الصفحة الرئيسية / تونس / إدارة المياه في تونس

إدارة المياه في تونس

Bizerte in tunisia
الصورة 1: ميناء بنزرت ، تونس. (المصدر: Kristen, Flickr)

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

تقع مسؤولية العديد من الأنشطة المتعلقة بإدارة الموارد المائية على عاتق وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري والمديريات / المؤسسات الخاضعة لسلطتها. ومع ذلك، فإن جميع الجوانب المتعلقة بالبيئة، بما في ذلك الصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية، هي مسؤولية وزارة البيئة. إن وزارة الصحة العمومية مسؤولة عن مراقبة المياه بشكلٍ عام، بينما وزارة التجهيز مسؤولة عن إدارة الفيضانات في المناطق الحضرية.

تعتبر وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري مسؤولة بشكلٍ رئيسي عن إدارة المجال العام وتعبئة وتطوير موارد المياه ومشاريع إدارة المياه وسحب المياه الزراعية، بالإضافة إلى توفير موارد المياه للاستخدامات المنزلية وغيرها. وفيما يلي الأقسام الرئيسية ضن وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري والتي تلعب أدواراً رئيسية في إدارة الموارد المائية:

● الإدارة العامة للموارد المائية (DGRE)؛

● الإدارة العامة للهندسة الريفية واستغلال المياه (DGGREE)؛

● الإدارة العامة للسدود والأشغال المائية الكبرى (DGBGTH)؛

● الإدارة العامة للتهيئة والمحافظة على الأراضي الفلاحية (DGACTA)؛

● دائرة التخطيط والتوازن الهيدروليكي (BPEH)؛

● شركة استغلال قنال وأنابيب الشمال (SECADENORD).

ويتم تمثيل وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري من قِبل المندوبية الجهوية للتنمية الفلاحية على المستوى الإقليمي، والتي أنشئت في كلٍ من المحافظات الأربع والعشرين. وبالإضافة إلى وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري والمؤسسات التابعة لها، يتم تقاسم حوكمة قطاع المياه مع مختلف الوزارات والوكالات مثل الشركة الوطنية لاستغلال وتوزيع المياه (SONEDE) المسؤولة عن مياه الشرب، والمكتب الوطني للصرف الصحي . (ONAS).[1]

Affiliated institutions tunisia
الشكل (1): المؤسسات التابعة (الوزارات والوكالات) المشاركة في الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية. المصدر: [2].

القوانين واللوائح المعمول بها أو قيد الإعداد

تمتلك تونس تقليد طويل في تنظيم إدارة الموارد المائية، فقد أدى النمو السكاني وزيادة الطلب على المياه وتدهور نوعية المياه إلى قيام الحكومة باستكشاف طرق لتحديث إطار قانون المياه. وقد كان الإطار التشريعي والتنظيمي الذي يهدف إلى تشجيع الاستثمار في نظام إدارة المياه وترشيده موضوع العديد من الإصلاحات التي ركزت على قطاع المياه بشكلٍ عام والحفاظ على المياه بشكل خاص. ويضبط قانون المياه الصادر في عام 1975 تخصيص الموارد المائية ويتضمن عدة مواد لحماية الموارد المائية والحفاظ عليها. [3] وقد بدأ إصلاح قانون المياه في عام 2009 ليعكس الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي الفعلي في البلاد. وقد أصدرت وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري للحكومة في فبراير 2017 القانون، وتمت الموافقة عليه من قبل مجلس الوزراء في سبتمبر 2019 لتقديمه إلى البرلمان. ويظل قانون المياه أنسب أداة تحكم بالانتهاكات المرتكبة في مجال المياه العامة وأي تعارضات ناتجة عنها. [4]

وقد تم سن العديد من القوانين والمراسيم واللوائح ذات الصلة على النحو الموضح في الجدول 5. ومع ذلك، فلا تزال بعض اللوائح التنفيذية معلقة، مثل النص الخاص بمعايير مياه الشرب. وعلاوة على ذلك، فلم يتم تطبيق بعض الأحكام واللوائح بالكامل أو نادراً ما يتم تطبيقها، مثل الأحكام المتعلقة بحماية المجال العام للمياه وانقطاع المياه لعدم دفع الفواتير.

الجدول (1): القوانين واللوائح الرئيسية لقطاع المياه في تونس.[5]

النشاطالقانون/ اللائحة
مخصصات المياه● مرسوم المجلس الوطني للمياه رقم 407/2010 المؤرخ 9 مارس 2010.
جودة المياه والمعايير الوطنية لمياه الشرب● القانون 82-66 المؤرخ 6 أغسطس 1982 بشأن التوحيد القياسي والجودة. ● المعيار الوطني لإعادة استخدام المياه- NT 09 14 ● القانون 75-16 المؤرخ 31 مارس 1975 (قانون المياه)، بصيغته المعدلة والمكملة بالقانون 87-35 المؤرخ 6 يوليو 1987 والقانون 88-94 المؤرخ 2 أغسطس 1988.
إمدادات المياه البلدية والصرف الصحي● القانون 93-41 المؤرخ 19 أبريل 1993 بشأن تغيير القانون لإنشاء المكتب الوطني للصرف الصحي المؤرخ 3 أغسطس 1974.
معايير الصرف الصناعي● المرسوم 85-56 المؤرخ 2 يناير 1985 بشأن شروط التصريف في البيئة المستقبلة، وقد تغير في عام 1991. ● المرسوم 2005-1991 الصادر في يوليو 2005 والذي يحدد دراسة التأثير البيئي.
الري والصرف● قانون 30/2000 بشأن تطوير الأراضي الزراعية داخل المناطق المروية العامة.
الظواهر المتطرفة● القانون 75-16 المؤرخ 31 مارس 1975 (قانون المياه)، بصيغته المعدلة والمكملة بالقانون 87-35 المؤرخ 6 يوليو 1987 والقانون 88-94 المؤرخ 2 أغسطس 1988.

تمويل قطاع المياه

غالباً ما تكون مشاريع إمدادت المياه (لأغراض الري والأغراض المنزلية) وكذلك مشاريع التصريف مكلفة للغاية. والوكالتان التونسيتان الرئيسيتان المسؤولتان عن توفير خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي هما الشركة الوطنية لاستغلال وتوزيع المياه، والمكتب الوطني للصرف الصحي، واللتان تمضيان قدماً في تحقيق هدف استرداد التكاليف بالكامل لاستدامة الخدمات. ومع ذلك، فهناك حاجة إلى المزيد من أدوات التمويل لتنفيذ مشاريع البنية التحتية.

وقد حققت تونس نجاحاً كبيراً في جذب التمويل من مختلف المانحين الدوليين لتحقيق التقدم في قطاع المياه. تتوافق غالبية التدخلات مع أولويات الاستراتيجية التونسية للمياه وقد ساهمت في زيادة التنسيق بين مختلف الشركاء. وقد نتج عن هذا تمويلٌ مشترك لعدة مشاريع مثل المرحلة الأولى والمرحلة الثانية لمشروع الاستثمار في قطاع المياه (PISEAU)، بتمويل من البنك الدولي والوكالة الفرنسية للتنمية والبنك الإفريقي للتنمية وبنك الإئتمان لإعادة التنمية، وركز على تطوير شبكات الري والمياه المحلية، ومشروع تثمين نتائج البحث في مجال المياه (PAPS-Eau)، بتمويل من المفوضية الأوروبية لدعم الحكومة في الحفاظ على الموارد المائية بشكلٍ أفضل وإدارة الطلب في إطار نهجٍ متكامل.

إن مثل هذه المبادرات مدعومة بزيادةٍ في ميزانية قطاع المياه. ففي عام 2018، قد تم تخصيص حوالي 60% من الميزانية الإجمالية لوزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري لقطاع المياه. [6]

دور القطاع الخاص في إدارة المياه

قد عززت تونس مؤخراً الإطار القانوني والمؤسسي للشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص وتعتزم استخدام هذه الطريقة في كثير من الأحيان في تطوير بنيتها التحتية. إن السجل التاريخي حول الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص متواضع للغاية بشكلٍ عام، ويعكس تفضيلاً لتوفير خدمات البنية التحتية للقطاع العام مدفوعاً بقوة الوصول إلى القروض الميسرة. وفي قطاع مياه الشرب، فلم يتم توقيع أي شراكات بين القطاع العام والخاص حتى الآن، لكن الحكومة والشركة الوطنية لاستغلال وتوزيع المياه تنويان بناء محطة لتحلية المياه من خلال مخطط للبناء والتشغيل ونقل المُلكية. وفي عام 2015، قد صدر قانون جديد بشأن الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص، وأنشئت وحدة للشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (مثل الإدارة العامة للشراكة بين القطاعين العمومي والخاص (DGPPP) على مستوى الرئاسة. وعلى الرغم من أنها تلعب دوراً غاية في الأهمية، إلا أنها تكافح لتوفير الخبرة اللازمة في إجراءات الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص لأصحاب المصلحة العامة عديمي الخبرة. [7] [8]

[1] WGS Initiative, 2016. Local Water Security Assessment.
[2] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Closas A and Molle F, 2016. Groundwater Governance in the Arab World – Taking Stock and Addressing the Challenges. IWMI project publication.
[5] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[6] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[7] The World Bank, 2018. Program information document. Tunisia Water Sector Reform Project (P162165).
[8] OECD Studies on Water, 2014. Water Governance in Tunisia: Overcoming the Challenges to Private Sector Participation.

Home / Tunisia / Water Management in Tunisia

Water Management in Tunisia

Bizerte
Photo 1: Port of Bizerte, Tunisia. (Source: Kristen, Flickr)

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

Many activities related to water resources management are the responsibility of the Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries (MARHP) and the directorates/institutions under its authority. However, all environment-related aspects, including urban sanitation, are the responsibility of the Ministry of the Environment. The Ministry of Public Health is responsible for water control in general. The Ministry of Equipment is responsible for flood management in urban areas.

The MARHP is mainly responsible for public domain management, mobilization and development of water resources, water management projects and agricultural withdrawals as well as providing water resources for domestic and other uses. The main departments within MARHP that play key roles in water resources management are:

• General Directorate of Water Resources (DGRE);

• General Directorate of Rural Engineering and Water Exploitation (DGGREE);

• General Directorate of Dams and Hydraulic Works Department (DGBGTH);

• General Directorate for Development and Conservation of Agricultural Land (DGACTA);

• Bureau of Water Planning and Hydraulic Equilibriums (BPEH);

• Northern Water Canal and Adductions Exploitation Company (SECADENORD).

The MARHP is represented at regional level by the Agricultural Development Regional Office (CRDA), established in each of the 24 governorates. In addition to the MARHP and its subordinates, the governance of the water sector is shared by different ministries and agencies such as the National Water Exploitation and Distribution Company (SONEDE), responsible for drinking water, and the National Office for Sanitation (ONAS).[1]

Affiliated institutions tunisia
Figure 1: Affiliated institutions (ministries and agencies) involved in integrated water resources management. Source: [2].

Laws and regulations that are in use or in preparation

Tunisia has a long tradition of codifying water resources management. Population growth, increasing water demand and the degradation of water quality have led the government to explore ways to modernize the water law framework. The legislative and regulatory framework aimed at promoting investment in and rationalization of the water management system has been the object of several reforms focused on the water sector in general and water conservation in particular. The Water Code promulgated in 1975 governs the allocation of water resources and includes several articles to protect and preserve water resources.[3] A water law reform was initiated in 2009 to reflect the actual social and economic situation in the country. The Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries to the government in February 2017, and the law was approved by the Council of Ministers in September 2019 for submission to the parliament. The Water Code remains the most appropriate instrument governing infringements committed public water domain and any resulting conflicts.[4]

Several related laws, decrees and related regulations have been enacted as illustrated in Table 5. However, some implementing regulations are still pending, such as the text on drinking water standards. Moreover, some provisions and regulations have not been fully implemented or were rarely applied, such as the provisions regarding the protection of the public water domain and water disconnection for non-payment of bills.

Table 1: Tunisia’s main water sector laws and regulations.[5]

ActivityLaw/regulation
Water allocations• National Water Council Decree No. 407/2010 of 9 March 2010.
Water quality and national drinking water standards• Law 82-66 of 6 August 1982 on standardization and quality. • NT 09 14. • Law 75-16 of 31 March 1975 (Water Code), as amended and supplemented by Law 87-35 of 6 July 1987 and Law of 88-94 of 2 August 1988.
Municipal water supply and sanitation• Law 93-41 of 19 April 1993 on the change of law to create ONAS of 3 August 1974.
Industrial effluent standards• Decree 85-56 of 2 January 1985 on the terms of discharges into the receiving environment, changed in 1991. • Decree 2005-1991 of July 2005 defining the study of environmental impact.
Irrigation and drainage• Law 30/2000 on the development of agricultural land within the public irrigated perimeters (PPI).
Extreme events• Law 75-16 of 31 March 1975 (Water Code), as amended and supplemented by Law 87-35 of 6 July 1987 and Law 88-94 of 2 August 1988.

Financing of the water sector

Water supply (for irrigation and domestic purposes) as well assanitation projects are often very costly. The two main Tunisian agencies responsible for water supply and sanitation services are the National Water Exploitation and Distribution Company and the National Office for Sanitation, which are moving ahead with the objective of full cost recovery for sustainability of services. However, more financing vehicles are needed to implement infrastructure projects.

Tunisia has been very successful in attracting funding from different international donors to achieve progress in the water sector. The majority of interventions are aligned with the priorities of the Tunisian water strategy and have contributed to increased coordination between the different partners. This has resulted in common funding of several projects like PISEAU I and II, financed by the World Bank, BAD, AFD and KfW and focused on the development of irrigation and domestic water systems, andPAPS-Eau, funded by the European Commission to support the government in better preserving water resources and managing demand in the framework of an integrated approach.

Such initiatives are supported by an increasing water sector budget. In 2018, about 60% of the overall budget of the Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries was allocated to the water sector.[6]

Role of the private sector in water management

Tunisia has recently strengthened its public-private partnership (PPP) legal and institutional framework and intends to use this modality more often in the development of its infrastructure. The historical record on PPPs is generally quite modest and reflects a preference for public sector provision of infrastructure services driven by strong access to concessional lending. In the drinking water sector, no PPP has been signed so far, but the government and the National Water Exploitation and Distribution Company intend to construct a desalination plant through a build-operate-transfer scheme. A new PPP law was passed in 2015, and a PPP unit was created (Instance Générale des PPPs – IGPPP) at the level of the presidency. While it plays an important role, it struggles to provide the necessary expertise in PPP transactions to inexperienced public stakeholders.[7] [8]

[1] WGS Initiative, 2016. Local Water Security Assessment.
[2] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Closas A and Molle F, 2016. Groundwater Governance in the Arab World – Taking Stock and Addressing the Challenges. IWMI project publication.
[5] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[6] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[7] The World Bank, 2018. Program information document. Tunisia Water Sector Reform Project (P162165).
[8] OECD Studies on Water, 2014. Water Governance in Tunisia: Overcoming the Challenges to Private Sector Participation.