تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

الموارد المائية في تونس

Bizerte, Tunisia
الصورة 1: ميناء بنزرت القديم ، تونس. (Ahmed Jridi, Flickr)

المياه السطحية

تعدّ تونس من بين أكثر دول إفريقيا جفافاً وتتميز بموارد مائية محدودة. يتراوح متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي من أقل من 100 ملليمتر في السنة (ملم/ السنة) في الجنوب إلى 1500 ملم/ السنة في الشمال الغربي. يبلغ إجمالي موارد المياه السطحية 2,700 مليون متر مكعب وتتوزع بين مستجمعات المياه الرئيسية في البلاد على النحو التالي:

يغطي الشمال حوالي 26% من إجمالي مساحة البلاد، ويوفر المياه السطحية المنتظمة وذات الأهمية والتي تم تقييمها بـ2,190 مليون متر مكعب من الأحواض الرئيسية لنهر مجردة (1000 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة)، وأقصى الشمال (585 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة)، وإشكل وبنزرت (375 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة) والرأس الطيب ووادي مليان (230 مليون متر مكعب /السنة). وتساهم هذه الأحواض بنسبة 81% من إجمالي إمكانات المياه السطحية في البلاد.[1]

تغطي المنطقة الوسطى نفس مساحة المنطقة الشمالية وتوفر موارد مياه سطحية غير منتظمة تبلغ 320 مليون متر مكعب في السنة من أنهار حوض نبهانة ومرق الليل وزرود وساحل سوسة وصفاقس. وتمثل هذه الموارد 12% من إجمالي إمكانات المياه السطحية في البلاد. [2]

الشكل (1): تباين المياه السطحية في الفترة ما بين 1984- 2016. [5] [6]

ويغطي الجنوب حوالي 62% من المساحة الكلية للبلاد، وهو أفقر منطقة من حيث المياه السطحية وفيه موارد غير منتظمة للغاية. ويوفر الجنوب 190 مليون متر مكعب في السنة أو 7% من إجمالي المياه السطحية في البلاد من الشطوط وحوض الجفّارة. [3]

كما أن موارد المياه السطحية مقيّدة أيضاً بسبب عدم انتظام هطول الأمطار بين الأشهر والسنوات. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تمتاز موارد المياه السطحية بالتباين الكبير من سنةٍ إلى أخرى، إذ تبلغ كحدٍ أدنى 780 مليون متر مكعب في السنة، كما لوحظ في الفترة 1993-1994، وبحد أقصى 11,000 مليون متر مكعب في السنة، كما لوحظ في 1969-1970.[4]

المياه الجوفية

ترتبط موارد المياه الجوفية في تونس بطبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة والعميقة، بما في ذلك الاحتياطيات المتجددة، والمتجددة بشكلٍ ضعيف أو الأحفورية. يقدر إجمالي الاحتياطيات القابلة للاستغلال بحوالي 2,100 مليون متر مكعب، موزعة بكثرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وتتكون هذه من 1,486 مليون متر مكعب من الموارد المتجددة، والتي تمثل حوالي 69,6% من إجمالي المياه الجوفية المحتملة، و650 مليون متر مكعب من الموارد المتجددة الضعيفة، والموجودة بشكلٍ أساسي في الجنوب وتمثل 30,4% من إجمالي المياه الجوفية المحتملة. [7]

تتوفر موارد المياه الجوفية المتجددة بنسبة 55% في شمال البلاد، و30% في الوسط و15% في الجنوب من إجمالي موارد المياه الجوفية المتجددة المحتملة. ومع ذلك، تتوفر طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة بشكلٍ أكبر في الجنوب، مع إحتمالية توافر بنسبة 58%، وإلى حدٍ ما في الوسط والشمال، بنسب 24% و18% على التوالي. ورغم أن موارد المياه الجوفية مهمة في الجنوب، إلا أن استخدامها لا يزال محدوداً، ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى انخفاض جودة المياه. [8]

الشكل (2): تعبئة المياه الجوفية وتطويرها في الفترة 1980-2015.[10] [11]

وعلى مدار العقود الماضية، قد تم تسريع تعبئة موارد المياه الجوفية وتطويرها، إلى حد الموارد المتاحة تقريباً. [9] وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن معدل استخراج المياه الجوفية في كثيرٍ من طبقات المياه الجوفية غير مستدام (الرأس الطيب في الشمال، والمنطقة الوسطى، وقبلي في الجنوب). وتتفاقم هذه المشكلة بسبب الإطار المؤسسي غير المتناسق لضمان استدامة استخدام المياه الجوفية والحفر غير المصرح به لاستغلال طبقة المياه الجوفية.

موارد المياه غير التقليدية

يساعد استخدام الموارد المائية غير التقليدية، بما في ذلك المياه المحلاة ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، على توفير الموارد التقليدية المحدودة ويمكن أن يلعب دوراً متزايد الأهمية في تلبية الاحتياجات المائية المتزايدة.

تحلية المياه

نظراً لمحدودية موارد المياه والطاقة، تعتبر تونس تحلية المياه وسيلةً لسد الفجوة بين العرض والطلب على المياه ضمن إطار متكامل لإدارة الموارد المائية، بدلاً من إيجاد حلٍ لحل مشكلة ندرة المياه. وقد تم بناء حوالي 110 محطات لتحلية المياه، وذلك أساساً لإمدادات المياه المنزلية، وتبلغ طاقتها حوالي 200,000 متر مكعب يومياً (م3/ اليوم).[13]

وقد تم إدخال تحلية المياه تدريجياً، رغم أنها البديل الوحيد الممكن لإنتاج المياه العذبة، للاستخدام المنزلي. ومع ذلك، فلا تزال تكلفتها مرتفعة، وذلك بسبب الاستثمار الأولي المطلوب وتكاليف التشغيل والصيانة اللاحقة.

الشكل (3): توزيع الطاقة الإجمالية لتحلية المياه حسب القطاع (2016). [14]

إعادة استخدام المياه
تعتبر إعادة استخدام المياه المستصلحة جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الاستراتيجية الوطنية للموارد المائية منذ التسعينيات. وفي أوائل العقد الأول من القرن العشرين، قد وضعت وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري استراتيجيةً وطنية لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي لتشجيع إعادة الاستخدام لأغراض الري الزراعي وغيرها من الأغراض. وقد تمت معالجة حوالي 260 مليون متر مكعب من المياه في عام 2017، وهو ما يمثل 7% من إجمالي الحجم المخصص للري و5% من موارد المياه المتاحة. وتقع محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الرئيسية على طول الساحل لحماية المنتجعات الساحلية ومنع التلوث البحري. ويتم إنتاج حوالي 50% من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في العاصمة تونس وضواحيها. وفي الوقت الحالي، فإن هناك 119 محطة معالجة قيد التشغيل: منها 110 محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية، و9 محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصناعية و 8 محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الريفية. وتستخدم المحطاتُ المعالجةَ البيولوجيةَ للمياه وصولاً إلى مرحلة المعالجة الثانوية، وتستهلك كمية كبيرة من الطاقة. وحالياً، فإنه لا يتم استخدام أي أساليب معالجة إضافية للمياه بسبب القيود الاقتصادية. وتجري المعالجة الثلاثية على نطاقٍ تجريبي. [15]

ولم يتم حتى الآن إعادة إستخدام أكثر من 75% من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، ويتم تصريفها في البيئة لتصبح جزءاً من الدورة الهيدرولوجية وكذلك مياه الصرف الصحي من المجتمعات غير المرتبطة بشبكة الصرف الصحي. [16] ومن المتوقع أن يستمر حجم مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في النمو مع زيادة التحضر والجهود المبذولة للحفاظ على البيئة. ويشكل هذا الحجم حوالي 10% من موارد المياه الجوفية المتاحة ويمكن استخدامه لإعادة تغذية بعض طبقات المياه الجوفية في مناطق الري، حيث يسبب فرط سحب المياه الجوفية في تسرب المياه المالحة إلى طبقات المياه الجوفية الساحلية.

إجمالي توافر المياه وتوافر المياه للفرد الواحد

تقدر الموارد المائية التقليدية المحتملة للبلد بأسره بـ4,800 مليون متر مكعب في السنة، بما في ذلك ما متوسطه 2,700 مليون متر مكعب في السنة من المياه السطحية و2,100 مليون متر مكعب في السنة من المياه الجوفية. ويتضح تباين هذه الموارد على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية، حيث بلغ الحد الأقصى لحجم المياه السطحية 11 مليار متر مكعب في 1969-1970 وبحد أدنى 780 مليون متر مكعب في 1993-1994. ومن المتوقع أن تصبح هذه الموارد أكثر تقلباً وأقل قابلية للتنبؤ بها بين السنوات وخلالها، نظراً لتزايد حالات الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة، والتي يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير سلبي على الوضع الاجتماعي- الاقتصادي للناس.

وعلى الرغم من الزيادة الطفيفة في نصيب الفرد من موارد المياه خلال العقد الماضي، إلا أن إجمالي توافر المياه الكلي قد انخفض. فقد قدّر إجمالي توافر المياه للفرد بحوالي 450 متر مكعب في عام 1995 وانخفض إلى 433 متر مكعب في عام 1998. وفي عام 1999، مع استكشاف واستغلال موارد المياه العميقة الجديدة، ازداد التوافر ليصل إلى 444 متر مكعب، لكنه انخفض مرة أخرى إلى 426 متر مكعب في عام 2004، وبعبارةٍ أخرى، انخفض معدل توافر المياه للفرد بحوالي 5% على مدى عقدٍ من الزمن. [17] [18] ومن المتوقع أن يستمر الانخفاض، ليصل إلى 359 متر مكعب/ للفرد/ السنة في عام 2030.[19]

الجدول (1): تطور توافر المياه للفرد بين عامي 1995 و 2004. [20]

1995199619971998199920002001200220032004
إجمالي توافر المياه (مليون متر مكعب)4,0314,0374,0374,0454,1974,2364,2404,2404,2344,248
توافر المياه للفرد (م3/ للفرد)450444438433444443439435430428

[1] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ibid.
[6] Khanfir R, n.d. Eau et Adaptation au Changement Climatique – Expérience Tunisienne.
[7] Direction Générale des Ressources en Eau Report, 1995. Situation de l’Exploitation des Nappes Phréatiques.
[8] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[9] Khanfir R, n.d. Eau et Adaptation au Changement Climatique – Expérience Tunisienne.
[10] Ibid.
[11] Direction Générale des Ressources en Eau Report, 1995. Situation de l’Exploitation des Nappes
[12] Besbes M et al., 2019. National Water Security – Case Study of an Arid Country: Tunisia.
[13] SONEDE, 2016. Rapport des Statistiques 2015.
[14] Ibid.
[15] ONAS, 2017. Rapport Annuel 2017.
[16]Ibid.
[17] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[18] Agence Française de Développement, n.d. Gestion des Ressources en Eaux Souterraines Comme Biens Communs Cas Tunisien.
[19] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[20] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.

Home / Tunisia / Water Resources in Tunisia

Water Resources in Tunisia

Bizerte Tunisia
Photo1: The old port of Bizerte, Tunisia. ( Ahmed Jridi, Flickr)

Surface water

Tunisia is among the driest countries in Africa and is characterized by limited water resources. Average annual rainfall ranges from less than 100 millimetres per year (mm/yr) in the south to 1,500 mm/yr in the north-west. Surface water resources total 2,700 million cubic metres (MCM) and are distributed between the country’s major watersheds as follows:

The north covers about 26% of the total area of the country, provides regular and important surface water evaluated at 2,190 MCM from the major basins of the Medjerda River (1,000 MCM/yr), the extreme north (585 MCM/yr), Ichkeul and Bizerte (375 MCM/yr) and Cap Bon and Meliane (230 MCM/yr). These basins contribute 81% of the country’s total surface water potential.[1]

The centre covers the same area as the north and provides irregular surface water resources of 320 MCM/yr from the basin rivers of Nebhana, Marguellil, Zeroud as well as the Sahel of Sousse and Sfax.

Figure 1: Surface water variability for the period 1984-2016.[5] [6]

These resources represent 12% of the country’s total surface water potential [2].

The south, which covers about 62% of the total area of the country, is the poorest region in terms of surface water and has only very irregular resources. It provides 190 MCM/Yr or 7% of the country’s total surface water potential from chotts and the Djeffara basin.[3]

Surface water resources are also constrained by the irregularity in rainfall between months and years. Moreover, surface water resources have a very high inter-annual variability, with a minimum of 780 MCM/yr, as observed in 1993-1994, and a maximum of 11,000 MCM/yr, as observed in 1969-1970.[4]

Groundwater

The groundwater resources in Tunisia are associated with both shallow and deep aquifers, including both renewable and weakly renewable or fossil reserves. The total exploitable reserves are estimated at nearly 2,100 MCM, distributed sparsely across the entire country. These are composed of 1,486 MCM of renewable resources, representing about 69.6% of the total groundwater potential, and 650 MCM of weakly renewable resources, found mainly in the south and representing 30.4% of the total groundwater potential. [7]

Renewable groundwater resources are available at 55% in the north of the country, 30% in the centre and 15% in the south of the total renewable groundwater resources potential. However, deep aquifers are more available in the south, with a potential of 58%, and to some extent in the centre and the north, with 24% and 18% respectively.[8]

  • Deep aquifers
  • Shallow aquifers
  • Total

Figure 2: Groundwater mobilization and development for the period 1980-2015.[10] [11]

Even though groundwater resources are important in the south, their use remains limited, mainly due to the low water quality.

The mobilization and development of groundwater resources has been accelerated over the last decades, almost to the limit of available resources.[9] At the same time, the rate of groundwater extraction in many aquifers is unsustainable (Cap Bon in the north, the central region, Kebili in the south). This problem is exacerbated by an inconsistent institutional framework to ensure the sustainability of groundwater use and unauthorized drilling for aquifer exploitation.

Non-conventional water resources

The use of non-conventional water resources, including desalinated water and wastewater, helps to save the limited conventional resources and could play an increasingly important role in satisfying the growing water requirements.

Desalination

With its limited energy and water resources, Tunisia considers desalination as a way to bridge the gap between water supply and demand within an integrated water resources management framework, rather than a solution to solve water scarcity. Some 110 desalination plants have been constructed, mainly for domestic water supply, and have a capacity of about 200,000 cubic metres per day (m3/day).[13] Desalination was introduced gradually, even though it is the only possible alternative for the production of fresh water for domestic use. Its cost is still high, mainly because of the initial investment required and subsequent operation and maintenance costs.

  • Drinking water
  • Tourism
  • Industry
  • Agriculture
  • Others

Figure 4: Distribution of the overall desalination capacity by sector (2016).[14]

Water reuse

Reclaimed water reuse has been an integral part of the National Water Resources Strategy since the 1990s. In the early 2000s, the Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries developed a National Strategy for Wastewater Reuse to promote reuse for agricultural irrigation and other purposes. About 260 MCM of water were treated in 2017, representing 7% of the total volume allocated to irrigation and 5% of available water resources. The main wastewater treatment plants are located along the coast to protect coastal resorts and prevent marine sea pollution. About 50% of treated wastewater is produced in the capital Tunis and its suburbs. Currently, 119 treatment plants are in operation: 110 for urban wastewater treatment, nine for industrial wastewater and eight for rural wastewater. They operate biologically up to a secondary treatment stage, consuming a large amount of energy. Currently, no further treatment is carried out due to economic constraints. Tertiary treatment is being undertaken at pilot scale.[15]

More than 75% of treated wastewater is not yet reused and is discharged into the environment to become part of the hydrological cycle as well as of wastewater from communities unconnected to the sewerage network.[16] The volume of treated wastewater is projected to keep growing as urbanization and efforts to preserve the environment increase. This volume constitutes about 10% of the available groundwater resources and could be used to recharge some aquifers in irrigation areas where groundwater overdraft is causing saltwater intrusion in coastal aquifers.

Total water availability and per capita availability

Potential conventional water resources for the whole country are estimated at 4,800 MCM/yr, including an average of 2,700 MCM/yr of surface water and 2,100 MCM/yr of groundwater. The variability of these resources is apparent over the past few decades, with a maximum potential volume of surface water of 11 billion cubic metres (BCM) in 1969-70 and a minimum of 780 MCM in 1993-94. These resources are expected to become more variable and less predictable between and within years, due to the increasing incidence of extreme weather events, which can have an adverse impact on people’s socio-economic situation.

Despite the slight increase in per capita water resources during the last decade, total availability has declined. The total per capita availability was estimated at 450 m3 in 1995 and had decreased to 433 m3 in 1998. In 1999, with the exploration and exploitation of new deep-water resources, availability increased to reach 444 m3 but fell again to 426 m3 in 2004. In other words, per capita availability has decreased by about 5% over a decade.[17] [18] It is expected to continue declining, reaching 359 m3/cap/yr in 2030.[19]

Table 1: Evolution of per capita water availability between 1995 and 2004.[20]

1995199619971998199920002001200220032004
Total resources (MCM)4,0314,0374,0374,0454,1974,2364,2404,2404,2344,248
Per capita availability450444438433444443439435430428

[1] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ibid.
[6] Khanfir R, n.d. Eau et Adaptation au Changement Climatique – Expérience Tunisienne.
[7] Direction Générale des Ressources en Eau Report, 1995. Situation de l’Exploitation des Nappes Phréatiques.
[8] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[9] Khanfir R, n.d. Eau et Adaptation au Changement Climatique – Expérience Tunisienne.
[10] Ibid.
[11] Direction Générale des Ressources en Eau Report, 1995. Situation de l’Exploitation des Nappes
[12] Besbes M et al., 2019. National Water Security – Case Study of an Arid Country: Tunisia.
[13] SONEDE, 2016. Rapport des Statistiques 2015.
[14] Ibid.
[15] ONAS, 2017. Rapport Annuel 2017.
[16]Ibid.
[17] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[18] Agence Française de Développement, n.d. Gestion des Ressources en Eaux Souterraines Comme Biens Communs Cas Tunisien.
[19] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[20] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.