الصفحة الرئيسية / تونس / استهلاك المياه في تونس

استهلاك المياه في تونس

agriculture tunisia
الصورة 1: مزرعة مروية بالرش ، تونس. (المصدر: FAO/Sebastián Villar, Flickr)

الاستهلاك الحالي للمياه حسب القطاع وتحليل العجز المحتمل

القطاع المنزلي: حققت تونس نسبة 100% من إمدادات المياه في المناطق الحضرية، في حين أن هذا يمثل حوالي 94% في المناطق الريفية. [1] في المناطق الريفية، يتم توفير المياه للسكان إما عن طريق الوصلات المنزلية أو عن طريق الصنابير العامة والآبار. يختلف معدل الحصول على مياه الشرب اختلافاً كبيراً بين المناطق الحضرية والريفية، اعتماداً على طرق وظروف إمدادات المياه، ونصيب الفرد من إمدادات المياه ( 100-120 لتر/ اليوم/ للفرد في المناطق الحضرية، و 40-80 لتر/ اليوم/ للفرد في المناطق الريفية)، وجودة المياه من حيث التلوث والملوحة.

الجدول (1): معدل الوصول إلى موارد مياه الشرب المُحسّنة (%من إجمالي السكان). [3]

معدل خدمات المياه201520162017
المعدل العالمي للعرض (%)97.697.797.9
معدل العرض في المناطق الحضرية (%)100100100
معدل العرض في المناطق الريفية (%)92.692.9
كفاءة الشبكة (%)70.771.570.3

يتم توفير المياه للاستخدامات المنزلية من المياه السطحية (395 مليون متر مكعب) وطبقات المياه الجوفية المتجددة (246 مليون متر مكعب). وتكمن التحديات الرئيسية في قدرة تونس على تقليل ضغط الطلب على موارد المياه، وتحسين أداء الشبكات، وتخفيف الاختلال في العرض والطلب، وتجنب التأخير في تنفيذ مشاريع المياه الجديدة.[2]

الزراعة: في عام 2011، قد قدر سحب المياه للري بحوالي 2,644 مليون متر مكعب أو 80% من إجمالي المياه المسحوبة. [4][5] وتأتي حوالي 33% من المياه المستخدمة في الري من المياه السطحية و 66% من المياه الجوفية. يعدّ القطاع الزراعي القطاع الذي يستهلك إلى حدٍ بعيد أكبر كميات من المياه المسحوبة. تختلف متطلبات الري بدرجةٍ كبيرة من عام إلى آخر، حسب هطول الأمطار. كما أن أنظمة الري بالتنقيط والري بالرش الحديثة هي الأكثر استخداماً، حيث تغطي 76% من إجمالي المساحة المروية. [6] تتألف المناطق المروية من “المحيط الخاص” والمحيط الجماعي أو “العام”: إن حوالي 40% من المحيطات خاصة ومروية من الآبار الفردية الضحلة أو العميقة والحفر الضحلة، و60% من المحيطات مجهزة للري الجماعي من الآبار العميقة والسدود الكبيرة والسدود التليّة. توجد أنظمة الري العامة الرئيسية في حوض نهر مجردة في الشمال، بينما تقع المخططات الخاصة بشكلٍ رئيسي في المناطق المروية التقليدية في الشمال الشرقي (الرأس الطيب) والمنطقة الوسطى (القيروان ، سيدي بوزيد). [7] ترتبط معوقات الري الرئيسية بالإفراط في استخدام مياه الري، وعدم كفاءة شبكات توزيع مياه الري، وتدهور كمية المياه الجوفية وجودتها بسبب الاستغلال المفرط، والقيود المفروضة على الوصول إلى الموارد المائية وعدم ملائمة تسعير المياه. [8]

الصناعة: في عام 2010، قد استهلك القطاع الصناعي حوالي 121 مليون متر مكعب أو 5% من إجمالي سحب المياه. وقد ازدادت الحاجة إلى المياه كل عام لتصل إلى 203 مليون متر مكعب، بمعدل نمو سنوي متوسط بلغ 2% منذ عام 1996 عندما كان معدل سحب المياه الصناعي 104 مليون متر مكعب. بشكلٍ عام، تستخدم الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم مياه جيدة النوعية (مياه الشرب من الشبكة العامة) لأنها مناسبة لجميع الأغراض، في حين تستخدم بعض الصناعات الكبيرة موارد مياه طبيعية أقل تكلفة. ومن المتوقع أن تصل حصة الحجم، بين القطاعين المنزلي والصناعي، والتي توزعها الشبكة العامة، إلى 48 مليون متر مكعب على أساس تطور سنوي قدره 1%. أما الحصة المتبقية، فستكون من نصيب القطاع الصناعي بشكلٍ مباشر، ومن المتوقع أن تصل إلى 155 مليون متر مكعب مع تطور سنوي قدره 2,3% بين عامي 1996-2030. ستتم تلبية هذا الطلب بنسبة 171 مليون متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية و 32 مليون متر مكعب من المياه السطحية.[9]

السياحة: في عام 2010، قد استهلك قطاع السياحة 30 مليون متر مكعب من المياه، وهو ما يمثل 1,1% فقط من إجمالي سحب المياه. يتم توفير حوالي 33% منها من موارد المياه السطحية. واستناداً إلى متوسط استهلاك يبلغ 345 لتراً يومياً لكل سرير مثبت، ووفقاً للتغيير في كفاءة شبكة التوزيع من 74% في عام 1996 إلى 90% في عام 2030، سيكون طلب قطاع السياحة من المياه في حدود 41 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة. ستتم تلبية هذا الطلب بنسبة 21 مليون متر مكعب من المياه السطحية (51%)، و 14 مليون متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية (34%) وسيتم توفير ما تبقى من الـ6 مليون متر مكعب (15%) من الموارد غير التقليدية (مياه البحر المحلاة). [10] [11]

استخدام المياه الزراعية وتطوير الري

المنتجات الزراعية الأساسية في تونس هي القمح والشعير والحمضيات والفواكه والتمر وزيت الزيتون والخضروات. وأهم المحاصيل المروية هي الخضروات والفاكهة، والتي تساهم بأكثر من 40% من إجمالي الإنتاج المروي. الزراعة في تونس عادةً ما تكون بعلية، مما يجعلها عرضة للتقلبات السنوية العالية. وقد نمت المساحة المجهزة بأنظمة الري من 394,000 هكتار في عام 2001 إلى 459,570 هكتار في عام 2011، بزيادة سنوية قدرها 1,4%. ومع ذلك، فمنذ إدخال تدابير ترشيد استهلاك المياه في المناطق المروية، قد بدأ الاستهلاك في الانخفاض لكل هكتار. كما سينخفض الحجم المتوقع المخصص للزراعة المروية بنسبة 1,3% بحلول عام 2030، مما سيوفر 5% من هذا الحجم للاستخدامات الأخرى.

وعلى الرغم من الحجم المحدود للمناطق المروية، والتي لا تمثل سوى 8% من المساحة المزروعة في البلاد، فإن القطاع المروي هو استراتيجي من حيث تأثيره على الأمن الغذائي والدور الاجتماعي – الاقتصادي والسياسي الذي يلعبه.

الدور الاقتصادي: قام القطاع المروي بتنويع إنتاجه، وهو أحد أركان الاقتصاد الزراعي والذي لا يزال بعلياً إلى حدٍ كبير. ويمثل القطاع حوالي 40% من إجمالي الإنتاج الزراعي، و95% من محاصيل الخضروات، و70% من محاصيل الأشجار و30% من إنتاج الألبان. ومن وجهة النظر الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، يمثل القطاع 20% من الصادرات الزراعية (الحمضيات والتمر والمحاصيل المبكرة وغيرها). وبصرف النظر عن دوره في الاقتصاد، يساعد الري المزارعين على البقاء في مزارعهم من خلال توفير دخل منتظم نسبياً، وهو في المتوسط أعلى بثلاثة أضعاف من الزراعة البعلية. يمكن بالتأكيد زيادة الإنتاج في المناطق المروية، لكن انخفاض إنتاجية المياه يعني أن الموارد لا تستغل إلى أقصى إمكاناتها. ومع ذلك، فإن التقدم التقني المحرز في الزراعة المروية على مدى السنوات العشرين الماضية لا يمكن إنكاره. وإن ما يقرب من واحد من كل أربعة مزارعين يستخدمون الري اليوم، وهي نسبة أعلى من تلك بالنسبة للمزارع الصغيرة.

الدور الاجتماعي: يوظف القطاع المروي حوالي 20% من القوى العاملة، وهي نسبة كبيرة. وللري تأثير على العمالة في جميع القطاعات التمهيدية والنهائية (الإمدادات، وشركات الأغذية الزراعية، والخدمات ، وما إلى ذلك) مع وجود تأثير إيجابي على التنمية الريفية في المناطق ذات النشاط الزراعي المروي.

الدور السياسي: على الرغم من انخفاض مساهمة الزراعة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بشكلٍ عام، إلا أن الزراعة المروية لا تزال تشكل جوهر الزراعة الصغيرة والتي حافظت على مكانتها على الرغم من التغيرات التكنولوجية والاقتصادية الرئيسية التي حولت القطاع خلال العقود القليلة الماضية. ومن المؤسف أن ظهور “أقطاب” للمساهمة في نمو الزراعة المروية – أداة تنمية تهدف إلى بدء التحول من الكفاف بالزراعة إلى الزراعة التجارية – لا يزال غير متكامل بشكلٍ كامل مع الزراعة على نطاق محدود. ومع ذلك، فإن مجموعات التنمية الزراعية تظهر كهياكل تمثيلية وإدارية للمزارعين في قطاعٍ يعاني عموماً من نقص التمثيل المهني. [12]

[1] Louati M et al., 1998. Eau XXI. Stratégie du Secteur de l’Eau en Tunisie – à Long Terme 2030.
[2] ACWUA, n.d. General data on Tunisia.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Louati M et al., 1998. Eau XXI. Stratégie du Secteur de l’Eau en Tunisie – à Long Terme 2030.
[5] FAO, n.d. AQUASTAT Tunisia fact sheet.
[6] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[7] Alterra Wageningen, 2012. Water and Agriculture in the Maghreb.
[8] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[9] Louati M et al., 1998. Eau XXI. Stratégie du Secteur de l’Eau en Tunisie – à Long Terme 2030.
[10] Ibid.
[11] Chahed J et al., 2010. Water scarcity and food security: A global assessment of water potentiality in Tunisia. In Martinez-Cortina L, Garrido A and Lopez-Gunn E, eds. Re-thinking Water and Food. London, UK: Taylor & Francis Group.
[12] Hamdane A, 2019. Tunisia. In Molle F, Sanchis-Ibor C and Avella Reus L, eds. Irrigation in the Mediterranean: Technologies, Institutions and Policies. 15-49.

Home / Tunisia / Water Use in Tunisia

Water Use in Tunisia

Agriculture tunisia
Photo 1: Sprinkler-irrigated Farm, Tunisia. (Source: FAO/Sebastián Villar, Flickr)

Current water use per sector and analysis of possible deficit

Domestic: Tunisia has achieved a 100% rate of water supply in urban areas, whereas in rural areas this is about 94%.[1] In rural areas, the population is supplied either through house connections or by standpipes and wells. The rate of access to drinking water differs greatly between urban and rural areas, depending on water supply methods and conditions, per capita water supply (100-120 l/d/cap in urban areas, 40-80 l/d/cap in rural areas) and water quality where salinity and pollution are concerned.

Domestic water is supplied from surface water (395 MCM) and renewable aquifers (246 MCM).

Table 1: Rate of access to improved drinking water resources (% of total population).[3]

Water service rate201520162017
Global rate of supply (%)97.697.797.9
Rate of supply in urban areas (%)100100100
Rate of supply in rural areas (%)92.692.9
Network efficiency (%)70.771.570.3

The main challenges lie in Tunisia’s ability to reduce the demand pressure on water resources, improve the network performance, alleviate the supply-demand imbalance and avoid delays in implementing new water projects.[2]

Agriculture: In 2011, water withdrawal for irrigation was estimated at 2,644 MCM or 80% of total water withdrawals.[4][5] About 33% of the water used for irrigation comes from surface water and 66% from groundwater. Agriculture is the sector with by far the largest consumptive water use and withdrawal. Irrigation requirements are highly variable from year to year, depending on rainfall. Modern drip and sprinkler irrigation systems are the most commonly used, covering 76% of the total irrigated area.[6] Irrigated areas are composed of ‘private perimeters’ and collective or ‘public perimeters’: around 40% of the perimeters are private and irrigated from shallow or deep individual wells and shallow drillings, and 60% of the perimeters are equipped for collective irrigation from deep wells and great and hillside dams. The main public irrigation schemes are located in the Medjerda River basin in the north. The private schemes are mainly located in the traditional irrigated areas in the north-east (Cap Bon) and the central region (the Kairouanais, Sidi Bouzid).[7] The main irrigation constraints are related to the overuse of irrigation water, inefficient irrigation water distribution networks, degradation of groundwater quantity and quality due to overexploitation, restrictions on access to the resource and inadequate water valorization.[8]

Industry: In 2010, the industrial sector consumed about 121 MCM or 5% of the total water withdrawal. The need for water has increased every year to reach 203 MCM, a 2% average annual growth rate since 1996 when industrial water withdrawal was 104 MCM. Generally, small and mid-sized firms use good-quality water (drinking water from the public network) because it is satisfactory for all purposes, whereas some big industries use less expensive natural water resources. The share of the volume, between domestic and industrial sectors, distributed by the public network is expected to reach 48 MCM on the basis of an annual evolution of 1%. The rest will be taken directly by industry and is expected to reach 155 MCM with an annual evolution of 2.3% between 1996-2030. This demand will be met by 171 MCM of groundwater and 32 MCM of surface water.[9]

Tourism: In 2010, the tourism sector consumed 30 MCM, which represents only 1.1% of the total water withdrawal. About 33% is provided from surface water resources. Based on an average consumption of 345 litres per day and per installed bed and on a change in the distribution network efficiency from 74% in 1996 to 90% in 2030, the demand for water by the tourism sector will be in the order of 41 MCM/yr. This demand will be met by 21 MCM of surface water (51%), 14 MCM of groundwater (34%) and the remaining 6 MCM (15%) will be provided by unconventional resources (desalinated seawater).[10] [11]

Agricultural water use and irrigation development

Tunisia’s primary agricultural products are wheat, barley, citrus, fruits, dates, olive oil and vegetables. The major irrigated crops are vegetables and fruit trees, which contribute more than 40% of the total irrigated production. Agriculture is traditionally and predominantly rainfed, making it susceptible to high annual variability. The area equipped with irrigation schemes grew from 394,000 hectares (ha) in 2001 to 459,570 ha in 2011, an annual average increase of 1.4%. However, since the introduction of conservation measures across irrigated areas, consumption per hectare has begun to decline. The expected volume allocated to irrigated agriculture will tend to decrease by 1.3% by 2030, freeing up 5% of this volume for other uses.

Despite the limited size of irrigated areas, which only account for 8% of the country’s cultivated area, the irrigated sector is strategic in terms of its impact on food security and the socio-economic and political role it plays.

Economic role: The irrigated sector has diversified its production and is one of the pillars of the agricultural economy, which remains largely rainfed. The sector accounts for some 40% of all agricultural output, 95% of vegetable crops, 70% of tree crops and 30% of dairy output. From a socio-economic viewpoint, the sector accounts for 20% of agricultural exports (citrus, dates, early crops etc.). Apart from its role in the economy, irrigation helps farmers remain on their farms by providing a relatively regular income, which is on average three times higher than in rainfed agriculture. Production could definitely be stepped up in irrigated areas, but low water productivity means that resources are not exploited to their full potential. Nonetheless, the technical advances made in irrigated agriculture over the last 20 years are undeniable. Nearly one in four farmers is now involved in irrigation, a proportion that is even higher for small farms.

Social role: The irrigated sector employs approximately 20% of the labour force, a significant proportion. Irrigation has an impact on employment in all upstream and downstream sectors (supplies, agri-food businesses, services etc.) with a positive influence on rural development in regions with irrigated agricultural activity.

Political role: Although the contribution of agriculture to GDP is generally falling, irrigated agriculture still forms the core of small-scale agriculture, which has maintained its position despite the major technological and economic changes that have transformed the sector over the past few decades. It is unfortunate that the emergence of irrigated agricultural growth ‘poles’ – a development tool aimed at kick-starting the shift from subsistence to commercial agriculture – is still not fully integrated with small-scale farming. However, agricultural development groups are emerging as farmer representation and management structures in a sector that generally suffers from a lack of professional representation.[12]

[1] Louati M et al., 1998. Eau XXI. Stratégie du Secteur de l’Eau en Tunisie – à Long Terme 2030.
[2] ACWUA, n.d. General data on Tunisia.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Louati M et al., 1998. Eau XXI. Stratégie du Secteur de l’Eau en Tunisie – à Long Terme 2030.
[5] FAO, n.d. AQUASTAT Tunisia fact sheet.
[6] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[7] Alterra Wageningen, 2012. Water and Agriculture in the Maghreb.
[8] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[9] Louati M et al., 1998. Eau XXI. Stratégie du Secteur de l’Eau en Tunisie – à Long Terme 2030.
[10] Ibid.
[11] Chahed J et al., 2010. Water scarcity and food security: A global assessment of water potentiality in Tunisia. In Martinez-Cortina L, Garrido A and Lopez-Gunn E, eds. Re-thinking Water and Food. London, UK: Taylor & Francis Group.
[12] Hamdane A, 2019. Tunisia. In Molle F, Sanchis-Ibor C and Avella Reus L, eds. Irrigation in the Mediterranean: Technologies, Institutions and Policies. 15-49.