الصفحة الرئيسية / تونس / ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في تونس؟

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في تونس؟

El Djerid beach in Tunisia
الصورة 1: شاطئ الجريد (بالعربية: شط الجريد) هي بحيرة مالحة موسمية كبيرة في جنوب تونس. (المصدر: Dennis Jarvis, Flickr)

مع توفر أقل من 500 متر مكعب/ للفرد/ سنوياً من المياه، تواجه تونس نقصاً خطيراً في المياه. وغالباً ما يتجاوز استخراج المياه الجوفية التغذية الطبيعية، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاضٍ تدريجي في مستوى المياه الجوفية وتدهور في نوعية المياه. ومن المتوقع أن يزداد الوضع سوءاً بسبب النمو السكاني والتوسع الحضري وكذلك تأثير تغير المناخ على توافر الموارد المائية وتنوعها. وبما أن ثلثي السكان يعيشون بالفعل في مناطق حضرية على الساحل، فمن المتوقع أن تكون الاحتياجات المائية لهذه الفئة من السكان مُقنعة جزئياً في ظل التدابير الأقاليمية وتحلية المياه. [1]

الاستنتاجات العامة ومُلخص التطورات الإيجابية والسلبية

قد استند ضمان إمدادات المياه الكافية إلى حدٍ كبير على تعبئة المياه وتطوير إمدادات موثوقة بدلاً من إدارة الطلب على المياه والاستخدام الفعال للمياه. وقد تركزت الجهود بشكل أساسي على الإجراءات والتدابير التالية:

الجوانب التنظيمية: قد أصدرت الحكومة تشريعاتٍ لقطاع المياه لوضع تدابير لتحسين إدارة موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية وإدارة استخدام المياه. وقد تم تنقيح قانون المياه الذي تم تبنيه في عام 1975 ليعكس الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي الفعلي في البلاد.

الجوانب الفنية: قد بدأت الحكومة مجموعة واسعة من البرامج الطموحة والإجراءات الفنية لتحسين إمدادات المياه وإدارتها، بما في ذلك تحسين كفاءة استخدام المياه والتحكم في تخصيص المياه أو إعادة تخصيصها. وفي كثير من الحالات، يكون اعتماد التكنولوجيا محدوداً بسبب عدم كفاية الموارد المالية ونقص المعارف.

الجوانب المؤسسية: قد تم بذل جهود لتعزيز وبناء المؤسسات المحلية لضمان تنفيذ برنامج الحكومة للحفاظ على المياه ومساعدة هذه المؤسسات على تشغيل وصيانة مرافق توزيع المياه. وكجزء من هذا، فقد تم بذل محاولات لإشراك المستخدمين النهائيين في تحديد سياسة واستراتيجية الإدارة المستدامة للمياه.

استراتيجية بحوث المياه: يُعتبر البحث والتطوير التكنولوجي في قطاع المياه ضرورياً لإدارة واستغلال موارد المياه بطريقة عقلانية ومستدامة. وقد بُذل جهد خاص لتحديد موضوعات البحث المتعلقة بتقييم الموارد المائية واستخدام المياه المتاحة، وإدارة الموارد المائية في الأغلب لأغراض الزراعة، وتطوير نماذج الزراعة المائية وأنظمة الزراعة من أجل الاستخدام الأمثل للموارد المائية.

الوضع المتوقع للموارد المائية في عام 2050

قد قامت الحكومة بتقييم استراتيجيتها المائية وخلصت إلى أن الإمداد يمكن أن يلبي الطلب ويتجاوزه في نهاية المطاف إذا تمت تعبئة إجمالي موارد المياه إلى جانب استخدام موارد المياه غير التقليدية، وتحسين إدارة موارد المياه، ومكافحة تلوث المياه، والاستخدام الفعال والاقتصادي للمياه في الزراعة، واسترداد التكاليف وبناء القدرات حول سياسة المياه الاقتصادية. [2] وفي هذا الصدد، تقوم وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري حالياً بإعداد استراتيجية جديدة لقطاع المياه تحدد اتجاه وأهداف سياسة المياه حتى عام 2050. وتركز الوثيقة على الطلب على المياه والتنبؤ بالعرض وتقييم النهج المبتكر لتحسين تخطيط المياه وإدارتها بشكلٍ كبير في سياق الإستراتيجية الكلية للموارد المائية. [3]

الخطوط العريضة لاستراتيجية طويلة الأمد

تهدف استراتيجية المياه في تونس لعام 2050 إلى الاستفادة بشكلٍ أفضل من المعرفة بالموارد المائية وتحسين البيئة المواتية لتعبئة المياه بشكلٍ أكثر فعالية، بما في ذلك المياه الزرقاء والمياه الخضراء والمياه الرمادية والاستخدام الفعال للمياه. وعلى وجه التحديد، تهدف الاستراتيجية إلى (1) الحفاظ على المياه الزرقاء المتوفرة (المياه السطحية والجوفية) وتحسينها، والتي تبلغ 4,800 مليون متر مكعب في السنة وتمثل سُبع إجمالي كمية الأمطار التي يتم تلقيها في جميع أنحاء البلاد، من خلال تجميع مياه الأمطار والري التكميلي، وإلى (2) تعظيم فرص موارد المياه الخضراء، والتي تقدر بنحو 23 مليار متر مكعب في السنة، إلى جانب الكفاءة التقنية.

وترتكز رؤية استراتيجية 2050 للمياه على ستة مجالات محورية: (1) الحفاظ على موارد المياه الشمالية من خلال الأعمال الهيدروليكية المناسبة؛ (2) وإصلاح البنية التحتية للمياه فيما يتعلق بالأنظمة المنزلية وشبكات الري؛ (3) والمزيد من الاهتمام بالزراعة البعلية من حيث الحوافز وإعادة الهيكلة والدعم العلمي؛ (4) والتركيز الإضافي على تغذية الخزانات المائية الجوفية الاصطناعية، وتعزيز إعادة التغذية وجمع المياه؛ (5) واستكشاف وتطوير التكنولوجيات في جميع أنحاء قطاع المياه، لا سيما في مجالات إعادة تغذية الخزانات الجوفية الاصطناعية ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وتحلية المياه؛ (6) والإدارة المثلى للنظام وكفاءة استخدام المياه لأغراض الري والاستخدام المنزلي.
[4] [5]

[1] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[2] ITES, 2019. Tunisie: Eau 2050.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Horchani A, 2007. Water in Tunisia: A national perspective. Agricultural Water Management: Proceedings of a Workshop in Tunisia.
[5] Treyer S, 2002. Analyse des Strategies et Prospectives de l’Eau en Tunisie.

Home / Tunisia / What Does the Future Hold for Water in Tunisia?

What Does the Future Hold for Water in Tunisia?

El Djerid beach tunisia
Photo 1: El Djerid beach (Arabic: Chott el Djerid) is a large seasonal salt lake in southern Tunisia. (Source: Dennis Jarvis, Flickr)

With below 500 m3/cap/yr, Tunisia is facing a serious water deficiency. Groundwater extraction often exceeds natural recharge, resulting in a progressive decline of the groundwater table and a deterioration of the water quality. The situation is expected to worsen due to population growth and urbanization as well as the effect of climate change on the availability and variability of water resources. With two thirds of the population already living in urban areas on the coast, it is expected that the water demands of this population will be partly satisfied by interregional and desalination measures.[1]

Overall conclusion with summary of positive and negative developments

Ensuring sufficient water supply has been based largely on the mobilization of water and the development of a reliable supply rather than water demand management and efficient water use. Efforts have been mainly focused on the following actions and measures:

Regulatory aspects: The government has introduced water sector legislation to develop measures to improve surface and groundwater resource management and water use management. The Water Code adopted in 1975 was recently revised to reflect the actual social and economic situation in the country.

Technical aspects: The government has initiated a wide range of ambitious programmes and technical measures to improve water supply and management, including improved water efficiency and the control or reallocation of water consumption. In many cases, technology adoption is limited by inadequate financial resources and knowledge.

Institutional aspects: Efforts have been made to strengthen and build local institutions to ensure the implementation of the government’s water conservation programme and to help these institutions to operate and maintain their water distribution facilities. As part of this, attempts have been made to involve end users in defining sustainable water management policy and strategy.

Water research strategy: Research and technology development in the water sector is considered essential for the rational and sustainable management and exploitation of water resources. A particular effort has been made to identify research topics related to water resource assessment and use of available water, management of water resources mostly for agriculture, and the development of hydro-agricultural models and cropping systems for optimal use of water resources.

Projected status of water resources in 2050

The government has evaluated its water strategy and concluded that supply could meet and eventually exceed demand if the total water resources are mobilized along with the use of unconventional water resources, improvement of water resources management, water pollution control, efficient and economic use of water in agriculture, cost recovery and capacity building around the economic water policy.[2] In this regard, the Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries is currently preparing a new water sector strategy that will establish the direction and targets of the water policy to 2050. The document focuses on water demand and supply forecasting and the assessment of innovative approaches to significantly improve water planning and management within the context of the overall water resource strategy.[3]

Outline of long-term strategy

The aim of Tunisia’s 2050 water strategy is to better utilize water resources knowledge and improve the enabling environment for more effective water mobilization, including blue water, green water and grey water, and efficient water use. Specifically, the strategy aims to (i) preserve and optimize the available blue water (surface and groundwater), which amounts to 4,800 MCM/yr and represents a seventh of the total amount of the rainfall received across the country, through rainwater harvesting and supplemental irrigation; (ii) maximize opportunities for green water resources, which are estimated at about 23 BCM/yr, in conjunction with technical efficiency.

The vision of the 2050 water strategy is underpinned by six focal areas: (1) the preservation of the north water tower resources through adequate hydraulic works; (2) rehabilitation of water infrastructure in relation to domestic and irrigation systems; (3) more attention for rainfed agriculture in terms of incentives, restructuring and scientific support; (4) additional focus on artificial aquifer recharge, enhanced recharge and water banking; (5) exploration and development of technologies across the water sector, particularly in the areas of artificial aquifer recharge, wastewater treatment and desalination; and (6) optimal system management and water use efficiency for irrigation and domestic use.[4] [5]

[1] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[2] ITES, 2019. Tunisie: Eau 2050.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Horchani A, 2007. Water in Tunisia: A national perspective. Agricultural Water Management: Proceedings of a Workshop in Tunisia.
[5] Treyer S, 2002. Analyse des Strategies et Prospectives de l’Eau en Tunisie.