الصفحة الرئيسية / تونس / تحديات المياه في تونس

تحديات المياه في تونس

Dam of Kasseb
الصورة 1: سد كساب المائي. (المصدر: Mohamed Aouichi, Flickr)

الاستخدام غير الفعال للمياه: التسرّب من الشبكة والنفايات الزراعية

بين عامي 2010 و2016، قد اعتمدت حوالي 69% من إجمالي المناطق المروية في تونس تقنياتٍ لتوفير المياه، بكفاءة تتراوح بين 38% و85% وبمتوسط 59%، وهو أبعد ما يكون عن المستوى المطلوب والبالغ حوالي 80% في الشبكات التي تتعرض لضغوط. [1] [2] وبالتالي، فلا يمكن تفسير انخفاض مستوى الكفاءة بالخسائر المادية في الشبكات فحسب، بل أيضاً للخسائر الإدارية بسبب التوصيلات غير القانونية ونقص تسجيل عدادات المياه.

ويُقدر إجمالي أداء شبكة توزيع المياه المحلية بنسبة 70,3% في عام 2017، مع فُقدان حوالي 30% من المياه الواردة أثناء النقل. [3] وقد ازداد هذا المؤشر سوءاً خلال العقد الماضي، ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى أن 25% من هذه الشبكة يزيد عمرها عن 37 عاماً. وقد تم اتخاذ بعض التدابير في السنوات الأخيرة، مثل تجديد الشبكة الحالية. وإن الهدف هو تحسين الكفاءة تدريجياً إلى 88,9%، وتوفير حوالي 86 مليون متر مكعب من المياه، إذ يُعادل هذا حوالي 20% من حجم المياه المستهلكة والمفوترة ويتجاوز قدرة أربع محطات لتحلية مياه البحر قيد الإنشاء حالياً. [4] [5] [6]

النزاعات الداخلية على المياه

يُلاحظ بشكلٍ رئيسي التنافس على المياه بين قطاعي السياحة والزراعة في المناطق الساحلية وبعض المناطق الداخلية خلال أشهر الصيف، عندما يكون طلب كلا القطاعين كبيراً على الموارد المائية المحدودة. وقد اختارت بعض المناطق تطوير مشاريع سياحية جديدة في المناطق الساحلية، واحتكار موارد الأراضي والمياه المحدودة على حساب الأعمال التجارية الزراعية الصغيرة، مما ساهم في النزاعات الاجتماعية والمشاكل البيئية، من بين أمورٍ أخرى. ولهذه المنافسة تأثيراتٌ قوية على التنمية الاقتصادية لكلا القطاعين، وخاصة في الجنوب حيث تشهد السياحة نمواً قوياً. [7]

القيود السياسية والاقتصادية

قد تم تطوير الاستراتيجيات الوطنية المختلفة للمياه والتي من المفترض أن تأخذ في الاعتبار الأبعاد المتعددة لإدارة الموارد المائية دون إيلاء الاعتبار الكافي لمشاركة جميع أصحاب المصلحة أو وضع نظام إدارة منظم عبر سياقات صنع القرار. وتعدّ سياسة المياه حالياً شديدة المركزية، ويشارك مستخدمو المياه جزئياً في إدارة المياه الزراعية من خلال مجموعات التنمية الزراعية، لكن هناك إصلاحات جارية لتشجيع اللامركزية. [8] وفي الوقت نفسه، تزداد القيود المالية وعدم كفاية التآزر بين المؤسسات المختلفة العاملة في قطاع المياه، مما يعني أنه يتم التغاضي عن النظر إلى الفرص لتجميع الموارد وتنسيق الأنشطة وخفض التكاليف. [9] [10]

حملات التوعية العامة والتثقيف

تدير الحكومة حملات عامة لترشيد استهلاك المياه في ضوء استراتيجية المياه لعام 2050 الجاري تطويرها (انظر القسم 9) على جميع مستويات المجتمع. والهدف هو تغيير المواقف والسلوكيات لتحسين كفاءة استخدام المياه. [11] وقد أولت وزارة البيئة اهتماماً خاصاً لقطاع المياه من خلال دعم أنشطة التثقيف البيئي التي تديرها الجمعيات والجامعات ومراكز التدريب والأندية البيئية. ومن المتوقع أن تصبح هذه الحملات أكثر عدداً في السنوات القادمة، لا سيما في ضوء استراتيجية المياه لعام 2050 التي يتم تطويرها حالياً (انظر القسم 9).

التخفيف من تغير المناخ والتكيف معه

قد قدرت دراسة أجرتها وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري عام 2007 ارتفاعاً في درجة الحرارة بنحو 1,1 درجة مئوية بحلول عام 2030، و2 درجة مئوية بحلول عام 2050، مما سيؤثر على مجموعة متنوعة من العوامل التي تؤثر على وتيرة الجفاف. وفي الواقع، فقد أدى الانخفاض المحتمل في موارد المياه بنسبة 28% نتيجةً لتغير المناخ إلى تطوير إستراتيجية جديدة للتكيّف مع اختلالات العرض والطلب الحالية والمستقبلية للمياه وتقليلها في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وتوصي هذه الاستراتيجية بمراجعة برنامج توزيع المياه وإدارة الطلب من حيث حصة المياه بين المناطق والمستخدمين، وبين القطاعات المختلفة، والتسعير لمستخدمي المياه.

[1] Chibani A, 2018. Climate Change Mitigation in Tunisia: Challenges and Progress.
[2] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Frija A et al., 2017. Potential adaptations of the Tunisian agricultural sector to water scarcity. Economic Research Forum
[5] SONEDE, n.d. Chiffres clés 1968-2018.
[6] Kis A et al., 2016. Water Demand Management in the Context of Water Services – Tunisia. Report prepared by Regional Centre for Energy Policy Research.
[7] Chahed J et al., 2010. Water scarcity and food security: A global assessment of water potentiality in Tunisia. In Martinez-Cortina L, Garrido A and Lopez-Gunn E, eds. Re-thinking Water and Food. London, UK: Taylor & Francis Group.
[8] Closas A and Molle F, 2016. Groundwater Governance in the Arab World – Taking Stock and Addressing the Challenges. IWMI project publication.
[9] Closas A et al., 2017. Groundwater Governance in Tunisia – A Policy White Paper.
[10] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[11] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.

Home / Tunisia / Water Challenges in Tunisia

Water Challenges in Tunisia

Dam of Kasseb
Photo 1: The water Dam of Kasseb. (Source: Mohamed Aouichi, Flickr)

Inefficient water use: network leakages, agricultural waste

Between 2010 and 2016, about 69% of the total irrigated areas in Tunisia adopted water-saving technologies, with an efficiency varying between 38% and 85% and an average of 59%, which is far from the desired norm of around 80% in the pressurized networks.[1] [2] The low level of efficiency can be explained not only by the physical losses in the networks but also the administrative losses due to illegal connections and insufficient registration of water meters.

The overall domestic water distribution network performance was estimated at 70.3% in 2017, with about 30% of the incoming water lost during transportation.[3] This indicator has been worsening during the last decade, in part because 25% of this network is more than 37 years old. Some measures have been taken in recent years, such as the renovation of the existing network. The aim is to gradually improve efficiency to 88.9%, saving around 86 MCM of water. This is equivalent to approximately 20% of the volume of water consumed and invoiced and exceeds the capacity of four seawater desalination plants currently under construction.[4] [5] [6]

Internal disputes over water

Competition for water between the tourism and agriculture sectors is mainly observed in coastal and certain inland areas during the summer months, when both sectors make large demands on the limited water resources. Some regions have opted to develop new tourist projects in the littoral zones, monopolizing limited land and water resources at the expense of small agricultural businesses, contributing to social conflicts and environmental problems, among others. This competition has strong effects on the economic development of both sectors, mainly in the south where tourism is experiencing strong growth.[7]

Political and economic constraints

The various national water strategies that are supposed to take into account the multiple dimensions of water resources management have been developed without adequate consideration for the participation of all stakeholders or a structured management system across decision-making contexts. Water policy is currently highly centralized, and water users are partly involved in agricultural water management through agricultural development groups, but reforms are underway to encourage decentralization.[8] At the same time, financial constraints are increasing and insufficient synergy between the different institutions operating in the water sector means opportunities are overlooked to pool resources, harmonize activities and reduce costs.[9] [10]

Public awareness and education campaigns

The government has run public water conservation campaigns in light of the 2050 water strategy currently being developed (see section 9).t all levels of society. The aim is to change attitudes and behaviours to improve water use efficiency.[11] The Ministry of the Environment has given the water sector special attention by supporting the environmental education activities run by associations, universities, training centres and environmental clubs. These campaigns are expected to become more numerous in the coming years, particularly in light of the 2050 water strategy currently being developed (see section 9).

Climate change mitigation and adaptation

A 2007 study by the Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries estimated a temperature increase of about 1.1°C by 2030 and 2°C by 2050, which will affect a variety of factors influencing the frequency of droughts. Indeed, the possible 28% decrease of water resources due to climate change has led to the development of a new strategy to adapt to and mitigate current and future water supply and demand imbalances across the country. This strategy recommends the revision of the water distribution and demand management programme in terms of water share between regions and users, the different sectors and pricing for water users.

[1] Chibani A, 2018. Climate Change Mitigation in Tunisia: Challenges and Progress.
[2] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Frija A et al., 2017. Potential adaptations of the Tunisian agricultural sector to water scarcity. Economic Research Forum
[5] SONEDE, n.d. Chiffres clés 1968-2018.
[6] Kis A et al., 2016. Water Demand Management in the Context of Water Services – Tunisia. Report prepared by Regional Centre for Energy Policy Research.
[7] Chahed J et al., 2010. Water scarcity and food security: A global assessment of water potentiality in Tunisia. In Martinez-Cortina L, Garrido A and Lopez-Gunn E, eds. Re-thinking Water and Food. London, UK: Taylor & Francis Group.
[8] Closas A and Molle F, 2016. Groundwater Governance in the Arab World – Taking Stock and Addressing the Challenges. IWMI project publication.
[9] Closas A et al., 2017. Groundwater Governance in Tunisia – A Policy White Paper.
[10] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[11] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.