of the main water resources was the Jordan River, with a flow of 1.3 billion cubic metres per year (BCM/yr).[4] However, diversions of the river and its tributaries, including Israel’s construction of the National Water Carrier in 1953 and water diversion from Lake Tiberias to Israel’s coastal plains and southern desert, resulted in the flow of the Lower Jordan River dropping significantly. The 50 MCM/yr that Israel provides from Lake Tiberias as part of the 1994 peace treaty was meant to compensate Jordan for this loss. However, a 2010 study found that the Lower Jordan River has been reduced to 2% of its historic flow.[5] Water quality has also deteriorated sharply, with high levels of salinity and pollution from agricultural fertilizer and untreated wastewater upstream in Israel and the West Bank.

Surface water in Jordan - water resources in Jordan
Map 1: Surface water basins in Jordan. @Fanack water

While the water of the Yarmouk River is deemed to be of good quality, Jordan is challenged by the transboundary nature of the river, which in the north is shared with Syria, and constrained by the amounts agreed to in the 1987 bilateral treaty.[6] The shortcoming of the treaty is that it only considers surface water resources and not the groundwater resources that are connected to the rivers.[7] Due to Syrian overexploitation of groundwater resources, the flow of the river reaching the Jordanian side of the border and filling the Wahda Dam is much lower than expected. The Jordanian government is considering renegotiating the treaty for this reason and because the Yarmouk River accounts for 40% of Jordanian surface water resources. The Yarmouk is also an important source of water for the King Abdullah Canal, used in the Jordan Valley for irrigation purposes.

The Zarqa River, though completely within Jordanian borders, has experienced decreasing water quality due to industrial and domestic abstractions and discharges. This is a result of its location within Jordan’s main industrial area, which also accommodates around 70% of the country’s small- to medium-sized industries. Few if any of these industries have plans to treat contaminated wastewater before it is dumped in the river.[8] At the same time, about 50% of the river’s flow comes from the Samra wastewater treatment plant.[9] Nevertheless, it still provides around 60 MCM/yr for the King Talal Dam, which is one of the major dams in the country.

Groundwater

Given the issues discussed above regarding the amount, reliability and quality of surface water sources, the Jordanian population relies mainly on groundwater for its domestic water supply. However, the groundwater supply is also insufficient to satisfy growing domestic demand, mainly because farmers also use this groundwater to irrigate their crops, and the domestic and agricultural sector are competing for the same resource. In 2017, the agricultural sector consumed about 45% of the country’s water resources.[10]

Groundwater (renewable and non-renewable) accounts for about 60% of the annual water budget, or about 618 MCM/yr.[11]

There are two main types of groundwater resources: renewable and non-renewable (fossil) resources. Renewable groundwater aquifers can be recharged by natural and artificial recharge.

Rainfall, surface water and irrigation are natural sources of recharge, while processed fresh water (through leakages in delivery systems) or treated wastewater fall under artificial resources.[12]

Twelve groundwater basins have been identified in Jordan (Map 2).[13] It has been estimated that the safe yield that allows for recharge of the groundwater supplies of renewable groundwater resources across the country is about 275 MCM/yr.[14]

Moreover, the groundwater resources are both within Jordan’s borders as well as shared with neighbouring countries, as discussed below. This is, for instance, the case for the Disi and Yarmouk aquifer. The shared resources’ flow comes from the upstream countries. Over the past decades, this flow has been decreasing for several reasons, including climate change impacts on recharge, illegal use and changing consumption patterns.

Groundwater in Jordan - Water resources in Jordan

Map 2: Annual safe yield of groundwater basins in Jordan in MCM. Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, 2012.

Non-conventional resources

Treated wastewater is becoming an increasingly important resource, contributing around 18% to the national water budget.[15] Most of this water is used in the agricultural sector. In 2017, this amounted to 144 MCM out of 147 MCM. This amount is forecasted to increase to 411 MCM in 2035.

Most of the treated wastewater is released from treatment plants near the major population centres (and major wastewater sources) in the middle of the country, into watercourses on the ridge of the Jordan Valley, where it flows into the valley for use in irrigation (Map 3 and Table 1).

The amount of wastewater has increased over the years, mainly due to the significant population increase (including refugees).[16] This has resulted in the existing wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) being used beyond their original design capacity.

Farmers along this section of the Zarqa River have traditionally used water from the river for irrigation, and many refuse to comply with government regulations that forbid such extraction. These regulations were put in place when the water treatment facility was built to prevent farmers from using the treated wastewater on their crops before it was diluted. Crops irrigated with this partially treated wastewater pose a health risk to consumers.

The increase in the number of refugees, including those who live in refugee camps, has led to a sharp increase in the amount of wastewater, including from toilets. As refugee camps are a long-term reality in Jordan, a sustainable wastewater management strategy is essential to ensure the quality of wastewater treatment.

Wastewater treatments plants in Jordan - Water resources in Jordan
Map 3: Location of wastewater treatment plants in Jordan. @Fanack water

Table 1. Wastewater treatment plants in Jordan in 2017. Source: MWI[17].

WWTP nameStatus of upgradeDesign capacity m3/dDaily influent m3/dTechnologyOperation yearBOD
Aqaba-Natural9,0007,066Waste stab ponds1987900
Aqaba-Mechanical12,00012,719Activated sludge2005420
Aqaba-Mechanical NewUnder construction28,000Activated sludgeUnder construction400
BaqaaUnder study and design14,90014,563Trickling filter1987800
Fuheis-MahesActivated sludge2,4002,928Activated sludge1997995
Irbid CentreTo activated sludge13,3508,272Activated sludge1987800
Jerash (East)Under development9,500Activated sludge19831,200
Meyrad10,0004,397Activated sludge2011800
karakUnder development and construction5,5001,321Activated sludge1988800
KufranjaTo activated sludge9,0003,497Activated sludge1989850
MadabaTo mechanical7,6007,388Activated sludge1989950
mafraqTo mechanical5,5003,731Oxidation sludge2017825
MaanTo mechanical7,0002,324Activated sludge1989700
Abu Naseir4,0003,385Activated sludge19851,100
RamthaTo mechanical5,4004,268Activated sludge19871,00
SaltUnder study and design (capacity 7,600 m3/d)2,5008,086Activated sludge19811,090
TaflaUnder development and construction (capacity 5,00 m3/d to 2025) (capacity 7,500 m3/d to 2035)1,6001,945Trickling filter + Activated sludge19881,060
Wadi Arab20,80012,683Activated sludge1999582
Wadi Hassan1,6001,262Activated sludge2001800
Wadi Mousa3,4002,832Activated sludge2000500
Wadi EsseirUnder development and construction17,0005,040Oxidation sludge1997670
Ekedar4,0002,087Waste stab ponds20051,500
lajoonFrom waste stab ponds to oxidation sludge1,200712Waste stab ponds20051,500
Tal Mantah400383Trickling filter + Activated sludge20052,000
Jiza4,000895Activated sludge2008898
Shobak350153Waste stab ponds20101,136
SamraTo mechanical360,000344,548.5Activated sludge1984 old - 2008 new600
Mansorah5020Waste stab ponds2010
South Amman52,00013,517.5Activated sludge2015750
Wadi Shallaleh13,7508,421Activated sludge2014762
Mutah-Mazar-Adnaniyyah7,0601,369Activated sludge2014673
North Shouna1,200655Waste stab ponds20151,850
Zaatari Camp3,5001,468MBR+TF20151,130
Azraq Camp1,7600MBR+TF1,500
Total639,320137387.5

[1] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115; Zeitoun, M et al., 2019. ‘The Yarmouk tributary to the Jordan River I: Agreements impeding equitable transboundary water arrangements.’ Water Alternatives 12(3): 1064-1094.
[4] Gafny, S et al., 2010. ‘Towards a Living Jordan River.’ An Environmental Flows Report on the Rehabilitation of the Lower Jordan River.
[5] Bromberg, G, 2008. ‘Will the Jordan River Keep on Flowing?’ Yale Environment 360.
[6] Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115.
[7] Zeitoun, M et al., 2019. ‘The Yarmouk tributary to the Jordan River I: Agreements impeding equitable transboundary water arrangements.’ Water Alternatives 12(3): 1064-1094; Hussein, H, 2017. ‘Whose ‘reality’? Discourses and hydropolitics along the Yarmouk River.’ Contemporary Levant 2(2): 103-115.
[8] Mohsen, MS, 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination 203: 27-46.
[9] Abu-Sharar, TM et al., 2003. ‘The use of treated sewage for irrigation in Jordan: Opportunities and constraints.’ Water and Environment Journal 17(4): 232-238.
[10] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[11] Ibid.
[12] Ghneim, A, 2010. ‘Wastewater Reuse and Management in the Middle East and North Africa: A Case Study of Jordan.’ MSc Dissertation. Published by Universitätsverlag der TU Berlin.
[13] Ibid.
[14] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.
[15] Ibid.
[16] Namrouqa, H, 2018. ‘Government seeks to expand As-Samra Wastewater Treatment Plant, citing population growth concerns.’ The Jordan Times.
[17] MWI (Ministry of Water and Irrigation), 2017. ‘Jordan Water Sector Facts and Figures 2017’.