الصفحة الرئيسية / تونس / البُنية التحتية للمياه في تونس

البُنية التحتية للمياه في تونس

Siliana dam, Tunisia
الصورة 1: سد سليانة ، تونس (المصدر: Jean-Yves Jamin, Water Alternatives., Flickr)

السدود وأنظمة الري ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وحقول الآبار الكبيرة

قد بذلت الحكومة التونسية جهوداً كبيرة منذ الاستقلال في عام 1956 لتعبئة موارد المياه من خلال بناء السدود الكبيرة والصغيرة، والخزانات، وخطوط أنابيب النقل، والحواجز النهرية، ومحطات معالجة مياه الشرب، ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي ومحطات تحلية المياه، وشبكات الصرف الصحي وما إلى ذلك، من خلال وزارة الفلاحة والموارد المائية والصيد البحري، إلى حد أن البُنية التحتية للمياه باتت تغطي البلاد بأكملها تقريباً.

في عام 2017، كان هناك 37 سداً (إجمالي سعة 2,5 كيلومتر مكعب)، و 230 سد تلي و950 بحيرة جبلية، و 138,000 بئر مياه قيد التشغيل. [1] يتم بناء معظم السدود في الحوض الشمالي. وفي عام 2015، قد بلغت كمية المياه المعبأة 4,4 كيلومتر مكعب أو ما نسبته 92% من الموارد المحتملة، والتي تشكل 81% من موارد المياه السطحية و93% من موارد المياه الجوفية.

قد تم إدخال الري الحديث بعد عام 1958 مع إنشاء بنية تحتية لتخزين المياه وشبكة قنوات للمحيط المروي في الجزء السفلي من وادي مجردة (30000 هكتار). وقبل الستينيات، كانت المساحة المروية تبلغ 60,000 هكتار، وبحلول عام 2012، قد ازدادت المساحة إلى 420,000 هكتار، وهو ما يمثل 8% من إجمالي المساحة المزروعة. ويرجع هذا التوسع إلى التقدم التكنولوجي في معدات الضخ وخطوط أنابيب التوزيع وتقنيات الري الأكثر اقتصاداً. [2]

البُنية التحتية للمياه في تونس
الخريطة (1): الأعمال الهيدروليكية العاملة والجارية أو المخطط له. تُظهر الخريطة (i) السدود، بينما تظهر الخريطة (ii) البحيرات الجبلية. @Fanack Water

نظم جمع وتوزيع المياه التقليدية

كانت تتم ممارسة جمع المياه التقليدية في جميع أنحاء البلاد من قِبل البربر والقرطاجيين والرومان (قناة زغوان ومعبد المياه) حتى العصر الإسلامي (فسقيات الأغالبة) وصولاً إلى هياكل تجميع المياه المعاصرة وتخزينها (المسقاة، والجسور، والسدود الكبيرة والتلية، وحفظ التربة والمياه وغيرها). [3] تصنف هياكل حصاد مياه الأمطار التقليدية إلى ثلاث مجموعات رئيسية: (1) نظام المسقاة، المستخدم في تجميع مياه الجريان السطحي في المنطقة الوسطى (الساحل)، [4] [5] ونظام الجسور، المستخدم بشكلٍ رئيسي في الوديان في الجنوب لحصاد المياه عن طريق منع التدفق باستخدام الحجارة؛ (2) والمغود، والذي يتكون من نظام مستجمع للمياه عند منحدر التل لجمع مياه الفيضانات وتوزيعها أو الري بالغمر باستخدام التحويل. يُطلق على نظام حصاد المياه ذي المنحدر الطويل الطوابي، في حين يطلق على الحصاد من مستجمعات المياه الخارجية الصغيرة اسم المغود؛ و(3) في حين أن حوض الماء المسمى فسقية أو الماجل، يستخدم في جميع أنحاء تونس لتوفير مياه الشرب للناس والحيوانات وكذلك المياه لأغراض الري الصغيرة من خلال جمع وتخزين مياه الجريان السطحي في خزانات ذات سِعات مختلفة.

المشاريع المخطط لها

تهدف المشاريع الرئيسية المخطط لها إلى تلبية الاحتياجات الحالية والمتوقعة لإدارة المياه في تونس. والمشاريع الجارية والمخطط لها تشمل:

– بناء سدود جديدة: في عام 2017، تم بناء سدين في منطقتي الكاف وقفصة بسعة 21 مليون متر مكعب و25 مليون متر مكعب على التوالي. وهناك ثلاثة سدود أخرى قيد الإنشاء في الكاف وبنزرت والقلعة الكبرى.

– مشاريع الربط بين السدود و نقل المياه التي توشك على الانتهاء: أعمال نقل المياه من أربعة سدود (المالح، الطين، قمقوم، والحركة) إلى أنظمة النقل في سيدي البراق، وسجنان، وجومين ومجردة. وهناك مشروعان آخران يتم العمل عليهما لربط سديّ الهوارب وسيدي سعد، بينما البعض الآخر في مرحلة دراسة الجدوى لنقل فائض المياه من الشمال إلى المنطقة الوسطى.

– حماية المدن من الفيضانات وغيرها من أنواع الطوفان: يجري تنفيذ 24 مشروعاً، والتي بدأ العمل عليها بين عامي 2014 و2017، وهناك 13 مشروعاً قيد الدراسة. ويمكن الاطلاع على القائمة الكاملة لهذه المشاريع في [6].

– مشاريع الحفاظ على المياه والتربة: يوجد 34 بحيرة جبلية مخطط لها، بما في ذلك سبع بحيرات جاري العمل على إنشائها و16 في مرحلة الدراسة.

– إعادة تأهيل وتحديث المناطق المروية: تم اختيار مشروعين رئيسيين في عام 2017 لضمان إدارة أفضل للموارد المائية وتحسين كفاءة شبكات خطوط الأنابيب، ألا وهي مشروع تكثيف الري في المحافظات الشمالية الغربية وتثمين المحيطات المروية العامة في المنطقة الوسطى.

– تأمين مياه الشرب خلال أشهر الصيف، بما في ذلك محطة لمعالجة المياه في سد لبنة (قيد التنفيذ)، وتحسين موارد المياه في جنوب القيروان ومزيد من العمل والدراسات لخمس محطات لتحلية مياه البحر في جربة وسوسة والزارات وصفاقس وقرقنة. وقد تم التخطيط لعدة برامج لتحسين إمدادات مياه الشرب في المناطق الريفية.

– تنفيذ تدابير التحكم في الطاقة للفترة 2021-2025: بناء مشروع الطاقة الضوئية بطاقة 10 ميجاوات و3 ميجاوات إضافية في محطات التحلية في صفاقس وتوزر.

[1] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau
[2] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[3] Oweis T et al., 2004. Indigenous Water Harvesting in West Asia and North Africa.
ICARDA, Aleppo, Syria.
[4] Nasri S et al., 2004. Hydrological processes in macrocatchment water harvesting in the arid region of Tunisia: the traditional system of tabias. Hydrological Sciences Journal 49(2).
[5] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.

Home / Tunisia / Water Infrastructure in Tunisia

Water Infrastructure in Tunisia

Siliana dam, Tunisia
Photo 1: Spillway, Siliana dam, Tunisia (Source: Jean-Yves Jamin, Water Alternatives., Flickr)

Dams, irrigation systems, wastewater treatment plants, large well fields

The Tunisian government has made significant efforts since independence in 1956 to mobilize water resources by building large and small dams, reservoirs, transfer pipelines, river defence works, drinking water treatment stations, wastewater treatment stations and water desalination stations, agricultural drainage systems and so on the Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, to the extent that water infrastructure covers almost the whole country.

In 2017, there were 37 dams (total capacity 2.5 km3), 230 hill dams and 950 hill lakes, and 138,000 water wells in operation.[1] Most dams are constructed in the northern basin. In 2015, the mobilized water amounted to 4.4 km3 or 92% of the potential resources, made up of 81% of surface water resources and 93% of groundwater resources.

Modern irrigation was introduced after 1958 with the creation of water storage infrastructure and a canalisation network for the irrigated perimeter of the Lower Medjerda valley (30,000 ha). Before the 1960s, the irrigated area amounted to 60,000 ha. By 2012, this had increased to 420,000 ha, representing 8% of the total cultivated area. This expansion was due to technological progress in pumping equipment, distribution pipelines and more economical irrigation techniques.[2]

Water infrastructure in Tunisia
Map 1: Hydraulic works in operation, underway or planned. Map (i) shows dams, map (ii) shows hill lakes. @Fanack Water

Traditional water collection and distribution systems

Traditional water collection has been practised across the country from the Berbers, Carthaginians and Romans (Zaghouan aqueduct, water temple) through the Islamic period (Aghlabit cisterns) to contemporary water-harvesting and storage structures (meskat, jessour, hillside and large dams, water and soil conservation etc.).[3] Traditional rainwater harvesting structures are classified into three major groups: (1) the meskat system, used for runoff water harvesting in the central (Sahel) region,[4] [5] and the jessour system, used mainly in wadis of the south for water harvesting by blocking the flow using stones; (2) Mgoud consisting of a hill slope catchment system for floodwater harvesting and distribution or spate irrigation using diversion. The long slope water harvesting system is called tabia, whereas harvesting from an external macro-catchment is called mgoud; and (3) a cistern called a fesquia or majel, used across Tunisia to provide drinking water for people and animals as well as water for small irrigation purposes by collecting and storing runoff water in reservoirs of varying capacities.

Planned projects

The major planned projects are intended to address the current and expected future water management needs in Tunisia. Ongoing and planned projects include:

– Construction of new dams: In 2017, two dams were constructed in the el-Kef and Gafsa regions with a capacity of 21 MCM and 25 MCM respectively. Three more dams are under construction in el-Kef, Bizerte and Kalaat Kebira.

– Interconnection of dams and water-transfer projects about to be completed: Water transfer works from four dams (Melah, Tine, Gamgoum and el-Harka) to the transfer systems of Sidi Barrak, Sedjnane, Joumine and Medjerda. Two more projects are in the process of being started to connect the Houareb and Sidi Saad dams. Others are at the feasibility study phase for the transfer of surplus water from the north to the central region.

– Protection of cities from flooding and other types of inundation: 24 projects, launched between 2014 and 2017, are in progress and 13 are under study. The full list of these projects can be found in [6].

– Water and soil conservation projects: 34 hill lakes are planned, including seven that are underway and 16 that are in the study phase.

– Rehabilitation and modernization of irrigated perimeters: Two major projects were selected in 2017 to ensure better management of water resources and improve the efficiency of the pipeline networks. These are the Irrigation Intensification Project in the north-west governorates and the Valorisation of Public Irrigated Perimeters in the central region.

– Securing drinking water during the summer months, including a water treatment plant at Lebna Dam (in progress), improving water resources in the south of Kairouan and further work and studies for five seawater desalination plants in Djerba, Sousse, Zarat, Sfax and Kerkennah. Several programmes are planned to improve drinking water supply in rural areas.

– Implementing energy control measures for the period 2021-2025: Construction of a photovoltaic project with a capacity of 10 megawatts and an additional 3 megawatts at the desalination plants in Sfax and Tozeur.

[1] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau
[2] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[3] Oweis T et al., 2004. Indigenous Water Harvesting in West Asia and North Africa.
ICARDA, Aleppo, Syria.
[4] Nasri S et al., 2004. Hydrological processes in macrocatchment water harvesting in the arid region of Tunisia: the traditional system of tabias. Hydrological Sciences Journal 49(2).
[5] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.